Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
This game could have been so much better, but is over shadowed by annoying game mechanics. The main problem is that there is no story, the introduction shows conker getting drunk in a bar, walking home drunk, passes out and then wakes up in an Alice In Wonderland style world. There is no explanation as to why or how conker ended up there. The actual story is really not...
Published on 28 Jun 2005 by James

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost great, but shows it's roots.
I never had the pleasure of playing the original Conker on the N64 so this review will not be helpful to anyway wanting to know any differences. I have however been playing video games since Ghostbusters of the Commodore64 back in '84 so I know a thing or two about games.
The first thing that struck me about the game was the astonishing graphics engine -...
Published on 23 Nov 2005 by C. B. Softley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost great, but shows it's roots., 23 Nov 2005
By 
C. B. Softley "Badger" (Wolverhampton, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
I never had the pleasure of playing the original Conker on the N64 so this review will not be helpful to anyway wanting to know any differences. I have however been playing video games since Ghostbusters of the Commodore64 back in '84 so I know a thing or two about games.
The first thing that struck me about the game was the astonishing graphics engine - everything looks amazing with great animation and impressive draw distance. The attention to detail is almost draw dropping, as for instance, Conker leaves footprints when he runs through mud and has at least 10 different animations just for when he stands still for too long. One stage set in a nightclub has Conker slowly building up a dancing speed before resorting to the 'stacking shelves' dance, oddly for a video game this bit is actually funny. The sound too has many high points, while the music is cool and very jaunty the voice acting can at times be truly excellent. Attention to detail here as well makes it a cut above most other games. One early stage has you helping out a female bee, and as you get closer to her you'll notice the music change from the usual instrumentation to a lovely buzzing version of the main theme.
But now I'll get to the actual gameplay, while it's extremely enjoyable it suffers from being a slightly older game in many ways. The controls are generally fine but on many occasions I found the jump button not working at a time when I really needed it to work resulting in some annoying falls and deaths (Conker cannot fall very far without serious injury.) But the most annoying thing are the occasions where you just don't know what to do next. For example, one part of the game has you planting a bomb to get rid of let's just say 'a certain type of character', the instruction you're given is along the lines of 'plant the bomb and then run like hell. This is what I did - I planted the bomb and the game was taken over by a brief cut scene where molten lava was seen to be rising through the level, once gaining control I legged it back the way I came not wanting to be caught up in it. It took me about an hour to work out what to do next. It seems 'run like hell' means run the way of the explosion as apposed to run away from it. That may sound simple but I really had no clue. I probably spent too long explaining that but scenes like that happened more often than you'd like.
As for the comedy displayed throughout the game, apart from a handful of dialogue and graphical scenes the game suffers the same as any other 'comedy' game ie it's not actually funny, Conker as a character is annoying and you really haven't got a clue as to why your doing all these comic puzzles, almost as if it's completely out of context with itself.
The game is certainly worth a rental first as in general it's a lot of fun to play, but because of some difficulty spikes (witness the amazing but frustrating jet ski race) it will have you tearing your hair out on occasion. It's worth sticking it out however to witness the final third of the game where the guns come out!! I'm giving the game 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 28 Jun 2005
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game could have been so much better, but is over shadowed by annoying game mechanics. The main problem is that there is no story, the introduction shows conker getting drunk in a bar, walking home drunk, passes out and then wakes up in an Alice In Wonderland style world. There is no explanation as to why or how conker ended up there. The actual story is really not that important in games, especially a light heated game like this, but if this results in there being no actual overall goal then this is a big problem. You do not really know what you should be doing, you have areas with tasks to be done which mainly result in finding cash (which can not be spent however) and as a result you find yourself constantly trying to get into the game, you do not really get the feel for the game which is a major problem. Another problem is that around half of the tasks show no clues as to how to solve them, resulting in moments of tedious searching as to what to do next. While the majority of the game's character uses toilet humour, over the top gore and highly elaborate innuendos, these are unnecessary strongly evident, which really to some extent cheapens the overall style of the game, though this may suit other players more than others.
There are glimmers of light peering through the shadows however in that there are some really classic moments such as the battle with the mightypoo and the barn fight with the fork, but these are too evidently few with the remainder being more monotonous rather then enjoyable. There are also movie spoofs which adds to the game's charm such as the "Terminator", where attacking a creature reveals to be a T-800 of sorts, complete with Arnie voiceover. There's "Saving Private Ryan" involving to aid the attack in the D-Day landings of sorts and more such as the "Matrix", slow-motion gun fighting in the office building from the first movie. The sound is of a very high standard, the voice acting is full of intent with humorous accents and there's the sound effects with strong crisp sounds (A blade slicing into Conker really makes your teeth clench).
The graphics are one of the best on xbox with dynamic lighting, sharp and detailed graphics and a strong lighting palette.
The majority of the gameplay is completing tasks and puzzles with small sections of shooting, a welcome variety with the latter being the most enjoyable.
There is also an multiplayer section included which is Xbox Live enabled, these are only team based games however and are also suspect to annoying mechanics such as unbalanced character classes, small acknowledgment of hitting targets, highly difficult aiming using the sniper rifle and a ugly heads up display. This can start to be reasonably enjoyable once the problems are tolerated.
Overall this is a good game with great aspects mixed with bad aspects, enjoyable in places and monotonous in others but the really disappointment is that this game could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The foul-mouthed squirrel returns!, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
It has finally come. After a long wait, Conker:live and reloaded has arrived. And it doesnt disapoint either. It succesfully manages to convert all the antics of bad fur day to the xbox without losing any of the originals charm. There are a few minor changes which may upset die-hard fans e.g Swearing has been toned down,he frying pans gone and the originals multiplayer has been ditched. But in my opinion the changes have improved the game not detracted from it. Ontop of the revamped single player there is also the completely new live options. I think Conkers live is great and a right old laugh as opposed to the serious gaming of halo 2. The character class system works really well and each of the classes have their very own comedy element, thanks to rares genious. All in all this is a fantatic game and should not be missed, whether you are new to the series or not. Now stop reading this review and go buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My overall thoughts of the game., 28 Jan 2010
By 
L. Brown "Brown" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
I went to a great length of trouble to get this game and I can say that it was worth it.
This game is a remake of the N64 Conkers Bad Fur Day. Its a 3D platformer with multiple worlds to explore and each has various things you'll need to do before you can progress further into the game.

A word of warning for any parents wanting to buy this for there kid. Although there is a censor, the game has bad language and mature themes.

The controls are simple and work great, there easy to grasp. The graphics are really good, comparing this to the N64 version, you can see a clearly obvious difference. But its no different story based to the original N64 version.

The only things I didn't like about the game was the fall sensitivity, you can easily lose alot of health, or even die from some falls, it does make the game seem more realistic but it can be irritating at some parts. The last thing I didn't like was the addition of these new enemies with barrel like armour. I found them a nuisance to kill and if you didn't get three straight attacks or dodge, the spikes will send you to the ground. but I find the game fun enough to put up with those minor problems.

If your new to the story, then you might have some trouble figuring out what to do. Its best to look around to make sure you haven't missed anything, but if your really stuck, your probley best off looking something up.

Overall, I think this game is just great. The storyline is something to laugh at, the charactors are over the top and great fun to watch, the game is fun and enjoyable but I'd recomend listening to the age rating or at least 15.

This review was made by the account holders 16 year old son who was the one who wanted this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Conker-er, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Max Porteous - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
Played through before I reviewed, so, here we go.

It's not quite Bad Fur Day. That's both a good thing and a bad thing.

Bad out of the way first. Less swearing. The rating got toned down to a 16+, with no option to re-enable the f-ing and blinding that made Bad Fur Day rib-crackingly funny.
Good news: Even then, it's not much of a handicap. And the core of the game is still there.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS:

The game looks absolutely beautiful. Given this is actually an XBox game, it puts some of the stuff on the 360 to shame. The revamped graphics solved the worst problem of the N64 version, which was that it was hard to actually see Conker. No longer. The landscape is fantastic, the characters brilliant, the blood...hmm, the blood.

THE POTTED PLOT:

Conker is a red squirrel, the only one it seems in a world inhabited by small fuzzy animals. Don't let that put you off, this is cutesy with a twist. Babes, booze and guns, guts and gore in spades. Conker starts off with a stinking hangover and, with your help, attempts to get home. Only home is a long, long road when theres so much money to be picked up on the way, so many wacky people out to get you, and not to mention a mythical King trying to turn you into a table leg.
It makes a bit more sense when you play it. And the cutscenes are fantastic.

THE PLAYING:

The tutorial level features a few little quirks for the sake of old timers, which I know made me smile. It also introduces you to the majority of things you'll need.
The first slight sticking point comes up here. Now, bearing in mind at the time of writing I have no XBox live, so I don't know wether this has had any patches or not.

The sticking point numero uno is the B button for using your melee weapon. Usually a 1, 2, 3 press rewards you with a three swing combo. Not all the time. I can and does jam up a bit, which can be annoying, although not impossible to work around. It does make you er on the side of caution, which is also useful.

The one slight quibble I have is that the boys and girls at Rare didn't take the chance to put a few little useful things in, such as a map and hints on where to go next. It can get a bit puzzling as to where you go and when. Given the main part of the game has a central hub, it's not too bad, but it could have been tweaked.

The actual gameplay parts themselves are golden, as they always were. There is the odd occasion where you may well end up throwing the controller around in frustration, with a few little bits that really, really should have had some camera and control tuning, such as the hoverboard race in the Buggah the Nutt level. (Cavemen, lava. Forewarned). That and when you get knocked down you tend to slide, often off the edge of things, or when you get set on fire you run around flailing...annoying when you are on lava flows.

But, although you may end up getting frustrated, it is very satisfying to play a game that, unlike the swathe of more recent ones, actually punishes your mistakes. It's not just "Oops, oh well", it's "Ha, now you're REALLY in trouble, mate!"
(A sentiment shared by the Grim Reaper, who I get the feeling is in on the whole thing)

SUMMATION:

Conker: Live and Reloaded is an old school gem, buffed and polished until it nearly blinds you. While it could have had a few of the rougher edges smoothed down a tad (hence the -1 star) it is still incredbily playable, incredibly satisfying, and a blast to play, with the bonus that the Chapter selection makes replay all the easier and all the more fun.

(And this is missing out the Live component, if anyone still plays it online anymore, since Im without net at the moment. But good luck to ya...now, where's my pint and that gun..?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Game!!!!!, 6 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
Well I didn't have a N64 so I can only comment on the XboX game. I thought the game was really fun, completely different from anything I had played before.

The story line is great. Basicaly the king (a panther) needs a prop for his stool which has one broken leg. For this task he focuses his effort on capturing Conker (you, the squirrel) as he is the perfect height for the stool; that way he can place his glass of milk on the stool without spilling it. As you can see it is a crazy story line but with some great humour.

There are loads of games within the game which you have to solve in order to progress. It takes a bit of thinking about and I must admit, I had to read a walk through to get past some of the scenes because it was a little tricky. It is by no means a childs game despite the cartoon like graphics which are great.

Note: I didn't find any problems with the controls as stated by the previous reviewer.

I would say if you have never played this game, get it! If you had it on the N64 and you enjoyed it, get it again!

Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
Conker is one of my all time favorite game. I have completed both the nintendo 64 and xbox versions of the game. Xbox version has one of the best graphics on the original xbox. The game is extremely funny and the gameplay is really smooth. The xbox version is more censored than the original 64 version of the game, but it didnt really bother me. The game is pretty much like a HD version of the original game with some minor new things added. If you liked the original conkers bad fur day i think you will also love this, i definitely did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xbox classyness at it's best, 14 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
well the first thing that catches your eye is obviously the graphics, for an xbox game it's amazing, well actually another first thing that could catch some peoples eye, are the teddiz i mean their just funny.
with squirrels i just get a tedi in the corner and blast them, that is really funny. the plot for one player can be a bit tedious i mean those bees are annoying.... i dont like them but still as it goes on it get's good. the best moment of it was the van helsing shotgun bit that's incredibly cool
the army bit isnt as good as it's hyped up to be btw, most people buy this cause they think the one players all a bit medal of honour/squirrel but it's not really the army bit is just a little bit of it.
funniest bit is the giant poo bit in my opinion... i mean a singing piece, what more could you want... well a lot of other things but that's not the point ;). anywho a lot of funny parodies teddiz mutilated squirrels with big ole tails. a fun game for cruel people and fun-loving fun fun fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
A very good, very whimsical game with lots of bad language and adult themes. (does also run on a xbox 360) Fast delivery and good condition. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great but...., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) (Video Game)
Having played this to death on the N64, thought I'd give it a go on my xbox 360.
It looks much nicer, but I think I would still rather play the N64 version.
The controls feel a little laggy and is a bit glitchy on the some of the cut scenes, but
it's still ok and worth playing for the higher res graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox)
Conker: Live & Reloaded (Xbox) by Microsoft (Xbox)
Used & New from: £26.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews