Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu at the Royal Albert Hall
I have most of Andre Rieu's early concert DVDs and this was among the best. Entertaining, skilfully excecuted classical music, humorous bits throughout, beautiful to look at and listen to.
Published on 7 May 2010 by Redbarnchris

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate.
The content of the concert was as usual excellent but what spoiled the performance was the red strap going along the bottom of the screen at the begining of each piece with nothing written on it , there were also a few interuptions , maybe it was a well used copy.
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by nurse 1


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu at the Royal Albert Hall, 7 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I have most of Andre Rieu's early concert DVDs and this was among the best. Entertaining, skilfully excecuted classical music, humorous bits throughout, beautiful to look at and listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance on stage, 6 Jan 2010
By 
K. Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Some purists object to Andrea Rieu's presentation of classical works I assume due to his flamboyance. What Andrea has done however is present wonderfull music in a way that entertains audiences of all ages and from all walks of life. He has done this by introducing colour and life into his orchestra and choir. I believe that our great composers wrote music to entertain their audiences not just for purists to critique, Rieu has bought that desire to the twentieth century. His presentations are a feast to both the ears and the eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rieu Review - Live at the Albert Hall London, 20 Jan 2010
By 
David English "Dave English" (Ballynahinch. County Down) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Andre Rieu is, quite simply, the James Last of the classical stage.
His "Strauss orchestra" is talented in many genre as this DVD reveals.
From the waltzes and polka's of Strauss to the "swing" of Glenn Miller and piccolo sextet of Sousa.
A thoroughly enjoyable and very entertaining musical treat at a modest cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Harry Lime theme!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
A. Manley (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I have had this Albert Hall concert on video tape for several years, and decided in matching new dvd equipment with a dvd of the same concert.
The dvd is of the same concert, but with some different editing. In particular the very amusing treatment of the Harry Lime theme is now missing, this was one of my favourite items. I never thought I would ever complain about an Andre Rieu concert recording, but those who have never seen the full concert will still enjoy this latest version.
Anyway, everyone should get the wonderful Australian concert in Melbourne.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live at the Albert hall, 2 Jun 2009
By 
T. Potter "tpot 1" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Up to the usual best standard one would expect from such a great performer and orchestra ,solid entertainment all the way ,fantastic delivery posted over night arrived in 3days of ordering superb service,would recommened them to anyone .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu Live @ the Royal Albert Hall & Forever Vienna, 9 Mar 2010
By 
B. Drayton (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
The above are absolutely wonderful and really lift the spirit in these troubled times - brings back a flavour of times long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best live show around, 16 Feb 2010
By 
M. Balcombe "markus" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
My Mum thinks this is the best dvd she's got me to buy her in ages. This is Andre at his very best, the music sweeps you up and away on a journey of fun and laughter. If you like a mix of easy listening and classical music you should but this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu Live at the Royal Albert Hall( D.V.D), 31 July 2010
By 
Jennifer Panting "Ploddie feet" (Burnley, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
This D.V.D is very simular to Forever Vienna D.V.D. This is'nt high brow classical music. I really enjoyed this D.V.D and looking at the audience they enjoyed it too. The audience are standing in ovation. The tracks there are quite a few Strauss and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter Joy, 25 Oct 2004
By 
Mary Hatch "Mary Monks" (Delta., British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Andre Rieu concert is a joy from start to finish. Rieu is the ultimate showman and entertainer, and a superb musician. His orchestra is composed of musicians selected for their personalities as well as their musical skills. I have watched this DVD countless times, each time seeing something new, and would watch it daily, and daily weep for the joy it brings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliantly Entertaining DVD, 29 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Even if you are not a classics fan this is real entertainment from a superb conductor who relates so well to his audience. From start to finish there is a brilliant programme of serious, amusing, moving and memorable pieces of fine music. And what a wonderfully skilled orchestra he conducts and who deliver such an impresive performance, both collectively and as soloists. This is a programme that can be played over and over again and never fail to please and rates as the best I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at the Royal Albert Hall [2002] [DVD]
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews