Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is Believing - a Gaming Experience!
I bought this recently and played it for the first time last night. I played for 3 hours solidly - and the time just flew by.
The graphics are amazing (Even though my TV only plays it 50HZ). The gameplay is fast and the story is unique and imaginative (I could imagine it as a Manga film). At no point was I bored - and I am very fussy about games.
If you...
Published on 22 July 2004

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very exciting.
Great graphics and fmv, but repetative gameplay. Buy it if you want but I wouldnt' I got it free with metal gear solid 2. Chaos legion is not the standard of game I would expect from capcom.
Published on 25 Oct 2004 by I. MacRitchie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is Believing - a Gaming Experience!, 22 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
I bought this recently and played it for the first time last night. I played for 3 hours solidly - and the time just flew by.
The graphics are amazing (Even though my TV only plays it 50HZ). The gameplay is fast and the story is unique and imaginative (I could imagine it as a Manga film). At no point was I bored - and I am very fussy about games.
If you complete the different difficulties you get awarded with extra features and characters. You can't argue with the low price of the game now. I seriously recommend buying it - you won't be disappointed.
Fans of Platform games, Fighting games and RPG's should take a look.
A great underated game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chaos Legion Review, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Kyosan Erixon "Kyo" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
This game is actually underrated in it's style of gameplay, as I've duely noted from reading other reviews which discredit the game. It borrows a similar-style gameplay to the Devil May Cry style. So, from that, we can assume already that it's Hack n' Slash.But the differences are significantly evident from Devil May Cry. The story is hard to follow first time playing, because the story actually fleshes out as you play the game. You play as a man called Seig Wahrheit, out to stop the gone-renegade Victor Delacroix from releasing the spirit of Azrail. It has a gothic-esque style to it, but it's more enjoyable nonetheless.

Seig controls the powers over "Chaos Legion". As you progress, you collect more Legions and summon them. This can range from legions who fight with swords, to those using bows and so on. These legions can be ordered to be offensive, defensive, and each have special abilities whether or not you have them summoned, or without them summoned (Otherwise known as an "Assist Attack") Some enemies are either organic or metallic, so different legions affect one or the other better or worse. Also, while the Legions are summoned, Seig is slightly weaker. So, it's tactical in the sense that you need to know when to use the Legions or not. You can upgrade the power of the Legions as you accumulate EXP through the missions. When equipping certain legions, it also gives him new abilities (Eg. double jump).

There are fifteen missions in the game altogether. During the end of the third mission, a new character appears in the game called Arcia Rinslet. You play her for only one chapter (Chapter 9), and she has an entirely different gameplay style. Instead of Seig's Legions and slashing, Arcia fires dual pistols, has kick combos, and even has a gigantic firepower attack (which drains an energy bullet each time you use it). After the end of Mission 9, you return to playing Seig. However, if you complete Normal Mode, you unlock Arcia to play (Not just in normal mode), so there is more then just Seig. Thanatos, the ultimate legion in the game, has to be recollected by finding the nine fragments that are scattered across the game. Once finding it, it is the legion which takes the most EXP in the game to max out. But once it is fully maxed out, it's worth it.

Music-wise, the game actually has some cool themes, but is very lackluster in it's boss themes. Delacroix's themes are very generic and do not leave much of a recalling memory, nor does the Azrail and proper final boss theme. The level themes however are very enthralling and sometimes immerse you into the warped landscape itself.

As you progress through the game, the story becomes more and more evident. From the start of the game, you are believing one side of the story, before the game turns around sharply and shows you the reality of the story. The story takes a whole runthrough once to understand, but it does it masterfully to keep you guessing until the very end. Overall, this is a fun game, and definitely one to try out. It does have it's flaws (voice acting in some parts), but I think overall the game is a gem in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capcom has done it again, 11 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
I bought the Japanese version and it was spectaclar. I was speechless it was just so amazing with the combat of devil may cry and the puzzles of tomb raider and the rpg element of summoning ancient guardiens that will help you along this epic adventure gives it a final fantasy feel which makes it even more perfect.Who could wrong with these features? 13 levels,
8 summons and revoltionery combat and brillant graphics.
Capcom as defintly done it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game deserves 5 stars and no less, 30 Nov 2007
By 
Dave77 "Dave" (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
OK first off i want to just say that i have read a couple of the reviews and i must say i was a bit disappointed at what some people thought of this game.

what i will tell you in this review is basically what i think gamers have to know about the game if they are unsure whether to buy it or not, so i hope this helps you make up your mind.

i have completed this game and the story is complicated when you first play it but as you progress it slowly becomes more clear (you'll see what i mean when you play it).

you start off by playing as someone called sieg warheid and he is out to find an old friend (i use that term very lightly because they hate each other), his name is delacroix and i'm saying no more about him.

after about three stages in the game you meet a girl called arcia and i don't think she has a second name but she is and isn't a playable character. what i mean by that is she can be played only on stage ten and then it's back to good old sieg, after you complete the game and start a new story you will get a choice to play as either sieg or arcia but don't get too excited because well... actually i'm not saying.
in my opinion sieg is better because he is the only one who can summon the legions and well arcia only has one set of guns and that is it, the bosses are way harder to kill as her. that is all i'm saying about that topic, as i feel i have revealed too much already so moving on now.

the gameplay is totally awesome and the controls are really simple, even if you are new to the game.

being able to summon legions is by far the best feature as they can kill some enemies way faster than you and they help you in many differebnt ways which i'm going to let you figure out for yourself.

something else i wanted to point out is that your life bar starts small but as you progress you will get hp max ups which make the game better because i don't know about you but most of the games i have played don't allow your hp bar to increase.

a few more things i wanted to say are there are certain enemies that are weak against certain legions and that is why it is important to try out all the legions against different enemies.

also your legions can benefit you even when they are not summoned, i know you're probably wondering how so i'll tell you in a little detail. your legions gain experience as they fight and defeat enemies (this is the same for you) and that experience is shown to you at the end of the stage.

now what you can do with that experience is level them up OR you could use it to help them gain special abilities that benfit them and you such as double jump (your legions can't double jump by the way and some abilites only work if they are equipped).

you don't start off with all the legions unlocked so you can guess that means you get them as you progress through the game. the thing i love about this game is that on ALMOST every stage there is a boss to fight and you'll find most bosses are ten times your size or more.

i'll finish up by saying you can gain experience without fighting and by that i mean you can get experience gems.

your legions need soul energy to stay alive and you can also boost how big your soul bar is by getting what i call 'the rarest item in the game.' it is known to you though as a soul max up and each one you get can only be found once and that is all i am saying as i don't want to ruin any more of the story or anything else so have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A hack n slash that makes you think..., 22 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
At first glance, chaos legion may not seem much, and in truth it's not what you would call a triple a standard of game but nonetheless it is a unique experience for what it is and is worth a pick up.

The main selling point is the ability to summon legions, you will start the game only to be bombarded by enemies as you try to hack n slash them using sieg's midnight ripper over and over, this is not how you play chaos legion, by pressing l1 you can summon legions to beat the crap out of enemies for you essentially sieg starts off pretty weak but as you level up legions you can put points into enchant which increases sieg's versatility allowing him to use more abilities essentially turning him from a weak and vulnerable target into a godlike menace if you know how to use both siegs abilities and his legions correctly.

Chaos Legion has a pretty steep learning curve, the first few levels will be very tough especially if you're playing hard mode, you have to do all the missions in order until the 9th mission in which you can backtrack to previous levels and grown stronger. Now the thing is you level up both sieg and his legions individually, sieg doesn't level up with exp but he can acquire stat gain items from enemies making him stronger, these are essential to farm if you want to have an easier time in the later levels, legions level up with xp. Xp is gained from hitting enemies and from gems that drop from enemies like siegs stat gain items, depending on how you finish off an enemy depends on how much xp you obtain, if you finish them with a counter attack you get 4x the experience, finishing with a legion gives you a 2x experience.

There are two differrent health gauges, one for sieg (life) and one for legions (soul) run out of life and it's game over, run out of soul and your legion dies and you have to revive him by gathering phantom soul from enemies, phantom soul can be obtained essentially in the same way as xp but it can only be acquired with sieg's attacks, that way you can't just use your legions all the time which as fun as it could be, it would be a bit too easy. Your legions may be tough but they are vulnerable when attacked, your soul gauge will decrease quickly when enemies attack your legions so be sure to only bring them out when they're needed and don't keep them out too long or they will take damage.

Aside from summoning legions, you can also use assist moves with sieg allowing him to perform a special attack on his enemies, these range from a quick lunge to stopping time itself. Assists allow sieg to combine his legions with his own attacks making him deadly, assists cost an entire soul bar so use them sparsely, different assists are useful in different scenarios and vary based on the equipped legion. Sieg can also use a lightning attack to lock on to enemies, when locked on, pressing r1 allows him to circle foes and evade attacks similar to devil may cry 3, siegs legions will also target them too.

Gameplay aside lets talk about the story, the story isn't really deep but it gets the job done, it can be confusing at the start and not much happends as there are not many cutscenes that explain much, the plot is basicly this. you play as sieg wahrheit who is a knight of the dark glyphs, the dark glyphs are essentially that of the triforce from legend of zelda and sieg is one of their guardians. he is sent out to find victor delacroix, who is also a knight of the dark glyphs. sieg works for the order of st overia who are some sort of templar regiment, delacroix despises them for their greed for power and seeks to purify (destroy) the world so that he can return to his love interest seila (whom he blames sieg for her death) and to punish the order of st overia for their crimes.

Sieg has to stop delacroix from obtaining the three glyphs before he joins the three worlds together essentially killing everyone. Theres not much else to it, there is another character, arcia who's brother was killed by delacroix joins sieg so that she can get revenge, she doesn't play a strong part in the story though and is only played in one mission in the entire game though if you beat the game you can play as her instead of sieg, she uses guns and martial arts unlike sieg who uses the sword and summons legions.

The music is the best part of the game in my opinion, it really compliments the gameplay well and makes you feel like a badass as you watch your legions walk all over the many enemies that are thrown at you, the music shifts when you summon a legion which makes things sound epicer. Chaos Legion probably has some of the greatest boss themes in gaming and they are all rock/choir songs which are epic. some of the songs on the other hand are more calming and eerie but you still get that sense of adreniline in them (with the exception of level 7's music).

And that is all there is to say about Chaos Legion, it may not be much to most gamers but to fans of hack n slash it may prove appealing, I personally enjoyed it as it got me into hack n slash style gameplay.

-------------------------------
Story/Plot: 7.0
Presentation: 7.0
Graphics: 7.9
Gameplay: 7.9
Music: 9.0
Lifespan: 7.0
Replay Value: 8.0
-------------------------------

Overall Score: 7.0

-------------------------------

Buy it used, it's worth pennies now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 16 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. S. M. Tull "Steve" (N. Wales, Conwy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
I've played the demo of this game, and WOW. the music was a great compilation of bassy adrenaline pumping tunes (great with a subwoofer) the framerate NEVER dies, even if there are like 30+ enemies on screen all attacking at once. you can summon what i assume are demons that surround you in a circle and you choose which weapon they hold (sword, crossbow e.t.c) a certain RPG element comes into play by boosting attributes.
my only bad comment would be that it is repatitious; go into room, enemy(ies) appear, door locks, KILL!. bear in mind I only played the demo so it might be more sophisticated, but I can't see it improving much there. a good buy, definatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHAOS LEGION RARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
RARE PS2 GAME MOST PS2 GAMES ARE RARE NOW LIKE KING OF FIGHTERS PS2 X1 MAXUIMUM IMPACT 2 RARE PROJECT ZEROS 123 RAREEEEEEEEEEEE THIDS IS TOO ITS GOT A GGOD GRAFICS AND HAS SOME GOOD FIGHTING KIN IT GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very exciting., 25 Oct 2004
By 
I. MacRitchie "ameliefan" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
Great graphics and fmv, but repetative gameplay. Buy it if you want but I wouldnt' I got it free with metal gear solid 2. Chaos legion is not the standard of game I would expect from capcom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total crap, 4 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaos Legion (Video Game)
This is the worse game I ever played in my life. It is so boring and repetitious it's not true. If you can't sleep, play this game, it will soon make you zzzzzzzzzzz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chaos Legion
Chaos Legion by Capcom (PlayStation2)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews