Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmless Fun
In my opinion, this is a great movie. I went to see the second, barely able to remember the first, having seen it so long ago. I came out grinning from ear to ear. The song, 'Any Way You Want It' from the out-takes still doesn't fail to make me smile. The girls turn out better acting performances than needed for the film, which is also a pleasant surprise.
A few...
Published on 13 Jun 2004

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kicking Ass with High Heels
This sequel is perfect cinema viewing- it's a popcorn eating, fluffy, 'girl-power' type of film, which is easy on the eye and doesn't take a lot of concentration. It doesn't try to be anything it isn't or claim to be a deliberately thought out plot that leaves it's audience shocked/thrilled, which counts in both its favour and as a disadvantage, hence why it's only an...
Published on 29 Oct 2003 by depa4d


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmless Fun, 13 Jun 2004
By A Customer
In my opinion, this is a great movie. I went to see the second, barely able to remember the first, having seen it so long ago. I came out grinning from ear to ear. The song, 'Any Way You Want It' from the out-takes still doesn't fail to make me smile. The girls turn out better acting performances than needed for the film, which is also a pleasant surprise.
A few pieces of trivia:
Bruce Willis did the cameo in the film in exchange for the girls doing a plug for his children's charity.
Guns aren't used in the films by the good guys, because Drew Barrymore didn't want to promote the use of guns.
In one of the scenes with the Angels and Bosley, Liu's character 'Alex' is not supposed to laugh, however, Lucy Liu found Bernie Mac's line so funny, she couldn't surpress a giggle, and McG thought it was so cute, he left it in.
BTW, to the person who reviewed asking why did Bruce Willis lower himself, there's your answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok..., 23 July 2009
really good action sceans, wish i could say the same for the story. the highlight of the film for me was the 5 min return of former angel (and the best angel)Jaclyn smith who played Kelly Garratt in the 1976-1981 tv series. i did enjoy this film, but not as much as the first film. But i am a sucker for sequels so i want a third one to be released, prehaps with some new angels. if you are an angel enthusiast you should get this, like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kicking Ass with High Heels, 29 Oct 2003
This sequel is perfect cinema viewing- it's a popcorn eating, fluffy, 'girl-power' type of film, which is easy on the eye and doesn't take a lot of concentration. It doesn't try to be anything it isn't or claim to be a deliberately thought out plot that leaves it's audience shocked/thrilled, which counts in both its favour and as a disadvantage, hence why it's only an 'above average film.'
On the plus side it's an action-packed, fun-lovin' sequel that will have you smiling from start to finish. The three angels, Barrymore, Lucy Lui and Diaz reprise their roles and still look good with an innocent, giggling surface with a 'don't mess with me' attitude. All three don't have to put much effort into it to carry them through the film and in general it hardly takes first class acting to pull of their roles, and in places it shows through. But whose complaining about that? The film was never expected to win any Oscars for it's acting nor its plot...which is a good job seeing as it got confusing and utterly bewildering in some places. To be honest there was half plot about a Witness Protection thing, but it got lost in the special effects and by the end the film was more centered on the three girls and their slow-mo kung-fu kicks then anything else.
However there was some genuine funny dialogue (nowhere near as good as the firs though)plus a few guest appearances. Cleese as Lucy Lui's Dad was, as he always is, funny and entertaining. Matt Le Blanc also makes a guest appearance as Lui's boyfriend but unfortunately it's hard to see him as anyone else other than 'Joey' from friends which is a shame as he was, at times, good in the film. Demi Moore still has a body-to-die for and is excellent in the role of a fallen angel, her ex-hubby Bruce Willis gets washed away in the plot and only appears in the film briefly.
Overall the film is about the explosive special effects which dominate the film.Some are brilliant, some are a bit touch-and-go but mainly it's an entertaining film which is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, 14 Mar 2004
Full Throttle is a top film to watch. Great if you liked the original, if not better. Not as good in ways of a plot, but much better as good a film. This has been a undeserved poor reputation, it's fantastic. Just don't expect the best film of the year or the best sequel in the world and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angelicious, 28 July 2004
By 
Mr. R. M. Brown (Canterbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let's get one thing straight before we go on: Charlie's Angels is a Popcorn Movie. It's a sweet dose of saccharine-rich eye-candy with a side order of custardy clichés. It's fun. There are no efforts being made to achieve success at the Oscars, no desire to make it big at Cannes. It's not trying make big political points or wave its opinions in your face. It's not presenting the audience with a philosophical poser. Like its previous iteration it's simply about high-quality low-concept thrills, and on this premise Full Throttle totally, brilliantly, delivers.
From the word go we are well and truly in what Director McG refers to as 'AngelWorld', the make-believe land where three sexy young femmes are an unstoppable force against all-those-who-seek-to-do-wrong. This time they face ex-Angel Madison Lee (Moore) who is trying her hardest to build her own evil empire, stealing the two witness protection scheme rings and enlisting the help of several bands of wrong do-ers to aid her. Okay, so the plot is as silly as they come, but that in itself is a joy and to be honest it doesn't matter at all. The film leaps effortlessly from action sequence to action sequence (claims that McG is a ex-MTV madman are unfounded), with well timed and edited intervals in between. It is sometimes difficult to keep up with the plot, but its impossible not to be swept up in the frenetic pace of it all.
It's also hard not to keep summing up Full Throttle in glib-hyphenated-soundbites, such is the enthusiasm with which it's been created and the feeling it leaves you with. One sequence sees Natalie (Diaz) performing an impromptu dance routine whilst out on a date with boyfriend Pete (Luke Wilson), strutting her stuff with the crowd around her and giving a knowing half-wink to the camera. Naturally enough the piece ends with her falling into his arms.
The soundtrack aids the riotous action on-screen, with no less than three tracks by The Prodigy (Breathe, Firestarter and the superbly ept Smack Your Bitch Up) and even the appearance of Electric Six's Danger! High Voltage! There are of course a large selection of disco choons- cringe-worthy "classics" that raise a laugh when they come on. These aren't just laid on like party pieces, though, they are knowingly placed by a skilled director. And say what you want about his career jump, he certainly knows how to make a brilliant looking picture.
Upon its release, people were quick to criticise this film on the grounds that it's unrealistic. Of course it is. But since when did that matter? Just as Neo is in The Matrix, the Angels are in Angelworld, a conceit that works perfectly well when you think about it (if you care to). Charlies Angels 2 dares to give the real audience - those who watch the film to be entertained, rather than to gain their 'right-to-reply' - what they want. In this world, it seems, people can't be happy with anything, not least a well-executed summer film.
Still, more fool them eh? Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle is everything you could want from a popcorn-munching-bubblegum-escapism-girls-in-pig-tails-summer-blockbuster. Et plus. The DVD features a glorious film print, an excellent commentary from helmer McG and some short featurettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is exactly what i was looking for as i haven't seen this film in ages. Very fast deliovery and was not damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EX sequel, though has some unreal looking parts to it, 21 Jan 2007
By 
I absolutely love charlie's angels! Both the first movie and even the game, both appealed to me. I was so excited to see the second movie after enjoying the first so much. And it couldn't have been better! You get the rough idea from the first, whether you will like this or not. Again, another mission for the three angels in which are out to baddies yet again. The stunts are amazing, though a little un real in parts. But oh well thats what makes the movie so great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Came fairly quickly and was well sealed with no scratches. Played well the first time but when I went to put it on for a second time, it seemed to churn inside my player and refused to play. Unsure if this is the disc or my player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good quality, excellent would recommend it to friends and family. We really enjoyed it was wonderful. Just what we needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love this film very funny brought this on dvd cos i originally had it on video and i loved it then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews