Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initially very dissapointed with the change of actors - but otherwise pretty good
My son (now 10) and our family fell in love with the original Emmy award winning mini-series with it's 'all star' cast. That's also available as another two DVD set, Dinotopia [DVD], which is edited into a superb four hour film with interesting extras. Initially my son couldn't tolerate this spin off 'Dinotopia: The Series' as they changed all of the main actors, and has...
Published on 17 Mar 2005 by Keith_Joseph

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst kind of Americanised Dross
I had very high hopes for this series after watching the min-series upon which it is supposedly based, but these proved to be entirely on the wrong side of the map. The actors were completely unsuited to the roles, the stories were ridiculous, cliched, and embarrassing to watch, and the decision to use the same characters as the mini-series with a new cast had disasterous...
Published on 5 Jan 2007 by D. Hinkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initially very dissapointed with the change of actors - but otherwise pretty good, 17 Mar 2005
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
My son (now 10) and our family fell in love with the original Emmy award winning mini-series with it's 'all star' cast. That's also available as another two DVD set, Dinotopia [DVD], which is edited into a superb four hour film with interesting extras. Initially my son couldn't tolerate this spin off 'Dinotopia: The Series' as they changed all of the main actors, and has only just started watching it a year or two after we bought it on DVD. He really likes the series now (as he admits he has forgotten what the orginal cast were like).

This 'Dinotopia: The series' has a more jocular mood with the old character's presented in a more likeable way than the original moody and angry or pious (bordering on pompous in the Mayor's case) tone of the original. However I preferred the original 'Dinotopia's darker style, and missed classy Brit's Katie Carr and Jim Carter as the Dinotopians and Wentworth Miller and Tyron Leitso as the believable in-fighting American step-brother's, David and Karl Scott, coping with their sudden change of lifestyle and recent loss of their father. I also really missed Lee Evans as dinosaur Zippo's voice, Terry Jone's as the messenger's birds voice and David Thewlis [Harry Potter's Remus Lupin] as hustler Cyrus Crabb. In fact none of the cast from 'Dinotopia' appear in this set 'Dinotopia: The series'. However I do like the fact that these 'Dinotopia: The Series' DVDs have all the episodes listed seperately so that the cliffhanger, end music and titles remain, greatly helping to set the pace. I felt the merging of the original mini-series 'Dinotopia' into a single very long film on DVD was less succesful than keeping the episodes seperate as screened - which also allows an episode before bed-time for the kids.

In this DVD set 'Dinotopia: The Series', Erik von Detten plays Karl Scott, Shiloh Strong plays David Scott and Michael Brandon plays Frank Scott, their dad. The 'unknown' new cast of this spin-off series make a good go of it though, but I do find the change of mood and cast very annoying. I wish they had just bought in completely new character's with this new cast and ignored the previous mini-series. But of course any Dinotopia is better than nothing. Other than the whinges above, this is a very fun series, less serious and Dino-preaching than the original and with more of the Pirate's of the Caribbean feel (as it now has pirates). It is therefore probably well suited to older pre-teens and young teenagers (probably boys mainly). Once we got going, we did all enjoy this series on DVD, particularly as on TV we kept missing vital episodes. This 3 DVD set has all 13 episodes listed separately plus a few 'featurettes' on making Dinotopia etc. So overall, highly recommended for the kids, particularly as no more promised Dinotopia seems to have materialised. The main episodes run for 540 minutes in total, with 5.1 surround sound and English audio only, no subtitles. We thought series was good value at around a tenner for the set. 'Dinotopia: The series' was first screened in 2002 and 2003, straight after the original 'Dinotopia' film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst kind of Americanised Dross, 5 Jan 2007
By 
D. Hinkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had very high hopes for this series after watching the min-series upon which it is supposedly based, but these proved to be entirely on the wrong side of the map. The actors were completely unsuited to the roles, the stories were ridiculous, cliched, and embarrassing to watch, and the decision to use the same characters as the mini-series with a new cast had disasterous and distracting effects.

The 'fairy-tale' feel of the mini-series was not present at all. The dinotopians spoke with american accents and used modern slang and language; instead of 'certainly' or 'yes sir', everyone said 'sure'. Most people seemed to use words like 'babe' on a regular basis. The ideals presented in the miniseries, along with facts of life and about the island, were ignored and misrepresented. The series sees the introduction of a Xena, warrior princess-style villainess, who lives in a castle with her american crossbow wielding henchmen. In only the third episode a man invents an elixir of life and magically turns into a child. The whole thing is utterly, mind bogglingly ridiculous.

To summarize: The scripts were obviously written by unskilled, poorly paid authors, the starring actors were not very good, the magic was gone, the extras couldn't act for toffee, and the storylines were ridiculous and not at all in keeping with either the mini-series or with the books. It isn't even good for a laugh. It may entertain sex-obsessed cheap-thrill loving americans, but it doesn't entertain me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Been looking for this series forever!, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series! This series is a follow on from the miniseries, but is better acted and the characters are more realistic. The series is a great step into a fantasy land and has provided many hours of good lighthearted entertainment. The CGI is also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
quick delivery, and family enjoying the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DINOTOPIA, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM WATCHING THIS SERIES AS IT IS REGION 1 BUT IT IS A GOOD SERIES AND I HAVE ENJOYED WATCHING IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dinotopia - The Series, 17 Jan 2011
By 
S. Farley (Peasmarsh, Nr. Rye, East Sussex. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
The series doesn't quite have the same magic as the original Dinotopia, it has a slower pace. But having said that, it has alot to enjoy. It has cast changes, but once you get used to that you will find yourself getting involved in the story and thoroughly enjoying it. I would recommend this to Dinotopia fans! Enjoy!..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dinotopia, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this first time round. I was happy i found it on dvd enjoying even more as i have forgotten most of the story!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dinasaurs rule, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
great to watch these dvds again seen the the tv series just had to own the dvds so now i can watch them anytime
im a great si-fi viewer love these dvds just up my street my son whoes 23 also loves them so im not the only sad person around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kids Love It, 14 Aug 2003
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
I orginally bought this for my husband back in March, but our 8 year old loves it.
The Disney styling of "spot the baddie straight away" and the obvious heros. No major twists and turns, a straight forward family program/film loved by kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dinotopia (series), 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] (DVD)
The film dinotopia was excellent and the series was even better, i recomend that poeple should by this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinotopia - The Series [DVD]
Dinotopia - The Series [DVD] by david winning (DVD - 2003)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews