Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bruised Heart
A gorgeous record that really is the 'find' of the summer! While The Thrills are the Irish band attracting maximum media attention right now (in the English press at least), Bell X1 (named after the first plane to break the sound barrier) are cutting a swathe themselves and, if I were a betting man, I'd suggest, are the better bet for the long haul. This is the 'Bellies'...
Published on 26 July 2003 by C. E. Shaw

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Standard indie fodder
No offence to the people who liked this record but they must have a pretty thin collection to get much from this album. It's pleasant but essentially bland stuff. They seem to be trying to produce epic soaring music of Radiohead proportions but end up falling in to sub-standard Travis or Doves territory. They are at their best when they rock out, 'White water song'...
Published on 31 Dec. 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer brilliance, 25 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
This is quite simply the best irish album ever. it's one of my all time favorite albums up there with radioheads 'ok computer' and jeff buckleys 'grace'. its happy,sad,humourous and with brilliant lyrics and great music. BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album!!, 6 Jan. 2006
By 
Star (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music In Mouth (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic!! I gave it to a friend of mine for her birthday a couple of months back, and she absoulutely loved it - so much in fact, that we got tickets to go see them in December, and are now going to see them again in March!! The album contains a mix of mellow and rock tracks, but my favourite has to be 'I'll see your heart and raise you mine'. Great album, has to be bought!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starsalior Support, 4 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
I saw these guys in Norwich supporting Starsalior and its one of the only gigs ive been to and enjoyed both the support act and the main one. Apart from the cheesy joke about not seeing Alan Partrige these guys have produced a stunning album and are also exellent live a must buy album for this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album, 26 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Music In Mouth (Audio CD)
I suppose i may be biased in this review, given that i live beside Bell X1's vocal/multi-instumentalist member Dave gerraghty but i have enjoyed this album immensely for a year now without it leaving my cd changer. The album is immediate enough to catch a casual listener's attention yet deep enough to allow for repeated listens. From the opening jangly rock of Snakes and Snakes to the final crescendo of I'll see your heart, the album never loses pace or focus. There honestly isn't a filler track on here, each and every song has a purpose and a distinctive sound. However the highlights of the album for me are:
Eve the apple of my Eye - This song was always destined to be the song to break the band into the larger music scene and it appears to be working. It has now been used on shows like NY-LON and the O.C, appearing on both the shows compilation albums.
Daybreak - This track is incredibly atmospheric and sounds great if you listen to it on headphones in the dark.
White Water Song - This is just a full on, rock rant... sounds a lot like Talking Heads (in a good way)
If you ever get the chance to see this band live, DO! Paul Noonan's exudes charm and confidence(think of an irish Beck)and the rest of the band are truly gifted musicians with every member able to play more than one instrument, they truly are a force to be reckoned with.
Bottom Line: Buy It! Try It! Like It! Love It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away By Bell X1, 4 Feb. 2004
By 
Maz (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
I've seen Bell X1 twice now, once in support and once as a headline act and they blew me away both times. Music In Mouth is one of the best albums I've discovered for a long, long time. It sounds cliched but you hear something new with each listen and the range and scope of the tracks is really something. Every track is very different from the last but the whole album gels really well. This isn't pretentious, experimental rock, just clever, profound, real music. Buy the album, then go see them live, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 27 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
For god's sake, buy this album, its a stunning album of variety, depth and passion. Possibly the best album to come out of Ireland in Ten years. Just a brilliant long term album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quality, 16 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
From the ashes of the band that gave us damien rice come bellx1.
ive seen them live and they are amazing,the gig encouraged me to get the album.its packed with songs of a raw tenderness with no hesitence on thier part to rock.Catchy lyrics too " ill see your heart and ill raise you mine..."Buy it and see for yourself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 26 April 2006
By 
Dr. L. Hamill "Laura Marie" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
If i could recommend 5 albums to a friend who knew nothing about music, this would be one of them. It begins with two tracks which are, on the surface, light hearted and jolly, but have some amazing lyrics which stand out upon a few listens. It ends with the stunning "Eve, the apple of my eye" which, for me, is one of the best love songs of the past few years. This album is the perfect all-rounder, with moments of joy, hope, depression, sadness and incredible passion. But the underlying theme is love, in all its many forms. This is a thought-provoking and highly enjoyable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 21 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
Music in mouth is great! Although members of bell x1 have said they are hoping to create another album with a more definte continued sound throughout the album, i think the variety is what makes this cd such a good listen.
The album is greatly opened by two witty, catchy tracks.
throughout the rest of the cd the emotion is subtle but still very powerful in songs like (the amazing) "eve...", "in every sunflower and "i'll see your heart".
You SHOULD by this album NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best album i bought this year, 21 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Music in Mouth (Audio CD)
Music in mouth is great! Although members of bell x1 have said they are hoping to create another album with a more definte continued sound throughout the album, i think the variety is what makes this cd such a good listen.
The album is greatly opened by two witty, catchy tracks.
throughout the rest of the cd the emotion is subtle but still very powerful in songs like (the amazing) "eve...", "in every sunflower and "i'll see your heart".
You SHOULD by this album NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music in Mouth
Music in Mouth by Bell X1 (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews