Customer Reviews


304 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Ingredient
I bought Permission to Land after reading an article about The Darkness in Classic Rock magazine. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about and if the whole thing was a pisstake (it isn't). Conclusion: the album rocks and The Darkness are the most exciting band to appear on our talent-starved shores for ages.
The album contains 10 classic tracks with no fillers...
Published on 31 Oct 2003 by Mr. P. Hobson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get your hands off my anklewarmers....
Wow, the Darkness. A nice, short, filler-free ten track blast of the sounds of yesteryear, with nice modern production (is it just me or do all pre-1994 albums need one hell of a mid-range lift?) and the ghost Freddie Mercury on vocals.
Despite the gushing praise from certain magazines, the frequent bandying about of that ever-present phrase "Saviours of Rock", and...
Published on 3 Dec 2003 by drdrdrd


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Ingredient, 31 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. P. Hobson "Paul Hobson" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
I bought Permission to Land after reading an article about The Darkness in Classic Rock magazine. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about and if the whole thing was a pisstake (it isn't). Conclusion: the album rocks and The Darkness are the most exciting band to appear on our talent-starved shores for ages.
The album contains 10 classic tracks with no fillers. Stand out tracks are Black Shuck, which comes off like AC/DC, mixed with Queen (and I mean that as a compliment), the superb ballad Love is Only a Feeling, and the single I Believe in a Thing called Love.
On the strength of this album (which I can not stop playing) I went to see that band live recently in Sheffield and was not dissapointed; it was a riot. The Darkness put the skill and showmanship of truly greats bands like early Queen, Van Halen and Thin Lizzy back into rock. They also show the current dirge of Nu, Black and Rap metal to be just the twangings of spotty adolescent sixth formers. If anyone is taking the piss it's Cradle of Filth NOT The Darkness.
Maybe the recent chart success of The Darkness will put rock back on the agenda and get rid of some of the manufactured crap that is clogging up the music scene. The Darkness rock and they are here to stay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness have permission to rock!, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
If ever the world needed an album like 'Permission to Land', it is right now.
The Darkness have brought the spirit of Spinal Tap, with serious musicianship and darn good rock tunes back to the fray.
To kick off, the mighty 'Black Shock' serves up a delicious flavour the jewels to come. A rumbling dark rocker, it features the soaring vocals of our man Justin against the back drop of serious rawk music.
From then on in it's a trailblazing display of wonderful pop/rock tunes that should bring a smile to the face of anyone who loves good music. The singles, 'Growing on Me' and 'I Believe in a thing Called Love' simply have to be acclaimed with your air guitar in hands, and a booming falsetto vocal!
From there, it's simply song after song of classic rock material. Ok, it's not exactly Radiohead, but when you're down the front at Brixton academy waving your arms in time to 'Love on the Rocks with No Ice', please remind yourself why you listen to music in the first place: escapism.
Escape to the world of the Darkness soon, it'll lighten up your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS is rock!, 17 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
I heard of the darkness several months ago, and from what I heard it didnt deserve a listen - men performing in catsuits with shaky falsetto. As a self respecting indie rocker, this just did not sound like my cup of tea.
I wish I had listened to them earlier!
This music just sounds like encompassed joy - the hooks and riffs just lift you up and have you singing along. Even on the dullest day. This music just needs to be played at full volume - it sounds even better, and from all reports it sounds even better coming from that row of Marshalls. Critics may say that the lyrics are meaningless. My answer is, so what! The lyrics make sense, but what means something is Justin Hawkins deliverance of his gospel - it is just fantastic hearing his falsetto hit the ceiling! The guitars are rocking, and rocking beautifully, with some impressive queen-esque solo. The drums are crashing, and yet with all this noise it still manages to sound great.
One of the best albums this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Rock Has Been Waiting For, 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Brilliant.
This is simply what rock has been waiting for.....something different with a little character to it - and the amazing instrumentals and Justin Hawkins' amazing falsetto vocals fully compensate that!!!
All the tracks are good but a few stand out - Get Your Hands off My Woman, Growing On Me, Stuck in a Rut, I Belive in a Thing Called Love and Love is just a feeling......
But Overall this album is truly the greatest record of 2003 and the Darkness, i'm sure will be producing some amazing and DIFFERENT stuff over the next few years. The start of something glorious?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set The Record Straight, 22 Dec 2003
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Since when did the freedom of true choice disappear? Why do we have to judge the Darkness on their fans, or by their predecessors? Yes, true, some older fans may be put off by the youth following, and likewise some of the younger fans may be put off by the older following. However, a true rock fan cannot truly dismiss a band because of their following. Musically, the Darkness may not be the best musicians ever, or may not have come out with the best songs ever, but they're still pretty damn good. They're one of the best things to come out of England at the moment. (For more great bands coming out of England at the moment, look at the Liverpool revolution, for just one example.)
The Darkness are fun, and are not one of the bands following out of the arses of pop-punk. They have ignored the years of dance and pop, and stood looking into the past, present, and future, of classic rock and metal. If this band cannot liven up the rock scene at the moment, then no-one can!
In summary, the Darkness may indeed be extremely big in the popular music world, but that doesn't mean the rock scene should ignore them. As various people have said, it's a matter of opinion, but in my own opinion, this album is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some are blind...., 25 Dec 2003
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Darkness is a shining light in the... They exemplify what rock was and now might be again. It is NOT serious - it is FUN! Get your ROCKS off, man! Get stoned! Boy bands, girl bands, and formula pop are killing any spirit of rock - brain-dead enjoyment for the placebo people. Punk too always so obvious. Something new is much harder...
This CD bought for me as a present and I thought it would be rubbish. No way! I played in the 70s and 80s in bands - Fender Precison bass and Marshall 100watt stack. I recall well the Saturday night gig at a working men's club, the egos, the strippers, the dope, the lager-pissed vision and the obligatory curry from a Chinese chippy. Such sweet irony! I recall too the pussy and the squabbles over who would be first or 'sloppy seconds' (Two Pints of Lager and a packet of crisp's Xmas special is stunning stuff! So sodding accurate!)
I am not going to go through a track by track description. Many bits I recognise well - but they are no more than the 'style of rock'. But there are new bits too and that's enough - theu are NOT copyists. You can't be totally new.
I wish Darkness et al great success. We need variety, we energy and fun. Totally money-driven bands are dull - executives are NOT creative!
BTW listen to Roger Waters' In the Flesh Live. WOW! Listen to good things like Alison Krauss, Nanci Griffiths...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fab, and it's from East Anglia!, 8 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
Agree that this is an excellent ("foot-tappin'") debut album - two things should really be added - Black Shuck is an old East Anglian folk tale about a less than pleasant dog- so less of an Iron Maiden rip-off than you might think...and whilst I agree that on the face of it (according to another contributor) "Stuck in a rut" is "quite random lyrically" - it's actually sheer poetry (sic!) if you come from that part of the world - must be the first time that the Billockby Bends and the Acle Strait (two local roads) have been immortalised in Rock n'Roll - we don't care how far tongues are in cheek - if you're getting in your car and driving down to hell n' back, why do the Hollywood thing on Route 66 in a mean machine when you can have a bucket of rust on the Acle Strait? A must to play in the car! Fab! ("Let's Rock!")...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They have my permision to land!!, 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
They've landed, the greatest rock band for at least a decade. This is an album you really have to buy, I haven't met anyone who dislikes it. 'It plays like a greatest hits' is the best quote I've heard so far to describe this genius of an album.
From the outset you can hear real quality in the lyrics, the bands thumping riffs and Justin Hawkins' destinctive and original voice bellowing out these tunes with relish and passion.
Every number on the album is memorable whether it be the chart topper that is 'I believe in a thing called love' or the hard hitting 'Givin up' which decribes the addiction of drug use.
There are instrumental solos throughout the album by Hawkins' brother who is an incredibly talented guitarist.
As the album plays there is one song after another of joy and they are all different. You get to hear Hawkins' full reportoire of vocals, none more so than 'Stuck in a Rut' which pushes him to the limit. Other memorable tracks include 'Friday Night' which is slower and shows a more steady approach than the frantic 'Get your hands off my Woman'.
They have thought this album through thorougly as they've mixed up the different types of songs and kept you guessing for whats coming next. There is'nt a song that lets it down as is the case with so many other rock albums.
If you love rock you'll love this, if you hate rock you'll love this as its nothing you've heard before.
Original, imaginative and brilliant are The Darkness, and they have landed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock at its Best - Official, 11 Sep 2003
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
I've lived through 70's rock, punk, the 80's (less said the better) Indie music, but rarely has a album captivated me like Permission. Its pure rock and roll from Black Shuck, right the way through to the end. Its all too easy to pigeon hole the Darkness by comparing them to Zepp, UFO(probably the closest likeness), Blue Oyster Cult et al, but its unfair because they are unique, OK you may have heard the style before but not for 25 years has it been played so well. I cannot wait to see these guys live, please, please bring the lasers out of mothballs.
To the detractors, I have immersed myself in The Stones Roses, Radiohead, Verve, Portishead, all hailed as greats and groundbreaking but they perform introverted rock and frankly you have to be in the mood. This album smashes that ethos out of the stadium so turn it ip load and ENJOY!!! and dont take it seriously, rock of this style was never meant to be disected, so just enjoy a breathtaking debut album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll Is Back! And It's Here To Stay!, 24 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Permission To Land (Audio CD)
We've had to wait a long time for it, too long, longer than I can remember in fact. When the histrionic excess of Guns 'n' Roses ended in the early 90s a new breed of music emerged: one of the ordinary people. Musicians moaned and whined into the microphone about how terrible everything was and tried to pass themselves off as normal people as they drove away from stadiums in flash cars, snorted coke and had sex with groupies. They dismissed the old and flamboyant bands of the past like KISS, Poison and Aerosmith as show offs. Show offs they may've been, but boy could they entertain you! In between then and now we had to sit through the trite, insufferable garbage that was manufactured pop consisting almost exclusively of people who only sang because they were on TV first. All we've had to entertain us in the meantime is some good and bad stuff from Marlyn Manson and a rapidly fading Metallica, no wonder all the old rock legends became so popular, how could they fail in a world dominated by bad music? And now finally we have a band fans of old great rock have been waiting for. They are rock stars and they don't pretend to be anything else. For a 20-year-old who has grown up for the last seven years listening to KISS, Alice Cooper, Queen, Aerosmith, Poison, Metallica and Guns 'n' Roses and never been able to find a club that plays the music I like I have found a new band worth listening to at last!
A friend of mine got me the album after spending a couple of months telling me how much I'd love them. A couple of weeks later and I'm hooked. The stand out tracks to me have to be Givin' Up and Friday Night. But after that there are the three singles which all ROCK and everything else is still really cool. It's loud, it's fun, it's totally OTT and it's great! This is the best album (full stop) released in at least a decade (Metallica's legendary 'Black Album' being the last one that could match it). It terms of a debut record I'd rank it alongside KISS' barnstorming debut record and Guns 'n' Roses Appetite for Destruction. I only hope this is the end of all the reality TV bands and Seattle gloom-mongers and sees a return of rock-stars who understand the meaning of rock 'n' roll - having a party. Let's just hope there's more to come from these four, rock 'n' roll was about to die, living on in a few old vinyl disks, the Darkness are the second coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Permission To Land
Permission To Land by The Darkness (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews