Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nah, nah, nah, nah, NAH, NAH
I bought Lovers on the strength of one song (This Day) included on one of those compilation CDs on the front of a magazine. Why they chose to give away this one as a freebie is a mystery, I’d have thought it a certainty for release as a single. The chorus is a strong one anyway, even before the magnificent nah, nah, nah, nah, NAH, NAH (believe me, this sounds WAY...
Published on 8 Aug. 2003 by James Packer

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe it'll grow on me...
I bought this on the back of a glowing review in 'Q', and hoping torecapture some of the magic of those classic Aussie albums by TheGo-Betweens and The Triffids.
Well, I'm going to give it some more time to grow on me (it's already hadabout 8 months), but this doesn't seem to have quite the depth and musicalor lyrical invention of its illustrious antipodean...
Published on 23 April 2004 by not_a_real_folkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nah, nah, nah, nah, NAH, NAH, 8 Aug. 2003
By 
James Packer "jamespacker" (Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
I bought Lovers on the strength of one song (This Day) included on one of those compilation CDs on the front of a magazine. Why they chose to give away this one as a freebie is a mystery, I’d have thought it a certainty for release as a single. The chorus is a strong one anyway, even before the magnificent nah, nah, nah, nah, NAH, NAH (believe me, this sounds WAY better than it looks) hook kicks in – surely the moment of the album.
Luke Steele demonstrates on this song, and others, an uncanny ability to marry raw emotion with a killer tune. Acid in my Heart has emotion in spades, from the vitriolic first line ‘It’s true, I never had no fun with you…’, but this is housed within a melody that nags away at you all day long, despite not having a ‘chorus’ in the massive, signposted, sing-along sense that catchy songs are supposed to have.
Other notable tracks are Rain falls for Wind, with another killer first line ‘I’ve been drinking, and I’ve been thinking of you…’, and Tell The Girls I'm Not Hangin' Out, which, with it’s swirly guitars and dancy drums, sounds like the commercial end of Primal Scream.
Trying to pigeonhole the sound isn’t easy (or necessary) – lets just say if you enjoy mellow guitar music WITH EDGE, you will enjoy this. It doesn’t rock, but neither does it make for comfortable listening at times.
The only real downside to this album is the way it tails off just a bit towards the end. Songs in the latter half of the album tend to be barer and less produced, which is fine in it’s own right, but they are also a little weaker. Reshuffling the running order or having higher production values on these tracks could have alleviated the slight anticlimax of the last half.
This is being picky, though, as this is still a great album. If country-alt-rock (OK, I tried) is your thing, you will appreciate The Sleepy Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Australi-cana via Cali-forn-ia, 10 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
Forget the preening reviews from the indie press..this isnt the new Beck or Mogwai or Flaming Lips.
Aussie one man outfit Sleepy Jackson deliver the a nice ragged stew of sxities-influenced country music.George Harrison is in the mix on a few tracks as a ghostly influence,alongside some nice,chirpy mainstream rock.
But for something I usually find abhorrent this is a great album...its not 100% feelgood fun and Luke Steele has mixed some great twists in the tracks.."Vampire Racecourse" wss a forgotten classic from the summer whilst "Come To This" is an aussie harmony-fest.
On the spoken tracks Steele's attempts to sound Yankee are a tad strange but overall this is a sold and interesting debut long player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trippy, psychadelic country/electro with bits of Yoko Ono?, 18 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
On waking from a beautiful dream on a cold winter afternoon, my ears were caressed by what sounded like George Harrison being joined by a choir of children singing some kind of wierd christmas carol come country ballad. I opened my eyes to find that I was watching the video for 'Good Dancers', an amazing video by the way, and instantly fell madly in love with the Sleepy Jackson.
To be fair to Luke Steele, he's not the new anything. He's a genius in his own right. Taking whatever he likes from other people's music and mashing it with his Brian Wilson like ear for harmony. The results are eclectic, moving and often confusing.
Unfortunatley for you, you're gonna end up with a lot of rubbish country albums as you search for something close to 'Miniskirt'. And so alarmingly good are tracks like 'Come To This' and 'This Day' that there's a good chance that you'll listen to the album twice straight away just to hear them again.
Gradually the other songs seep into your subconscious like the touching 'Acid In My Heart' and the utterly confounding and beautiful Flaming Lips meet Yoko Ono and a Christmas choir (again) epic 'Don't you Know'.
The real trick that Steele has pulled off here is picking odd bits from an artist's back catalogue that you may not listen to (excluding the Flaming Lips). 'Pop' era U2 is given a look in for instance on 'Tell The Girls...' and is far more interesting than most of the stuff U2 were doing during this era.
What you end up with is a schizophrenic Greatest Hits of an artist that never existed, until now ofcourse. The Sleepy Jackson's Scatterbrained genius may not knock you off your feet right away like it did me but eventually, you'll come around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk, country, rock . . . the new Elliott Smith?, 25 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
While everybody seems to be mentioning the country aspects, and Gram Parsons; the guitar based structures, and George Harrison etc etc, the names that came to mind most, for me when listening to this cracking album, were Elliott Smith, Bob Dylan and John Lennon.
On a load of the tracks, Luke Steele's voice sounds a carbon copy of Dylan. This is probably best seen on 'Come to This', where the verses sound like Dylan singing over a country tinged song.
The arrangements and guitar parts also sounded like Elliott Smith to my mind, probably more circa Figure 8 though. Certainly, if you like Smith's music (doesn't everybody?), you'll lap this up. To be fair, the Lennon mention hinges mostly around the first track, Good Dancers - a great intro to what Lovers offers by the way - is pure Lennon, or Number 9 Dream to be more precise.
All this makes the album sound like a rip off of other artists, but it most assuredly is not. Steele imprints his own , very unique, style on this album (witness the children's choir, and also the solo child's voice on Morning Bird). Steele's music comes across as the produce of a lifetime indulging in quality folk / rock / country (and other substances, judging by reports), with Lovers the current peak.
An album you can keep coming back to, life affirming and full of brilliant choruses, melodies and lyrics, Lovers showcases a talent covering various music categories with confidence and enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all sleepy., 2 July 2003
By 
J. Broadhurst "jonah" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
The Sleepy Jackson are one of the greatest new bands around today, although I admit there are plenty of them. hailing from Australia, they bring a bit of Mercury Rev, along with a load of other acts, and merge it into some of the most wonderful sounding music ever. NME have hyped these lot incredibly, but they do deserve it. This is beautiful, swirling, psycadelic rock with a thouroughly modern twist. There are some wonderful songs on this album, of which I have heard a preview. This Day, Good Dancers and Vampire Racecourse are all wonderful songs, but the rest is no slouch either. So it isn't all perfect. I prefer my music a little more rememerable, if that is a word, a little more catchy. Most of the album is, but sometimes it goes a little too trippy for it's own good. this can probably be put down to the fact that Luke Steele, the lead of the group has been on drugs for about 10 years. This has the poppy singles, wonderful lyrics, and haunting, beautiful guitar work. A great debut*
*it isn't technically, you an also get their mini LP The Sleepy Jackson, which contains Good Dancers and some beautiful ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter is a time for Hibernation, 5 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr. G. C. Cutter "cutter_me" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
We all know, that music sounds better in the right situation. I couldn't but feel thrilled when I heard 'The District Sleeps Alone Tonight' by 'The Postal Service' (Even if the rest of the debut was dull) in the car in a deserted country lane. 'Lovers' is no different, being the perfect swansong for the summer. The weather changes faster than Tony Blair's policies and there is a sense of tension and release. Just like 'Lovers'.
Luke Steel, Austrailian Oddball Extrodinaire has created his own little world, with so much character and flair, it's beautiful. The dynamics and styles change throughout, keeping the album fresh and light. 'Don't You Know' is a spacey ballad, seemingly lifted from Jetsons - The Movie, while 'Old Dirt Farmer' (which comes straight after) is a hillbilly hoedown. Incidently, they're two of the best because of their ambition. Luke Steel has such a skill for making perfect harmonies and angelic choirs, that it takes the song to a higher plain, as demonstrated on the single 'Good Dancers', and the thunder storm that is 'Rain Falls for Wind'
The album, while being placed under 'rock' in your local HMV Store, is really a country album, but one with little electro sprinkles on top that makes the music even more engaging. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summertastic, 2 Aug. 2003
By 
R. A. Langham "Rob Langham" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
This is a highly inventive new album from a bunch of Australians. It lies somewhere between the cut 'n' paste approach of the Avalanches - only less dancey - with elements of the wierder side of alt country - cf. Flaming Lips. Great tunes -and altogether a great debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album Of 2003 (well at least top 3), 12 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
Kicking off with the sublime single 'Good Dancers' (surely up there with 'Crazy In Love','Seven Nation Army' and 'Hey Ya' as a single of the year) this was probaly the album I have listned to most this year.
The album is a definite progression from the mini self titled album they released earlier this year with songs like 'Acid In My Heart' and 'Don't You Know' sounding truly epic and nothing like anything from their debut album. However fans of their poppy, country styled songs such as 'Caffine In The Morning Sun' and 'Miniskirt'(which also appears on this album) will not be dissapointed; 'This Day' and 'Old Dirt Farmer' being particullary catchy.
Even at its most experimental this album is always tuneful and never unlistenable. This is a defintite must buy for anyone, especially for those who don't already own the debut mini album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 11 Oct. 2003
By 
Mr. M. Walsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
Since ditching the juice and finding God, Luke Steele has finally got his act together and crafted a truly wondrous work of art. The fact that Steele is prone to go off the boil a little at given times means that 'Lovers' posesses a string of subtle quirks to keep the mix of things 100% unsullied.
For instance, the dry monologue of 'Fill me with Apples' or the idiosyncratic lunacy of 'Miniskirt' provide the perfect comedic backdrop to what is one of the lushest albums of 2003.
In terms of unprocessed magnificence then, 'Come To This' and 'Don't You know' are the chief conquests.
However it's the stunning 'Rain Falls For Wind' that heralds the beginning of a new whiz kid in mint condition.
Well and truly astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another 'best kept secret' LP..., 5 Sept. 2003
By 
TheJonesBoy "TheJonesBoy" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lovers (Audio CD)
Remember the first time you heard Nick Drake? Chances are a friend told you to have a listen. Same here. Sent the CD by a mate who knows what sort of thing that flicks my switches (Brian Wilson/Beatles/Grandaddy/The Jayhawks etc - you know the sorta thing). The most easily heard influence on here is George Harrison with slide guitar, backwards guitar and My Sweet Lord type licks aplenty. A joyous first listen had me here straight away to research more (I had never heard of them before listening to the LP). Go on, take a punt - you know the sort of sound to expect and I'd be amazed if it didn't please you to own this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovers
Lovers by The Sleepy Jackson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews