Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb rally sim.
After previously playing the very good Colin McRae 1&2 on PS1, I had high hopes for this installment. I wasn't disapointed.
This is pretty much more of the same, only with new stages & sub-games, and better handling & graphics. The handling on most surfaces (gravel & dust etc.) is similar to previous CM games. However, the biggest bonus for me was the improved...
Published on 7 Nov 2003 by stevebaggley

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really bad game
when i first bought cm3 i loved it all the new weather conditions and cars.then i bought wrc 4 and i thought it was terrific and i thought it was great the gameplay and co-driver especially the new group 1600 and extreme cars.i had say for a year after i bought cm4.it was a huge disappointment.the cars just damage themselves so easily and if you hit into a sign you will...
Published on 28 July 2009 by Slawomir Giecewicz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb rally sim., 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
After previously playing the very good Colin McRae 1&2 on PS1, I had high hopes for this installment. I wasn't disapointed.
This is pretty much more of the same, only with new stages & sub-games, and better handling & graphics. The handling on most surfaces (gravel & dust etc.) is similar to previous CM games. However, the biggest bonus for me was the improved handling on tarmac & snow/ice stages; to me, these were the only flaws on parts 1&2. I always considered that the tarmac stages were *incredibly* grippy, excessively so, and the snow stages were just the opposite, far too slippery. These are both a definite improvement in CM4; surfaces vary a great deal in handling, but they are all very driveable with different techniques.
The graphics on CM4 are sometimes superb. Trees are more realistic (and deeper in number at the roadside), and weather effects are excellent. The smear from the windscreen-wipers (inside car view) in a rain-soaked stage is very well done, and on certain late-evening stages, the setting Sun is almost blinding when facing it head-on. The detail on the cars is very high, and the damage to body panels after crashes looks real enough. The individual stages look very fine too, with Sweden's snow-scapes looking particularly good. The only down-side is the lack of night-time stages.
As ever in-car pace notes are provided by your co-driver, and are needed to set a decent time. At last, Codemasters have dropped the requirement to finish in the top six to progress to the next event in the championship (why did they ever do this in the first place?!), although the standard difficulty level seems just slightly easier than CM1 or 2.
A strange new addition is the car-part testing sub-games. Hmmmm. Some of these are O.K., but nothing too exciting really.
Overall though, this is an excellent part to the series with fairly realistic, fun handling, decent audio & superb graphics. If you enjoyed CM1 or 2 then I doubt you will be disapointed with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Bad or Ugly? Definitely Good, 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I kind of unintentionally got this game as I'm not really into rallying, more a Gran Turismo man. However I did find this game very playable, with extremely realistic gameplay and good graphics. Once you get into the swing of things it really gets addictive because you want to win the championships so you can unlock faster, better handling cars. I think the cars on the game (there are about 25) are very good and very accurately recreated, both in the way they look and the way they handle, but I would love a bit more variety, which will extend the longevity of the game. On the upside there are many different modes for racing, stages, rallies, or championships, all with multiplayer capability and the choice of racing a 2 wheel drive, 4 wheel drive, Group B, or Bonus car. So, overall its a very playable game that's rewarding with good graphics. If you're remotely interested in rally or racing games, then you should certainly consider buying Colin Mcrae 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Improvement, 4 Oct 2003
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Massive improvement over the rather shallow CMR3. Much improved gameplay and you don't have to be Colin McRae all the time!!Improved graphics and the punctures and overheating are great features that enhance the experience. The actual stages and championshio still falls behind WRC Extreme, but that is the only area in which WRC beats this game, none of the frustration of clipping a wall and stopping dead here, unlike WRC Extreme. Undoubtly the best rally game available.PS Don't go onto the Codemasters website and unlock the cheats, it spoils the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin McRae 4 vs WRC 3, 4 Dec 2003
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
It's winter again, and here come the next release of Codemaster's McRae and Sony's WRC. Last year I sold CM3 for WRC2, but this year, in a reversal of fortune I shall be selling WRC3 for CM4! I think the best way to compare two games is to go through each of the things that makes a rally game great:
Graphics: CM4: gorgeous, a definate improvement to CM3. Realistic backdrops, highly-detailed cars, impressive particles (like dust, mud, sparks) WRC3: not quite as good. not even as good as WRC2 for some reason! doesn't seem quite as realistic.
Detail: CM4: loads. trees, bushes, ruts in the track, fences, realistic buildings, basically there's stuff on-screen that you'll never even get to see. WRC3: compared to CM4 - bland. the odd tree here and there, the flat road, the detail-less mountains in the background which seem to be one polygon with a muddy texture. A step back from WRC2!
Sound: CM4: the engines sound gruff, realistic and different between cars. bangs, bumps and rattles are also very good. WRC3: the engines sound a bit too smooth and rev too freely, and sound too similar between cars.
Co-driver: CM4: no disrespect to the veteran Nicky Grist, but I think I've heard just a bit too much of his voice. Thankfully there is a new (Scottish) voice. The calls are good, with corner sharpness, distance, and other pointers like "turn right at tree". WRC3: a bland voice of a guy who doesn't really sound like he wants to be there. too quiet even with volume turned up. sometimes you miss something he says. doesn't tell you distance to next obstacle (as CM4 does).
Handling: CM4: an improvement to CM3. not as arcadey but still not too realistic. quite fun and easy to pick up. not frustrating at all. car feels like it's planted on the road. vibration through gamepad really takes you in. WRC3: an improvement to WRC2 which was far too realistic, WRC3 takes a step towards fun so that CM4 and WRC3 meet somewhere in the middle. having said that the car doesn't 'feel' like it's in the game at all. it's like you're navigating the course and theres a picture of a car stuck in the middle of the screen and there's no correlation between the two. too smooth, and sometimes you can't brake hard enough. frustrating at times.
Variety: CM4: 7 base cars, with ability to unlock 'dangerous' Group B cars, plus fun cars like a transit van. mini-games take the form of parts testing where you are supposed to wreck part of your car (like suspension or tyres) to get an upgrade. 8 countries (all very different) and 48 tracks. WRC3: 7 base cars, with ability to unlock extreme versions with double the horsepower, plus the odd hidden car like Mits. Pajero. 14 countries (although some look the same in ways) and 125 tracks.
Verdict: Buy Colin McRae 4 in preference to WRC3 if you like rally games. CM4 is more fun, looks better, feels more real, and gets you involved. WRC3 is plain, harder to control, a step BACK from WRC2 (!) and tends to rely on the licence to sell (to the extent that the title on the side of the game is: WRC3(TM): The Official Game of the FIA World Rally Championship). There are loads of video clips of drivers and cars and so on, but you're there to PLAY the game not watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally its here, 14 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the game that the 3rd should have been. Its addictive and really tests your concentration. The graphics are good for a ps2 meaning you can see far into the distance. The reality of the car damage is a superb aspect of the game, this added to the wider choice of tyres and different surfaces means that this the 1st driving game where tactics are really needed. Basically if you crash you'll worry.
There are so many good points to this game I could go on for ages. The only flaw with the game is that the 1 player mode is far too easy, I won both the normal and advance championship on my 1st go without really struggling. The 2wd championship is far to easy, sometimes winning stages by over 30secs and thats on advanced.The easy stuff is just a build up and with loads of cars and championships to do, it means its a big game. ( 1 other slight flaw is that you can only play it with 1 mate but then you wont need them for a while anyway )
The expert mode is fun and I'm sure it will be a lot harder with the "extreme" damage mode on, I done the 1st two stages hammered one and wrecked my car on the second by 1 crash so its looking good! This is something us pure rally fans have wanted for years , and finally its here!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real rally driving, 5 Dec 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I'll be fair by saying I haven't played lots and lots of rally games, but I know what makes a good one, and Collin Macrae 04 beats alot of competitors, even now 2 years on.

What makes the game so addictive and indeed real is the sheer feel of driving the cars. Every bump is felt through the rough pea gravel, and the cra moves incredibly realistically whether your meandering through Spains tarmac roads, or the rough gravel of Australia.

The amount of options available for adjusting your car before a stage is just right, and simply layed out, while the realism continues with the authentic layout of stages, and the 1 hour of repair you can have your time, which is cleverly divided into the different sections of your car.

Graphics wise, the game is pretty descent. Obviously their will be arcade style games out their with amazing effects (Rallisport Challenge 2 - Xbox) but I'm glad I chose this game for its realism of handling and driving - not for looks. But that doesn't mean their bad, I just feel theirs alot more deatail in other games. There are of course some good examples of brilliant effects, like splashing water, and the sun in the sky.

If your looking for a 'real' driving simulator, this is the game you'll feel every bump, and know when your axles are damaged!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin McRae Rally 4 has it all..., 6 Jan 2004
By 
Gareth (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
There are some things in life that we'd all like to try. For me rally driving was one of them. As a PS1 rally fan I was absolutely blown away buy the realism, attention to detail and the shear addictiveness Colin McRae Rally 4. I found myself totally immersed in the game. Multiple cars, both two and four wheel drive, different locations, driving conditions and surfaces which all behave differently and accurately.
The levels of realism are phenomenal such as the way the car can accurately slide around corners and the ability to balance the car on the throttle. Damage is fantastic when switched on and the scenery is photo real including lots of nice trees, shrubs, rocks, bales of hay, walls and spectators to crash into. In car navigation is both visual and verbal which takes a bit of getting used to.
if that wasn't enough there are opportunities to test and use advanced components and
if you drive well enough you can unlock different cars such as the old group B rally cars so there's plenty to keep you interested.
This was my first game ever purchased on the PS2 and I can't wait for the Colin McRae Rally 5. If you ever wanted a rally game then look no further. This game has it all.
If only they did flight Simulators on the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin's best yet...almost perfect....but still could improve, 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I am a big fan of the WRC series on PS2 and have enjoyed both of these games in the past. This is my first play of a Colin McRae title since PS One games and it was a pleasant surprise.
The cars are great, including 2WD and 4WD recreations of real rally cars. The liveries are not exactly right but I'm certainly not bothered about that...what matters is how it looks overall and how it plays.
Visually the game is the bees kness in my opinion (although I've yet to have a good look at WRC3, so can't compare there). There is a real sensation of speed with no slowdown at all. My favorite is the rally of Great Britain - especially the tracks that are part tarmac. The attention to detail is fantastic and it really does look as though you're driving down a narrow country, hedgre row lined lane, complete with gates and sign posts!
Gameplay is an improvement from previous rally games I've played - handling is very realistic and quite tricky at times. You can even feel the difference between the varying road surfaces, encouraging you not to cut the corner in places...Interaction with the environment has always been a problem with driving games in the past, with minor obstacles seemingly weighing 100 tons and therefore not budging an inch when you slam into them at 100mph. Some improvements have been made, with the 'bunting' at the endge of the track actually breaking when you drive through it, plus hay bails moving when you smash into them. There is still room for improvement in this area though and we wait for the day when brick balls smash and crumble (to a similar extent to your car) when you slide into them at high speed.
So graphics are great, gameplay is great. Only real grumble is the size of the game. Only 48 events in 8 rallys, compared to 14 rallys and heaven knows how many events in WRC3. A bit of a let down compared to the competition. This is forgiven through when you can drive classic rally cars from the past like the massively powerful and now banned Group B cars. However, you need to invest time (quite a lot) in order to unlock them, so for some they may remain out of reach for some time, if not premanently. Mnnnn, could need some cheat codes here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simulation NOT arcade, 15 Jan 2004
By 
N. Randtoul "Dr Weird" (Crawley, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought CM4 late, after waiting to test it against WRC3 and found I had wasted time waiting for WRC3.
CM4 has true simulator style handling, realistic grip levels that enable slides, handbrake turns, scandi flicks, brakes that have feel and all the things you see in the real world.
The graphics are superb, with animated spectators and other vehicles. But don't start watching the snowmobiles or trains, when you should be concentrating on a good stage time. Replay graphics are even better, you can see the drivers knee pumping the throttle and the co-drivers notes moving inside the car.
Damage is very realistic, graphically and the way it effects the cars handling. Noisy too when you have lost a tyre....
Co-driver gives accurate calls in plenty of time, something WRC never ever managed.
Car selection is excellent, all real world cars and some long lost classic group B monsters, that are so rewarding driven properly.
Countries are less than WRC but you don't really notice as the varied surfaces give you the variation without the monotany of several rallies that appear the same.
Gameplay is far more flexible than WRC, whatever you want to do you can and if you are not good enough or haven't the time to unlock the cars or upgrades, cheats are available to enable you to just drive what you want, where you want, if that's your bag baby.
Car setup is great, all the usable things can be tuned, especially steering sensetivity, vital to what type of controller you prefer. Choosing the right tyres can make 15 seconds difference and making the wrong choice can be equally as bad.
If I had to criticise anything, I would say the cars sound a little similar, however you will need to turn this down to balance against the co-driver calls.
It also has less flashy graphic title screens, video footage, car selection screens and all the other pointless gimicks of WRC.
If you want playable realism buy CM4 now, if you prefer easy arcade style look at WRC.
Codemasters have suceeded in ovehauling WRC in realism and as a result enjoyability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Mcrae Rally 04, 13 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
A very addictive and fun game, although the gaming beginner will struggle to get to grips with the unforgiving handling on the harder difficulty and damage levels. CMR04 is a very accurate representation of rallying and requires complete concentration to avoid landing upside down in a ditch. The handling and graphics have greatly improved since the last edition, as well as an expert mode being added for the seasoned Colin Mcrae owner. By far the best rally game around and a must have for all rally and racing fans. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2)
Colin McRae Rally 4 (PS2) by Codemasters (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews