Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.
Greory Horror Show. Where to begin? It's not a fast-paced, shoot-'em-up gore fest, instead it mostly relies on creepy music, FREAKY characters and and a very scary hotel.
The basic plot is: you're stuck in Gregory House,a hotel in another dimension. (This might explain why all the characters have square heads...) The owner of the hotel, Gregory a decrepit old mouse...
Published on 30 Jan 2004

versus
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky cartoon mansiony crap
Gregory Horror Show opened my eyes to show how crap a game can be once youve played it for a while, the storys good, theme good, characters good, but its just weird, sell it after a few weeks of gaming
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by Gamer with attitude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 30 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
Greory Horror Show. Where to begin? It's not a fast-paced, shoot-'em-up gore fest, instead it mostly relies on creepy music, FREAKY characters and and a very scary hotel.
The basic plot is: you're stuck in Gregory House,a hotel in another dimension. (This might explain why all the characters have square heads...) The owner of the hotel, Gregory a decrepit old mouse has trapped you in his "beautiful world of chaos" where all is not what it seems. You make a bargain with Death: if you collect all the Lost Souls that are in the hotel, he'll show you the way back.
However, the guests have stolen the souls and aren't going to give them back willingly. To steal those souls back, you've gotta have cunning. Peek through keyholes and listen to the guest's insane mumblings. Find out their weak point and then use it to get that soul! It may be easy at first, but it gets harder as the game progresses. Once you steal a soul off a guest, that guest will chase you. If he/she catches you, you will be put through torture,a "horror show" where the guest tortures you and makes it look like a show! This will be devastating on your "mental gauge" which indicates your strength of mind. If you lose your mind completely,you will be trapped in the hotel forever!
This game uses cartoon horror, but that doesn't mean it's not scary! The characters are strange and creepy, with the evil "nurse" Catherine, with her giant syringe, being the most scary. Other characters include "TV-fish" a fish with a tv for a head that shows your own memories, "Mummy dog" an insane dungarees-wearing canine who doesn't realise he's got an axe imbedded in his skull, and "Lost Doll", the girl with two faces, one an innocent little child crying for her lost doll, the other face the insane doll who torments her. And there are many other guests...
To summarise, this game is unique. It's addictive, fun and creepy, and at £20 it's a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very original game, 15 Aug 2005
By 
Alan J. Cartwright (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
i only got this game a few days ago, but from playing it so far i absolutely love it. the premise is this: you are a boy stuck in a strange hotel in another world. to escape, you muct collect the souls of the other guests in the hotel and give them to death, and he will free you from the hotel. on your way you will meet many other guests, some who will give up their souls easily, others will be much harder to get... some of the more interesting characters are catherine, a female lizard nurse with a giant syringe hoping to suck your blood, mummy papa, a dog with a sword stuck in his head, and cactus gunman, fairly self-explainitary. gameplay involves peeking through keyholes to keep a diary of all the other guests, running away from guest who want to torture you and solving puzzles. the game plays kind of like an interactive story, and a very good one at that. if your not a fan of slow gameplay then dont try this, it will take a while to get started. and it is kinda short, with only 12 souls to collect. apart from that give it a try, if its your cup of tea then you'll realise what a work of genius it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fav anime is also a great game!, 28 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
Im a typical 12 year old girl, and this games rocks! I am a huge fan of GHS, and this game does Naomi Itawa's perfect anime justice. The games control needs a lil' getting used to. After all, this game isnt the fast paced kind of thing where your quick reaction is the key. Instead, there is LOTS of creeping round, with sudden bursts of panic as you escape an enraged guest.

It has most of your favourite guests, from the well-known Kathrine, to the less known My Son. And, fortunatly, it has my personal fav, Judgement Boy (YAY!), with a new take on his classic song. It now says "Do you know my name? JUDGEMENT!" (not as good, but still ace!) I wish they could have included a few more, however. I would have loved to see my 2nd favourite character, Dr Fritz.

The graphics are very good and smooth working. And the music has a lovely mix of suspence, terror and tension.

Infact, the only problem I really have is the voice changes. Most of the voice are the same as the anime, however there are some new ones that are, for the most part,good, but can get annoying. Cactus Girl has lost the ace accent, JB sounds overdramatic to the point of annoyance (still love him though ;))and James doesn't have that slightly whinny, very cute little boy voice.

I give this game a 5/5 and hope you buy it(it's rare so get when possible!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Styish and a little bit Twisted., 7 Dec 2003
By 
J. F. Crosbie "jonno394" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
I got this game yesterday and to be honest, i have never saw the TV show which it is based on but it did look unique, and of course its capcom, which in my opinion will always be good.
The characters in the game are great. The style capcom have used is great for the game, and the voice actors that they chose are superb. You will feel like these characters are real, and you start to feel for certain creatures, especially my favourite Neko Zombie. (However, the less said about Judgement Boy, the better.)
The game itself revolves around collecting the "souls" that other characters have stolen. To do this you must find their weak spots by spying on them at certain times of the day. You see, the game has a 24 hour working clock. It is not real time, but more like that of Majoras mask on the N64. At different times, the characters could be doing different things like eating, sleeping or watching TV, and it is at these ponts that the characters spout important information you will need to remember. After you find their weak spots, you must use this against them and steal their stolen soul.
Of course, the creature will not be happy, and from now on, they will chase you and force you to watch a horror show. These can be quite disgusting, much like Catherine the nurses one, and it will seriously deplete your mind power, which is basically your health bar. The longer you stay in the hotel, the more it depletes, and the more it depletes, the more vulnerable you are. You can get headaches, nervousness and many other ailments, but these can be cured with items you find lying around like books, which you can read, and then store. But be careful, once read, you cant read them again.Gregorys trading shop also has many items to help heal you, or you could just go to sleep for a while.
finally, the music and controls. The music helps build a great atmosphere as you walk round the hotel, and the music played when you are being chased is quite scary. The controls take a bit of getting use to, but work well for this slow paced game. Don't let this put you off though as it is an overall great game, and one that threatens to ruin your christmas as YOU WILL PLAY THIS GAME till you finish it, i can guarantee it.
So far, I have only played for about 2 hours, and i am thouroughly enjoying it. go get it, so capcom will see the profit in making a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short But Sweet, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
Gregory Horror Show for the PS2 is based on the Japanese show of the same name although I have never seen it. The game on the other hand I had as a child and bought again for nostalgia reasons.

You take the on the roll as a boy or girl and after a walk home through some fog you find yourself outside Gregory House; a hotel run by a pervy old mouse. After getting some rest in a bed you have a dream in which Death contacts you, informing you that you're stuck here and only the power of the residents souls can help you escape. And that's all I'm going to tell you.

It's a puzzle game at heart. Mostly find an object that will either distract or knock a resident out and then take their soul. After taking their soul they become hostile and will chase you throughout the hotel and if they manage to get you, they all preform a unique horror show that depletes your mental gauge, which serves as a health bar. Once all souls are collected in a night you move onto the next night with new residents and the old ones going about their routine all the while hunting you if spotted. There are also collectibles and illnesses you can get that can be cure with medicines otherwise it may effect attributes such as speed, sight and the speed of how fat your mental gauge depletes.

Moving your character is surprisingly smooth for an early 2000's Capcom horror game. With an easy to navigate menu, and simple controls, you won't find yourself shouting at your TV that you've ran into a wall like, oh, I don't know, Resident Evil?

The game is very easy, however, with only 5 or 6 nights and very easy to solve puzzles. The game is intended for children (despite it 12+ rating) that could of grown up liking the original play style of Resident Evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
I got this game last week after searching high and low for it. I used to played it years ago and was terrified and still to this day, it creeps me out.

Not only is the game great, the delivery was quick and the condition was perfect.

I would highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game. Seen the cartoon before, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
Brilliant Game. Seen the cartoon before, and heard of the game, and it was as good as expected! A very interesting story, blended with a gameplay of sneaking mixed with investigation!

Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR THE NORMAL!, 16 Jan 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
A japanese game about a boy/girl trapped in a mysterious hotel. Not the most exciting plot line but still an excellent game. Trying to discover how to collect souls from guests can sometimes be annoying but overall an excellent way to escape reality!

Plus the twist at the end was something I definatly didn't think of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anything but a horrible game, 9 Dec 2003
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
Look, unlike everyone e;se on this site, i dont just give 5 stars to everything i see, 5 is reserved for games like Metroid Prime, Zelda ocarina of time, you know, those old chestnuts. THIS IS the best game you've never heard of! I know Capcom is scoring small time in the 'name' department but this game is GLORIOUS!!!!! Based on the hit Japanese series Gregory horror show, DUHHH!!!!, this game is set in the secluded mental institution, run by crazy mouse gregory. You enter, but can't leave, so death strikes you a bargain " You wanna get out, huh, well not many folks get outta here, but if you get me enough souls ill show ya the way out" Death lends you a body, simply 'Boy' or 'Girl'....Yeah...creative. Anyone here like Gitaroo man? The cube-headed characters? Well that style is with capcom, the square headed cast only add to the lunacy. Heres the best part: The A.I; The controls are simply and fluid, and the gameplay is very intuitive. Characters stroll around Gregoryu horror show ( Twelve of them) Doing there routines. It's like being around real people! If...real people had square heads and drank blood. Monitor them and study theyre behaviour, then steal there soul at their most vulnerable opportunity, e.g, should a character fall asleep after eating, you should strike after a feast. Steal the soul and, contadictory to the very theory of a soul being your life force, they will give chase and should they catch you, your character will be subjected to a horror show, i.e, Catherine the pink lozard 'nurse' will stick a 13 foot sringge into your back, and steal your blood. Your fear rating will SKYROCKET!!! High enough, you will go insane and start over. Sound easy, the heck it is? Dont think your safe ubtil you snatch a spirit, your succeptable to danger every minute, make pals, enemies, perferably just stay away from those FREAKS!!!! This isn't a puzzle game, strategy game or action game. It's a game so original that it can't be redone!!!! At the price of 18.00, u gonna say no? Well if you do watch out, because I heard that the guests are gonna be released soon...and theyre DYING to meet you BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA-Cough cough.......need my medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gregory horror house, they have mints, free tv, and BLOOD, 10 Dec 2003
This review is from: Gregory Horror Show (Video Game)
Capcom. Anyone with a next gen console knows who Capcom are. Every one of they're games addictive and stylish in gameplay, and carrying that authentic graphic style. Well this is the best game youve never heard of. I never throw a high rating at a vaguely good game like some, since I only review good stuff. This is one of the most original ideas known to game, you are in the gregory horror house, population: anyone crazy, well, 12 actually. You can enter, but only death can get you out. It's not a good place to be in, so death strikes you a bargain " Ooh, you wanna get out? Well then..." And so begins the game. Death gives you a body 'boy' or 'girl' Heres the most striking part of the game. The characters have cube shaped heads, much like the animation from Gitaroo man. You need 12 souls to escape, but wait, you're just a kid. Let's go soild snake. You will need stealth, agility and a lot o brains in that TV shaped head. The gameplay is intuitive beyond belief, patients go around like normal people ( Well, as normal as they can be; bear with me people) eating, watching TV, doing what they do. No two days are the same , giving you a real scence of being there, a great feat when you consider the game itself. Spy on the patients, watching their behaviour and studying for the weak spot. I.E, should they have a big appetite, wait till they finish eating and they run slower. Why would you need that? Well, you have to take the souls stored in Milk bottles, and should they catch you will be subjected to a 'horror show' like Catherine the pink nurse lizard, and her 8 foot sringe, straight in your back. Get subjected to enough and you are insane,forcing you to start over. It's not the longest game i know, but at 16.00, it's a brilliant deal. This game is too original to be copied ( Take that! Rareware's grabbed by the ghoulies) Its not in a genre; it invents a genre. Capcom took a chance and won, so if you want a game packed to the brim with sweet gameplay and sweet suprises; buy this, if your into games that let you down and make you ashamed for coughing up the cash, then look for 'hologram time traveller'. Peace out; or as Gregory would say: BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHARRR...HAHA...HA...HAA...yeah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gregory Horror Show
Gregory Horror Show by Capcom (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews