Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
108
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2002
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you’re a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for ‘All My Life’.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
After reading the review about this being a copy protected disc, I wasn't sure whether to buy this album or the original version as I listen to a lot of my music on my mp3 player. I took the risk anyway as others had not mentioned it and am glad I did. Although the disc does say that it is copy protected, I had no trouble playing and ripping it to my pc using media player. It is a brilliant album and also includes a bonus disc which has some really good tracks on too. Do not miss out on this great bargain.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you're a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for 'All My Life'.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2002
The Foo Fighters fourth album is possibly their best yet. Heavy yet melodic, I think they're finally away from the constant Nirvana references & have made their own place in rock n' roll.
'All my life' is a good starting point, with a great chorus that should have fans singing along happily on tour. 'Low' is a powerful second track (great drumming on this one) and 'Have it all' could be another single.
'Dienchanted Lullaby' & 'Tired' (which features Queen's Brian May) are slower tracks, 'Tired' is a moodier piece and the quietest track on the album. 'Halo' is currently my favourite song on it, melodic verse with clean sounding guitars which lead into a bigger, louder chorus. It's an anthemic number and would make both a great live track and a great single.
The album closes with 'Overdrive', 'Burn away' & 'Come Back' 3 strong tracks. The album doesn't drop at any point - it's strong throughout (admittedly their previous 3 CD's had weak points).
Dave Grohl has been busy lately with Queen's of the stone age & some new posthumous Nirvana releases but it's good to see him focused on this band. Overall it's energetic, enjoyable rock n' roll!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
Having seen half of the songs on "One by One" performed live at this years Reading festival, it was with great anticipation that I awaited this new album, and the good news is, it does not dissapoint. 1997's "The Colour and the Shape" had tapped on the bands potential, but had one too many fillers in the middle, while 1999's overrated "There is nothing Left to Lose" was a better album, but somehow lacked the punch we have come to expect from Grohl and his cohorts. With their forth album "One by One", we get the best of both worlds, a riff heavy begginning which slows, then builds up to a truly awesome finish.
Its not unusual for an album from Mr. Grohl and co to start explosively, but the opening four songs on "One by One" are truly exceptional. As well as this, its the diversity of these songs that particularly impresses. All my Life, with its crunching QOTSA influenced riff youve heard already, jumps to the very moody "Low" which features some classic foo riffing, and then on to "Have It All", surely the albums biggest grower. Then comes "Times Tike These", which Grohl himself describes as the best song hes ever written, and he may not be too far off the mark. It will surely be released as a single at some stage. Then comes "Disenchanted Lullabye" & "Tired of You" (the latter featuring a great guitar cameo from Brian May). These two songs both build up nicely in classic Foo Fighters style, Lullabye has a very trippy feel, while the beautiful "Tired" is a sparse, dreamy guitar/vocal ballad(?) reminisant of "walking after you". As with every foos album, the late mid part of the record reverts to a few Foo standards, which showcase the Foos ever present pop sensibility, the pick of which is the superb "overdrive", but the band truly save the best till last with the magnificent "Come Back". On this track the band finally prove themselves as more than just riff masters with a 4 minute instrumental middle section that builds and builds untill it blows your doors off! Undoubtedly the best closer to any Foos album, Dave might have to reassess his earlier "Best song ive ever written" statement.
All in all the best Foo Fighters album to date, and the one I have been waiting to hear for 5 years. However, with media speculation of the bands demise, and the ongoung Love/Nirvana saga, it has risen from unlikely circumstances. There are plenty of blatant references to this in the lyrics to be found, but what makes this album stand out is the 11 stunning songs that the mand put together in an amazing 3 weeks. Fans of the Foos should rejoice, while fans of great rock music should do likewise. Buy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
The Foo Fighters finally follow up their highly acclaimed 1999 album 'There Is Nothing Left To Lose' with One By One. The Foos are as solid as ever, playing and sounding like the rock band they want to be.
The album opens with the forceful All My Life, which is a pure slice of rock'n'roll fun. The driving powerful guitars hit home and this is an exhilarating ride. This song is quite heavy for the Foos and the next song, Low follows suit. Low is quite simply unique and quite simply brilliant. Continuing the dark edge present in All My Life, the powerful fuzzy guitars and tribal drumming are contrasted perfectly by Grohls calm vocals. Next on the agenda is Have It All, which reminds of the Foo of old and easily is one of the strongest songs on the album. The sweeping catchy chorus and riff is perfect single material. Another song, which reminds of old Foo Fighters material, is the beautifully written Times Like These. Emotional and straight to the point, again a standout track. Disenchanted Lullaby follows with quite a misleading title. The aggressive grunge chorus (“I maybe scattered, A little Scattered…….No-one has fit like I do”) helped by Hawkins forceful drumming makes this a powerful song. A certain Queen guitarist by the name of Brian May crops up on the next track Tired Of You and adds a nice guitar track but the most surprising part of this song is just how powerful Grohls vocals can be. We find Grohl in a thoughtful, reflective mood (“is this just desire, or the truth?”) but the vocals are truly haunting and send a shiver down the spine.
The second half of the album begins with the stadium-rock of Halo. A powerful desperate chorus and deep lyrics, Halo fits nicely after Tired Of You. Again a potential hit as a single. Lonely As You is a slow burner, but a powerful track nonetheless. It grows on you and evidence of the dark edge the band seems to be exploring as well as their lighter side is present here too. A good example of Hawkins drumming ability too. Overdrive is simply an inoffensive punk rock song that’s catchy and fun. Nothing new for the Foo Fighters but then theres nothing wrong with that if its quality. An Overdrive is so no problems there. Burn Away is another slow burner but the hooky chorus and fuzzy guitars soon draw you in. The album finishes with the truly epic Comeback, almost eight minutes in length, the sound is quite raw not unlike All My Life. The album finishes as it started. As a rock’n’roll album. Sometimes the album does feel a little too produced, and there is a sense that the band could have gone for it a bit more on a few tracks but these are minor faults that in no way spoil the album. There is a constant theme in the album of different relationships through Grohls lyrics. He is progressing as a lyricist all the time and One By One is perfect evidence of this. The Foos continue to do their own thing and we should be thankful for that. Its an album that will no doubt go down well with their ever growing fan base, but will also help add a few more. Its an album which can hold its head up high next to the epic The Colour And The Shape and the Grammy winning There Is Nothing Left To Lose-and if that’s not praise I don’t know what is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2003
It is August 24th 2002 in a Berkshire field. Dave Grohl, front man of the Foo Fighters is standing alone on the Reading Festival stage for the encore to another brilliant set. An adoring crowd is hearing, for the first time, the haunting Tired of You and realising two things: 1. Grohl's past as drummer of the legendary Nirvana, is irrelevant because at this moment, he has cemented himself as true rock legend in his own right. 2. His sabbatical from the Foos to drum for Queens of The Stone Age was no mistake, nor has it led to the predicted downfall of his band. In fact, the opposite has occurred: the experience has given him a ten-fold increase of urgency and aggression - and this album is all the better for it.
In the difficult position of writing a fourth album, Grohl has succeeded admirably, exemplified by the low-slung guitar genius of All My Life and the brilliant Low and Halo. Even the haunting ballad of Tired of You has undertones of real passion, and is possibly the best non-shouty song Grohl has ever written. It was a shrewd move to leave behind the polished more commercial sound of previous album There Is Nothing Left To Lose, and it is an ironic twist that with this album the band have been rewarded with their most commercial success yet. Although track Burn Away is a little limp and Overdrive is a less successful attempt to re-create previous track Generator, the rest of the album more than makes up for these slight inconsistencies.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2003
Whatever the quality, 'One By One' was always going to make for interesting listening. After brief sojourns with Queens Of The Stone Age and Tenacious D, Dave Grohl took one look at what had already been recorded and ditched the lot. The eleven remaining tracks came together in 3 weeks. Unsurprisingly, it rocks.
Straight out the blocks the rejuvenated Foos show that they mean business. 'All My Life' couples machine-gun guitar with a catchy lyric hook. 'Low' continues along the same path - it's another incendiary track. Almost every track is so urgent and emphatic it gives the feeling that Foos feel like they have something to prove with this release.
Grohl is now doing the slow songs better than ever as well. 'Tired Of You' might well be the best song he's written. A fragile guitar line supplied by Brian May accompanies some of Grohl's most bleak lyrics ("Is this just desire, or the truth?"). It's a touching song, and every bit as good as Grohl's previous lyrical high, 'My Hero'.
It's not quite a five-star classic. Sadly there are a couple of weaker tracks that prevent it being a must-buy, 'Halo' is a bit turgid, and 'Burn Away' is a couple of minutes too long. However both these tracks come towards the end of the album and don't detract too much from the quality that surrounds them.
The Foo Fighters finally seem to have found the edge that was missing from their earlier realises. 'One By One' is an emphatic statement that Dave Grohl is not resting on his iconic status. He obviously still has music that needs to be heard. As the man himself says on recent single 'Times Like These, "It's times like these you learn to live again." The Foo Fighters most important album yet and one of the best rock albums of 2002.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you're a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the extremely funny video for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on) which is also provided for in just an audio track as well, along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for 'All My Life'.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2005
As always, the Foo Fighters delivered a good solid album of post-grunge hard rock. It features their usual range of material, with their hard-hitting rhythms and great sound throughout, and it feels very well produced.
That's the problem though. This album may be technically accomplished, and the band may play more tightly than ever before, but the rough, raw edge, and brutal delivery that made much of their earlier material so powerful is missing. And that power is needed more on this album than on any of the previous releases, because sadly the songs are not as good as I had come to expect from them. Of course there are some great tracks here, but overall it seems a bit flat and tired, even formulaic. Every Foo Fighters album delivers musical ups and downs, but on "One by One" the highs aren't high enough, and there are far too many lows. There are very few of the instantly memorable themes that previous releases gave us.
On the positive side, the band plays as a tight cohesive musical unit on this album, and the guitar, and especially the drums sound superbly focused and impressive. There are perhaps 3 or 4 great tracks on the album. "All My Life" is a brilliant opener, full of snarling, chopped guitar and machine-gun drummimg, with a surprisingly catchy melody line, and tortured lyrics - one of their best ever. "Times Like These" is a impressive track which builds from a restrained but interesting opening to a much heavier (and much more pleasing) climax. "Have It All" is an intense rhythm workout, where the group flexes it's muscles to maximum effect, and once again comes to a very satisfying conclusion, with clashing cymbals and overdriven power chords. "Burn Away" features one of the best guitar intros ever, but doesn't quite hit the mark overall.
This album is a very good one, and there are some really excellent tracks here, but it is perhaps the weakest of their albums overall. Try "In Your Honour", their latest and best, to really hear what makes the Foo Fighters such a great group.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.