Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BASEketball Review
This is one of the best movies that I have seen in a long time.
I originally saw this film on sky and i have brought this as a result so I can see it whenever i want. This film originally appealed to me because of the two main characters. These two characters are Trey Parker and Matt Stone, they are both very funny actors and are the two creators of the Hilariously...
Published on 21 Feb 2004

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars scratched beyond belief
Have seen this film many times, its classic old school funny, however even tho it was sealed as if new halfway through the film stopped playing and the disk was scratched all over really bad. Waste of money it doesn't play.
Published 4 months ago by Daniel Locker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BASEketball Review, 21 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This is one of the best movies that I have seen in a long time.
I originally saw this film on sky and i have brought this as a result so I can see it whenever i want. This film originally appealed to me because of the two main characters. These two characters are Trey Parker and Matt Stone, they are both very funny actors and are the two creators of the Hilariously funny show South Park.
The Main Plot focuses on Coop (Trey Parker) and Reemer (Matt Stone) who invent their own backyard game which combines basketball and baseball. This game soon becomes huge and takes over America as a "normal" sport, like basketball and baseball. While one person takes a shot another person from the opposing team try and psyche them out. This is where some of the funniest bits of the film come in, with Coop and Remmers ideas to psyche people out.
The film also has other characters such as Squeak (Dian Bachar), Jenna (Yasmine Bleeth) and Yvette (Jenny McCarthy). The plot also focuses on Coop and Reemer going after the same girl (Jenna). Squeak is the other player in their baseketball team. Squeak is made fun of throughout the movie mainly due to his size. (doesnt look over 5ft tall). This is another factor which makes this a very funny film.
This film was also directed by the same director as Naked Gun.(David Zucker) The film also has a very good soundtrack that is a range of rock, punk and ska. Including some big names, like Reel Big Fish, Nerf Herder, Supersuckers and Goldfinger.
This movie however has a similar type of humour to south park. So if you love south park you should love this film (like I do), however if you can't stand the show, then this film is probably not for you.
If you like south park, don't doubt, just buy this movie! It WILL make you laugh !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish that the rating stretched to 6 stars!, 9 July 2006
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is probably the most funny film i have ever seen, it was hilarious! It has some of the best lines i have ever heard in a film and the plot was perfect. It's so funny that even the front cover has jokes on it! If you like south park or team america then this is the film for you!

Although there weren't that many special features they were very good, there was a spotlight on location and a music video for reel big fish, outtakes and a trailer.

This is one of the best films ever made and the way it all comes together is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BASEketball, 6 Aug 2005
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest stories ever committed to film! Trey Parker and Matt Stone star in a satirical look at the state of the american sports world! Also starring Yasmine Bleeth Jenny McCarthy and Ernest Borgnine (and the kid who plays Frederick in Frasier) The film starts with the explanation of how sports used to be about competition honour and fun and how thats been trampeled by the pursuit for fame and profit. Fans lose interest when players focus more on their celebrations than the game. Sport becomes so dry that they are forced to hire talents from prisons mental institutions and Texas!
Enter Joe "Coop" Cooper (Parker) and Doug Reemer (Stone)two bums who never grew up. They create a drive-way game, a mixture of basketball with baseball rules hence BASEketball is born. When billionaire Ted Denslowe (Borgnine) teams up with Coop and Reemer they take the game national but make sure that all the rules are like they were in the old days when players were treated like "endigened servants" Now 5 years later Coop and Reemer are the biggest stars of the biggest sport in the country and riding the glory with them is their freind/merk Kenny "Squeek" Skilari
But everything goes awty when Denslow chokes on his hotdog at a game and passes away at the age of 87 (his hairpiece was 26!) and gives control of the league over to Coop. Enter money hungry millionaire Baxter Kaine, played by Robert Vaughn who wants to change the rules of Baseketball to maximise profits and starts to plot against Coop and turn his freinds against him.
Thats the basic story. Of course there is some sex mixed in there too in the form of Yasmine Bleeth leader of a childrens charity who soon wins the heart of Coop and sees Coop trying to impress her and also form a friendship with little Joey a dying boy who idolise him.
Directed by Naked Gun director David Zucker this is the only film I've seen Parker and Stone in without either of them having a writers credit although the style of the film is very Trey Parker-esque which makes me think that they had a lot of input into their characters and gags!
This film is absolutely hilarious and has so many great scenes and jokes that it makes you laugh for a solid 95 minutes. There will be some scenes that will have you crying like a baby. Especially a middle scene that takes place in the hospital and shows that you should never do tequila shooters right before a liver operation!
The DVD icludes extra features like interviews with cast and director. In the extra features Trey and Matt jokingly say they just wanted to make the silliest movie ever. And considering that they were just launching South Park at the time of this movie involving exhausting 18-20 hour work days for the 2 you wonder where they got the energy that exudes off them in the film!
If you're a Parker/Stone fan you've probably seen it and loved it. If you've watched a couple of episodes of South Park and laughed or liked the Naked Gun movies you will laugh your lungs out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Film That Keeps On Giving, 2 Jan 2005
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
About 2 young guys who have generally wasted their life, who suddenly find that a game they made up on their own drive way could be the most popular sport in the world.
Not only is this film hilariously funny, its gets better every time you watch. The reason simply that after watching this film, and liking it you can't help but want to play the game- BASEketball. The film isn't very explicit of the rules but after watching this DVD about 5-10 times you'll know the rules like that back of your hand and be playing with your mates in no time. BASEketball is one of the greatest films ever and being able to try the game out your self makes the whole experience much funnier. Buy it and never look back...Unless your television is behind you for some reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it, 31 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Me I loved it. It just worked it's funny and yet more than just a comedy, after watching it you won't have a feeling of wow its a movie that carries a "message" it certainly isn't braveheart or amistad but it's watchable and a definate addition to any dvd collection. Buy it even if you hate it you'll know at least half your mates will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how funny can a movie get?, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I first watched Baseketball I was rolling around on the floor for hours. So many of us can relate to these guys, the kind of guys who love sport and would love to play sport but never quite have the skills to make it big, but they do and they do it in the funniest, most outrageous style ever. Not only is there a funny plot line but there are loads of gorgeous cheerleaders, just in case you get bored!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedy films ever, 5 Jan 2004
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Two losers create a game to get girls. Baseketball becomes the most popular neighbourhood game and a millionaire turns it into a pro sport. The idea for the game is amazing, it should be a real sport! The psyche outs especially are hilarious.
Trey Parker and Matt Stone have another hit! Although they didn't write it, I can't imagine anyone else taking their parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY, VERY FUNNY, 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When i saw this movie for the first time i nearly died of laughter. It was that funny. It just has jokes from the start of the movie to the end of the movie. The best bit about the film is the way that they make fun of squeak(their small friend) all the time and also when they try and psyche out the other teams players. So if you have about £7 laying around your house they you should definately buy this and add it to your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny my ribs hurt, 28 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. R. Stephenson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Trey Parket and Matt Stone at their best, If you liked Orgazmo or Cannibal! The Musical then you'll LOVE THIS. trey and Matt play a pair of losers who invent a driveway game combining the best bits of Basketball and Baseball, it becomes so popular as to become the US No1 sport with typically Hilarious Results, Rib tickling Foul Mouthed funnyness from the men who brought you south park. Buy now, Have a few beers and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh Put It Away For Awhile And Laugh Again, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Baseketball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
So far, the creators of South Park have 3 movies(I believe), Cannibal the Musical, Orgazmo and this one. Usually with these kind of movies it's best to watch them in spurts as excessive watching just deadens the joke impact but putting it away for maybe a month then revisiting it refreshes it in a sense.

Coop and Remur are 2 misfits who only drink and hang out and don't even bother to pay the gas bills. While at a party, they invent a game right on the spot: baseketball, where you play basketball only involving baseball rules. Soon it becomes a neighbourhood hit and a guy wants to make it a popular sport, which it does.

5 years later, and they have a professional arena, tons of fans and many teams. Only, as usual, people want to expand it for profit. This creates a little divider between Remur and Coop as one wants to be more traditional about not allowing endorsements and switching teams. Not to mention, their game is on the line as they have to win the playoffs or it'll go to the owner of the league and his wife, who just happens to be in cahoots with the "evil" corporate guy.

A lot of the laughs are quite funny while others fall completely flat. Personally, the radio song, some of the psyche-outs(the defense team has to do anything to make you miss the net) are funny and I love the Unsolved Mysteries spoof. For all you South Park fans(cause let's face it, why else would you watch this?) there's primarily 2: Coop does a Mr. Garrison voice and then the ever-popular Cartman psyche-out at the end.

Still, if you're in the mood for that off-the-wall humor, can't go wrong with it, just don't overdo it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baseketball [DVD] [2003]
Baseketball [DVD] [2003] by David Zucker (DVD - 2003)
£3.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews