Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2003
"Martina Topley Who?" you might be wondering, but probably not for much longer. This fantastic and long-awaited album truly deserves its rave reviews and Mercury nomination.
Martina's cross-genre talents soon become obvious in "Quixotic", her debut solo album. The deep south blues of 'Intro' lead into the catchy first single from the album, 'Need One'. PJ Harvey would be proud of the intensity and fire emitted by 'I Wanna Be There' and yet 'Anything' is so touching. Ragga's trippy-Tricky percussional pitter-patter defies the listener to remain apart from the music's energy, and swathes of luxuriating David Arnold arranged strings complete 'Stevie's (Days of a Gun)' and the album.
Wow.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2003
This album is absolutely beautiful. The songs are honest and the lyrics soulful. I especially love 'Anything' and 'Soul Food'. This is lovely music to chill out to and relax, especially if you're not having a good day and you want to escape for a while. I would recommend this record to anyone who enjoys listening to harmonious, velvety smooth music.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
To say the LP is eclectic is an understatement, there are swirling and giant fuzz guitars,sumptuous strings arrangements and a dynamic mix of beats. The tracks range from Delta Blues, Nu Metal, Electronica to Ragga, through all these is one common factor................. Martina, if an angel had a voice then this would be it, put Beth Gibbons, Roberta Flack, Heather smalls and Norah Jones together and maybe just maybe. Martina could send a thousand crying babies into a deep slumber and within the next breath bring hardened criminals to their knee's in tears or running for the hills with fear. This is a fine,fine
album that deserves the Mercury and top ten status. Just have a
listen.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
Martina has a whistful voice on most tracks, but sometimes exudes more power. This album defies genre because it has a large range of genres, somehow all tied together with a force of the singer's personality. Rock, groundbeat, rockabilly, electronica...they are all here. I would urge anyone and everyone to buy this album without even needing to listen first, it is that good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 July 2003
a great debut album. her voice and lyrics are exceptionally good. i really enjoyed this album, the work she did with tricky doesnt really prepare you for how good her lyrics and voice are. i was pleasantly surprised. this is a good album to take a chance on......
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2003
From the beginning right till the end, there is something in this album, for everyone. The QOTSA assisted Need One just shows how much talent this girl has to make rocky type songs, followed up by a bit more cheesy "Anything", still showing off all the talent.
Highlights for me are Too tough to die, and the final song, Stevie's (Days of a gun). She couldnt have made the album much better, and its a fine fine debut. Her not winning the Mercury Music Prize would be insane. 5 stars
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2003
This album is just gorgeous. From the opening notes of the Intro until the close of the final song, it is an amazingly accomplished debut, filled with Topley-Bird's unique sound.
If you want something to just lose yourself in for a while, then it's a cracking album. Just go and buy it. Buy it now because it's just fantastic. Not been out of my CD player for a while now. If she doesn't win the Mercury then it will be a travesty.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This eclectic collection of songs is rather difficult to describe. Being a complete newcomer to this singer doesn't help, for I don't know what she's really about. Expect something different and somewhat alternative. Can't really call it pop, or rock, but whatever it is - a bit soul-like, perhaps - it is certainly original and interesting enough to go back into the CD player from time to time. Some worthwhile musical ideas, and the whole thing has a vibe of its own to carry it along. Worth a speculative purchase if looking for something a little bit different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2004
My review title sums up what I think about this album.
Its not your typical album (just like any Tricky album) it has its own sound, darkness, soulfulness and the list goes on...
Before I brought this album I expected something simplier to Tricky but on a female tip. I was suprised as it doesn't sound like Tricky's style but has the element he had but Martina has made her own way on this album, its fresh and original. You could never catorgise this album it just seems to have all different types of music combined. When I say the music is combined it is, not like artists who know they're doing one type of music but say its a mix, Quixotic has mixed everything with an overlaying dark sound which is her own.
I think this album is a listening album. I sit and listen to this music in the dark and feel myself in a world of my own without drugs, I feel high off the music naturally. The voice catches you, the sound makes you think, you feel the music. I would say Skin "Fleshwounds" is a simplier album to this, but very different in styles. I think Skin's solo album was incredible also...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2003
I suppose i've been waiting for this since Angels With Dirty Faces. Where you been girl? Of course, no US release yet, but the electronic quid came to my rescue - there are some benefits to globalisation. It starts out with what I hear as an eerie little homage to Lady Day and launches into the rock/pop of Need One that many have already heard.
Rock strummings, acoustic ballads, soul revivals, all complete with electronic flourishes and synth effects - Martina invokes the Angel of Harlem, Bessie Smith, PJ Harvey and then some (sometimes in the same song!).
The song Soul Food just grooves you - one could argue it's derivative of Philly nu-soul, but Martina's voice squashes all doubt. I Still Feel and Lying are just dreamy tunes.
Her old beau Tricky Kid (check out his new joint Vulnerable too!) pops in and lends his incendiary hand here on Ragga and Ilya. I read some so-so critics' reviews like in the Guardian - don't hate foolz!
Come play Motown girl! Shell out dem quid y'all. Respect.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.69
£18.61

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)