Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2013
A pure British Classic. This album comes from the very much under-rated Band from the naughties . Its one of them album you hear a few times & then play & Play again. classic songs like "will you wait here" "Further" Falling for you" & "Still". if you like snow Patrol & indie molodic rock this Album is the one for you. A pure masterpiece.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2007
I purchased this after hearing it just once, knowing nothing about the band at all. I can only say that this cd grows on you and it's thought provoking lyrics seep into your brain after just a few listens.
Try it and see, I'm sure you will be glad you did and it will be a staple of your collection and ipod playlist for many a month.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2003
well ive just got home, sat down in my favourite corner of my room and placed this album into my player. and what can i say, its pretty damn good.
i wouldnt give it a five stars because in my opinion the originality of the composition is not the best thing about this album, you will be thinking while listening to this.......hey i recognise this. but nevertheless, the songs are very good. good emotional content and a great band to just mellow out to.
i heard bits of vertical horizon with that raw british sound when trying to describe their genre. an alternative brit rock with influences from american bands such as vertical horizon and lowgold. this band will go far because they are great at what they do and the quality of the recording is faultless in my eyes.
the main emphasis for this album is that it is simple, and isn't is always simplicity goes a long way. best song is 'will you wait here.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2003
This is as good an album released by a British band in a long time. Shades of Gene, U2 and Doves create a stadium style sound.
I may not share in their beliefs but i do believe in good music and this album is certainly that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
ive been listening to their music since their tour earlier this year and last with athlete. now although athlete got all the plaudits which they do fully deserve, longview are still however far superior. the album starts with the familiar 'further'its chords make the opening song an anthem and if you remotely like music from embrace the doves or idlewild then the album is a must buy. falling for you , nowhere and still are all strong songs and if there was a weak link you would have to single out electrictity but its a good song with a catchy chorus its just every song is that good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2004
It really is that good! I bought albul after I saw them live in Oxford and they are even better on stage than in studio. If you can catch them touring, don't miss it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2003
It's a shame this was released in the same week as SFA's new album, the genius of which puts this in the shade a little. Still, it's one of the better straight indie debut since Travis' Good Feeling. There's no doubting the presence of some cracking tunes, but I feel that the album is very slightly let down by the pacing. Whilst there's not a bad track in sight, it could really do with a couple more uptempo numbers to fit alongside "When You Sleep", "Nowhere" and "Further". Also, as a fan with the first three singles, I already own half of the songs here. Whilst most are better produced, "When You Sleep" suffers a little from overproduction, with some bizzare and offputting feedback running in the background throughout the song.
I'm not sure where the idea that Longview are Christian rockers came from. I've seen an interview from the band saying otherwise, and frankly, mentioning God in a song hardly makes a band Christian. Heck, The Flaming Lips had several songs with Jesus mentioned in them, and they're not at all religious. Comparing them to nu-metal Christian dullards, POD, is just silly though. Also, I'd compare this band to Haven and early Travis, more than, say, Elbow. In my view, Elbow are deathly dull (yes, I have listened to them), whereas Longview have a special creative spark. I just hope it doesn't die after the first album, like Travis' did.
Overall, this album is extremely recommended for indie fans, and, though a little overproduced in places, is strong throughout. But, I think they've got a bit further to go before they can touch the likes of Seafood and Dawn Of The Replicants for creativity. I first saw them supporting Easyworld at the start of the year, and though not quite up to their standard, it's clear there's plenty of promise in this band.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2003
Who would have thought that there would be room for yet another post-Radiohead indie act in a land where the likes of Travis, Coldplay and Elbow already roam. But room there is and Longview bring an appealing simplicity to their music. Their palette of softly chiming guitars, breathy harmonised vocals and vast drums are welded to some of the most insidious melodies and epic choruses you'll hear all year.
The pace is suitably varied - they rock convincingly on 'Nowhere' and 'When You Sleep', and 'I Would' is the best windswept romantic song of the past five years - even outdoing Coldplay (with whom they share suspiciously similar logos...).
My only gripe is the lack of imagination applied to song titles, but hey that's a small price to pay for a CD of such consistant melodic excellence.
Hopefully the release of 'Can't Explain' will give them the profile raising boost they need to achieve mass acceptance. A band to watch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2004
Superb stuff, sweeping strings, great tunes, top lyrics, music doesn't really get much better than this... how glad I am I stumbled across them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
Have you ever heard a song on the radio by a band you've not heard of before, and simply stopped in awe of the beauty and power of that song, have you then impusely bought that albumn? Well thats what i did after hearing the stand out track 'Further' from this albumn, believing that even if the rest of the albumn was poor then i at least had 'Further' for my times of solice. Yet hearing this albumn blew me away, each song has a characteristicly haunting melody, interwoven amongst perfectly structured songs with instrumental variants perfectly and selectely applied to complement McVey's fitting, if not amazing vocals. Quite simply every song is a master peiece that you never want to end. Why Longview havent ascended like similar bands (avoiding the Coldplay reference) is beyond me, but Longview are a hiden gem. Make no mistake this is not a happy clappy get up and dance albumn, but by no means is it for sitting alone silently crying. My advice to you is buy this albumn and get on the bandwagon! and put on track 8 (falling for you), your know why when you hear it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.15

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)