Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts on this DVD
I remember seeing this film loads as a child and I had good reason to
It is a fantastic film and made my childhood so imagintive and creative

I adore this film and would recomend it to young and old
a great family classic
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by Grace 16

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charmless failure
If ever there was a film that screamed style over substance then its this one. You can't help but feel that some bored, frustrated film producer lacking ideas simply decided to transpose Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory to a Toy factory and hoped noone would notice or care thanks to the visual splendour of it all. Sadly theres no substitute for a good story,...
Published 4 months ago by P. D. gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts on this DVD, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I remember seeing this film loads as a child and I had good reason to
It is a fantastic film and made my childhood so imagintive and creative

I adore this film and would recomend it to young and old
a great family classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let joy and innocence prevail., 30 Jan 2013
By 
Peter S (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Just as the headline is a title from the soundtrack it sums up the core of the film. It is a film full of visual ingenuity, absurd humor and visual and lingual references. You will not miss intellectual challenges along with the spoofs and silliness. However, first of all it is made to nurse the child that hopefully still lives inside most of us bored adults. Robin Williams can be far too much, but in this film his talent glows. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 23 April 2007
By 
Bagpuss (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Toys is a whimsical tale, led by a niave Robin Wiiliams who pits his wits (and toys) against the mad Michael Gambon (before his Harry potter days).

Toys is visually appealing, the story absorbs you and doesn't let go. The characters are weird, wacky and fascinating.

If you don't like Toys, then you've obviously had a stinted childhood.

Toys is for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film with lovely soundtrack, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Lovely film for the whole family. Soundtrack is also lovely. Very different but a classic!! Great actors who never fail to deliver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I always liked this movie, I find it relaxing. It's not a master piece but it's indeed "good fun". If you like Robin Williams craziness you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the reviews!, 2 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Toys [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is my favorite Rogin Williams movie, and I never understand why the critics panned it so bad. A very creative film with an important message, which most likely goes over the heads of those enthralled with films like 'Mrs Doubtfire' and 'Mork and Mindy'. Rent it first, but if you enjoy movies that go outside the usual boundaries of predictiblity, then you will probably emjoy and end up buying this video as I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charmless failure, 18 April 2014
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
If ever there was a film that screamed style over substance then its this one. You can't help but feel that some bored, frustrated film producer lacking ideas simply decided to transpose Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory to a Toy factory and hoped noone would notice or care thanks to the visual splendour of it all. Sadly theres no substitute for a good story, characters or warmth and this is just one big empty viewing experience with Robin Williams seemingly clueless as to how to play his character.

Its big, its colourful, it has some degree of imagination visually but its flat as hell and just makes you want to dig out your old Willy Wonka dvd and wallow in Wilders genius. Credit where credits due to the great Michael Gambon for making the best of a bad job but even he cannot save this turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One to be forgotten, 23 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Robin Williams can be extremely funny, however not in this film. It's an interesting concept, but it is decidedly annoying and cringe worthy at times. It has some pleasant parts, promises a lot, but delivers little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Robin Williams again!, 2 July 2004
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Well not as good as Miss Doubtfire,but still a great laugh!It's crazy,but what really makes this film great (except Robin Williams) is it's a PG!It's one for all the family and it's funny.It's wacky,crazy and mental,but with laughs all the way through.Even in the credits!The only reason it gets 4 stars is thatat a time the comedy lacks.This passes quickly though and perks up again!A great film,especially for the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Laughter is a state of mind, 17 Dec 2012
This review is from: Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The son of a toy manufacturer fights to keep the factory's playful spirit alive when faced with his uncle's plans to make destructive military toys. A disappointing film from beginning to finish. Not even worthy of the talents of all involved. There were simply bad decisions made...the most important by the producer who said this film would make money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993]
Toys [1992] [DVD] [1993] by Barry Levinson (DVD - 2003)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews