Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good value CD for all Queen lovers
First of all, I must say I have the majority of Queen's CDs and bought this CD to complete my collection. I was pleasantly surprised by this CD to find that the whole Wembley concert has been included, even with some of the less known songs, such as Big Spender, Brigton Rock, etc. All the classics of the day, such as Radio Ga Ga, Under Pressure, One Vision, We Will...
Published on 15 Dec 2005 by andrejgw2

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You had to be there....
This is not the best CD of Queen live. It was a great occassion and I was there but No 'Somebody to Love' ? No 'Killer Queen' ?

Added to that, Freddies voice was well below par and there are obvious overdubs. Brian May was decidedly uninspired on the night (listen to his solo) and poor old Roger Taylor actually drops a beat during Radio Ga Ga.

Both...
Published on 13 April 2010 by I. P. J. Brayshaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good value CD for all Queen lovers, 15 Dec 2005
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
First of all, I must say I have the majority of Queen's CDs and bought this CD to complete my collection. I was pleasantly surprised by this CD to find that the whole Wembley concert has been included, even with some of the less known songs, such as Big Spender, Brigton Rock, etc. All the classics of the day, such as Radio Ga Ga, Under Pressure, One Vision, We Will Rock you and others are included, as are the older classics Bohemian Rhapsody and Love of my life.
This CD is a double CD and is as such great value. The only reason I couldn't give this CD 5 stars is that I was not as impressed with the sound quality of this CD as I was with other Queen CDs that were also digitally remasterd. There again, though, this is a CD of a live concert that took place nearly 20 years ago...
All in all, this is a great Queen CD that every fan should own. However, if you don't know Queen's music well, I would recommend you purchase some of the Greatest Hits or the Platinum Collection first and get to know their music through the original studio recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stunning live band at their peak., 26 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
It is generally commonly agreed that Queen's material got worse as the Eighties continued; coincidentally, as a live band, they got better and better as they went. There may be some correlation between these two facts - by 1984 they'd started writing songs specifically for their live audience, i.e. 'Radio Ga Ga' - but that means that here, on what serves you well as an additional Queen release outside of a Greatest Hits, you find Queen at their live peak, playing plenty of their stellar early material, the highlights of their 80s catalogue and more besides.

Despite some very minor editing issues - we didn't really need two minutes' worth of crowd interaction as the stopgap between 'A Kind Of Magic' and the following track - this double-disc set is great value, as you get lots of fine renditions. While nothing here betters the studio versions, there are lots of times when you realise that Queen were the stadium band's stadium band - they weren't just crowd pleasers, they were self-pleasers. Take the lengthy jams of 'Now I'm Here,' 'Hammer To Fall' and particularly a stunning 'Crazy Little Thing Called Love;' a band enjoying themselves, and an audience lapping it up.

Elsewhere, they resurrect older material on the fly - 'Lap Of The Gods,' 'Friends Will Be Friends' - put together improvisations - 'Impromptu' - jazz up songs for the live situation - 'A Kind Of Magic,' 'Another One Bites The Dust' - and display those harmonies that have always been so impressive on 'Tie Your Mother Down.'

There is even a charming acoustic segment,where in addition to a couple of their own lovely downbeat numbers, they jam through some 50s standards too. It's a heartwarming part of the show that U2 and Coldplay would later copy in their own stadium shows.

The one problem here is that if you have the companion DVD of this package, you already have all of these songs; it's the exact same listing. You strictly speaking get better value out of the DVDs - it's a visual medium, interviews, special features, etc. - but if you don't want the DVDs (or if, like me, you just like the completism of both and/or want MP3s of the concert) then this double-CD is a totally worthwhile collection showing one of the great live bands at their height.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic Display, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
Who on earth could ever compete with the magic that Freddie displayed. He held his audience and blew them away. All this and a band of gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for your Queen collection, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
I normally much prefer studio albums rather than live albums. But it's so heartwarming to hear Freddie Mercury playing the crowd so well. Almost makes me feel like I was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Show Ever, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really believe this is the best live performance by a band or singer EVER !!!!! The vocal performance by Freddie Mercury is perfect as it always was and the rest of the band just sound amazing,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is Queen, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first thing to hit you is Freddie Mercury give 110 percent in his performance. All their great songs are here with other lesser ones. The performance slips now and then but overall one of their best live outings.
David Wilson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great - BUT., 4 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
A legendary show from one of the foremost live bands ever to grace a stage, a great selection of songs - old,new,borrowed,blue etc.
I would have given this show five stars but for two points, freddy's vocal range was quite a bit shorter than on the works tour and Brian's guitar sound is just a bit too clinical(just seems to be missing a bit of bite that was there only a few years earlier).
Freddy still sounded great though, Lap of the gods being a particular showcase.
In a nutshell, not perfect - but still a mile better than most other acts of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live brilliant, 4 May 2011
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
Fantastic live album. Queen at the top of their game. Lighting a bit dated now but the music still superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it =), 15 Jan 2011
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium (Audio CD)
I brought this for myself as i love Queen and personally think they are soooooo much better live. and what can i say its great!!! yes there are some bits that are a tad "off" but the overall affect is amazing. Freddie is very strong on most songs but not so much on others.... but don't let that stop you he really was one of the greatest frontmen EVER whith a beautiful voice which is very very clear in a lot of the songs. Brain May's guitar is just amazing and Rodger and John ( his bass playing is soooo underated ) are great too =D They truely where an amazing band... seeing as i was born in 1994 (grrrrr) this is pretty much the closest i'm gonna get to the Queen live experience!! so buy it is GREAT i love it.... truthfully its kinda hard to listen to album versions after listening to live Queen!! im off to buy Live Killers next =D (and probally the rest of the live albums!!) im listening to it now Soooo good =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Queen Live Album, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apart from including most of the best Queen songs, this album - taken from the soundtrack of the superb video - is the best sounding of the live performances, capturing the whole range of both instruments and vocals without any of the "muddying" which often degrades live recordings.

Enough of the space between tracks has been left in to allow the listener to get the feel of the performance, including the interplay between Freddie Mercury and audience, without creating the urge to keep hitting the "next track" button. In other words, it's an excellently judged production, worthy of the now timeless legend that was Queen when they were at their highest and best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Wembley Stadium
Live At Wembley Stadium by Queen (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews