Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the PS2 has to offer
I initially ignored Killzone when it was released, owing to some fairly mixed reviews, and only picked it up recently after seeing the Killzone video at 2005's E3. Having had a chance to play the game however I could certainly recommend it as a great PS2 shooter. The environments are gorgeous, the combat and weaponary sufficiently pleasing and the atmosphere spot on...
Published on 18 July 2005 by Stephen J. Sweeney

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed more umph
I play a lot of FPS's on my PS2. I have a Cube, an Xbox and A PC(bit sad aren't I?). Halo is great to look at it's second installment is much of the same. It's a great game but it gets monotinous just running around shooting things to be honest. Half-Life 2 is,in a nutshell a masterpiece of gaming and Killzone is... well it's really meaty, the weapons feel solid and at a...
Published on 29 Nov 2004 by Nathan


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the PS2 has to offer, 18 July 2005
By 
Stephen J. Sweeney (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
I initially ignored Killzone when it was released, owing to some fairly mixed reviews, and only picked it up recently after seeing the Killzone video at 2005's E3. Having had a chance to play the game however I could certainly recommend it as a great PS2 shooter. The environments are gorgeous, the combat and weaponary sufficiently pleasing and the atmosphere spot on.
The game pushes the PS2 to its absolute limits which is evident in almost every single aspect of the game. The AI of the Helghast is refreshing in that they simply don't just run into your gun fire and will only charge you if forced out of hiding or rush you with a partner.
The game is not without it's flaws - You'll hear your team repeat the same phrases an immeasurable number of times, and it's possible to get stuck in parts of the environment (this has only happened to me twice however). Some texture breakout can also be seen in more complicated scenes.
Whilst Killzone may not be all that the media hyped it up to be, it is certainly a better game than most would believe. It is worth a purchase even just for a taste of what Killzone 2 may offer on the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very real, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. J. T. Gormley "charlie" (worcester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
Im really dissapointed that people dont rate this game highly. It shows that basic arcade run in and kill everyone games are the hype. If, like myself, you prefer a realistic wargame feel, then by god this is for you. It was such fun trying to gun down a platoon whilst they tried to rope treverse from their air transport, and if not done correct, having to run while bullets scim past you to find cover. The story, graphics and multiplayer are nothing short of awsome. I imagine you can now buy this game for budget price, so if its under 20, buy and enjoy the ride.

( NOTE. If you fire a heavy power machine gun, your aim wont be great, but thats life.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go, 5 Mar 2005
By 
Steven Aitken (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
Like all things PS2 concerning FPS and 3rd PS, the controls (movement and aiming) have never quite cut it. Unlike the tried and tested mouse and keyboard of the PC, I sometimes feel that to get the best out of the PS2 you really have to be a serious gamer. However as far as PS2 games go this one went some way to giving hope for the future. Generally I enjoyed the game, however at times it did become a bit tedious, but I knew that I was simply buying into a 'kill em all and nothing else' type game. The graphics are cool and tend to stay away from the heavy technicolor of many games genres you see today. If you have lost faith in FPS for the PS2 I would recommend a blast at this one. This is the only PS2 game that I have went back to and played again. At least you get a good return on grenade coverage!! but the sniper rifle takes a bit of practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT HALO...ITS KILLZONE YOU MUPPETS!!, 3 Jan 2005
By 
John Shonfield "Short Bloke" (English in Brussels) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
There are some you out there that really need to get out more. This game is called Killzone and its a very good, top quality shoot em up.. nothing more. I suppose it is similar to Halo but then again its a FPS so what do you expect?? Like there are some dorks about saying Call Of Duty is just a Medal of Honor rip off...what are you people on? Of course it is...any kind of WW2 shooter is gonna be like MOH.. and the missions will all be similar.. or perhaps you would like software companies to re-write history so the missions are different..leave that to the Americans.. they love re-writing history ;-)
All in all this is a great game and will give you hours of good fun. Plenty of mindless violence and blowing stuff up.. GET SOME!! The graphics are really good, the weapons are great, the story is interesting and after a while you get to choose from 4 characters for the missions. This is a top game... so dont listen to all these wallys saying its Halo or whatever... its a FPS and its dead good.
Can you stop the Helgast??? Grab your gat soldier.. and lets see if you are a man or a mouse!! Nuff Said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killzone killz the opposition, 4 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
I have a Xbox and Ps2 and have played Halo to death, I also got Halo 2 which is good but I'm really bored of shooting Aliens and I hated levels set on Space Craft. So I hear about Killzone and buy it. Wow! What a game it is! The graphics are absolutly god smaking (in a good way) and the level of detail is unbeleivable.
In Killzone we're fighting the Helghast, a very hard opponent to kill. (They dont drop very quickly when you've just shot them.) There is a vierty of different battle zones, from Docks, to Parks to Malls and they're all really brilliant.
The levels are all really thrilling-escpeicaly the level where you have to stop the Helghast taking a beach. It's like being at D-Day, but being the Germans!
There are also four different characters, who will be with you all the time and all have their own special skills. They also chat to each other, and in some cases, argue.
Killzone also fells really great to handle, its great from the moment you start, to the sad moment that you finally have to switch it off.
Another great feature is the "Battlefields" this is the online game, but for those of us who dont have their PS2's online, you play by yourself against the computer. (Or obviously you can play them online, or with another player.)
The menus are also really stylish, and the cutscenes are brilliant.
Also with Killzone, whenever you squeeze the trigger, it really feels like you are actually having an effect.
The sound is very good too, the explosions, screams and shouts, the guns and bullets whizzing past, of the battliefeild sound really great. Especially if you have surround sound.
So it's THAT good right? Yeah. So why only four stars? Well, because of the repitition. After you've played the first few levels you've basicly seen everything. Its walk, shoot, run, walk, shoot, run, and thats it. It really does start to get very boring. The lifespan of this game isnt good. If you've got mates and an online PS2, its raised alot, but the campain will start to lose your intrest.
Killzone borrows quite alot of stuff from another shooter (cough cough HALO cough cough.) But it is my best FPS on the PS2. Alot of you will prefer Timesplitters, but I never liked it anyway. For ages we've been looking for a PS2 answer to Halo, and here it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Shooter, 17 Dec 2004
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
I remember first hearing of Killzone through Edge magazine in August 2003; the front cover of that issue bore the image of two Helghast soldiers, underwritted by the tagline 'Halo for the PS2?'. This, in my oppinion killed Killzone right from the off, as by getting an exclusive report on the unheard-of game, Edge made sure that it got talked about, but by using this tagline, it also made sure that people expected too much from it. Considering that Edge is supposed to be the magazine choice for the more astute gamer, this was a very stupid move on their behalf.
Anyway, I digress. Killzone is not Halo, was never intended to be a Halo clone and should not be compared to it. So for the reviewer who gave it 3 stars as a comparison to Halo, your point was point-less. Killzone is a first person shooter in it's own right, and more to the point it is an FPS on the PS2, which is why it garnered so much hype in the first place.
First off, gameplay; this is where people became disheartened at playing Killzone, as compared to the polish of the visuals and sound design, it feels rather less accomplished. Each level follows an almost entirely linear path, consisting of a move, shoot, move, shoot, objective based dynamic. Said objectives are usually very basic, such as reaching an area, and extra objectives are often added on the fly; but they are never more taxing than finding a button to press or eliminating a certain enemy. So the level progression dynamic is fairly basic, which is what a lot of reviews are picking up on. However, I believe that they have missed the point. Killzone is a wargame, albeit a futuristic one, and therefore is all about the fighting; soldiers serve a purpose, which is not to solve abstract puzzles, they are there to fight and take ground, eliminating any resistance they encounter. Fortunately, in this repsect Killzone succeeds, most impressively.
The combat just feels right. The exceptionally well-designed weapons feel real, and feel like they really could hurt you. Whether slitting throats with the knife, blasting Helghast up close with a shotgun, mowing down troops with a machine gun or blowing up armoured targets with a rocket launcher, each weapon feels like it truly serves a purpose, and the combination of superb sound design and unparalleled particle effects make it feel like you are involved in the fighting. Add on top of that the fact that you have four playable characters to choose from, each of which alters the level flow in some way or another, and you are presented with more futuristic combat than you can shake a stick-grenade at. OK, so certain things, such as the presence of enemy vehicles could have been made more dramatic and purposeful through better scripting, and it never quite feels like you're in the midst of a planetary war, more a series of skirmishes; but at the end of the day, the game is still great fun to play. The only concern I share with the average reviews is the enemy AI, which at times disappoints, with enemies turning their back on you in the midst of a firefight and continuing to run at you whilst you pelt them with fire.
Controls wise, Killzone works a treat, as the button configuration seems well tailored to aid you in the combat, whilst never getting you into trouble through illogical, or awkward assignment. The analogue movement speed is satisfactory, only occasionally proving troublesome when the framerate drops below the norm.
Now onto what put the game in the spotlight to start with - the visuals. I say visuals rather than graphics, as Killzone is not just beautiful because of the way it is rendered; it succeeds through some incredible design. Take the Helghast for instance, they look awesome. The glowing orange eyes, perfectly offset from the dark uniform makes them the definition of menacing. Combine this with some awesome weapon design, and some of the most believable sci-fi environments ever devised in game and you have a stylistic masterpiece. Then combine this with the fact that the artists at Guerilla were able to take this vision and translate it pixel-perfectly onto the weakest of the current generation consoles, and you have one visually stunning game. OK, so the framerate suffers slightly due to this, but the fact is that it really doesn't matter that much; nothing else on the PS2 looks this good, and I gladly accept the odd dip in framerate, considering that gameplay is hardly affected. Similarly, the LOD issues (with textures 'popping' in) are hardly worth mentioning, and besides PC gamers have had to put up with this for years.
The particle effects systems used to for smoke, flames and atmospheric effects are also superb and way above anything seen previously on the PS2.
The sound design is similarly brilliant, from the brutal sounds of the guns, to the immersive ambient effects that really put you in the scene. The cutscene music is also fantastic, coming across as a hybrid between Star Wars and Starship Troopers, perfectly complementing the on-screen action.
So overall, Killzone succeeds as a game. It's fun to play and striking to watch, minor niggles aside. Where it falls down is in not living up to the hype and over-expectations that were heavily put upon it from the off, due in no small part to Edge. However, this is hardly the fault of the game, or the developers; games are created to a strict schedule and set of criteria, and once the process is initiated it is very difficult to deviate if your product is to be released on schedule. Therefore, rather than criticise, I think people should applaud Guerilla for what they have managed to achieve in a relatively short period of time, as Killzone is a game that boasts both fun gameplay and better graphics than anything else on the Playstation 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy it for the price, 13 Mar 2006
By 
Reg Higgins (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
This game for under a tenner is absolutely phenomenal this game provides days of entertainment for this price plus also playing multiplayer with your friends buy this game for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best FPS I've ever played, 17 Oct 2005
By 
FadingLight (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
I've been waiting for Killzone since it was announced. The very first picture was a screenshot of an army of Helghast lining up and seeing a Helghast soldier looking at you. First thing that went into my mind was "this will will be damn amazing!" The more screenshots I saw in the Playsation 2 magazine, the more I got excited about it. When it was finally released and got it for Christmas, I was just amazed on the graphics. This is a team made from Europe and it a damn impressive game. The weapons are great, the settings in the game are stunning and the story is interesting. People kept on compairing it with Halo 2. . . .thing is, Killzone was made from Sony and was meant for the PS2. While Halo 2 was made from Microsoft, it was meant for the X-BOX. What really made me feel for the game was when you jumped over fences or reloaded your weapons, the camera makes you move like what your eyes would really see if you moved like that. It was weird at first but I got used to it after a couple minutes. I really hope Columbia Tri-Star Pictures makes this into a film, it would be f**king amazing if they did. Since FPS is my favourite genre for a video game (love Half-Life, Unreal Tournament, Aliens vs. Predator and Quake) this is the number one FPS game to date. Can't wait for Killzone 2 for the PS3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mint idea, not so well carried out, 21 Aug 2005
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
First off: I think Killzone is one of the best FPS's I've ever played, but that's only because I haven't played many FPS's (shame on me).
When I first heard of Killzone, I was pretty skeptical, because any game they call a "Halo beater" is usually crap. In fact, I only picked it up because Amazon was doing an 8 quid deal (good on ya). When I first picked up the controller, I could tell that it was going to be ace. Perhaps it was anticipation, or the Coke I had downed before playing, but I was basically shivering to get playing.
Watched the opening cutscene, totally mint. One of the greatest game openings ever. Onto the menu, whoo. Start the Campaign.
The first mission starts off with a pretty nice cutscene, and launches you right into a trench, whilst you watch the Helghast walk into a minefield. Poor sods, but they're the ones invading.
I could write forever about the greatness of Killzone, so I'll go right onto the cons.
1st one and probably the most prominent: Slow loading face textures. Many times you look at your fellow soldiers and their faces will be glitched and blurred, and you will have to wait a few seconds for the proper (and impressive) textures to load.
Second is, the game gives you a selection of playable characters. All right, okay, that's sweet. Problem is, I found myself just playing through the whole thing with Luger, with two exceptions. Her one hit kills with the knife and pretty impressive SMG just make her my first choice. In fact, the SMG's better with a sniper rifle. I think you should've had to complete the game to unlock the next character, complete it with them to unlock the next, and so on.
Third, some of the game movies are just awesome. My problem is that even if you complete the game, you have to play through again to see the cutscenes instead of just giving you a movie viewer. I know you can do this with cheats, I just think it would've been smart to include that.
Final, the sniper scope is rubbish. Period.
Aside from these problems, Killzone is a total classic. I recommend it to anyone who owns a Playstation. If you don't own it yet, buy it here! HALF PRICE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All here, 11 July 2005
This review is from: Killzone (PS2) (Video Game)
Well having played this a few times the game for me is pure genius.
I'd say along the same lines as Frontline. yes, Frontline.
The overall darkness and surprise of the game had me hooked wanting to do just one more level. The best thing about this game is the "Team Deathmatch". playing on my own with bots on my team and me playin against bots aswell i have been playing on one level for 2 hours straight. first to 50 kills is my way of handling things. If its easy up the hardness for a real challenge.
Still getting me picking it up to play all day long.
One thing though that is negative for me is the viewing but nowadays the viewing is weird with right analog to look and left to move.
Apart from that no mistakes for Killzone.
A ***** star game in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killzone (PS2)
Killzone (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews