Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the beautiful game
PES1 was great, PES2 was quite simply sublime, and PES3 has continued the trend by being just that bit better, just that bit sleeker, and just that bit more like the real beautiful game.
Everything is here. A far more realistic master league, now featuring 4 seperate leagues each split into two divisions, which leads to a champions league style tournament between the...
Published on 27 Dec 2003 by Harry Carr

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good game but i still want more!
this game is the best footie simulation ever and it is also the game i think which has enabled me cut my ties to an extent with iss pro evolution(original) on the normal playstation. it is also a darn sight better than last year's effort, which in my opinion(and without sounding blasphemous) was comparitively poor.
the problem with the game is that while the game is...
Published on 24 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the beautiful game, 27 Dec 2003
By 
Harry Carr "carrliadiere" (Teddington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
PES1 was great, PES2 was quite simply sublime, and PES3 has continued the trend by being just that bit better, just that bit sleeker, and just that bit more like the real beautiful game.
Everything is here. A far more realistic master league, now featuring 4 seperate leagues each split into two divisions, which leads to a champions league style tournament between the top teams of each league.
Player transfers between teams have been tweaked to near perfection: you can no longer acquire players with no club team for free, making for a much more balanced master league experience.
Players perform the duties they perform in real life. Zidane is a playmaker with incredible skill, Roberto Carlos powers down the wing and shoots from long distance, David Seaman lets a lot of poor shots past him.
The gameplay has been honed to perfection. Matches can be high scoring (4-0 is the highest I have acheived, and also the most I have been defeated by) or they can be 0-0 affairs where nothing you do works. It's all down to you - if you have the skill, you can pull something special out of the bag. If you're just running straight at the goal, more often then not you'll be broken down and counter-attacked. Your players have varying morale and fitness - if you don't rest key men you can find yourself suffering at the hands of a team far below you in the league.
Celebrations are better now, also! There are many trademark celebrations, and I am pleased that scoring late in the game makes your striker pick the ball out of the net and run back to the centre.
The licence is again disappointing: I solved this by purchasing the update disc from amazon, which was cheap enough and worked perfectly. As a result, this game could not be any better. I would like to see Konami put more money into the licence, however: it would make a great game absolutely irresistable. The commentary is fine, and functional. There are some pretty nifty comments (although I am disappointed that PES2's 'that's the shot of a master!' has been removed) but it is mostly unspectacular.
One player is fantastic, as are exhibition matches or tournaments with two or more players. You could kill many hours on PES3 multiplayer.
It is often said, but it needs saying again. PES3 is how football is supposed to be. It flows, it's realistic, and when it all comes together, it feels brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If Sky sports was a game..., 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
this would be it.
The stunning graphics, gameplay and content are what make the game beat fifa 2004 hands down. Yet, still people persist to buy the game that has 3 men on it's cover that pretend to be running, rather than the one that has the bald headed ref that controls them on the front. Why? God knows.
Ok, yeah yeah yeah, PES3 doesn't have the kits (with the exception of a few very well designed Italian shirts), or the proper names for some teams. But who cares? You looking at the ball aren't you when you play, so who cares if the players are called UGA BOOGA BOO and play in clown suits? Losers, thats who.
I bought fifa 2004 the morning it came out. I took it back that afternoon. That night I went to blockbusters and rented PES3. Took it back sunday morning, and bought it. The difference in playability is huge.
Only four stars because no games perfect, but if your wondering what to buy that special male in your life for christmas (any age), then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best football game ever made!!, 29 Mar 2004
By 
A. Parsons "Andyp25" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
In terms of sheer playability, this game has to be the best ever made!! The combination of tricks, off the ball running, innovative passing and the highly realistic shooting gauge, make this game awesome. A big thing is made about the fact that many team and player licenses have been omitted, but this is easily overcome by purchasing the ultimate update, and also up dates are available via the internet. The training games help any newcomers to Pro Evolution grasp the basics, and the player edit feature allows you to change pretty much anything you want. The matches themselves allow for any number of possible situations and set-pieces, with emphasis placed on the pass timing and weight, as well as the shooting placement and power which, as in real life, needs the player to set himself properly and use a cool head.
Now for the criticisms: 1) The lack of any real creative license in terms of setting your formation. There are only a certain number of players allowed in defence, midfield and attack. So if your 2-0 down with 10 minutes to go, you can't for instance have a 1-1-8 formation!! 2) In modify player mode you can't move players between clubs, which would have been so much easier. 3) The consistancy of the referees is sometimes laughable. Any sliding challenges, no matter if you cleanly win the ball, often result in yellow cards, and once I was sent off for blocking a goalbound shot with my legs!! But if a player is fouled when through on goal, or if the defender is the last man and gives away a penalty, the referee will often point to the spot but completely forget about the defender involved. This often leads to much teeth-grinding and abuse directed at the man in black. 4) The goalkeepers are also quite erratic. Highly realistic in terms of one-on-ones (they save 70% shots!!), their efforts on long range shots often leave me thinking "My grandma could have saved that". From barely extending their arms to meet the shot and dribbling on the edge of their own box with about 3 opposition players in close attendance, to even distinctly average keepers making unbelievably world class saves, it can get very frustrating.
All this aside, the difficulty levels are....difficult, with the computer often knocking the ball around like Brasil in 1970 on only 3 star difficulty, making this game a real challenge. The dribbling is quality with many different tricks to master, and two different types of sprinting speed. There are realistic ball physics involved, with the ability for players to put bend on shots, kill the pace of long balls, and the odd game of penalty box pinball for great entertainment. Shooting is often spectacular, and also a lottery. The unpredictable nature means that one time you could hit the post or bar and from exactly the same position another time, the ball will nestle in the top corner. Technique also plays a big part, with the likes of Rivaldo, Roberto Carlos, Henry and David Beckham all producing more power and "whip" on the ball. All these features mean that this game is the most realistic football simulation out there.
All in all, this is an awesome football game, with an infinite lifespan, and truly the market leader by some distance!! Bring on Pro Evolution Soccer 4!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best Football game ever..., 27 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. B. Lalsing "treeman144" (South Weezy, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
If you want this game then you obviously bought PES 1 or PES2.
Pro Evolution contains-
4 Master Legues containing purely European clubs.
WEFA Cup,Konami Cup,International Cup,Copa Americas,Eupoean Cup,Afican Tornement,Asian Cup,American Cup.
Team Roster-
Liverpool,Man U,Arsenal,Chelsea,Leeds,West Ham,Tottenham,Everton,Newcastle,Man City,Aston Villa,Fulham,Juve,Inter,AC,Parma,Cheivo,Udinese,Bolongna,Lazio,
Roma,Real Madrid,Deportivo,Sevilla,Barca,Betis,Valencia,Real Sociedad,Athletico Madrid,PSG,Auxerre,Bourdeaux,Monaco,Marsaille,Lyon,Bayern Munich,Dortmund,Shalke 04,Leverkusen,Hamburg,PSV,Ajax,Feynoord,Porto,Sporting Lisbon, Benfica,Rangers, Celtic,
Galatasary,Beskitas,Olympiakos, Panathinaikos,Anderlecht,Sparta Prague,Spartak Moscow,Dynamo Kiev,Southhampton,Blackburn Rovers,Lilles,Athletico Bilbao,FC Basel,River Plate,Corinthians,Santos,Athleco Miniero.
;International Teams stay the same, but Yugoslavia have changed their name to Serbia & Montenegro.
Players now have their names at the back of their shirts.
New tricks can be done including-
360 degree turns,Flick Overs, Ball Juggling,triple stepovers all by using the R3 analouge button.
Better editing- Over 70 hairstyles, edit eyebrows,noses,eyes,mouths,cheeks,eyes,cheeks etc.
New animations- More individual celebrations (over 40),new styles of shots, players tend to use their stronger foot, players follow up their shots if goalkeepers parry.
New PES3 shop, use points gained in competitions to buy new items such as new hairtyles etc.
PES3 has the same sort of gameplay as PES2, but with some big tweaks, it feels more like football when you play it. If you were thinking about getting Club Football or FIFA 2004, Well don't as PES3 is the winner, although Club Football is pretty decent as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God made this game!, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Lets get to the point - Is PES3 better than FIFA 2004?
Oh yes. Take itfrom me, I've played both titles. Yeh all the kids out there like FIFA.."Terry Henry looks real", "You can score every free-kick if you line thedial up", "Its got off the ball (lack) of control". Look, if you own FIFAthen fine, I'm not condemning your choice of football game, I'm justsaying take it back and get Pro Evo.
At the end of the day it's simple; smooth, lush gameplay will alwaystriumph over licenses and real names. Anyway I got an update disk for mycopy so that eliminates that arguement. Each player takes free kicksdifferently, Giggs for example aint as good as Ronaldo.. true! Unlike withFIFA where you could score with Alex Ferguson should the option beavailable (Yes I'm a united Fan). The tricks and flicks are there, Zidanestyle cross overs and more.
My good mate Ed (Who'll be reading this atsome point) accidentally 'snapped' his FIFA disk. Did he cry.. no. Hebought Pro Evo 3 and is living in his PS2+PES3 footablling shrine. I had achat with him, gave him a demo, and he fell in love (no I'm not lying)with this game. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear GOD!, 26 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. C. C. Gostling (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
can anyone please tell me how someone can not give this game 5 stars?
This game is incredible. The players look better than FIFA, and the gameplay is 100 times better. I played FIFA and could not stop laughing!
Who cares that someone's names arent right. Do you buy a computer game to see the Name Henry written down?????????
and how can someone review this game and say it is too like an arcade? DUH!!
buy this game and please leave FIFA on the shelf. YOull be glad you did.
You can play this game for hours with your mates and not say a word. Trust me, you will be addicted!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella to FIFA's ugly sister, 10 July 2004
To say that pro evolution soccer 3 is the BEST footy game on any console is not hyperbole or exaggeration, it is inescapable fact.
From the realistic and fluid player animation right down to the look of utter despair on your goalkeeper's face as he sees a last minute winner fly past him into the top corner, this game has it all.
Konami have also thankfully made an effort with player names (if not the team ones which you can edit or buy an update disc for anyway), with only the curiously named Dutch squad (Oranges 1, 2, 3 etc etc) differing greatly from their real life counterparts. The beautifully ingenious yet simple master league returns with more teams, more divisions and a cup tournament that looks suspiciously, in format at least, like the UEFA champions league.
When you actually play the game however, such triviality melts away into a sea of console footie loveliness with a learning curve steep enough to have you hugging complete strangers when you finally do score that 30 yard free kick or stick a pile-driver past a stunned opposition goalie.
To steal a popular advertising slogan: Pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best Football series...., 5 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. J. R. Seymour "Jami Seymour" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Pro Evo Soccer 3 continues were its predecessors left off: as the best Playstation 2 football game.
Forget FIFA, forget This is Football, forget Club Football: for the most playable, realitic and satisfying computerised soccer experience, it simply HAS to be Pro Evo 3!
The problems with the 3rd installment in Konami's series are much the same as ever before... licensing issues and commentary. It's getting tiresome now, and I pray that one day Konami will finally get the full licenses (AC Milan, Juve, Lazio and Roma all have the FULL licenses - logos, kits, players etc.. it's a start!!) and sort out Peter Brackley and Trevor Brooking. The entire Welsh, Dutch and German (amongst others) have no license and players such as Giggs and Van Nistelrooy are replaced with favourites such as Gills and Von Mistelroy!
The edit section is improved however, and these details can all be changed - if you have the time and/or patience.
Well they're the bad points... what about the good points? Well, quite simply, Pro Evo makes you feel good. Some of the little touches and fluencies in the game will take your breath away... Whether playing by your self or with a friend/group of friends, you will always find new things and will never grow tired of the fluent gameplay.. Pro Evo is the most satisfying, enjoyable and realistic football game money can buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PES3, 23 July 2004
By A Customer
If you're looking for harcore football entertainment action,then look no further because Pro evolution Soccer 3 has got it all,it has teams from the premiership to the comference you can play with up to 64 International teams and 54 club teams.It's even got all your heroes and world class player's from Thierry Henry to Zidane,it's got great unlockable features from trading and buying player's from all over,in some of the modes you can create player's and even make your own club team.But the best thing about this game is the graphics,the graphics are mind blowing,it's got way better graphichs than all the other PES GAMES,it's an absolutely fantastic game.Trust me when I say this,you will be stuck on this for hours,because it keeps you occupied with cup and league matches.And it's at an unbelievable £16.99.Go out and buy it now,it money's worth,Hey! I got and so can you. Bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Evolution Soccer 3, 14 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
After buying all the previous versions ordered this one without even reading a review. It is a fine game, its not just PES2 with a few new bits. It seams very familiar when you play but then again its like a new game when you come to try and score, its hard work! what i do like is in the game tutorial if you change your button to what you want them to be first the tutorial tells you your correct buttons to help you rather than the default like in the last game. Master league took me 3 seasons to get promoted and a lot premier league teams in the game which makes the game better and you just need the odd name edit here and there. The step over is great new feature to if you do a low cross or pass when its heading for your bloke press the button and he continue his run towards the ball but does not touch it leaving a team mate to bang it in at the back post lol i love that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2)
Pro Evolution Soccer 3 (PS2) by Konami (PlayStation2)
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews