Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad if contract this one!
I was rather sceptical when these Resident Evil spin off games came out, no original characters and plots did seem rather uninteresting, however I decided to give them a go and so I bought Outbreak. What can I say about this game? Well actually it's pretty damn good once you get into it. In this RE outing you can actually choose which character to play, they range from a...
Published on 10 Mar 2005 by W. Nash

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Survival horror is shaken, but hopefully not stirred forever
Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the Resident Evil series. I even bought a Gamecube for this reason alone. When I heard that CAPCOM were developing this game, I was excited at the prospect of the genre taking a new direction. Playing the game however was a disappointment. After completing each scenerio with a couple of the characters you get mind-numbingly frustrated with going...
Published on 23 Feb 2005 by P. Stokes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad if contract this one!, 10 Mar 2005
By 
W. Nash "Orec12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
I was rather sceptical when these Resident Evil spin off games came out, no original characters and plots did seem rather uninteresting, however I decided to give them a go and so I bought Outbreak. What can I say about this game? Well actually it's pretty damn good once you get into it. In this RE outing you can actually choose which character to play, they range from a Racoon City police officer to a barmaid even a plumber! In apperence it looks just the same as any other Resident Evil game but the gameplay is somewhat different. On each level you choose a character to play and then will have 2 computer controlled characters along side you. These 2 characters follow you and you can give them weapons and health items etc, and you need to watch out for their wellbeing if you want to complete the level as they're the only assistance you have, if they are wounded you may need to help them to safety, sometimes at risk to yourself. Now I know what your thinking, just two mindless drones that will get in the way and slow you down, well I can tell you now, that's not how it works.
As I've been playing the game more and more I have found they do actually help you out, you can actually call out for help using the R3 button and they will come running and, if armed, will fire at any zombie, licker or BOW attacking you. You will find many guns and other weapons in the game but don't be greedy because it wont help you, instead of hoarding the weapons hand some to your team mates and they will help you, trust me. The part I find so good about this game is that because you have to look out for other characters in real time you have a more involved gameing experiance, it really gives a sense of commanding responsibility as you actually find yourself dashing recklessly into danger to help them because you actually see them as a friend and want them to survive alongside you. I love that if you find a Magnum handgun and already access to 2 shotguns you'll happily give those guns to the others and keep the Magnum, they're you backup should things get nasty, and they regularly do.
Overall I think that this game is based around the 2nd Resident Evil film where one character leads a small group of survivors to safety, so if you like that film then you'll love this. The game does have some downsides but nothing we haven't seen before. As with all the other RE games it takes a day and an age just to go through a door which can become very trying, also the objectives are often very obscure and will often find yourself wandering around aimlessly for ages and then suddenly, but accidentally, stumble across something. However putting these aside the game plays very good, the Scenario game is basically small sub levels, each one is a self contained game really and what with an Infinity mode you can unlock later there's plenty to keep you occupied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panic, 10 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
Other resident evil games fulfilled the 'horror' part of the survival horror genre. This game however is the opposite, and dispenses you into a situation that is getting worse with the arrival of zombies and other hordes of undead monsters. Add in two computer controlled characters, and you'll realise the emphasis is not always on you; monsters never single you out, and the characters have just as much opportunities to interact with the game world as you do. The lack of weapons and items, and the fact enemies pursue you relentlessly from room to room means quick-thinking and hiding is key to survival. The other characters may be a burden, but you dont have to help them. If they die, the game is not over, and you can continue in your escape. This game, though very experimental, has some flaws, but the risks you need to take in order to complete it overshadow these, and rank the game as being one of the classic resident evil titles, whether online or off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!, 20 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
The latest installment in the resident evil series is set when the t-virus is released throughout Racoon city. You play one of eight characters who survives the outbreak, and you have to guide each one through five scenarios spanning various areas throughout racoon city. The main featrures that elevates this one above other Resident Evil games is the co-operative play, in which you play along with two other characters. You also have to interact with the other characters by exchanging items, helping them out, carrying them over your shoulder, and even talking to them. As well as the right analogue function in which you have some set quotes your character will say when you push it in a certain direction, there it an ad-lib function in which your character will say something random according to your situation.
The gameplay itself is not too different to previous Resident Evil games. The levels remain the same style, the puzzles remain the same style, and the last level of this game even resembles the mastion in RE1. But another feature than is completely new, is the 'normal' control system where you push the analogue stick in a direction, and your character will go in that direction. This is a welcome change from the standard 'tank' system.
This game is packed with special features and unlockables. Upon completing a scenario you are awarded with rank points depending on how well and fast you complete it. These rank points are used to purchase unlockable, which become unlocked as you progress through the game. Even if you die your progress is calculated and you can add the awarded points into your bank. Unlockables include pictures, costumes, movies, sound and another secret category. The final unlockable you'll get when you complete the game 100%, is the infinate ammo mode, which I have not yet got, but am looking forward to.
Overall this is the best and most improved game in the RE series yet. Although the 5 scenarios are fairly short compared to previous areas, the game is excellent. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
This is one of the best Resident Evil games. It's AWESOME. I played in all best games including MGS, GTA, GT, Tekken, Silent Hill, Tomb Raider and many others, but this one beats them all.
The most great part of this game is music. The only other game with such a GOOD music is Final Fantasy. It IS very beautiful and tragic. The intro music is probably the best in ALL gaming world, and the ending one is OUTSTANDING. Other melodies are VERY good too.
The controls are very good(like in other RE games). Character models are very realistic and smooth, and graphics is great. The 60Hz mode in PAL is a good thing.
The story tells us about the events of a doomed Raccoon City. Nicholai will make his appearance too... We'll see Birkin and Hunk's team, as well some other characters...
Some moments in the game are fun and some are tragic, and all of them make you fill like if you are really there, surrounded by zombies. Sound effects are well made(classic zombie groans and...).
So, if you are a fan of RE series and you like a beautiful music you MUST buy this game. Otherwise..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Survival horror is shaken, but hopefully not stirred forever, 23 Feb 2005
By 
P. Stokes "fox2125" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the Resident Evil series. I even bought a Gamecube for this reason alone. When I heard that CAPCOM were developing this game, I was excited at the prospect of the genre taking a new direction. Playing the game however was a disappointment. After completing each scenerio with a couple of the characters you get mind-numbingly frustrated with going through the same thing time and time again. This really should have only been an online experience and not diluted for the one player market. Don't get me wrong, this is a good 6 hours of gameplay for serious resi-fans, but with the usual goodies for completing each scenario, it would take over 100 hours gameplay to gain all of them. Slow loads between environments don't help either. I would rate the game as follows.
GRAPHICS - 80%
SOUND - 75%
GAMEPLAY - 65%
LIFESPAN - 50%
The one plus point is the jaw dropping FMV at the start of the game which is like watching a section of the film 'The Rock'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Last "Original" Resident Evil, 19 Oct 2004
By 
David Pursglove (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
If your big fan of horror games or the Resident Evil games I do tell you to get this game. It's 8 minature levels provide a fun gameplay unlike any of the other games in the series. It will be the last "original" game in the series as they are now turning anime with the zombies being able to carry Chainsaws and talk to each other.
The Uk version however, does not have a single multiplayer mode in the game which was EXTREMELY dissapointing. Your computer partners in the game are suicidal and each level takes 1 hour tops to complete. These are the only reasons why it lost three stars.
Other than that, the graphics are great, clever storyline (which I don't want to give away) and an amazing amount of Special features which you can unlock such as movies, costumes, sound effects and pictures.
If you want some fun. Buy this game but if you want some extreme zombie shooting game which you can get really involved in, buy an earlier one in the series.
Thanks for listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Can't Believe this is Resident Evil, 18 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
My excitement on seeing that this, long awaited title had crept into my local games emporium almost unannounced almost gave my palpitations. I hurried through the last level of Conflict Vietnam and ushered my wife onto the telephone with one of her mates just to get my teeth into this baby...
So here it is, at last! Resident Evil in 2004.
You are in a bar, nicely drawn but nothing to write home about. An annoying repetitive percussive loop is blaring in the background indicating impending danger. Non player characters are running manically around the room exclaiming random sentences which appear to have nothing to do with the onscreen action. You try to flag one down and get some kind of interaction going. 'No.' He intones before madly sprinting off. Okay. Lets get going then. Wait a minute, the control system is the worst in the entire world and the loading times are absolutely astronomical.
So there it is. My favourite game franchise in the entire world, ruined. It is achingly obviously that this game was meant as an online experience. As a one player game it is mind bogglingly flawed. Aside from its slothful performance, dreadful dialogue, typos and general shoddiness there is the story. Or lack thereof. This isn't a Resident Evil story as we know it, its more of a paraphrase of events from the other titles ineptly mashed together without any respect or thought for the original story.
Just awful. It nearly made me cry.
And i'm not much of a crier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 4 Nov 2004
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
RESIDENT EVIL OUTBREAK! After many months it finally arrived in Britain, but the British were a little dissappointed. Basically, this was MEANT to be online, in fact, in Japan, IT IS ONLINE! This shows RIGHT from the beginning when you desperately try to get the AI characters to help you and they basically tell you to take a hike!
The graphics are incredible though, with some trully amazing FMV. One which includes you basically toasting a tonne of Zombies and the scenarios work well, making sure you dont lose interest quickly. HOWEVER, (and these are always bad) this is made so much harder by the computer who will sometimes help you in times of trouble, but are more likely to let you fall to your death! Why is this you say? WELL it turns out that these characters have personalities and if you end up stuck with a git, then your in trouble.
The speach i would go as far to say is abismal. Half of the time, what is written in the speach bubble isn't what is said. CAPCOM is this deliberate? I'm still yet to work out whether its meant to be the same or isn't!
Apart from that though, after each scenario (or each time you die) you'll be given points where you can unlock art work, costumes, FMV , and music. This is a refreshing break HOWEVER, all you have to do is get right to the end of a scenario, finish it, then redo it and accumulate the points. THAT DOES TAKE AWAY THE POINT OF IT THOUGH!
I would say that overall, its a mixture of good and bad, but its after the gamecube incarnations of RESI 1 and RESI EVIL ZERO, its the best thing to fill the gap before the majestic RESI EVIL 4 blows away all competition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silent Hill is much better, 4 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is pretty poor compared to the other Resident Evil games. If it were online or at least a co operative game, it would probably be good, but it's not!
I'm basing my opinion on 2 and a half level as that's how far into the game I am, but it's had nothing in it to make you jump or worried and the game just has no atmosphere. I find the PS controlled players a pain in the back side as they just hold you back and you end up wanting to shoot them (if only you could).
But having played the other Resident Evil games, I was expecting thing to be jumping out at me left right and center, but it's basically just a bunch of empty rooms (bar the rare zombie) with things to pick up (keys ect).
I've also read that Resident Evil 4 (which follows on from Code Veronica) is only coming out on the Game Cube?! That completly spoils one of the best gaming series to have come out, cos I won't be buying a Game Cube just for that.
If you have played them already, my advice is to get Silent Hill 2 and 3 (haven't played the 4th yet), they're brilliant games with a great scare factor going on throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this, you will like it!, 8 Feb 2005
This review is from: Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the franchise and i say that this is the best one yet!!!
in many of the other games you had to find this to use that, well there is a small part in this but there is sooo much more to this game than the others. It took me a while to get used to the controls, but once you master them you will be running and calling to your mates in no time. Sometimes the AI can be a bit poor but they do back you up in a fight, the zombie AI is a big improvement, they will hunt you down and they will not stop until you fill them with lead or hit them down with a pipe or a brush! the action is fast, music is great and the graphics are 10X better than dead aim! This time there is alot of replay value, as soon as i finished the first level i went back and did it again with another player (8 in total plus unlockable ones!) Unlike any other resi game the odds are really against you and sometimes you do have to run! stays true to the films and franchise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2)
Resident Evil Outbreak (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews