Customer Reviews


303 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Ingredient
I bought Permission to Land after reading an article about The Darkness in Classic Rock magazine. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about and if the whole thing was a pisstake (it isn't). Conclusion: the album rocks and The Darkness are the most exciting band to appear on our talent-starved shores for ages.
The album contains 10 classic tracks with no fillers...
Published on 31 Oct 2003 by Mr. P. Hobson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get your hands off my anklewarmers....
Wow, the Darkness. A nice, short, filler-free ten track blast of the sounds of yesteryear, with nice modern production (is it just me or do all pre-1994 albums need one hell of a mid-range lift?) and the ghost Freddie Mercury on vocals.
Despite the gushing praise from certain magazines, the frequent bandying about of that ever-present phrase "Saviours of Rock", and...
Published on 3 Dec 2003 by drdrdrd


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spinal Tap alive and well, 20 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
This band has all the elements of the Emperor's new clothes. Dont be taken in by their carefree style, they take them self's Very serously. This has the effect of making the music and lyrics very very shallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars most disappointing album ever, 2 Mar 2004
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Allegedly, this album was meant to be in the same class as Queen and Muse, but they don't even come close. Freddie Mercury's vocals and songwriting skills are way superior, and as for guitars, how can you compare the riffs between the Darkness to that of Brian May? Muse are up there in the league of decent rock bands and the Darkness are a joke. Amazon recommended this album to me as it was considered to be on a par with Muse, but I am truly disappointed that I paid money for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The potential is there............, However., 7 April 2004
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
This album is certainly worth tapping your feet to whilst driving about in the jag, but that's just about as far as it goes.
The backing group, a term I use to describe the apparent partition in the band, between the singer and players, is currently basic and unimaginative, although, there is no doubt a very hard working rock and roll band, albeit with many riffs obviously adopted and adapted from, far more illustrious bands of the past, I have been listening to music seriously for over thirty years now and recognise some songs from these riffs.
At times the guitars are not played tightly or to good effect, perhaps losing concentration in the heat of the moment.
The singer appears to have very little 'feel' for the supporting music, or control of his voice, which is a shame, because I am sure this is not how he feels, although on this CD, the singing is more than a little 'overdone', the voice has a great deal of potential, and could be used to brilliant effect with a bit of high quality coaching.
I must admit that the studio mixing doesn't help, with muddled phases right from the first track, 'Blach Shuck' where music and voice both intermingle and get lost in the melee of sound on occasions.
Having said that, the band has enormous potential beyond the current level, based on the music I hear in this CD, and hopefully with experience, provided they give the music a lot more time and thought, they might learn that silence and variation of pace and rhythm can be just as powerful and enjoyable as a good, continuous physical 4/4 thrash.
Most importantly working with each other is vital, a glimpse of which, may be enjoyed, yes, that's what I said, enjoyed on 'Stuck in a Rut', where instead of being in competition with each other, they combine to enjoy and entertain at the same time, this approach, above all, will elevate them rapidly above their peers. This is a very good track and stands out above the rest of the CD.
In short if they provide entertainment focused on their fanbase rather than themselves, they can begin to move forward.
A good effort with three good tracks on this CD, but must try much harder if they really want to go places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad. bad beyond all belief, 30 Dec 2003
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
I gave them 1 star for being organised enough to turn up to the studio on time and for being able to bare face this out in public. This is derivative rock music at it's annoying worst and I can only say that it is a real shame that the genres apparent re-emergence is to be spearheaded by this bunch of clowns. AD/AC and Queen's copyright lawyers will no doubt be interested to talk to The Darkness as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Going for a ride ..., 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
... and it's "The Darkness" who'll take you on the biggest ride of your life - along with your money -- to nowhere.
Honestly, this must be the biggest joke in the music industry for decades!!
The ONLY reason they're selling so many records is because of the hype. Oh yes, I nearly forgot: AND people pressure. It takes a strong mind to honestly say, "Nah! Rubbish" when all your friends have forked-out for this crap and say (to save face), "Yep! Good."
For nearly £10 you get 38.18 minutes of pure noise, pure crap and that oh so great "arrrrghhh!!!" feeling.
Honestly, this "cd" has so many negative reviews which are buried by the herd-following masses. I advise you seriously take an objective P.O.V. and read the negative reviews before parting with your cash, because most of the good reviews are seriously biased.
BE WARNED, good people of earth.
DON'T give them permission to land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 16 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely brillant every track on this album is great. This is my favourite album.
BRILL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GOD I HATE THE DARKNESS!!!!, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
When The Darkness started to get famous they were average if- slightly amusing- band but now they've completley missed the point. They were never supposed to be taken seriously but they seem to have started to beleive the hype surrounding them. From what I can gather Justin seems to have had a go at Noel Gallagher. Dispite the fact that I don't think Oasis have been that amazing for the past 2-3 albums, their debut WAS amazing, as was Whats the story....?. These albums had a huge impact on rock/indie/pop whatever you want to call it. The Darkness on the other hand have had 1 album that was loved by NME etc and think their the best thing since sliced bread. The last band I can remember this happening to a band-other than the average Strokes- was the Datsuns. These seem to have dissapeared which, is hopefully the fate that waits in store for the Darkness.
If they'd stayed on the ironic,self depreciating side of arrogance I might have been less harsh but as it is they suck- not only musically but in terms of attitude.
Go buy Spinal Tap and see funnier, better written and better performed songs. Poison also had a song called 'Love On The Rocks' which was released in 1988. Basically the Darkness are parodying a genre that was mocking itself to start with!!
This kinda ruins the argument that people like me are missing the point. It's quite sad that I've bothered writing this down but I really do hate them.
Alkaline Trio and Muse released far better albums which were totally overlooked and was far more diserving of merit that this lot.
At least the fans they've got-real ones, not the ones who like them cos NME says to, will be able to see them at Butlins for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Whole lotta poseurs......, 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say. This is truly a tremendous album, worthy of sitting in anyone's Top 10 of Greatest Rock Albums...ever ! The sincerity with which the lads fashion their stunningly original compositions just oozes from every riff and solo. Justin's vocals and lyrics implore you to reach a higher state of consciousness and question your very existence. And I just adore their delicate and sensitive borrowing from some of Rock's great classics whilst still sounding so fresh and original.
I'm lying of course. This is utter dross, and just goes to show how gullible the music buying public can be. The supposed self pardoy just makes it even worse. Unoriginal, fake and just plain annoying. Please just get off our TV screens and go back to whatever East Anglian backwater you came from.
And yes, I do have a sense a humour, but it pains me to think of all the infinitely more talented bands who have fallen by the wayside whilst this shower continue to get shoved in our face just basic the music press think they are funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spinal Tap + Bad News = Truly Awful, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
George Santayana said it better than I ever could.
Those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it.
I just pray to god that the darkness do not take off in america, once was enough in anyone's lifetime. This needs to stop now before it gets out of hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Comparisons To Brian May!, 23 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Not even close. Their skills on the guitar are appalling, not close to may or kirk hammet as i heard metioned, quite pathetic, but if three finger hammer on pull off licks seem impressive u clearly dont play an instrument and ur musical collection may consist of the following: Dido, 50 Cent, Eminem, Nirvana and various other instrumentally hopelass acts. It was quite embarassing to see their Brit performance where his grade one tapping was outta synch and misse notes. Check out true rock and the likes of Bruce Bouillet, Slash, Joe Stump, Buckethead and other guitarists that are truly mindblowing, with true tapping (8 fingered) and shred skills beyond belief, you think the darknesses repetitive drone legato licks are good, then its quite sad, check out joe satriani his talent is amazing, words cannot describe my anger at such a poor level of musicianship can e respectabele, i am only 17 but am lucjy enough to have checked out some older music, its nice to know that their others like me who understand. and i like to think satch is laughing right now that such amateur musicians are so famous, please dont be impressed by their overdramatic technically absent, solos. Why, why, why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Permission To Land
Permission To Land by The Darkness (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews