Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!
The new Phil Collins - Serious Hits - Live DVD is absolutely superb. I own numerous music DVDs and this is by far the best.
The main thing that strikes you about it is just how good the sound quality is. Considering it was originally recorded in the early 1990s, somebody did a great job. It is crystal clear, the keyboards generate real 'warmth' and 'power' (where...
Published on 28 Aug 2003 by jdon498

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serious Hits Live
Hi,
This title holds special meaning for me, as I attended the Montreal Canada show from this tour, and it was my first REAL concert experience.
I bought the paltry excuse of the CD release, and grabbed the VHS. But when I saw the DVD release in the store last week- I think it was the fastest I'd had money out of my pocket!!
Sound Quality is fabulous in...
Published on 23 Nov 2003 by reidc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!, 28 Aug 2003
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
The new Phil Collins - Serious Hits - Live DVD is absolutely superb. I own numerous music DVDs and this is by far the best.
The main thing that strikes you about it is just how good the sound quality is. Considering it was originally recorded in the early 1990s, somebody did a great job. It is crystal clear, the keyboards generate real 'warmth' and 'power' (where appropriate)and when Collins takes to the drums half way through 'In the Air Tonight' it produces one of the best live performances I have ever seen. Most importantly, the vocal microphones work consistantly (always a problem in a live recording in my experience) and the crowd noise is present but does not swamp the performance.
The DVD compliments the original CD (of the same name) perfectly. It is a much longer performance (about 3hrs on two DVDs) featuring around twice as many songs as the CD. It has, to my ear anyway, been recorded at a different venue to the CD as well. The songs sound marginally different (better in fact) than the CD.
I'd have to struggle to find any criticism of it, but I guess the performance of 'Easy Lover' is slightly strange. Oh, and of course, Collins puts on a pair of huge black sun glasses for one song toward the end. When it's dark. You cannot stop laughing.
If you are a fan of Phil Collins, this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is what they should all be like, 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
this is what all music dvd's should be like.
this concert dvd is from phil collins and his band playing in berlin during the 'serious tour'. the band and the songs were excellent and it is presented on dvd over 2 disks with alternate camera angles and 5.1 sound.
the picture quality is very good on the 'directors cut' stream and good on the alternate angle streams.
the 5.1 sound is the best i have ever heard and i would recommend this disk to fans of dvd for this alone.
the downside is that there is a break in the middle of the concert to change disks but this is far outweighed by the amount of features included and the amazing quality of both sound and picture.
there are also extras such as a mini documentary and subtitles which are ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins "Energy" with real digital quality!, 8 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
Considering the fact that this concert was recorded in 1990 it seems almost unbelieveable to hear and see the quality of this release. Phil Collins delivers his usual best like only he can. This is a great purchase - you'll want to watch it over and over again. The interactive tourbook is a nice feature. Just a bit disappointed with the documentary. The 3 hour concert makes up for that and it is really worth every cent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Phil's best live perfomance!, 5 Jan 2010
By 
G. J. Towlson "Osprey2312" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
I bought a copy of this years ago and lost it through a recent house move. I was so pleased that Amazon still had this "masterpiece" in stock!
Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any Phil Collins Fan, 27 Aug 2003
By 
K BURTON (KENT, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
Well what can I say. If you have Serious Hits Live on video which came out in 1990, and you liked it, you will love this.
With the 5.1 sound and the extra's on it it is a must buy for any Phil fan.
The multi camera angles are great so you can watch it how you like with some interesting different views.
The Stage construction extra's on this D.V.D. show just how they made this one of stage which still now amazies me.
If you went to this gig you might just see yourself.
A great buy for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great dvd, 27 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
well just received my dvd and this is just brilliant.ok so its across 2 disks which is a bit of a bummer but the sound is awesome.
this band and this show was just the best, hit after hit played to perfection.
the 5.1 sound is about the best i have ever heard and the multi angle facility is good also.
a 'must have' for all dvd fans and phil collins fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, 21 Jan 2011
By 
C A Huant (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
3 hours of uncut, live show.
Phil Collins at the peak of his powers (1990, following the But Seriously album and Another Day In Paradise), accompanied by a band of 11 top musicians that all seem to have fun.

All the hits are there. There's a drum duet, as usual.
It's long and generally well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Hits of a LEGEND!!!, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
WOW what a fantastic Dvd! I don't regret being 10 yrs old when Phil was touring...surely children were aloud at his concerts, But I do regret that my Dad never took me to see him!!!What a talented musician...and he sounds perfect live aswell....Everyone should have a copy of this Dvd ( and the album to go with it is brilliant too) Can you tell I'm a fan!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously great live concert, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Paul B. Crowhurst "Crowlegs" (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
Had the VCR needed the DVD. It tends to be put on at social gatherings after several drinks as it is very much a good time concert. Yes you need to be a fan of Phil Collins and having seen him several times this really does display both his own versatility and the quality of the band around him. Cheap at twice the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEGA !!!, 1 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] (DVD)
If you thought the VHS of the Berlin show was good, think again. This DVD is sharper, clearer...just plain MEGA !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003]
Serious Hits Live (Dvd) [2003] by Phil Collins (DVD - 2003)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews