Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just because you haven't seen it... don't not see it now!
You'll understand the title from watching the movie (I hope)!

At first I wasn't really geared up to watch this movie, my 10 year old daughter wanted to see it and, well, as dad's do, I didn't want to disappoint her, so we hired it.

...and I loved it!

It's a very clever movie with a strong cast (check out the end credits for the whole...
Published on 29 July 2006 by b4-its-2-l8

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small Soldiers
Good film, but not one that my six year old would watch over and over again like he does with others!
Published on 3 April 2011 by CN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just because you haven't seen it... don't not see it now!, 29 July 2006
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
You'll understand the title from watching the movie (I hope)!

At first I wasn't really geared up to watch this movie, my 10 year old daughter wanted to see it and, well, as dad's do, I didn't want to disappoint her, so we hired it.

...and I loved it!

It's a very clever movie with a strong cast (check out the end credits for the whole list), all of whom put in believable performances for their roles (even Denis Leary was top notch as the tough, morally bankrupt boss, which surprised me as I'd only seen him do stand-up previously).

The story revolves around 2 sets of action toys which become 'alive', with one set (the Commando Elite) being the ruthless, sworn enemy of the other (the Gorganites) the kind-hearted peacable ones. Both of whom were manufactured by the same company that inadvertantly implanted them with the same advanced but unpredictable miltary-grade A.I. chips.

The script is fast-paced and well written, plenty of humour throughout, the plot is well conceived and delivered, there aren't really any holes in it you could point to, even for such a far-fetched story as this where all the Gorgonites want to do is go home! (Remind you of another movie?). The Gorgonites for their part, who've never seen their home believe, 'just because you can't see it, doesn't mean it's not there'.

I've seen this movie compared to Toy Story, but don't do it. They are 2 very different films; Toy Story is a feature length (very well animated) cartoon for kids/family, Small Soldiers is a feature length film with very good special effects that older kids to adults will get the most from watching. This is because there are many jokes requiring a broader knowledge base to fully appreciate. Younger children will enjoy this film too, but more for the action/animation.

Add this to your collection, you'll be glad to dust it off and re-watch it from time to time. It's prefect for rainy day escapism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, Good DVD Disc, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is a good fun family film, the animations are clever and most importantly, the kids enjoy it. It keeps them watching and there are some genuine funnies which make them laugh out loud. Blasting your enemies with Spice Girls songs is a great idea. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Family Film, 15 May 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Great film, nice graphics and exciting for children. Arrived safely and quickly so good all round service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all the Family!, 29 Oct 2009
By 
SL "SL, Ecosse" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A great film for all the family, with some good gags, and excellent action with toys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated AND...., 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
When I first saw this film I thought it was good, though perhaps not brilliant. It was only when the end credits rolled and I was looking at the cast list that I read "The Gorgonites - Spinal Tap"! Yes, the Gorgonites are played by Christopher Guest, Michael McKean and Harry Shearer! Unfortunately this meant i had to run out and buy the film as I am a massive fan of Christopher Guest's work and have to have all his films. So there actually is a lot to offer older viewers who see this film if you know who is in the cast and can appreciate some of the in-jokes that would probably pass children by. Also, if you are a Phil Hartman fan this is worth having to round off your collection, as he died shortly after filming ended. I would say that this is worth seeing once no matter who you are and well worth buying if you can buy into the top cast and in jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get em boys, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
war chips for weapons are put into commando toys and gorgons ,that make them talk and cause mayhem as the all action troops try to find ,capture and destroy the gorgons,the shop owners boy and the girl he dreams to be with are brought together during this film and ,buy it and find out....a great film for kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic movie, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
For children and adults alike this film is one loved by my 17 year old son. Watched over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab film, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
My kids (all boys) love this film, I like it to, its a great prise, fast deliver and is good entertainment action packed fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Brilliant film very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally brilliant, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I Love this film from my childhood. More action and adventure than Toy story. Brilliant film, great price. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998]
Small Soldiers [DVD] [1998] by Joe Dante (DVD - 2011)
4.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews