Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psionic Powers, a new Genre? I hope so!
'Psi-Ops, the Mindgate Conspiracy' is a game that was released to no great celebration, which in my opinion is wrong. This could have something to do with the fact that it was released within the same time span that Free Radical's own psychic themed sub standard game "Second Sight" was unleashed upon Europe. Yet the similarities between these two games ends with the...
Published on 7 Nov 2004 by imperialvegita

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best left on the shelf
I completed Second Sight in January and straight afterwards opened the wrapper of this game. I was immediately disappointed by the irritating abilities that are not as effective or fun as Second Sight. The graphics for Psi-ops are better and the ability to obliterate the head of an enemy is great, but these are the only points that make this game better than Second...
Published on 31 May 2005 by Mr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psionic Powers, a new Genre? I hope so!, 7 Nov 2004
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
'Psi-Ops, the Mindgate Conspiracy' is a game that was released to no great celebration, which in my opinion is wrong. This could have something to do with the fact that it was released within the same time span that Free Radical's own psychic themed sub standard game "Second Sight" was unleashed upon Europe. Yet the similarities between these two games ends with the theme of controlling a psychically adept character, as Free Radical's attempt delivers a mundane, all too serious take on the theme, where as Psi - Ops is much more fun.
Upon writing this review I have completed the game once on the Normal difficulty setting and am about to start my second play through almost immediately for this has been one of the most enjoyable playing experiences of my life. I will begin by listing the few negative points about the game as I would not want to present a biased opinion, and then move onto the many positive points.
Negative
- It is a little too short. I completed the one player mode in under ten hours, however, there is A LOT of replay value as completing the game on each difficulty setting unlocks genuinely interesting material such as deleted scenes, concept artwork, new skins for your character and fun cheats
- Towards the end of the game a new enemy briefly stands in your path, making a change from the usual three varieties of easily manipulated soldiers. These are psi - monsters, things that can only be seen when you are using one of your psi abilities. Not only do they diminish the sense of extended reality the game usually puts forth, but also they are irritating to deal with as no psi powers (the best thing about the game) work on them. However, this is just my opinion, others may think them an interesting change of pace
- The Artificial Intelligence sometimes leaves a lot to be desired as, although usually very solid and exciting, if make a motion that leads to you being detected, suddenly all the enemies in the near area know your EXACT position and attack you no matter how far away you are.
Positive
- The best thing about the game is it is genuinely fun. Each one of your psi powers create lots of ways to deal with a variety of situations. Do you take over the mind of an enemy and use them to obliterate their allies? Or rip a fire extinguisher off a nearby wall using Telekinesis and launch it at them, only to shoot it a second after blowing them to smithereens? The possibilities are almost endless and usually end with very satisfying results thanks largely to the game's astonishingly accurate physics and rag doll system
- The graphics. Although this game looks sharper and smoother on the X Box version, the PS2 version is still something very special, just look at any screen shots you come across and try to argue with me
- The sound. When I first saw this game I thought it would contain a lot of 'grungy' rock music, but I was willing to make this sacrifice as I knew it was a good game from playing the demo. However, it turns out that there is a lot of grand orchestrated music accompanying the game's levels and especially its cut scenes, adding suitably dramatic effect. The voice acting is very good throughout and each of the 'boss' characters have their appropriately evil voices berating you as you battle them, and the grunts that you learn to love scream and shout as one might do in real life if picked up and thrown about like a 'rag doll', excuse the pun
- Level and boss design. Each location in the game looks different to the last and offers many new items to launch constructively or destructively, and I was always compelled to reach the next place if only to see what it looked like. Similarly the bosses' characters are very well implemented into the storyline despite Nick not seeing them too often, and each battle is very amusing to handle.
- The storyline. Although the ending is a little disappointing with its 'To Be Continued...' ominous tagline, the prospect for a sequel has me very excited. The narrative itself in the game compliments Nick's psychic abilities very well and never ceases to amaze with the excellent voice talent and score going along with it.
In conclusion, I am extremely glad to have experienced Psi - Ops in all its glory and it more than lived up to my expectations. Although my 'experience' with it is not quite finished yet, I plan to play through it several more times to unlock everything and to find even more interesting ways to dispatch my foes, I can say this without doubt..
I would recommend the game to anyone who enjoys action adventure and shooting games, and I would implore those who don't to start with this one if they wish to learn the error of their ways.
Unleash your mind and discover 'The Mindgate Conspiracy', you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fav Game, 2 Mar 2014
By 
K. jackson "marx" (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
My 2nd copy of this brilliant game as originally had it on the Xbox back in the day which has long gone , so bought this for my brothers ps2 console so when I visit I can have a little reminisce of the good old days with this captivating game .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 2 Aug 2010
By 
J. Thornton (North Korea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is really good fun and becomes quite difficult near the end too. The only thing wrong is the story which is awful, however if you don't mind that then you can enjoy the amazing game-play and power that you feel when playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blew My Mind, 28 July 2007
By 
D. Hooley "Dom" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
Whenn i first saw this game, i thought this would be instant 2/10 material. How Wrong i was.I instantly noticed that the Enemy AI was far superior to other games. The Psychic powers were unlike anything i had ever seen before. Usually telekinesis in games is completely rubbish i.e "you can only only throw objects when told to" or "it only lasts half way through the game before it becomes utterly useless".

In conclusion, this is probably my all time favourite game that takes it rightful place as king (if not God) of all sci-fi and shooter games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bit dissapointed..., 1 May 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
is a good game, was expecting it to be better though.

i was really looking forward to using the pyrokenisis cause you dont get that chance often in many games, but it was nothing like i wanted to be, the best power i think was the telekenisis as you can do practically anytihng with it.

i thought it was going to be a bit like second sight...this game has much better powers than second sight but you are confined to small maps and its kind of repeatitive and gets pretty annoying :)

i did enjoy the game, lots of tough puzzles to solve, and really makes you think.

this, i think, is a deffinatly good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Sep 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
i was bought this game as a present and judging by the looks it wasn't a game that i would have bought myself! i played it and really realised how much looks can be decieving. the mind drain is awesome and the way you can through almost anything using your mind makes it a pretty unique game in itself. the multiplayer gameplay is wicked as you are controlling one person with two controllers, one that shoots and uses the mind powers and one that moves and does the actions. a fantastic game that takes shoot em ups to a new level. recommended for all people who love a great action packed shooter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as you may think...., 12 Jun 2005
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
Compared to second sight, psi ops has a lot of things going against it. For instance, it is very generic and 'gamey' so to speak. It has a weak story, pumps up the gore factor, and loves to place you in bland brown corridors.
Despite all of this however, psi ops just about pulls it off at the end. As your powers extend, so does the amount of fun tricks there are to pull off, and that is a huge plus point to what would otherwise be a bland action adventure.
So what of the story? well you play nick scryer, a man who has been taken prisoner and experimented on. Basically an excuse to bring a new element to an action adventure, making it stand out from the rest. However, as blantant as this is, the game's physics engine does eventually mange to win you over, providing laughs aplenty.
Despite this, the glitchy graphics and dull settings can go some way to spoiling the party, as they tend to evarporate the feeling of something new, and make the game feel just as generic as every other action game.
Overall, psi ops is a success in many rights. It is on the right side of hard, and the physics add a new dimension that has never been implemented before, therefore giving the game an original concept, a wonder, especially for midway.
just don't mention second sight...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why has nobody reviewed this great game?!, 16 Oct 2004
By 
G. Nisbet (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
Excellent game - haven't enjoyed a game this much for years!!
The 'Free Training' section alone has killed hours of my time, whilst the main game itself is absorbing and well-paced.
Great graphics, easy to use controls, plenty of fresh and exciting ideas and lots of fun - highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psi Ops is a fantastic Purchase, 3 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought second sight and Psi-Ops at the same time and I must say that Psi-Ops wins hands down. I'm rather perplexed by some previous reviews.

This game was never going to be metal gear solid, but it is much much better than what I was expecting. The guns in the game do feel rather weak and lack in variety, but to be honest I rarely ever use them. The Powers in this game are great fun to use, especially Telekinisis.

The physics engine allows you to have great fun picking people up and throwing them into walls, explosive barrels or each other. Catch a grenade in mid-air then throw it back. Jump on a box and them pick it up using telekinisis to 'surf'. The possibilities are endless.

The main story again isn't Metal Gear Solid, but it's good enough to link scenes and places together. The story mode includes a lot of puzzles and variety to keep the experience fresh.

Then to top it off, they give you the 'Psi Training Room'. A remarkably simple, yet gratifying way of extending the games longetivity. This is a room filled with various objects and obstacles that apply to the laws of Psi-Ops physics.. Then lets you send in all sorts of enemies and dispose of them however you like with unlimited health and Psi-Energy.

Overall this game is great. I rarely feel so pleased with a purchase and yet this game only cost me 1.80! Much better than Second Sight in my opinion, go buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this game, 31 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) (Video Game)
i love this game it is one of the best games i own. i bought because i am interested in the 'paranormal' but the game is great the storyline is great the graphics are pretty good and overall just a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2)
Psi-Ops: The Mindgate Conspiracy (PS2) by Midway Games Ltd (PlayStation2)
17.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews