Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch Out Sam Fisher, Snakes Back!
After the huge success of MGS2:sons of liberty, it seemed there was not much left to improve on. So, in the time in which we discovered that "Substance" was released instead of MGS3, Sam Fisher (Splinter Cell) thought he could cash in on the stealth genre whilst snake was missing. It seemed that Fisher had claimed the crown of stealth, as MGS3 was still not being...
Published on 6 Mar 2005 by CjK

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Made obsolete by Subsistence
I can tell the game is vastly improved on earlier MGSs, the environment, the camouflage system etc.etc. I really want to enjoy it, but the camera system just does not work or suit the game. Usually looking down from a bird's eye view, you can only see a small area of the environment, you can only pan the camera a little way and this is the most frustrating, decrepit part...
Published on 2 Aug 2009 by H. Bartlett


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Made obsolete by Subsistence, 2 Aug 2009
By 
H. Bartlett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
I can tell the game is vastly improved on earlier MGSs, the environment, the camouflage system etc.etc. I really want to enjoy it, but the camera system just does not work or suit the game. Usually looking down from a bird's eye view, you can only see a small area of the environment, you can only pan the camera a little way and this is the most frustrating, decrepit part of the game. Everything is off the camera! Out of sight! and the only way to get some environmental awareness is to use the awkward first person view.

In previous titles this camera system was fine or acceptable and the reason it worked was because you had a radar/map, that gave you awareness of everything off the camera, making it less frustrating. In Snake Eater you don't have anything as useful as that and it's something Kojima failed to to spot or resolve to the games detriment.

But you know what, after getting spotted on multiple occasions due to the camera, I never finished Snake Eater. I got fed up, ditched it and bought 'Subsistence'. I can confirm that the game is awesome. With the full 3D camera movements I can actually see what's up ahead! And I can actually appreciate how attractive the game is! Dear lord! If only Kojima could have done this sooner. But sadly, the camera makes Snake Eater obsolete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars groundbreaking!, 10 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
To the reviewer earlier who said to stay away from this game because it can be completed in 4-5 hours, that is the biggest piece of RUBBISH iv ever heard! It is actually physically impossible to complete this game in any time even close to that stated. To begin with the review, i think that Hideo Kojima has thought up one of the best story lines to ever grace any games console on the planet, to include that with the breath taking cut scenes, stunning use of different environements, clothes, weapons, and the new forms of hand combat, all this makes metal gear solid 3 possibly the greatest game ever! GRIPPING FROM BEGINNING TO END! AND WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realism is supreme! Unlike other games (HALO), 29 Mar 2005
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
People have been commenting on how you have no radar and you have to look in first person view mode to see guards, THATS THE WHOLE POINT OF THE GAME!!! It is like that because it is realistic and is the best game in the MGS series. MGS 2 was a bit of a let down with the main character Snake being substituted for Raiden but MGS 3 has brought back the Snake we know and love.
Instead of a radar you now have to use motion sensors and sonar detectors which makes the game so original and so supreme.
You have to catch your own food because your in the jungle, realistic enough. The game has many different camofaulages that you can switch between in different terrain. You have to actually cure yourself when your hurt my cutting bullets out of you and bandaging wounds. This game has so many new features that make it so REAL!!!
This game is deffintly worth 30 pounds hell it is even worth 60 pounds and to any fan of the MGS series like me you might even want to pay more than that for this game it is the most REALISTIC game ever made and the series isnt finished yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today..., 27 May 2005
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
Man the Star Wars prequels suck, Episode III's pretty good to be fair but the first two are rubbish. Know why? There's no need for them. I already know Anakin Skywalker becomes Dath Vader so all of this trade federation and intergalactic politics guff means nothing to me. No I'm not reviewing the wrong thing here, bear with me.
MGS3 is a prequel to the rest of the series. It's the swinging 60s and you take control of the 'Greatest Soldier of the 20th Century TM' - Big Boss (Known at this point as Naked Snake) as he goes deep into enemy territory to rescue a brilliant scientist who wishes to return to America. If you know your Metal Gear then you know that's about as close to the full story as 'Someone's taken over an oil tanker' is to MGS2's plot.
What is fantastic about MGS3 is that it fills out the backstory of the entire Metal Gear series, the origins of Metal Gear, the birth of the Patriots, and the 'turning to the dark side' of Big Boss. If George Lucas had handled Anakin's descent into darkness as well as Hideo Kojima has Big Boss' then he would have sold a whole lot more Lego and Lunchboxes I promise you.
Metal Gear Solid 3 further blurs the line between videogame and film, not by having longer cutscenes or radio conversations but by creating multifaceted characters who's relationships with each other will change what you expect from video games. There are big budget action films who's romantic side plots seem vastly inferior to the one between Snake and EVA, Ocelot's warped love for Snake is endearing and even a little freaky, and the relationship between Snake and The Boss makes playing the final portion of the game as emotionally confusing as a video game can be. So You'll be watching more cutscenes than you would in Mario Sunshine but this is Metal Gear, you want pure gameplay? Timesplitters is fantastic, go get that.
Oh yeah gameplay, if you turn down MGS3 for having a story you're also missing out on a bit of a 'tour de force' as far as gaming goes. Since there's no Radar, the top down camera really comes into it's own, this is far more useful than a 3Dcamera in your current situation believe me. Camoflague also becomes your best friend, there is no greater feeling than watching a gormless russian walk right past your big green face as you lay in the grass with the Camo meter at 100%. The new CQC will have you itching to take down every person you see thanks to it being needlessly cool. Thow, Interrogate, slit throats block moves or hold up guards - you have the skills to pay the bills my mulleted friend. Throw in a few new tricks like using the iron sights on rifles (there's no laser sights in the 60's apparently) and using the D-Pad to stalk and you have the perfect stealth experience.
While the path of the game is fairly linear, save for a few massive areas at some points in the game, Snake Eater invites you to tackle it in any way you want. Wanna fly through and gun anyone down that's in your way? Go ahead. Don't want to get spotted? Get on your belly boy and keep that Camo up. Areas are big enough to give you a choice of how to get to the next point and the inclusion of CQC means that if things all go pear shaped then you have the poewr to brutally slam the soldier's face in the mud. The improvements in AI mean that the enemies can see and hear for miles so it's a good idea to keep an eye out for enemy patrol routes and positions, the best thing you can do is think hard which way you're going to go about this making Metal Gear Solid 3 a really tense experience.
The real neat touches are what sets MGS3 apart though. The Food and Cure systems are pretty well implemented and don't hurt the gameplay since you won't need them too often unless you suck. They also really add to the survival theme of the game. What will blow your mind is that it's not just Snake who gets hungry, destroy that food supply and enemy soldiers will groan with hunger and gobble p anything you throw at them (experiment with the poisonous foods). That Ammo store? Blow it up kid, watch in glee as the enemy's clip runs out and they discard thier weapons to take you on hand to hand (good Luck with that Ivan).
Then there's the real clincher, Boss Fights. The only thing that even comes close to the fights in this game is Resident Evil 4 and even that can't quite match the thrilling duels with MGS3's bad ass special Ops wierdos 'The Cobra Unit'. The pick of the Bunch are a good old fashioned gunfight with Ocelot, a near hour long Sniper duel with the End - a 100 year old man covered in Moss, a Predator style booby trap ridden scrap with Creepiest of them all The Fear and the final fight, a tear jerking, eye kissing send off to an old friend of Snakes.
This all dosn't take into account 'The Chase' which is one of the best setpieces ever created in a game (aim for the guys who are driving)
Music and Voice acting are as good as you'd expect from the series so you'll find yourself humming along to the tunes when they come on. And who'd a thunk, Starsailor turn up on the end credits with a pretty awesome song, you'll even want to become a fan.
The graphics make games like GTA San Andreas look utterly pathetic and once again put Metal Gear at the top of the Pile as far as looks go. The faces of characters are scarily emotive to a point where you choke back tears at sad points and giggle at the corny humour (Man I love the corny humour). There are a few instances of slowdown when you have a load of enemies on screen and you make an explosion but just think of it as a John Woo effect, yeah, that'll do.
So I see it's at a cut down price here as well.... what the hell are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flipping amazing, 4 Aug 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
I've owned this game plus the first two for a few years now, and with the excitement of the 4th game finally hitting the shelves, I decided to dig this one out again and remind myself why this game was so good. Yet again I was blown away by the sheer quality of the game, in every sense!
Every now and again there comes a game that posseses an aspect of perfection in a certain area of production, be it graphics, gameplay, storyline etc. But rarely do we see a game with all of these qualities nearing perfection. Metal gear solid 3 does just that.
When I play metal gear solid 3, I find myself comparing it to the original. While the second one ventured into the realms of mind boggling plot twists that didn't make much sense, and an alternative character development that annoyed quite a large audience, the deveopers have decided to make a game that follows an almost identical style to the first, probably because of its undeniable supereriority to the second. The game follows the lead character of 'Snake' or 'Big Boss' as he is known in the first game, as he is sent into soviet territory to rescue a russian scientist and destroy metal gear etc etc. A similar story to the first, but a little bit simpler and a bit more involving. The storyline centres vaguely around the political situation between Russia , America and a rogue army of russian solidiers lead by a Corlnel Vulgin who's personal agender involves the mass production of this games metal gear, and access to a 30 billion dollar global peace fund. So although the story isn't quite as complex as the first and second, it keeps it simple enough to follow and to grip you. The cut scenes are many, making this game more of a movie than a game. But this also gives the feeling of a fast flowing game like the first, without the long boring bits you often found in the second that made you want to tear your hair out. The action scenes are fantastic, integrating a large amount of martial art scenes throughout, which often involve snake being beaten up, which can be very sad.
The graphics are astounding. Occassionally I just look for ages at the trees and the scenery which just gets better as the game goes on. Three years on I still haven't seen a PS2 game begin to compete with these graphics.
Extra features have been added since the second, such as having to eat food, heal your body and throwing poisonous snakes at bad guys! There are also a lot more guns and ways to sneak up and kill people.
There are bad points to the game though. Unlike the first, the character development is shabby. In the first game, each boss was integrated deeply into the storyline. In this game however, you're first introduced basically when you fight and kill them. The main letdown is that each boss has a completely bizzare skill, such as turning into bee's, or becoming an invisible spider creature. None of this is explained and it takes away the realness of the game somewhat. The main bad guy apparently has a million vaults of electricity running through his body. Why? How? Its just not explained. The game is also very easy. There is an abundance of food potential everywhere you go, so you're never low on stamina. Plus it takes about 100 bullets to eventally kill you. Life medicine is rare though, but generally you won't need it. The caution clock has also gone up in this game considerably. When you're spotted you'll quite often have to wait a good 5 minutes before the timer reaches zero again. Granted though, its a good time to go and make a cup of tea.
So all in all we have one of the best games in history here. It has all the originality and atmosphere of the first, with the graphics and gameplay of the second, the perfect combination! Fantastic production, classic voice acting, brilliant soundtrack. It just doesn't get better than this.
The world of computer gaming just wouldn't be complete without our favourite hero, snake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff from Snake once again, 20 Aug 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
This game has been such a series of ups and downs for me. First of excitement at the announcement of the sequel, then waning interest. All of a sudden a pick up in interest pre-release and I get the game in my hands, only to be a touch disappointed by the sheer amount of crawling through shrubbery and faffing around in your backpack for camoflage and items that forms such an key gameplay element of the opening section. Now, however, I'm back in ecstacy with the game following a massively impressive bike chase involving land and airborne foes ... oh, and a huge rocket powered mother of a battletank.
Yes I can finally say that MGS3 is yet another quality issue in what is becoming the PS2s key franchise. Ok, it doesn't quite have the frankly excellent twist of the original story and it doesn't really go any way to furthering the story of the Patriots that you last saw Snake involved in, but don't let that put you off. Playing as a 'different' Snake, a CIA operative in the forerunner to the FOXHOUND team, its a cold war spy thriller set in the jungles of Moscow. The usual blues and greys of MGS are replaced with cool organic browns and greens. Also, since this is the 1960's we're talking about, you have to do away with all the usual gadgetry, the codec, the soliton radar. Its PURE sneaking action. Really tense as you crouch in a patch of ruffage hoping to avoid the gaze of slowly stalking Soviet soldiers. Cracking. There is a downside to this gameplay mechanic, however, which is the backpack. Every time you need to cure, change your camoflage (FREQUENT occurance) or get something additional from your items, you have to dive in. It ruins the momentum of the game completely. Luckily, the slowly sneaking nature of the game lessens towards the end and backpack accessing is less of an intrusion.
Where MGS3 excels is in the layout of the game. Where the first two games introduced interesting gameplay quirks, I found that they were useful for perhaps one obstacle before becoming redundant for the rest of the game. Here, each screen is a massive playground, and you're literally given a free licence to use whatever technique you see fit to traverse the screen. Wall banging, neck breaking, magazine dropping ... whatever your fetish is, its yours to exploit here. Also the cutscene set plays surpass that of the already excellent MGS2 and Gamecube MGS:Twin Snakes. Plus fans of the series so far will smile at seeing the origins of the likes of Revolver Ocelot and the Metal Gear project.
So far I've clocked in at about 22hours of gameplay, about 3 times what it took to take on previous iterations of the game. Add to this the amount of secrets and bonuses there are to find and you've got a bit of replay value stuck into the package.
I find it hard to pick a favourite between the series so far, I find that each has its merits. Personally I think the game has now reached its peak in its current form. Perhaps a new platform and a fresh gameplay mechanic will see Snake further himself in the Metal Gear saga. The PS2 occasionally creaks along with the amount of detail on screen and those of you who know the frustration of attempting to cross a screen having to continually switch to first person view to make sure you don't blunder into a bad dude will also be wanting a change in gameplay.
A good game, perhaps a slightly shake gameplay mechanic initially, but you will be blown away by the closing scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard man � Snake, hard game � Snake Eater!, 14 Mar 2005
By 
Silverfrog (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
This third instalment of the highly successful tactical espionage game Metal Gear Solid does, as expected have quality and style written all over it, underneath it and anywhere else you can think of in fact. Following the trend of prequels, this game is set in the jungle in the 60's during which there is limited technology. This means that there is no use of radars like in the previous versions of Metal Gear Solid where you can constantly detect each soldier and know when they blink. Instead you must rely on motion detectors and sensors that will allow you to see where your enemies are in relation to you. Adding the fact that the batteries can run out this means that you can not use the same tactics you used in previous versions of MGS. You are forced to use first person view much more which makes the game that much harder than the previous games but also makes the game more realistic... so be warned.
MGS3 have topped the last MGS by focusing on realism in every respect. Crawling through the undergrowth crushes the leaves; increased activities reduces Snakes stamina which affects his performance in combat like aim and speed- his stomach even growls when stamina is too low; cuts and gunshot wounds must be treated now and failing to do so also affects his performance. You can gain stamina and health back by hunting for food like rats, birds, frogs and of course snakes which can be killed and since food can go bad, you can cage your prey so that the food can last longer. As stealth plays more of a key role in this game, you can change Snakes face paint and select a variety of camouflage outfits (as well as download extras ones) and will determine how well Snake blends into the environment. Also a new style of fighting called 'Close Quarter Combat' (CQC) has been introduced making use of knife and hand to hand combat more interesting. As well as do the usual choke hold, Snake slit throats or interrogate enemies and can also execute a variety of extra moves like throws and counter attacks.
The graphics and cut scenes are astounding and emphasize just how cool Snake is, while the complex plots are as always very exciting and in-depth (or long as you might think). Guaranteed that you'll be playing for hours trying to find out what is going on, get the infinite extras, have fun finding all of the pictures of women, and other goodies during cut scenes. Although the game play is almost identical to previous versions, some people may find the reliance on occasional use of motion detection radar and sensors and first person view too difficult. However those that stick with it and adapt will love it as it makes game play more involving. Either way, I'm sure that everybody will agree that the quality of the graphics and game play, the extra added realism, and also a huge dose of style puts this game in the running for a full length movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE THIS GAME...., 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
Here's my opinion;
The Good Points:
1. Super engrossing gameplay, story and non linear style.
2. Sophisticated and imaginative gameplay.
3. Best graphics on PS2(well till GT4 comes out).
4. Best storyline on PS2, believable with excellent acting.
5. Non stop fun.
6. Most original game.
7. Uses every single control-pad button to fullest capacity.
8. Once you get used to the controls, controlling game character becomes an absolute treat.
9. Replay value, as there's so much to enjoy.
10. Like a top end Hollywood film, except your in it.
11. Anything's possible within the context of the game.
12. Keeps you guessing and constantly suprises you.
13. This game must have been someone's passion, as it is so well thought out and researched.(Well this game is by Hideo Kojama, so no wonder.)
The Bad Points:
1. Isn't for kids.(complex gameplay, adult content & violence)
2. Isn't for people who hate learning to play games.(takes about an hour or more to climatise to the controls).
3. Maybe too engrossing for most and certainly one that keeps you up till the wee hours.
4. Is a 1 player game, so if you share your ps2, expect some problems.
5. If you didn't like the following films, you probably won't like this game; Predator, Rambo & 007 movies.
6. If you hate being slapped about, hunted, cheated and made to feel inferior (all within the context of a game), then avoid at all costs.(Then again its not all one way traffic.)
7. If you hate stealth, espionage, guns, the cold war and drama, be warned this is MGS3.
Conclusion
This game pushes the PS2 to its fullest capabilities, giving a gaming experience 2nd to none. For game lovers, this is a must. Casual gamers might want to rent 1st though, however all should give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must experience Metal gear Solid 3: Snake Eater!, 1 April 2006
By 
Susan C. Marlow "Will" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
Having been a Metal gear Solid fanatic for some years now, I had no doubts about Metal gear Solid 3:Snake Eater been another stroke of class from game producers Konami. I wasn't wrong! This game is bursting with quality and gameplay genius, not to mention the outstanding graphics that make you gasp in amazement at.The game is set in a thriving jungle, so detailed it feels real as creatures such as snakes and crocodiles linger in the undergrowth. The game mainly concentrates on tense, stealth action where gaurds patrol in a very impressive and realistic way. If you are spotted by the enemy, the support team will be called in to flush you out, putting you in a very tense and exciting situation. Do you find cover in the long grass until they cease their attack, or do you use your wide arrange of weaponry to take the enemy out? The storyline is engrossing and revelaing, with twists at every cutscene.Cutscenes are done with an amazing amount of quality, you will never want your eyes to leave the screen! Metal Gear Solid 3:Snake Eater also has the most interesting and detailed characters that I have ever seen, movie or game. For example the main character named Snake oozes with excitement and secrecy(not to mention his kick-ass fighting skills), which only wants the gamer to keep on playing until the end. All in all this game is absoloutly fantastic, and should not be missed by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!, 20 Jan 2006
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (Video Game)
WOW! This game really is the best i've come across. everything about it is 10 out of 10. Explore the whole jungle, terrorise enemies, raid jungle store houses, hunt for food, heal your wounds and climb trees. I'd say the most unexpected things you could do is wrestle with crocodiles or get chased by bees. If you want to do something on this game, chances are that you can. Your heart will pound in this game. The tension of hiding in a hollowed out log while enemies try to track you down is breathtaking. All weapons in this game are real life guns, like the WW2 Russian Mosin Nagaunt or the brilliant sniper, the SVD. Like they said in the reviews, you can slip your way past enemies to victory, or gun down everyone in your path, rambo style. There is a story elemt to the game, but it's not time crisis. Take all the time in the world to do whatever you feel like doing, whether it be ambush enemies, go swimming or stock up on food.
Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater by Konami (PlayStation2)
£8.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews