Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tried and Tested
Unlike most of the "reviews" for this game, I have actually played this game and so I can actually rate it fairly.
First things first, this game as a whole is unlike any of the spider-man games, or other game for that matter. However, it is sort of pieced together from aspects of other games, which actually has worked surprisingly well. You (obviously) play the role...
Published on 11 July 2004 by gol_acaron

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great city shame about the graphics and fighting
New York is the hero of this game. I have spent hours web slinging across New York and diving of the empire state building however with great power comes great responsibility and this is where it gets boring. The graphics aren't great and the fighting is dull and repetitive. I have completed the game twice and still play it to travel around New York as spider-man but the...
Published on 27 Aug 2004 by harry davenport


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tried and Tested, 11 July 2004
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
Unlike most of the "reviews" for this game, I have actually played this game and so I can actually rate it fairly.
First things first, this game as a whole is unlike any of the spider-man games, or other game for that matter. However, it is sort of pieced together from aspects of other games, which actually has worked surprisingly well. You (obviously) play the role Spider-Man, with the unique ability to sling web to attach yourself to buildings, tie up enemies and fight crime the superhero way.
However, there is a distinct element of Grand Theft Auto in this game. You now have the entire Manhatten area to explore at your disposal, meaning rather that follow fixed routes and paths, you can go wherever you want, whenever you want. So you could, for example, be in the middle of a mission, get bored after failing miserably and just go for a pleasant swing many feet above the road. Fantastic.
And, similair to GTA, you have the option to complete "mini missions", in which you can help the regular citizens of manhatten by halting the actions of petty thugs in true superhero fashion.
However, these missions tend to get very repetitive, you can be asked by pretty much the same child 5 times in a row to rescue his balloon (it makes you wish you could web sling it to his hand ;) ), and unfortuantely the boss missions are done pretty badly.
There is also an element of Tony Hawk's Pro Skater in this game ( and any other game involving Stat rising), in the form os Stat points, or "Hero Points", which can be traded in so you can learn new abilities and tricks to help you fight crime.
Another disappointment is the length of the game, only 16 missions (aside from the sub-missions) mean you could complete the story in merely hours. That's not to say there isn't any replayabiltiy, you could scour the rooftops for hours just messing around without getting (too) bored. If not you can continue your small vigilante missions.
The combat system is not bad to be honest. Combining your brute strength and your trusty web powers you can beat up your foes in many different styles, personal favourites include tieing an enemy to a lampost to make sure he can't fight back, and latching a web to they're foot so you can swing them around and throw them away like the trash they are :P. The combat can get repetitive however, as you can find yourself adjusting to one speical move and ignoring the others, so you should make sure you take a different approach everytime you face an enemy, otherwise you may find yourself dropping off tapping the same button over and over again.
All in all, an impressive game in the fact you have an entire city to do what you will, but let down by it's length.
Try it before you buy it really, but I'd doubt you'd be too dissapointed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, definitely recommendable, 11 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
When somebody bought me Spider-Man 2: The Movie game, I must admit that I was thinking "Here we go... another over the top and childish superhero game." Now I can admit that I was wrong.

The first thing that I loved was the liberty. As Spiderman, you can go anywhere in New York City. The whole island, along with Brooklyn (and if your lucky Liberty Island) is interactive. Unlike the first of the Spidey games, you can go both on the ground and in the air- onto any rooftop and down every alley. The feeling of just being able to swing high above the pedestrians shouting you praise (or sometimes abuse!) is so rewarding that sometimes you can forget your missions all together and just swing and plummet for the sake of it.

That is another good point: the game gives you a chance to explore in between each chapter i.e. you are not always being forced to go to your next mission. Also the missions are either part of the film storyline, invented storyline (where you meet a few of Marvel's old favourites) or random pedestrians crying for help.

The fact that the New-Yorkers interact with you really enhances the feeling of being Spiderman along with his "witty" comments while fighting and the times where he audibly reflects on his life.

On the down side, the game is quite easy verging on too easy. It may take you only a day or two to complete the storyline missions. Although that's only 50% of the game done, the other missions get repetitive and boring without them.

If I had to compare this game to another, it would be to any of the newer Grand Theft Auto games. Although less vast in the scale of the game, Spider-Man 2 makes up for this by the aerial acrobatics and Spidey's super abilities (which can be upgraded using superhero points that you obtain by doing missions). This game is obviously less explicit!

Overall, I think that if you're thinking of purchasing a Spider-Man game, this is the one. It's great on all consoles and you won't come away thinking that it's only a "kid's game". Even after completing the game, you'll still want to play it from time to time- believe me, the feeling of swinging in New York and beating up thugs and criminals is very therapeutic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, i can be Spidey, 16 July 2004
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is the best supe-hero game on the market. No Contest. I bought this a few days ago and have been playing it none stop. I wouln't say it is a particuarly challenging game, button bashing, but there is just so much to see and do. You can just jump straight off a building and rush through the air on a web, unlike previous versions the web slinging is great. No more holding a shoulder button and walking through the air, you actually fly on your web, around buildings, over skyscrapers, everything. You can run along the sides of buildings like in the film.
Content wise: the mini tasks do become repetitive. But stopping an old lady from getting mugged hasn't lost it's edge with me yet. The boss's are easy enough to defeat, and Mysterio in paricular is just downright silly. The script isn't too bad, not up to the film standard but worthy enough for a gane. Graphics are exceptional, apart from character models. When you talk to someone in the street, they don't move, they are almost flat.
Playability: There is so much to do in this game, challenges to complete, things to collect, people to save. Even after completion, just swinging around the city stopping crimes is still fun. It's like being a full time super-hero.....
I thought this would be a huge dissapointment, but it isn't. it is well worth adding to any gamers collection. with slick graphics and superb gameplay, this is the best game i own, and i own a few! And Black Cat is a babe!!!!
WARNING- Stay away from the PC version, it is totally different and very very pants.
Now i wish they would make a marvel super-hero world game, create your hero and protect the city, come on Treyarch make me proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Comic Hero Game Ever, 21 July 2004
By 
Mr. S. D. E. Wilson "Jacob Kreed" (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
Finally we have a comic hero game with Polish, with gameplay, graphics , sound and vast area to play over. You have the entire map of New year, A collection of all of Spiderman foes. Will spiderman save NY and lose the Girl. This is a great game, all the reviews in the magerzines will second that. Its a steal at 29 notes. If you want something play with while Halo 2 is still microsoft's stockrooms, this is one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic but a bit short, 7 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
I wish this game was longer, this was the best movie game i had ever played, and by far the best spiderman game you can buy, free roam was so fun i put hours into getting extras (like tokens) and achievements, if you liked the movie, BUY THE GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great city shame about the graphics and fighting, 27 Aug 2004
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
New York is the hero of this game. I have spent hours web slinging across New York and diving of the empire state building however with great power comes great responsibility and this is where it gets boring. The graphics aren't great and the fighting is dull and repetitive. I have completed the game twice and still play it to travel around New York as spider-man but the moment I have to fight the game loses interest for you find yourself fighting of more villains with the same old moves. Hopefully by the time the third movie comes out they will have improved the fighting system and graphics to the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiderman! spiderman! can do whatever......., 24 Aug 2004
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
when i first played this game i wasn't quite sure what to expect, but after i shot my very first web, i never looked back.
The graphics engine is stunning and allows you to see for miles into the glorious city of new york; as you progress through-out the game you'll gain abillities which allow you to kick some serious but! including some fantastic moves like catapuling yourself across the city, or cucooning your apponents with your web, and hurling them in circles around you untill they hit something (or you let go).
The best thing about the game however, is the fact that you have the freedom to swing yourself absolutely anywhere in new york, so if you fancied delivering pizzas like in the movie, then you can do, or swing around in central park; looking for crimes to solve-which eventually gets very repetative-you can.
All in all, it's certainly worth buying and playing to death, which i still haven't done. happy gaming!!!
ps i like milk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a review, just a preview, 19 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
Spiderman 2 is looking very good at the moment, it has been far more than upgraded from the first game, its a total change. They have now added free roaming (as seen in the GTA series) and it seems like a dream come true for any spiderman fan. They have also added new features such as spider sense when you use this it goes into a matrix style bullet time, and theres no more webbing meter so you dont need to look around for it any more.
But the most exciting thing that is making me look forward to this game is the exploring, you really have to see it in action to basically see what they have done with this game, you can swing on poles run along walls theres so much you can do in this game and it looks to be one of the hits this year, unless the original makes people sceptical on buying the sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Sep 2004
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
I initially purchased this game expecting the same rigid environment in spiderman the movie game, but this game goes above and beyond previous titles, allowing you to explore the city at will. The graphics are flawless and the missions are never dull - Some of the missions I've done over and over again. Without a doubt, one of the must-have games for this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About the last comment, 18 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) (Video Game)
The last comment made by someone who has only played the demo should be ignored...the demo released last month was the PC demo which is a totally different game than the console one.
The pc game is aimed at children 8+ obviously its spider-man but the console game is different.
Seein as its not even out yet no one can say how good it is .... but its looking sweet so ill put 5 stars to try cancel out the last post
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox)
Spider-Man 2: The Movie (Xbox) by Activision (Xbox)
23.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews