Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and captivating, British music at it's best.
I missed this album first time around, and after seeing the video for 'Further' on MTV2, I had the buy the album. 'Further' immediately grabs you buy the neck and demands to be listened to. It's a beautifully crafted melodic trip along the kaliedoscopic multi-layered indie-rock highway that is Long-View.
Whilst 'Further' is an excellent example of what Long-View are...
Published on 26 July 2005 by Daryll Holland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good effort, but Run of the Mill album
This is an album that could have reached so many but in the end, reached so few.

No doubt its tunes are infectious & carries distinctly genuine aura about them but its problems are mostly lyrical shortcomings. For instance, 'Can't Explain' begins with "You know what they say / At the end of the day / But days fade away". It's difficult to imagine song-writing...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Gigoer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 9 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
Have you ever heard a song on the radio by a band you've not heard of before, and simply stopped in awe of the beauty and power of that song, have you then impusely bought that albumn? Well thats what i did after hearing the stand out track 'Further' from this albumn, believing that even if the rest of the albumn was poor then i at least had 'Further' for my times of solice. Yet hearing this albumn blew me away, each song has a characteristicly haunting melody, interwoven amongst perfectly structured songs with instrumental variants perfectly and selectely applied to complement McVey's fitting, if not amazing vocals. Quite simply every song is a master peiece that you never want to end. Why Longview havent ascended like similar bands (avoiding the Coldplay reference) is beyond me, but Longview are a hiden gem. Make no mistake this is not a happy clappy get up and dance albumn, but by no means is it for sitting alone silently crying. My advice to you is buy this albumn and get on the bandwagon! and put on track 8 (falling for you), your know why when you hear it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Longview - Mercury. Epic genius, 16 July 2003
By 
Mr J R Fieldhouse (East Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
I have never claimed to be a Christian, yet with this stormer of an album Christian rockers Longview have proved that they have the power to be around for a while.
Opening track "Further" is pure poetic genius, starting off with a sole guitar and building up into a huge chorus and a superb, aesthetically pleasing climax.
Other tracks, such as the gently lilting "Falling for you" and the storming epic "Nowehere" add to the complexity of an already superb album.
The Christian side of the album is hidden in many places. Unlike fellow bible-rockers Creed and P.O.D they very rarely make reference to a greater power, except maybe in Further.
The final track, "This is", is how final tracks should be, a reflection of the whole album. It is soft and melodic, without any need to mention spiritualism, the vocals and crashing, then quiet guitars show this excellently.
Slightly like Siamese Dream by the late great Smashing Pumpkins, with a dash of Coldplay and the grunge ethics and raw sound of Nirvana, this is an album of pure rock genius, polished to perfection. I don't believe in a greater power, but surely something divine must have created this stormer of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some superb tracks, but some mediocre ones too., 23 Aug 2005
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
I bought this re-released album after hearing a 20 second excerpt whilst in HMV, and having missed the original release back in 2003.
The track I heard was "If You Asked", a beautiful song, and I'm glad I bought the album for that track alone.
There are other great tracks too, specifically (and in my order of preference) "I Would", "Falling For You", "Further", and "Can't Explain". But the remainder of the album just doesn't impress me, and after only a week of ownership I tend to stick the CD in my player and select tracks 1, 2, 3, 6 and 11 only.
Five great tracks aint bad though! And any band who can be compared in equal measure to Lowgold, Elbow and Embrace can't be all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underated, 26 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
ive had this album for a few years now and from the moment i first gave it a listen its been without a doubt the most touching, heart warming and thought-provoking album ive ever had the pleasure of owning. people have made the mistake of going out and buying it solely on the recognition of the first track 'further', i myself love the song, but for me there are much more distinctive tracks on this CD, tracks that lyricly and musicaly outshine 'further'. if you feel like taking a ride on an emotional rollacaster of fresh, well compiled, outstanding genius then this CD is DEFINATLY one for you, dont miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent album; my advice: listen to the songs separately, 18 May 2005
By A Customer
I bought this album after seeing an advert for it. I had never heard of longview, but I quite like buying really random albums. I really like the album, the songs are mostly excellent, and I am glad that I bought it. However, listening to the album in the background is great, but to really appreciate each song, it is best to listen to them on their own - for instance in a playlist.
The remixes aren't that good, but you don't have to listen to them, do you?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who are Coldplay?, 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
Just finished listening to the album, glorious, sweeping, majestic, etereal,goosebumpy! They are obviously going to be lumped in with Coldplay and there is definate echoes of The Smiths, Gene, Doves, even Durutti Column(is there something in the water in Manchester) but hasn't anyone noticed that Coldplay are the new Echo and the Bunnymen, Interpol are the new Joy Division, Black Rebel Motorcyle Club are the new Jesus & Mary Chain, Radio 4 are the new gang of Four, Colder are (is?) the new New Order just after Ian Curtis died etc (I have all the albums by the bands mentioned). Fantastic stuff, they deserve to be huge. Buy tomorrow. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Longview-Mercury, 24 July 2003
By 
Warby (Bolton, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mercury (Audio CD)
I was very dissapointed when i recieved this album and actually listened to it. I had read rave reviews and was really excited waitin for it! However the album was a real let down. The music lacks any real passion and is all very similar, albums with 12 tracks that all sound pretty much the same usually get a bit boring and this one is no exception. The album is badly made and sound quality is not good enough for an album made in the year 2003. Track 1 is however very good but the album just fades away thereatfer. Overall if you like listening to a watered down born again christian morrisey this album is for you. Not for me.
Laters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mercury
Mercury by Long-view (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews