Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars14
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.62+ £1.91 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2004
Rare's highly anticipated debut game for the Xbox was an instant classic!
At the start of the game, you see your girlfriend (Amber) kidnapped by the evil Baron-Von-Ghoul and you (Cooper) need to venture through his spooky mansion and get her back. However, the Baron has many evil 'ghoulies' to stop you succeeding. The colourful graphics of the game are excellent and perfectly suited to the 'scary but comical' environment. These are complimented by a wonderful soundtrack and many sound effects (many imported straight from the N64 classic: Banjo-Kazooie) to build up the atmosphere. While the controls are fairly basic, they are easy to get used to and give a slick fighting experience.
Cooper can perform a variety of fighting moves in order to get through each room and complete the challenges set. All objects in the rooms (from plant pots to grand pianos) can be used to help Cooper beat up the resident ghoulies. The game starts easy but as you progress you can use many comical weapons such as the 'Soda-Can Launcher' and 'Sacred Water Pistol' to name a few. Once completed, you can replay the game to unlock bonus mini-games and find extras you missed the first time.
Innovative gameplay, a great plot and a host of extra features make this a must have game for any Xbox owner.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
After Donkey Kong CountryDonkey Kong Country (GBC) and Banjo-KazooieBanjo-Kazooie (N64), you would have thought that the brilliant days (heavy emphasis on Perfect Dark and 007 Goldeneye) of Rareware were over.
WRONG!
Even though this is a kiddie game, it is so much fun! The graphics are in a cartoony fashion that made me laugh, and there are so many lines that make you giggle uncontrollably!

5/5, 10/10, 6/6, whatever! This is defenitly one of Rare's best games!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
Its no surprise that Rare's XBox debut doesn't match its previous efforts. Grabbed By The Ghoulies was put together in around 12-18 months, half the time of a 'typical' Rare release. The gameplay is simple and addictive, with plenty of the developers trademark humour and wit. Its essentially a comedy-beat'em-up, bearing striking resemblance to Nintendo's Luigi's Mansion. GBTG is a means of widening the XBox demographic and generating a small profit by minimal expenditure. Ok, so its a shame that Rare didn't release Perfect Dark II, or Kameo, or something like it; but ignore the bad press, sit down with a copy, and Grabbed By The Ghoulies may just suprise you.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This game is awesome! I played this as a child and now as an adult I still get the same amount of enjoyment from it =) I play this on my partners xbox 360 just to make it clear it is possible to as that was something I had to research. Excellent price and amazingly fast delivery =D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2003
Grabbed by the Ghoulies is a smart looking beat-'em-up set in a spooky mansion. You take control of Cooper, a paranoid boy who has to rescue his girlfriend when she is kidnapped by the creepy residents of the mansion. But he is faced by an armarda of zombies,mummies and vampires along with other hideous creatures on his quest. He is aided by many characters along the way, like a waiter and the mansion's groundsperson. With over 50 rooms to explore and over 100 weapons this is a game which should be in anyone's collection.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
I had this game since the year it was released on christmas it may had some weird controls but the whole game was great and challenging with it's type of BANJO-KAZOOIE humor the game does deserve a long waited sequel or a HD remake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Love this game so pleased to have been able to get it again, speedy delivery and great comma. A+++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 November 2004
I'm not usually a person, who tends to play kiddies games, and to be honest, I've not played any of RARE's games before. So I was scepticle to see a age of 3, and to be honest find this game challenging.
Anyway, the story is you're normal save the girl scenario. The game is split into chapters, in a story book fashion. The controls are easy to get to grips with, firstly it was annoying to use the right thumbstick to attack, but soon it becomes second nature. It has extremely fluid game mechanics.
The beauty of this game is, pretty much all the rooms are destructible. Also the game is not just a hack and slash, it does require some thought. There are a number of power ups and itmes and unlockables.
The music score is excellent, that I was humming it on the way to work. It is a great game, this is a game that appeals to everyone. Thats what makes it so great. A game that can appeal to a a wide audience, which in this case it does definetly gets a 5 stars from me.
Yes, the game is short, it took me 11 hrs to complete, but the replay value is great.
This game is extremely humorous, true British humour in every form. This is what in my view makes a classic, It's fun and appealling and I can play this game no matter if there are young children around me.
Buy, this game and you wont regret it. for the price it is here, it is a definite STEAL!
Do yourself a favour and click on purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
good product quick delivery very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2004
This is a Rare classic, incredable innovative gameplay, loads of depth and replay-value, you'll want to play this again when you complete it. I bought an xbox *just* so I could play Rare's games, because they got bought by microsoft from Nintendo, and they make some of the greatest games ever - this is their first game with microsoft, and beleive me when I say its not dissapointing at all.
This game is just the breath of fresh air that xbox so desperatly needed. A break from all the shooting and racing and fighting and more shooting that are all the other games.
It is the BEST game on the xbox - so if you've got an xbox... go get it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)