Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy New Ears
I remember when this album was released. Apart from the odd single, I was not a fan of post-Low Bowie, and all I owned was on vinyl. Time has passed (and much musical prejudice with it)so I decided to download this album out of curiosity and a sense of completion... sad to say! However, I was pleasantly surprised. It sounded fresh. Both the melodies and the album...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by Strange Angel

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aloof and detached
This 1993 album is an ambitious project that does not come across as cohesive but contains some great songs. In overall sound, it reminds me of Young Americans but it is even more detached, like his plastic soul style carried to the extreme.
It opens with the semi-instrumental The Wedding, a beautiful lilting melody which is followed by You've Been Around, a song...
Published on 8 May 2004 by Pieter Uys


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy New Ears, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
I remember when this album was released. Apart from the odd single, I was not a fan of post-Low Bowie, and all I owned was on vinyl. Time has passed (and much musical prejudice with it)so I decided to download this album out of curiosity and a sense of completion... sad to say! However, I was pleasantly surprised. It sounded fresh. Both the melodies and the album structure were unpredictable.
I have played it frequently over the last few weeks and have not tired of it. I keep hearing new things in the arrangements. Had I listened to it on release, I would probably dismissed it - not enough jangly guitar! Now I'm trying to think of other artists and albums I side-stepped, through musical snobbery, and give them a chance with my new ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great re-release, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Neil Tyrer (United Arab Emirates) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
This special re-issue of BTWN with all the additional remixes, rare tracks and great DVD footage is a really good buy. Another of Bowie's albums that wasn't fully appreciated when it was originally released, it sounds really fresh ten years on, and I've really enjoyed rediscovering it. If you missed out on this first time around, this special edition is well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Re-issue For Bowie's Career Re, 18 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. R. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
By 1993, David Bowie was considered washed up, a has-been, a complete irrelevance. Since his greatest commercially selling album, "Lets Dance" in 1983, he had produced two criminally dire albums in "Tonight" and "Never Let Me Down" and three albums with rock dirge group "Tin Machine". Who would have guessed that his marriage to Somalian model Iman Abdul-Majid would have helped kickstart a creative process that would produce his best album in over ten years?
Although the album was said by Bowie to have been inspired by his marriage to Iman, only two of the tracks featured appear to have any reference to the event. "The Wedding" features wedding bells as the an album opener, and "The Wedding Song" is a gushing, swooning and deeply romantic paen to his new bride. The rest of the album however is classic Bowie; full of darkness, paranoia and more importantly - killer tunes.
Lead-off single "Jump They Say" is a stunning breakneck hard-edged dance track packed with gorgeous sax work from Bowie and excellent trumpet work from Lester Bowie (no relation). Second single the title track is a laid back funk/soul duet with Detroit singer Al B Sure! (Yes, that is his real name) that surely deserved higher than it's number 39 chart placing. And third and final single "Miracle Goodnight" is possibly the catchiest song Bowie, if indeed, anyone has ever written. But aside from the trio of excellent singles, there is much more listening pleasure to still be had. The whole album is filled with funky and soulful dance percussion, Bowie's voice is on the finest form that it has ever been in, and the lead sax and trumpet playing from the two Bowies is dynamism perfection. Four cover versions also make up the album; Cream's "I Feel Free" is given a radical funk makeover with a poignant guitar solo from Mick Ronson (he died from liver cancer days after its recording), Scott Walker's "Nite Flights" becomes a dark and brooding dance track that was to sweep to nightclubs throughout the nineties, Morrissey's "I Know It's Gonna Happen Someday" is given a hugely overwrought and thouroughly over dramatic rendition. It would however have made a great single. The only weak link on the album is "Don't Let Me Down And Down", a little known french love song sung quite weakly against an insipid backing track.
The album was given was given a hugely warm reception when it was first released, and that praise is still deserved. This reissue comes with a bonus cd of extra tracks and remixes which vary from the essential ("Lucy Can't Dance", Leftfield's rocking remix of "Jump They Say") to plain filler ("Real Cool World"). This cd does however compile much wanted hard-to-find tracks and some thrilling, if dated, remixes. Also, this set comes with a DVD of interview footage, some concert footage, and three promo videos. The interview is dull, the performances are good but not essential, but the three promos are among the best that Bowie has ever produced.
All in all, this set is an absolute must for any self-respecting Bowie fan, and at this price this is fantastic collection worth taking a look at if you are interested in taking a look at Bowie's recording history, but don't want anything quite as dark and experimental as say "Low", "Outside" or "Station To Station".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aloof and detached, 8 May 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
This 1993 album is an ambitious project that does not come across as cohesive but contains some great songs. In overall sound, it reminds me of Young Americans but it is even more detached, like his plastic soul style carried to the extreme.
It opens with the semi-instrumental The Wedding, a beautiful lilting melody which is followed by You've Been Around, a song that doesn't go anywhere. The funky texture of I Feel Free makes it a worthy cover and the title track, a duet with Al B Sure, is quite engaging with its complex arrangement.
Jump They Say, Pallas Athena and Nite Flights, the Scott Walker cover, are all interesting but not really emotionally appealing. I like Miracle Goodnight with its rhythmic and vocal variety but the jazzy ballad Don't Let Me Down comes across as unfocused and messy. Looking For Lester is a lively jazz instrumental and the album concludes with The Wedding Song, a vocal reprise of the stylish opening track.
The problem with Black Tie, White Noise, is that although pleasant to listen to, the music does not remain with you for long. With a few exceptions like the two Wedding Songs, the songs are not memorable. I recommend this album only to hardcore fans or Bowie completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Beginnings of a Bowie Revival, 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
This album marks a creative revival of David Bowie that would continue throughout the 1990s, extending to "Heathen" and maybe even beyond. Growing with every listen, it seems more jazz-infused than any other Bowie album with its liberal sprinkling of saxophone and trumpet. Added to this are many highlights which diversify an already-diverse Bowie back-catalogue.

"The Wedding" is a good opener, an instrumental with a slow build up. It attempts to unite east and west, reflecting the nature of Bowie's marriage, and does so successfully with its sound that harks to the Middle East but keeps to Western conventions with its infectious piano and bass-line.

"You've Been Around" hints to the more experimental sound that would permeate the "Outside" album with its menacing synths at the start. Such an allusion is continued later via the brooding instrumental "Pallas Athena" with David Bowie's sax echoing the melody of "A Small Plot of Land" at times.

"Black Tie White Noise" seems to be Bowie's answer to Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On?", not only in its cry for racial unity but also within its melody which closely echoes Gaye's at times.

"Jump They Say" is a fairly unsettling track based upon the suicide of one of Bowie's colleagues and perfectly reflects, in both lyrics and music, the intense pressures of the modern world and the state of manic depression that can result.

"Nite Flights" is an interesting cover of Scott Walker's 1977 track which is fairly faithful to the original yet somewhat darker with its harder rhythm and sinister synths permeating in the background.

"Miracle Goodnight" is fairly infectious, if a little light-headed, and an obvious single, being the most commercial track on the album. Another to rival it, "Lucy Can't Dance" was surprisingly left off the original album but appears on disc 2, proving just as catchy if not repetitive.

"I Know It's Gonna Happen Someday" is an over-exuberant, at times comical, Morrisey cover which works fairly well and is one of the main highlights on a pretty solid album which casts Bowie back into some sort of creative credibility after a fairly sobering period in the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the comeback hoped for, 12 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
Although this is an improvement on his much maligned 80s output it's still not the Bowie we know and love. The album sounds like a producer has taken a collection of a capella tracks and given them a 90s club mix rework. Some tracks have a funky vibe to them that work quite well but some just don't fit with Bowie's voice. There's only one song on the album that breaks the mould: the Morrissey cover 'I Know It's Gonna Happen Someday'. This is quite fitting as it was written as a pastiche of Bowie's earlier work and was produced by none-other than ex-Bowie guitarist Mick Ronson! This is the highlight of the album for me as Bowie's vocal soars in the latter half after deploying his rich baritone croon in the first.

The album is bookended by two tracks dedicated to his newly-wed wife, Iman: 'The Wedding' and 'The Wedding Song'. They have a mix of eastern and western music qualities to signify the marriage. The track works quite well but isn't really needed twice on the album, once in instrumental form and a second, slightly shortened with a vocal. There is a special edition of the album with two bonus songs: 'Jump They Say [Remix]' and 'Lucy Can't Dance'. They're not worth paying extra for and I only got this edition because it was the same price as the normal version. The remix is inessential and doesn't really add anything to the original. 'Lucy Can't Dance' is ok but is fairly repetitive in it's 6 minute run. This sums up most of the album songs which overstay their welcome with not much change throughout. Some people may enjoy this style but it's not for me. I appreciate that Bowie likes to experiment and explore new sounds but some experiments work (Berlin Trilogy, Outside) and some don't, like this. Maybe this sounded fresh and exciting in 1993 but it sounds fairly dated 20 years later. Bowie has gone on to produce much better and exciting work since.

Highlights: The Wedding, I Feel Free, Jump They Say, I Know It's Gonna Happen Someday

If you're a serious Bowie fan and want to complete your collection, then you'll probably buy it anyway (try and get it cheap)but don't expect to be blown away. If you're new to Bowie then don't make this your first purchase as it doesn't represent the majority of his work. Start with Ziggy Stardust or Hunky Dory and work around that era. Buy this later, if you feel the need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sign of the better things to come, 30 Aug 2012
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
Buy this for 'Jump They Say' about David's half brother Terry's mental problems - and for the fantastic 'Nite Flights'. The title track and 'Miracle Goodnight' are interesting too. A decent album rather than great. You know that if you skip a track every now and then, as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLACK TIE, RIGHT NOISE, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
To say this album is a work of genius, would be stretching things, but like all of Bowie's albums after his dreaded 80's period, experienced listeners will find his later music incredibly rewarding.

I'm a fan of Bowie's early 70's output, but as I have grown older, my tastes have matured, and I tend to find that it is Bowie's more recent output that draws me back, time and time again. `Black Tie White Noise' offers the listener something very different to anything Bowie has done previously, making it not an easy album to describe. The best way to judge it is probably track by track...

`The Wedding', 'You've Been Around', 'Jump They Say', 'Pallas Athena' and 'Miracle Goodnight' are the type of strong melodic songs that you have come to expect by Bowie, all laced together with some stunning synthetic arrangements. 'Jump They Say' literally explodes out the speakers in a hail of synthetic drum beats. Fantastic stuff! Also, if you have never heard Bowie's cover of Scott Walker's 'Nite Flights', then you are really missing out on one of the finest cover songs ever recorded. It remains, to this day, one of my all time favourite tracks.

The thing is, like with all Bowie's 90's output, it is full of hidden depths, and is more rewarding after multiple listens. Definitely something for the more experienced listener.

However, sad to say, that not every song on this album is pure gold, there are three tracks on here that I would happily throwaway, especially the cover of Cream's 'I Feel Free'. But all in all, if you are a big Bowie fan who's looking for a few tracks to put on a compilation, then there are some real gems worth discovering on this album.

P.S. also, check out the video to 'Jump They Say', it has barely dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bowie, 10 Nov 2003
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
If this album was released after "Lets Dance" , it would have been massive. Instead we got "Tonight" and "Never Let Me Down" and it was 10 years after "Lets Dance" before "Black Tie" appeared."Black Tie" is quality commercial dance music - jazz influenced ,with brilliant sax and trumpet playing throughout, complementing the great tunes and superb crooning vocals by Bowie. Favourite tracks would be "Jump They Say" , "Nite Flights","Wedding Song" and the epic " I Know It's Going to Happen Someday". Quality album, probably not appreciated at the time of its release as Bowie was unfashionable after his wilderness period. Stands up well today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's Creative Return, 19 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. K. O'brien (Blackpool, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Tie White Noise (Audio CD)
By 1993, David Bowie had not released a solo album since 1987 ('Never Let Me Down').
Coming off a wave of indifference with Tin Machine, Bowie came back with full force in his new solo venture.
After 3 Tin Machine albums ('Tin Machine', the underrated 'Tin Machine II' and 'Oy Vey, Baby'), Bowie had slumped into being a hasbeen rock star, which was exactly what he needed to public to see him as. The high fame from 'Let's Dance' (1983) had taken away his creative flare, he was making pop songs to please a new generation of 80s rockers. Try as he did with new concepts as the 'Glass Spider Tour', and film ventures such as 'Labyrinth', his creative side had dried up.
So what do we see on this 1993 offering? Well, we see a newly wed Mr Bowie trying to use the old tools of survival, which he sued so well in the 60s and early 70s. This album has several songs which a true Bowie masterpieces, namely 'Jump They Say', 'Miracle Goodnight' and 'The Wedding Song'. 'Nite Flights' and 'I Feel Free' also stand out, the latter featuring the very last work by former Spider Mick Ronson.
However, the album does feature too many fillers. 'Looking For Lester', 'You've Been Around' and 'I Know It's Gonna Happen Someday' are tagged on for no apparent reason, and I will never understand 'Pallas Athena'.
The most obscure of covers, 'Don't Let Me Down & Down' is an unsung hero of the album, proving that even the most obscure of songs can be successful, especially w/ David's soaring vocal toward the end, after line after line of monotone alto sounds.
It is tough to rate this album, though. It did go No1 on its release, but perhaps was overrated for a return album at the time.
I give it 3 1/2, as although it is wonderfully creative, the album as a whole feels disjointed in places, mostly due to the fillers.
It certainly beats his 80s attempts (bar 'Scary Monsters' (1980), and proves that as a creative artist, he is far from dried up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Tie White Noise
Black Tie White Noise by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews