Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, brilliant, must see
I remember this film on TV years ago - I was far too young and didn't get it at all. However after reading some reviews recently I decided to by a copy - particularly after seeing Ethan in Before Sunrise and being a puzzled graduate myself I thought it was worth a watch.
Reality Bites did not disappoint - it is witty, quirky and perfect for twenty somethings or...
Published on 3 Feb 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie which reminds me of my teenage years
(If only because it came out then, not because I identify with the characters all that much!)
A classic with a great soundtrack. Actually, I should've bought the soundtrack instead :)
Published 6 months ago by J.J.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, brilliant, must see, 3 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Reality Bites [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I remember this film on TV years ago - I was far too young and didn't get it at all. However after reading some reviews recently I decided to by a copy - particularly after seeing Ethan in Before Sunrise and being a puzzled graduate myself I thought it was worth a watch.
Reality Bites did not disappoint - it is witty, quirky and perfect for twenty somethings or anyone going through a bit of a life crisis! The characters are really well developed and Ethan is brilliant at playing the brooding Troy. The chemistry between the central characters is smouldering and despite my expectations there was no hint of cheese or "chick flick" corny slushiness! Which was a relief as certain films promise brilliance but let you down at some point, usually near the end. The soundtrack to the film is also great and captures the mood. I would highly recommend this film - even in this decade it is relevant and entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Big Gulp Of Reality, 11 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reality Bites [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Reality Bites was Ben Stiller's directorial debut, and what a debut! He captures the essence of the 90's in this stylish and captivating comedy/love story.
Generation X have just graduated and Lelaina Pierce (Winona Ryder) finds herself thrust into the real world. She goes about making a documentary about life after graduation, documenting her friends every thought. Each friend has there own quirkiness too them, Troy (Ethan Hawk) is the superbly attractive genius who lacks ambition, Vickie (Janeane Garofalo) works at The Gap and keeps a book filled with all the men she sleeps with and Sammy (Steve Zahn) is gay and coming out to his parents. The overriding storyline however lies between Lelaina and Troy, who have superb chemistry in this film resulting in a completely believable and heart-warming alliance.
This is stylishly shot and not at all dated although the 90's feeling comes across very strongly. It is clever and cool. And if nothing else at least by the end of it you'll be able to define irony on the spot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm bursting with fruit flavour", 6 Feb 2005
By 
L. Howard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reality Bites [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Such a great movie! Ben Stiller's directorial debut is a must-see for this generation. It's dry, witty, funny and the lines are classic -

Vickie: "Don't bogart that can, man"
Troy: "Are you retarded?"
Vickie: "No I'm rhyming"
The casting is superb: Ethan Hawke, Winona Ryder, Janeane Garofolo and Steve Zahn are all perfect in their roles.
You must see this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality Bites, 2 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Bites [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I LOVE this film! The characters are exceptional with the possible exception of Ben Stiller who plays the most annoying yuppie ever and who drives you to distraction with his inability to express himself with even the most simple of words. However, the articulate and linguistic delight that is Troy Dyer (Ethan Hawke) more than makes up for it. It is impossible to not fall for his character. His eventual 'get-together' with LeLaina is inevitable despite their sometimes vicious arguments and personal attacks.......yet we know it is all in the name of love. Their dancing in the petrol station to My Sherona has to be one of the most humourous moments in film history. A brilliant must-see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie which reminds me of my teenage years, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality Bites [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
(If only because it came out then, not because I identify with the characters all that much!)
A classic with a great soundtrack. Actually, I should've bought the soundtrack instead :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must see film, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: Reality Bites [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Reality Bites. One of the best feel good movies to come out of the '90's. A beautifully written screenplay - thanks to the enormous talent of Helen Childress. It has everything that a romantic comedy demands and much more. Ben Stiller not only provides great comedic value to the film but proves himself as a wonderful director - achieving a natural "fly on the wall" feel from all the actors. So many great moments that you'll remember forever. Great chemistry between Ethan Hawke and Winona Ryder.
Grabs you from the start and takes you through a unique journey of laughter and poignancy in the blink of an eye. This film will be part of your watch again and again collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winona Ryder+Ben Stiller+Ethan Hawke=The Best film ever!, 11 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reality Bites [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I really enjoyed this film, it was the first film that ben Stiller had directed and the casting was superb!With Winona Ryders intelligence and Ethan Hawkes ability to look sexy, it creates the perfect formula for a great film. Ethan Hawke also sings in the movie and it is a great chance to hear his voice.A great Romantic comedy! For all teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the winter of our discontent!!, 9 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Reality Bites [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
At first, i have to admit, i watched the film mainly because of Ethan Hawke. BUT, i'm glad to say, by the end i really felt that the film was more than just a rom/com.
the storyline is typical, the love triangle over-used, and the use of amiture vidoe footage a clear reminder of when the film was made, but the idea is classically good and solid.
If i was to point out one part of the film that i liked, i wouldn't be able to. the script is it's greatest asset, with brilliant lines that - i have found - can be used almost every day.
the acting is flawless, although the main storyline does brush over certain characters like Sammy and Vicky which, i think, should have been shown in greater detail and not just by-products to teh Hawke - Ryder - Stiller plot.
but, overal, this is a mustsee film for all pre 30's and remains an everlasting example of the early 90's teen/post college genre before 'She's all that' and 'american pie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stiller Bites, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Reality Bites [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Now first of all dont get me wrong Ben Stiller is a good actor, he just happens to be one of the worst directors.
This was his first directing outing, and from the standard it should have been his last, most people see this film as a nice little 90's film, but even with an all star cast it lacks substance.
Winona Ryder plays a dippy little city girl troubled with her love life and swamped under with bill payments 'like that's original or interesting'.
Ben Stiller plays his typical kinda guy, easy to conform to the people around him business type.
but most of all i hate Ethan Hawk, great actor, but the single most annoying character's ever, he is egotistic, arrogant and makes his own pathetic life seem more interesting & worthwhile by pointing out other peoples foibles.
all in all you can buy this film if you want, but i seriously advice not doing so, you'll watch it once then put it in the loft to get dusty for years unless of course you never even finish the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1173da38)

This product

Reality Bites [DVD] [1994]
Reality Bites [DVD] [1994] by Ben Stiller (DVD - 2004)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews