Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who said nostalgia was a thing of the past?, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As soon as I heard this DVD was due out in late September, I was excited. I bought it as soon as possible, and have already watched the whole thing four or five times. It's still as great as I remember it all those many years ago. Maybe the production quality isn't as good as for modern cartoons, but who cares? All six episodes are excellent, the menus/music is great and the extras are a great touch. The art galleries are very detailed and it's a pleasure to listen to commentary by two people who know their stuff and genuinely seem happy to be there.
I was tempted to give this five stars. But that just means future volumes have a lot to live up to (in my eyes, anyway). One or two more extras, such as scene selection would have given it five stars regardless of that, though.
So Volume 2 is out in December - it's going on the Christmas list, unless I decide to just buy it myself. I'm 22 and I was about 5 when I first saw the show. Now I can relive my childhood. Grow up? Me? Never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....but, 4 July 2004
By 
Ms Amy E. Robinson "VGRockBookfan" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its brilliant that they have finally brought the classic He-Man back on DVD. However, they could have got more episodes onto the DVD by removing the DVD fan commentary. The episodes are in perfect audio and picture condition. This would of been better released as a box set than indiviual discs. I hope they release the other versions of He-Man (New Adventures of He-Man, Masters of the Universe) in the UK.

Overall it is good to watch this classic series again, kids today should watch this and other 80's/ 90's cartoons to see what they have been missing with the now unrealistic and lousy people drawing and dumbing down. This is a retro classic, and should be put back on the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE THE POWER!!!!!, 4 Oct 2003
By 
P. Foxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Can you believe it? He-Man, and I mean the original one from 1983, has finally hit the shelves this week! It's a pure nostalgia trip featuring 6 episodes from the immortal TV series.
It contains:
> The Cosmic Comet
> The Shaping Staff
> Disappearing Act
> Diamond Ray of Disappearance
> She-Demon of Phantos
> Teela's Quest
There are also a couple of extras with fan art, production stills, commentary and a 'Series Bible' as DVD rom content.
Excellent nostalgia and well worth the wait. Check it out, it's as good as you remember guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have the Power.... again, 6 Oct 2004
By 
P. Foxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once again, I have got the latest in He-man Original TV series and there are some cracking episodes on this one.
Episodes on this one:
Evilseed, Ordeal In The Darklands, Orko's Favourite Uncle, The Defection, Prince Adam No More and The Taking Of Grayskull.
Fan commentary on Evilseed and Prince Adam No More.
Character profile of Man-At-Arms and as usual some visual story boards and galleries.
The EVILSEED episode is a classic, and if you're a fan of Skeletor, he comes into his own on this one with some cool one liners.
For those owners of volume 4, the episode of ORKO'S FAVOURITE UNCLE again features Orko's uncle and is actually a precursor to the episode on volume four.
I just wish they had interviews with the cast from the show and a couple of extras more. As it is, it's in the same vein as all the other volumes with different content. The commentaries are rather amusing as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He-man and The Masters of the Universe - Vol. 1, 8 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It was a few weeks ago, and for a change I stayed in on a saturday night and thus woke up at 8.00am the next morning. Apparently there is an 8.00am on a sunday!!! Upon waking and not feeling the usual feelings of nausea and a pounding head ache that usually accompany a sunday I switched on the tv. After flicking around for a while I settled the channel on ITV and as one programe was finishing the announcer said "after the break he-man was up next" Well I suddenly shot up and took notice and waited excitedly for it to start. My disapointment was instant, I was expecting the classic 80's series, but no there is obviously a new version which I had not heard of. Yes they had the same characters but it just wasn't the same. There was no moral message at the end telling kids not to do drugs. That wasn't the only difference, obviously the annimation was different, He-mans head is now pea like on his shoulders!! But even worse was to unfold, yes they'd toughened up skeletor, which is just not on! He was always the campest baddie on tv and should have remained so. Therefore later on in a local store I looked to see if the original He-man was available on dvd and it was. I couldn't believe it, I bought it immediately and rushed home to watch it. It was just so much better than the new one, maybe it's just because I remember it as a kid but the stories are better, the annimation is better and the voices are are perfect for the characters! Mark:- four out of five but that is only because there is no the box set containing every single episode so come on hurry guys!! Anyway He-man rocks but the following sunday morning was back to usual hang over with only the girls from Hollyoaks providing any relief in their omnibus episodes from the past week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He-Man on DVD!!! And, it's....Pink!!, 4 July 2004
By 
Harmless Gryphon (Nowhere worth mentioning) - See all my reviews
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Watching these cartoons is a real trip back to the early 80s. The animation is about average for the time, and the sound is mastered in that popular 80s "Boom-o-Vision" - does every charachter really need an echo voice?
The thing I didn't remember is how much pink and purple is in this thing. Pink sky, pink castle, pink clothes, pink, pink pink! He-man's alter ego is dressed in pastel purple tights with a pink shirt. Wow. That can really be taken the wrong way today, but I guess pink was in then, wasn't it? Still, you have to wonder what poor Eternian creature gave up fur for a purple loincloth.
The disc itself is Excellent. The animation quality wasn't the greatest when these were new, and they pretty much look and sound just like I remember. The discs have a play-all and seperate episode feature, which is good, and they even have charachter bios and a special feature.
In all, if you liked He-Man way back when, you won't be dissapointed. And seeing as how Contender Entertainment has loaded these discs with lots of extras, they get 5 stars and then some. A good purchase for your animation collection, and don't forget to check out the Dungeons&Dragons cartoon DVDs, also released (and chock full 'o goodies) by Contender.
Now, if I can just get Contender to release the old Shazam! cartoons for my boomy voice superhero collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the Power of Nostalgia!, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Take a trip to your local Toys R Us. Walking the lurid aisles you'd be forgiven for thinking you'd stepped back in time. The 1980s are back with avengeance. Transformers, Thundercats and the Ninja Turtles have their new toy ranges, comics and TV series.... and now it is the turn of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe.
But this isn't the new series you can currently watch on the Cartoon Network. This is Filmations's original glorious effort from 1983. You remember - the one that was on ITV at 4:20 on a Monday afternoon and annoying clashed with Dungeons and Dragons.
This isn't a DVD for children. Kids would want a DVD of the new series with its slicker animation and Matrix-like fight scenes. This is a DVD for the nostalgia-junkie, the man on the cusp of thirty, who should have grown-up long ago but has managed to avoid it.
And as DVDs go it's pretty darn good - but then you would expect that from the company behind the recent Farscape and Avengers releases. This is a well-researched and well presented effort. The menu animation is fun and evokes the 'feel' of the series.
Six episodes are included, namely: "The Cosmic Comet", "The Shaping Staff", "Disappearing Act", "The Diamond Ray of Disappearance", "She-Demon of Phanos" and "Teela's Quest". Oddly, they are presented in production order rather than chronological (broadcast) order, which means you get episodes 20, 19, 12, 1, 9 and 2. But that doesn't make too much difference as there's little continuity in the series as a whole.
The special features really add to the package. Two episodes get fan commentaries by two fans who really know what they're talking about. Plus, the series bible (the reference document that writers of the series consulted to keep their plots consistent) is included in PDF format for those with a DVD-ROM drive! Very nice touch.
So why only four stars? It would have been nice to have the episodes in the right order, and chapter selection would have been a helpful option but these are my only gripes. I enjoyed the episodes today as much as I did when I was nine. This is a truly fantastic bit of television that deserves to be watched again and again. Volume two is out in December......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 4 Jan 2004
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
How good it is to see a cartoon I watched as a kid finally on DVD. I remember watching it first time round and everyone at school wanted to be He-Man. A truly classic cartoon, and I have to admit the new series isn't a patch on the original, especially with the transformation sequence. A truly memroble series. The DVD content I think could of had a lot more put into it, but other than that a terrific DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He-Man is BACK!!!!!!!, 11 Oct 2003
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Its about time they brought this absolute 80s classic to the DVD format, it is totally fantastic!!!
In the first of what will hopefully be loads more volumes, He-Man shows us all what we were watching when we came in from school in "the good ol' days".
For all you He-Man fans out there, this IS the original classic and not the 'blasphemy' that came a few years after, or the one thats on now.
If this won't make you nostalgic, then nothing will!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic !!!!!!!!, 28 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When i was younger i was a massive fan of He-Man (he says with pride..lol), I saw this DVD & had to get it for simple reminsicing reasons & it's fantastic, it brings back all the memories, the cartoon has fantastic plots & the best characters ever.. the DVD is very well presented aswell with features & great menu's & animations during the menus (see how He-Man punches the screen when you play each episode), i remember their has been a couple of remakes of the cartoon but none of them even compare to the original & to me they have just ruined a classic cartoon.. of which is the best cartoon i think ever existed (They ain't like this now) & the animation ain't bad either ... i think the programme is timeless (my little brother of 7 loves it), you'll love all the characters in this DVD (specially the baddies who are my fave (Mer-Man, Beast Man, Tri Clops etc...) it beats any cartoon of all time (apart from maybe "The Simpsons" of course) & it's just great to have this DVD for many reasons.. see people's face when they see the DVD on the shelf in your room .. it truly is a fantastic DVD.
If you loved this programme when you were younger, you'll love it now ... if you were even a little fan of it or it's new to you, you'll love it... it truly is a wicked DVD & worth every 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad37f7bc)

This product

He-Man And The Masters Of The Universe: Volume 1 [DVD]
14.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews