Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Rap Music Has Been Missing, 24 Mar 2005
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
After over 15 years as a rap listener I have stopped listening to rap for the most part because there is so little innovation. With the exception of a few sparse offerings I find little more than run of the mill topics like "I am significantly more gangster than you", "I am a superior MC", "My album is expected to be more lucrative than yours" and lastly "I am quite beloved among my groupies and perhaps by your significant other". Eminem has succumbed to a certain degree to the temptation to make quick money on simple and overused topics and the industry cannot survive on Outkast alone.
Enter Canibus:
Rip the Jacker boasts beats that are both diverse and epic in scale. This is the formula that Canibus has needed for his entire career. He flows competently from track to track utilizing a lyrical complexity that should make other MCs retire in shame. Not only does canibus for the most part avoid the 4 topics mentioned above, he never reverts to gimmicky word plays to make lyrics fit. I can't think of a single lyric that ends in izzle nor does he use a reigonalized accent to make a verse work. Canibus possesses a mastery of the English language that is simply unparalleled in the industry. His critics would use this as a point of attack and some would even say that he "makes up" words. This is a somewhat understandable accusation considering that most people have never heard language of this caliber in day to day conversation and do not understand what he is saying. In fact, many websites that post lyrics misspell or misinterpret words. The fact of the matter is that the epic scale of the beats on this album showcases the powerful concepts that Canibus is trying to relay to the listener. If nothing else this album serves as a showcase of a verbal mastery the likes of which rap music (possibly music in general) has never seen. It is sadder still that Def Jam holds such sway over the industry that most casual listeners will never hear this masterpiece. Instant classic.... 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rap Messiah comes to Earth with the Ill rap Bible, 31 Dec 2003
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
The year is 2003 and rap has decayed, Ja rule and 50 cent are on the charts and there is no word from nas, raekwon, Gza or Definitive Jux. Canibus a long time battle emcee with alot of failures to his name comes to the feeble infidels with a cataclysmic blow called Rip the Jacker a massive slap in the face to all the commercial rappers out there how to truly write poetry.
With the unique, apocalyptic guidance of Jedi mind tricks Stoupé to produce the album i knew from the start that the beats would be on que. And every rap fiend knows that is Canibus' weakness. Beautifully structured into a 11 song masterpiece that doesnt have any blatant skits that have become so cliché in the past years.
He explodes with "genabis" the beginning of a Godly revelation to the masses on how he became a rap deity. satanic choirs and solemn strings make the ultimate first song. I cannot go on too much about the album 1000 words doesnt come close to describing this jewel i just have to say if you are tired with what u r seeing on MTV base and so forth and you call yourself a real rap fan then pick up this album as fast as a soho prostitute picks up a STD.
Fave songs: "Genabis" "Levitibus" "M-Sea-Cresy" "indibisible" and "Psych evaluation"
No other album can make me listen 5 times in a row. Just look at the other reviews before me if u dont believe how amazing this album.
I finish this review in the words of the newly crowned Poet Laureate.....
".... You need to replace the hate with respect, I'm probably the best yet Poet Laureate..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping up Mic's alright!, 28 July 2003
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
Right first i would like to say this album came out a couple of days ago and i have listened to it 20 times in a row!
So we all know Canibus's past. The 'Hollywood stories' and the top lyricism always faltered by his ever weakened production.
2002 comes along and so does MiClub. I don't have high hopes for the album but i thought i'd give Bis the chance! And what do i know it turns out to be in the top 3 hip hop album of 02' (in my opinion). With duets with the likes of Jedi Mind tricks and the production VERY much strengthened i end up with ears saluted waiting for any announcement of his newest album release date.
Well i pre-order it from amazon and it finally arrives. I put on the first track and Jedi Mind Tricks 17/18th century Tudor felt production comes in full play! Bis rips into the Mic still as hungry as ever. I don't know which to keep my ears out for the infectous beat or the unbelievable word-play! The hi-hat snares, accompanied by occassional strings and gritty keys leads us into the ripper. The production on this is like NOTHING i've ever heard! It almost has a Henry the 8th style feel to it with inturludes of dark voices penetrating Bis's advice.
On the last track of the album Bis spits 250 bars in 7 minutes of pure full fledged anilation!
I wish i could give you a beautifully full review of each track but a GREAT detailed review of this master piece would take me at least 2 hrs!
If your still unsure download it, burn do anything to get it but listen to me! I have been a fan of hip hop since i was 8 (listening to it since i can remember) I love artists such as Big L, Cormega, Jehst, Phi-life cypher, Ras Kas, Wu-Tang, Nas, Jedi mind tricks,Tupac, Eric B and Rakim, Eyedea, Slug...basically i'm not biased i like what i think is good. No matter if people call it commerical or underground or crap i don't care i'm open to anything until i hear it and then decide if it's worth my money or not. But trust me this is a beautiful album, the only down full is some may find it to 'Intelligant' and 'underground'. But if you like Aesop Rock, Mr.Lif, Binary Star, Black Moon, Cormega, other Canibus albums and generally 'darker' less well known album you can't go wrong! And even if you don't like that sort of hip hop give Canibus a chance to get the credit he REALLY deserves. You may be suprised i was...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome lyrics, awesome beats!!!! What more do.you need? Look out for the song "no return"! Definitely suggest any fan of non pop hip hop to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 26 July 2003
By 
M. Robinson (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
I was in for an unexpected surprise when I received this album. I knew Stoupe (from Jedi Mind Tricks) would come nice with the beats, since he's considered one of the illest underground hip hop producers by many.
This album has it all; ridiculously nice beats, battle lyrics, story telling and intelligent rhymes to keep listeners entertained and educated about Canibus' latest Style and thoughts.
From Latino to Reggae vibes you won’t ever want to eject your the CD from your player again. The production always comes strong with a mixture of beats to keep your ears attached to the speakers.
Best purchase I made this year.
indx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars canibus is back!!, 7 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
Although this album isn't officialy realesed untill July 21st, you can listen to all the songs on canibus's official website. The first single to be realesed from this album is entitled spartibus, and this song, along with the rest of the album is produced by stoupe, who is the producer for jedi mind tricks. One thing that lets canibus down on his albums is the production and some of the beats don't fit canibus's rapping, however this album is different because the production is top notch. Also let me say that canibus's disses eminem on one song, and believe me, this song is better than 2nd round k.o, he really tells eminem what he thinks about him and the entire shady records staff, although he calls dr dre, the greatest ever rapper during this song, the album has 15 tracks with 2 skits. Believe me, this is canibus's greatest album to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 16 Dec 2004
By 
O. Watson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
Whoever said that this album has bad beats obviously wasn't listening to the Rip the Jacker album when they did there review - This album is awesome. Sure, Canibus has a unique style of delivery that may put you off when you first listen but you get over that and learn to appreciate his style. Unique is a word I'd use to describe Canibus and his unique brilliance may be unrivalled in today's hiphop industry. This album is an attack, an attack at the system, an attack at whack emcees and pretty much anyone he feels like attacking. This album is full of classic tracks, No Return tells three stories of demise, Poet Laurette II well...is Poet Laurette II, enuf said. If you think your favourite rapper is lyrical and can use metaphors, buy this album and shake your head at your past ignorance.
Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth your 10 quid, 12 July 2004
By 
G. Humphrey (Up North.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
Here we go, as a fan of both commercial and underground Hip-Hop the name "Canibus" was one that constantly popped up here and there. I eventually went out on a limb and downloaded some tracks, and while all were worthy, it wasn't enough to make me splash out, until i saw a link to "Rip The Jacker", which i promptly downloaded, and to my suprise, Canibus.. who was lyrically as strong as ever, was bussin' over nice beats. The difference between those older tracks and this album was to be as blunt as possible, the beats, they're hot beats.. which was something canibus was always lacking.
So, if you like his flow, but his beats are wakk, try this..
The end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CANIBUS'S BEST WORK EVER!!!, 9 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. D. B. Siman "dbsmedia" (lincolnshire u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM WAS AN ALREADY CLASSIC THE DAY IT WAS RELEASED LIKE THE OTHER REVIEWERS SAID ITS NOT FOR YA REGULAR COMMERCIAL HIP-HOP LISTENERS CANIBUS IS FOR THE MORE INTELLECTUAL LISTENER AS ITS FULL OF VERY INTELLIGENTLY TWISTED & WITTY LYRICS THAT HALF OF YOU COMMERCIAL HEADS WOULDNT EVEN HAVE A CLUE ABOUT ANYWAY & PROBABLY JUST DISS THE ALBUM. WHERE AS IF YOU LIKE DARK COMPLEX RHYMES & ENJOY UNUSUAL STYLES & REAL HIP-HOP MUSIC THEN THIS IS THE ALBUM FOR YOU I HAVE TO SAY THIS IS MY FAVOURITE OF HIS 8 ALBUMS TO DATE & WOULD MOSTLY COMPARE IT TO HIS WORK ON THE MICLUB: THE CURRICULUM ALBUM WHICH IS MY 2ND FAV ALBUM OF HIS SO IF YOU OWN MICLUB & CLASS THAT AS YOUR FAVOURITE ALBUM OF ALL OF HIS MATERIAL THEN I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS. COP IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What every rap fan should own this, 3 May 2006
By 
Mr. M. S. Kundi (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind (Audio CD)
Simple as that, read below what others have said. Canibus aka Germain Williams, has to be the most original lyricist. When i first got the album, i had to rewind back just to discipher his meanings to his sentences. It is the only album in my collection that i have gone back to again and again. Things he talks about, makes you think just like watch the Matrix or even better Ghost in the Shell. An album for the intellectually minded, not for fans of 50cent or gangsta want to be's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind
Rip The Jacker Feat. The Enemy Of Mankind by Canibus (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews