Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War: what is it good for? Well it's a lot of fun
This game is without a doubt the best of the battlefield series and challenges for one of the most fun PC games I have played. The sheer depth of it makes for an enthralling experience and while it requires a high spec machine to run in it's full graphical entirety the lag problems that plagued BF1942 seem to have been almost totally removed.
On writing this I have...
Published on 9 April 2004 by J. Cheesman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars EA What have you done?
This game smacks of a lack of development. I have an Athlon 2600+, Radeon 9800pro (latest driver-03/04), 512mb memory and this game just plain sucks. The framerate is poor, dropping into single figures when zooming in and out and turning around. The Bots are just as stupid as in the original BF1942, making the single player game just as pointless. I have had a sound loop...
Published on 24 Mar 2004 by P. Blythe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War: what is it good for? Well it's a lot of fun, 9 April 2004
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
This game is without a doubt the best of the battlefield series and challenges for one of the most fun PC games I have played. The sheer depth of it makes for an enthralling experience and while it requires a high spec machine to run in it's full graphical entirety the lag problems that plagued BF1942 seem to have been almost totally removed.
On writing this I have an AMD Athlon with 512meg of RAM and a GeForce 2. I can run this game (admittedly with low graphics settings) without getting any lag whatsoever so if you have a better machine then you are in luck.
The number of bots available has been reduced to 64 but you hardly notice this as you egt caught up in the atmosphere of the war. I cannot explain how exciting it is when you crawl through the brush, undetected and suddenly you hear the thud of Vietnamese rotors.
Tactics play a big part in this game and stealth is very important if you wish to live. It's not like BF1942 where you can blast your way through the japanese army, even on the easiest settings if you don't take cover when you're under fire you will die VERY quickly.
I really cannot praise this game enough and I advise anyone who enjoyed the first installments of BF to purchase it. I myself am buying a new graphics card just to run this game and PES3 and if your computer can't run this game then I would suggest that you upgrade too.
Your country needs YOU to buy this game.............wait......wrong war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game!, 28 Feb 2005
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
I waited several months before getting this game on account of the mixed reviews it received, but now I wish I hadnt waited so long! I got it at Christmas along with HL2 and Joint Ops:Escalation and to give you an idea of how it fares I play this virtually every night and the others have barely had a look in.
I'll admit I was a big fan of BF1942 and this is basically a revamp of that game set in a different context. The graphics are more detailed and richer but its not a massive leap forward. The gamplay however is fantastic... if you're a fan of Apocalypse Now / Platoon and the like then you'll appreciate the opportunity to skim over a hot LZ in a huey, blasting away out of the doorway to the sounds of "Fortunate Son".
The maps are well thought out without plenty of room to hide if your a sniper, without there being the huge expanses you get in Joint Ops. The base designs, vehicle placement etc lead to some great to-and-fro battles, and with the orginal 60s soundtrack pouring out of the tanks and helis as they go past, it really is immersive.
Some of the early reviews mentioned unbalanced weapons, but that seems to have been evened out with later patches. The US forces still have the best weapons combos IMHO, but the NVA has a few tricks too - a decent SAM and boobytraps come to mind, and it doesnt seem too one sided to me. Nevertheless the one gripe I have is the helis, which carry too much ammo and seem virtually immune to small arms fire - they can often be seen endlessly flying round-and-round the spawn points blasting everyone as they spawn. As a result the top scorers are ALWAYS the heli pilots who ALWAYS have at least 5 times the kill rates of everyone else. It can get frustrating, but there it is.. ;-)
Overall a great, great multiplayer game, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield Vietnam, 12 April 2005
By 
Josh Smith (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
It is an absolutely fantastic game, known for its amazing gameplay and is by far the best multiplayer game ever!!! However, i recommend that you have broadband before buying this game as it could be quite laggy without. Since i bought this game i have never got bored of it, and that is quite an achievement as i get bored of games quite easily and quite quickly. To sum it up in one word: outstanding!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than Desert Combat. BUY IT!!, 18 Mar 2004
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
It's out at last. End the speculation - here is the lowdown: EA have refined this game beyond the previous editions of BF1942. Particularly good are the new vegetation and weapons / vehicle models - superior to their BF1942 predecessors (Secret Weapons set a good blueprint - BV exceeds it.)
Otherwise it's more of the same - I can't really see any major improvements to graphics, and gameplay didn't need to be better in my opinion, although single player AI is actually even more crap than its predeccessor. More than ever before, DON'T buy this for single player only, I guarantee you will throw your PC out the window within an hour.
The one big improvement over Desert Combat is that helicopters are much easier to fly. Even a numpty like me, who generally avoids helicopters like the plague in DC for fear of crashing and killing myself and the 6 buddies inside (oops!) found hovering, strafing and directional control much easier with the mouse.
13 maps, especially the Marines Beach assault at Da Nang and the jungle map of Dak To are excellent. (Although the Hue one just feels like Stalingrad with palm trees). Most of the maps are historically based (Ia Drang Valley, Khe Sanh, Hue) but wisely steer clear of all the controversy surrounding the real war (there's no civilians to get wasted by friendly fire, for example). Fans of Vietcong will be pleased to know there are no tunnels in BV!
F4 Phantoms, A7 Corsair (carrier-launched attack plane), MiG-21s and the Hueys will keep the airheads happy, and the fast PBR riverboat is great fun, with double 50cal MGs. If you liked the versatility of the Medic from BF1942, well bad luck, there isn't one in BV, while the new engineer class with mortar (US) or booby traps (NVA) makes for some fun encounters. Tanks are a bit limited on the US side - just the Patton, M551 & M113 APC; but the NVA get the T54, PT76 (like a BMP from DC) and the ZSU antiaircraft tank plus the Truck-mounted rocket launcher and artillery guns to make up for their lack of aircraft.
It is the versatility of helicopters, and their ability to pick up some boats and vehicles that is the real novelty. US get two types of Huey and a Chinook, and the NVA get the Mi-8 (from DC). For a wicked airborne platform, try picking up the M110 howitzer with a Chinook and using it as an aerial artillery platform (yes you can fire it in mid air! This is a bug I'm sure they will get rid of at the first patch, but absolutely crackin fun for now!!)
The reason this gets 5 stars (after all, its pretty much the same game only prettier and with different vehicles)is the soundtrack. It is fantastic, awesome, what can I say? Original tracks by Deep Purple, Canned Heat, Jefferson Airplane and Hendrix provide a brilliant authentic soundtrack. Crashing in over the waves in a Huey to Ride of the Valkyries (a la Apocalypse Now) ain't half bad either.
Worth £22.50? Hell yes! Buy it and join the online community. War is Hell! But Battlefield Vietnam is Heaven. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put Vietcong on the Shelf, 1 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
What a great game I have heard a lot of negative views about this game and decided to check it out for myself, I am glad I did now.
I am running a AMD Thunderbird 1000MHZ with 1GB SDRAM 133 and ATI Radeon 9200 SE 128MB.
I have no problems with speed issues the load time is average for a game of this type.
This game is aimed towards the online gamer but I also enjoyed the single player levels.
You are able to choose from a large range of weapons and vehicles and artillery pieces so you can create some realistic attacks when you play online, If you enjoy first person shooters that are realistic this game is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I luv the smell of Napalm in the evening., 1 April 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
Well its here and I have been playing it since day of release.
The updated BF engine is good and the graphical tweaks add to the atmosphere, one thing the original game & DC lack is foliage - in BF:V theres plenty, you can be 6 foot from an enemy and stumble upon them hiding with a sniper rifle unleash your knife and stab them in the back. Great fun.
There are a few weapon unbalances that need resolving but some mini mods are addressing this problem prior to EA/DICE releasing the official patches.
Helicopters are easier to fly compared to DC and flying into battle with "ride of the valkryies" blaring is awesome, hovering over flag your troops jump out is a satisfying experience.
Very much an online team game and for me is the best of the crop at the minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes the Battlefield series by storm!!, 3 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
Out of all the Battlefield products made, Battlefield Vietnam stands out as the best of them.
BFV is simply awesome. All the things which were begged for mods like Desert Combat which weren't possible on the game's engine, have been implemented into BFV's brand new, graphically polished engine. Features like shooting personal weapons out of vehicles. In-game music. Timers for flag capture. It's all in there.
GRAPHICS
The graphics are a huge improvement to BF1942. BF1942's never were bad, but BFV's graphics are just incredible. Even on low settings, the presentation of the game is brilliant: the dense foliage (which you can now use for cover); the details on the helos and jets; cockpits; and the weapon animation is just outstanding. Watching yourself reload an M-16 or M60 is a pleasure. Unlike the problems BF and DC faced, you can actually see yourself pull back the clip and place a fresh magazine inside your weapon. Amazing.
SOUND
The sound, which I've always regarded as one of BF's best departments, has soared to new levels. Anyone to criticise the addition of a new radio for vehicles - listening to Creedence Clearwater Revival's Fortunate Son whilst screaming over a beach in an F4 Phantom, or blasting Ride Of the Valkyries to everyone below whilst piloting a Huey as part of the air cavalry - is just not worth taking the time to listen to. Jefferson Airplane, Bobby Fuller Four's "I Fought The Law", Deep Purple, The Kinks, and everyone's favourite, "War (What Is It Good For?)". Not to mention you can customize and choose your own radio tracks by placing MP3s in the "My Music" folder.
"Stars and Bars Radio" blasts out of the speakers at your airbase, and on street maps you get Vietnamese propaganda ("Your pilots have abandoned you GI." God that gets on your nerves.) However, if it all gets too much for you, you can always pull out your weapon and blow up the speakers to put an end to it all. Ricochets are incredible. Listening to the sound of an AK bullet zipping over the grass blades and then emitting that dull sound as it pierces the trunk of that tree behind you, or the terrifying sound of napalm as it incinerates your team's outpost, is just amazing.
GAMEPLAY
The gameplay, well, do I need to say more? Jump in a MiG-21 and unleash a hail of bullets into that F4 Phantom advancing towards your base. Whip up the rotors of a Huey or CH-47 Chinook and drop a chain to airlift one of your team-mates to safety (by pressing and holding the ALT-FIRE button while in a Chinook or Huey you can airlift friendly vehicles - this takes practice though). Or even if you want to go on foot, or by river, you have heavily-armed PBR patrol boats, stealthy Vietnamese Sampans and a whole load of weapons at your arsenal, such as the AK-47, the M-16 Assault Rifle, M-16 w/scope, the SA-7 Heat Seeker missile, RPGs, LAWs, Bouncing Betty traps and everyone's favourite - the knife, is back. Everything you could imagine from the Vietnam era is here.
The classes have been completely redesigned. 4 to choose from - Assault, Heavy Assault, Engineer and Sniper, but this time each class possesses an alternative kit, so you have a possible 8 kits to choose from. Also add the ability to customize your appearance in-game and you have something to keep everyone happy. These kits and appearances change depending on whether you're the Army, Marines, Special Forces, Viet Cong, North Vietnamese or South Vietnamese, which vary each map.
The maps, however, are admittedly smaller than in BF1942 or any of the mods. There are basically 3 map variants: Air, Jungle and Street/Urban. Maps such as Operation Flaming Dart (my personal favourite) bring aero-naval combat to attention, whereas the Ho Chi Minh Trail offers jungle, land-based combat.
Single Player is still a bit of a let-down for the Battlefield series, but as continuously emphasised, this is a MULTI-PLAYER GAME. No matter what difficulty setting or team ratio you set the AI to, there is nothing to match playing online and co-operating with real people. I must say though, I have noticed a definite improvement to the AI. It's not perfect, but bots can now fly helos, and if you increase the difficulty to 100%, they can give you a seriously hard time. They can also respond to some of the radio commands. Use single-player (for some reason campaign has been removed, there is just co-op/instant battle available now) to practise and get a feel for the new vehicles and weapons available to you.
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
Here's my PC:
AMD Athlon XP 1800 1.5GHz processor
512MB RAM
ATI Radeon 9000 64MB graphics card
So as you can see, I have nothing special, but with a bit of tweaking, I can play on High settings on 1024x768 resolution. It has to be said: you do need a high-spec PC to get the most out of BFV, it demands good hardware, at the minimum a 1.2 GHz processor, 256MB RAM and a 64MB graphics card - this should run the game ok on low settings. Broadband is highly recommended for playing online.
OVERALL
So in conclusion....Battlefield Vietnam is one hell of a game. Having seen what the community did with BF1942 - the mod potential of BFV is going to be IMMENSE. Even this is a good enough reason to buy the game. Without doubt there are fixes which need to be implemented to iron out the bugs (an inevitability to the BF series), but these will come along within the next few months, just check the official site for updates. The M60/LAW combination has already been sorted out with the 1.01 patch - the next one is going to add new helicopters! Keep an eye out for it!
Battlefield Vietnam is an ace game. Do NOT miss out. Meanwhile, I'm heading back to give Charlie his wake-up call....who's with me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game i have ever played, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Tom (Haslemere, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
After playing this game for 7 months- since it release i can give an accurate review of it. Im a hardened battlefield gamer, and ever since I played a battlefield 1942 demo at a mates, I had to get Vietnam. I was hooked from the first minute and was amazed at the vast array of vehicles and weapons at your very fingertips, and the amazing gameplay.
It is a 1st person shooter set in the battlefields of vietnam. The point of the game is to capture all the flags and get the opposing teams tickets down to zero.
You can play as either the Viet Cong or the US marines in the battle against communism and capitalism, and you can play as a heavy weapons/anti tank player which allows you to have an RPG rocket launcher, heat seeker for viet cong and for the US a LAW rocket launcher or a grenade launcher. These weapons are realy cool and just wait and see yourself blast a viet cong 50 foot into the air!. Or you can be a sniper, a mechanic- which means you can fix and destroy vehicles ,or a normal soldier equipped with a machine gun and grenades. All weapons are from the 1960-70 time and all hisorically accurate.
The game also features a soundtrack that you can play in the various vehicles that you can pilot. Imagine driving in a sherman tank with 'dont you want somebody to love' by jefferson airplane blasting out accross the killing fields of 'nam.
but this is what seperates this game from most others. For the Us you can pilot:
ATC- river troop transport
Chinook
Corsair- bomber
Assault Helicopter (huey gunship)
Transport Helicopter
M110- mobile artilery
M113- armoured personel carryer
MUTT- jeep with mounted heat seeker
Patton- tank
PBR- river support
Phantom air fighter
Sheridan-tank
NVA :
BM21- truck with missiles
BTR 60- amphibious APC
Mi 8- assult and troop carryer
Mi 8 Cargo - mobile spawn point
MiG-17- heavy but nimble bomber/fighter
MiG-21- light quick fighter- fastest plane
PT-76- amphibious tank
T-54-heavy tank
UAZ 469- jeep with mounted machine gun
Scooter- what can I say, its fun! beep beep!
ZSU 57 2- flak weapon, I h8 IT !!
The array of weapons of either side is formidible and also Ea has added an array of realy cool features such as mobile spawn points- tunnels, pungi sticks, mines, c4 and even a blowtorch!
There are some points though that could have been improved on. There could have/should have been an online leaderboard which I heard will feature in EA's next battlefield release for PC- battlfield 2, but sadly does not appear in batrlefield vietnam.
Also sometimes the 'capture the flag' objectives get a little tedious sometimes.The main problem is NEVER EVEN CONSIDER GETTING THIS GAME for the single player. I played it five minutes and got bored. This game is perhaps the best multiplayer game ive seen in a while and ive seen a few.
If you have good internet connection dont hesitate in getting this game. Im proud to own it. If you dont think long and hard and read other reviews about single player battlefield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars EA What have you done?, 24 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
This game smacks of a lack of development. I have an Athlon 2600+, Radeon 9800pro (latest driver-03/04), 512mb memory and this game just plain sucks. The framerate is poor, dropping into single figures when zooming in and out and turning around. The Bots are just as stupid as in the original BF1942, making the single player game just as pointless. I have had a sound loop on one of the levels (an explosion will repeat over and over again until you finish that level). It is a massive game requiring in excess of 1.5gb hard disk space (on 3 cd roms). It is also a memory hungry game which reqs a minimum 384mb on xp (recommended is 512mb on the readme), which is ridiculous. I thought it might just be my computer, but after reading other reviews on amazon.com (have a look), I don't think it is now.
On the positive side the online gaming is as good apart from the graphic glitches. EA have supplied a programme called 'Acegain' which an updater for automatically downloading the latest patches as soon as they are released. I have a feeling this will be frequently used.
If you really must have this game (it has got to get better) then buy it either from Amazon, its the cheapest new, or get one of E-bay (theres gonna be a few for sale soon I think)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If u like online first person shooters then this is a must!, 15 April 2004
This review is from: Battlefield Vietnam (PC) (Video Game)
I have played Bf1942 and the mods associated with the game, so my expectations for this game were pretty high. Bf Vietnam is awesome and in my opinion the best online game you can play. It has a few issues but what game doesnt the good news is that EA update their games regularly which ensures that problems are removed quickly. However one of the best reasons to buy this game is the mod potential its going to be huge, anyone who has played Bf1942 know that there are lots of mods for all gamers from the gulf war to sci fi.
What are U waitng for buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield Vietnam (PC)
Battlefield Vietnam (PC) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£19.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews