Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The KING of side scrolling shoot em ups!!!, 1 Aug 2004
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
I have got this game on import and it is SUPERB!!
There have been loads of great shootem ups on the PS2 (some which have not made it to our shores) and in my opinion this is probably the best one yet!
It takes all the great gameplay from the previous games and throws in some truely outstanding graphics and sound to produce the complete gaming experience.
Anyone who has played Nemesis, Salamander or any of the previous Gradius (as they have all been known in Japan) games, will be instantly at home with the weapon choice system and the way the game plays in general. Gradius V has not set out to be original, what Konami (and Treasure) have done is set out to make the ultimate side scrolling shoot em up experience. This is pretty much what they have achieved.
This is not an easy game and most people will find this game very challenging on Normal level but it does have that addictive quality that will keep you coming back for more!
Buy this game either on import now, or in September when the game gets it's PAL release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest shoot-em-up series just got better, 2 Aug 2005
By 
P. Hulshoff (Almere, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
Gradius. If you don't know the series: Google is your friend. The Gradius (Nemesis in Europe), and their Parodius parody series has always been fighting with the R-Type series for the crown of shoot-em-ups. I have always preferred Gradius, but that's personal I guess. :)
Gradius V, after having been delayed several times, finally came into my possession a few days after its release in Europe, and it was worth the wait. This game is simply the best shoot-em-up available to date. Take the typical Gradius playing style, and add beautiful 3D graphics (the game is still in 2D though), some very nice music, and a two player mode (both ships flying at the same time), and this game simply couldn't be better. They've decreased the hit area to a small part of a ship, so no more feeling you've been cheated when you die: trust me, you've been hit this time!
As you play the game you unlock more credits to play with, until finally you receive unlimited credits. Combined with the "continue where you die" feature this Gradius packs, and the ability to pick up your options (again, Google if you're not familiar with the typical Gradius terminology) when you die, and the game should be finishable for players of every skill. Luckily I didn't need more than 5, though I've been completely outclassed by several players that have managed to play through all levels of this game several times without using more than a single credit. I'd say the game is just slightly less difficult than Gradius IV.
If you like shoot-em-ups, then get this game. For the moment, it just doesn't get better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old skool cool., 4 Jun 2009
By 
A. Smith (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game as Im a fan of old 2d shooters, especially ones that have been given a modern remake, and this game didn't dissapoint.

I really like these sort of games, where you control one tiny ship in a screen filled with enemy bullets, trying to fight a whole armarda on your own. These sorts of game have that pick up and play feeling that is lost in so many of todays games that require a 10 hour+ sit down to get anywhere through them.

The graphics are lovely, with some really impressive 3d backdrops, huge enemys and vibrant colours. The sound is what you'd expect from Konami with some awesome Japanese techno that suits the games hectic pace perfectly, as well as some great sound effects for gunfire, explosions and the like. The game itself is on the difficult side of hard, but persevere with it as it will reward you for your efforts with an extra continue for each hour of play making it that little bit easier with each go. There is a two player co-op option included as well so you and a friend can blast through space together. Surprizingly the story is quite good too, and although not that important in a game like this it is nice to see the effort put in just the same.

Overal I would recommend Gradius V to any self respecting shoot-em-up fan who isn't afraid of a challenge. Its easy to get into but hard to finish so it will hold your attention for some time. I just wish they made more of these sort of games today that you can buy boxed rather than download. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shmup perfection!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
N. Pearce "rastansaga" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
If you're into shmups - and can live with the difficulty that Gradius games tend to deliver, then I think you'll find Gradius V outstanding. It's very polished product, gorgeous to look at with unforgiving gameplay. Each level brings a brand new environment to the table - and the bosses are just incredible.
Previous Gradius annoyances, such as your ships starting speed being ludicrously slow or losing all your multiples upon death have been addressed, meaning this aspect is a lot less frustrating than in its predecessors.
The game has so many 'stand-out' moments, personally for me it's coming across the stage 2 'fake boss' for the first time, only to discover that following it are not one, not two, not three, but FOUR(!) 'real' end of stage bosses. LOL. It also works fine on my first wave UK 60GB PS3.
The best shooter on the PS2, bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
Developed by Treasure and G.Rev. That says it all for a fan of the shmup genre. It has almost an Ikaruga feel to the game while still staying true to the Gradius name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 29 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
Excellent old school shooter. Great for co-op gaming. Intense, thrilling, top shelf. After you played it for 19hrs you get unlimited lives and weapons edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gradius 5 10/10, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
its the tits! probably the best co-op game on the system. if you want an in depth review contact me s a r e t h u m s @ h o t m a i l . c o . u k no spaces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS2 GRADIUS V, 25 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
THIS IS THE GAME I HAVE WANTED .IT IS ONE OF THE BEST SHOOT UP GAMES AROUND.
IT IS QUITE A HARD GAME , BUT YOU KEEP GOING BACK TO IT ,TO ME IT IS 1st CLASS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
Great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it, 17 Aug 2003
By 
Christian Lowensprung (TRONDHEIM Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gradius V (PS2) (Video Game)
The game hasn't arrived yet so this shouldn't be considered a review. But more a cheer actually. To those of you who don't know what Gradius is, here it is:
Gradius is a side scrolling shooter, just like the shooters in the arcades 10 years ago. The main thing with Gradius is that you buy your weapons instead of picking them up. The more power ups you collect (without buying) the better the weapon.
Gradius first appeared in the Arcades, and became a HUGE hit.
It has appeared on NES, SNES, Playstaion (but Japan only, which is a real shame), and Playstation 2.) The best thing about Gradius is probably this though: It has ALWAYS stayed the same, with some exceptions:
Gradius: LifeForce (NES) added 2 players on screen.
Gradius III (SNES) added tactical weapons placement.
I remember the first time I played this series on Nintendo, and it ruled! Then came LifeForce, also for Nintendo, and it actually had 2 player mode (like both players on the screen at the same time! Yes!!) So LifeForce is actually the best game in the series in my opinion.
The second best version is Gradius III for the Super Nintendo. It didn't have 2 player, but hey: It had something cool instead: Tactical weapons placement, i.e you could choose where your weapons would be placed on your ship. You could choose an offencive or defence stance! Gradius III was thrown along with IV in the first Playstation 2 release, but was much harder, and without the original SNES music. (I can't say if this is the original music that came in the arcade version or not, because I haven't played the arcade version. But I at least like the SNES version a lot better.)
Next came a sad story: A great game, that recieved excellent ratings, didn't come to Europe or USA. Too bad about Gradius Gaiden, which only came out in Japan, a game which also had two players at the same time on screen.
The version on the Playstation 2 was a tadd more difficult, and the music was not the music I was used to on the SNES (which is far better.) On the cover it said "2 player." But that wasn't 2 player, it was only 2 players taking turns in playing. Boooh!
Gradius III & IV on the Playstation 2 was a HUGE let down.
The music was not so cute and catchy as before, far more difficult (as in impossible), and IV had actually become worse than III (III was much more durable in weapon selection.)
But, despite the let down on Playstation 2, Konami decides to give it another go, and release "V"! Yes!! I hope they pay attention to what fans have been saying. Keep the gameplay intact, try not to get ultra sorround sound crystal music (because that just isn't the good old game man), and please, if at all possible, let's see 2 players on screen (this is asking a lot, but please???!) What the news so far says though, is that the game will now have the same weapon system as on Gradius III, but with even more weapons. Yes! :)
So, ok, I gave you my rant now, hope it adds to the page, and your excitement about this new release.
And let's all hope that this new game embraces nostalgia freaks, as well as high tech new comers to shooters, and the Gradius phenomenon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gradius V (PS2)
Gradius V (PS2) by Konami (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £24.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews