Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gangster movies hit the games world... Sorta...
Mafia is set in the 1930's on the town of Lost Haven (New York-esque type of city). The player plays the part of Tommy, a once-upon-a-time cabby now turned mafioso, due to the changing fortunes of living in a city riddled with mobsters.
The whole game oozes 30's, the available cars, the characters populating the virtual city, even the jazz music is reminiscent of...
Published on 15 July 2004 by Raul Leite

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the Hype
Having eagerly anticipated this title, I rushed out and bought it on the release day. Having got it home I was left dissapointed. The graphics and cut scenes are impressive and the idea of the game being set in the 1920-30's is a great. But it has major problems. 1. The interaction between people and cars, cars and buildings, bullets and people, bullets and cars is...
Published on 2 Feb 2004


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gangster movies hit the games world... Sorta..., 15 July 2004
By 
Raul Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mafia (Xbox) (Video Game)
Mafia is set in the 1930's on the town of Lost Haven (New York-esque type of city). The player plays the part of Tommy, a once-upon-a-time cabby now turned mafioso, due to the changing fortunes of living in a city riddled with mobsters.
The whole game oozes 30's, the available cars, the characters populating the virtual city, even the jazz music is reminiscent of that era.
Despite loading lags felt when crossing town, these can be understadable (and in a way, negligable), since at any one time, there are dozens of events taking place, NPC's walking about or doing "stuff", cars (and trams) circulating the streets, or even passengers boarding the elevated train. All of these contribute to give a sense of a real city.
Anyone looking for state-of-the-art graphics is going to be disapointed, we've all seen what Mafia presents in other games, no real ground-breaking here, except...
The computer characters... Wow!
Some good modeling and texturing of all characters was done in the cinematic parts of the game. Granted they're not perfect, or movie-quality, but clearly a lot of effort was put in by the artists, programmers, and modelers to create good computer animations for the characters. And, this leads us to...
The story...
It's your basic Mafia-story, I'm not going to say anythign about it in order not to spoil, but it involves shooting and killing! -- ;)
Now, the thing is, the animations are very good, and they contribute to a cinematic experience, the player feels he/she is watching a movie (and what's more, playing a part in it, to some degree!). From the presentation (after the player decides to start a game!), to the way the story develops, this title can be said to be a movie with some computer playing in the middle.
Since we drive cars around, there is also the choice of racing and entering a championship, where cars can be unlocked, and driven in the main game, bringing such advantages as more speed, better acceleration, durability, etc. Though, don't think you'll be driving Ferraris and Porsches, this is the 30's!
One major bad point for the game though, is the lack of multiplayer... That alone would contribute immensely for the longevity of the game. After all, after the story is fully unravelled, and all the races are won, what more can we do besides cruising around in the city?
The Mafia is a welcome adition to the criminal-driver stable, sharing a berth with the likes of GTA, though no strong competition there, but it has a spot in the limelight for its story and ability to merge it with the playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Game, 25 Feb 2004
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
All in all, this is a v good game. The graphics are good to look at and the city is massive. I wouldnt say it is as good as vice city, but nothing is. Vice City was alot of fun to play but Mafia is a much more realistic game. In Vice You could fly along a backstreet at 80 mph and the cops wouldnt bother, in Mafia you get driving tickets and fines. Many people have been slagging off the driving and how "The cars are too slow". Well all you can say to that is ITS THE 1930S WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? Many of the early cars you get in the game almost struggle to get up hills but you arent gonna get a porsche no matter how much you want one. The storyline is very good, but maybe I only like it because it's the 1930s mafia. The gunfights are alot of fun to be in, but it took me a while to get the hang of the shooting controls but once you get it, its brilliant. There is no pleasure like that of taking out 15 of the enemy family's footsoldiers with a tommy gun. Unfortunately, it ended too quickly for me. I completed it quite quickly but mayve thats because I was totally engrossed in the plot and couldnt wait to see what Don Salieri needed me to do next. Altogether, a brilliant, very cool game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the Hype, 2 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
Having eagerly anticipated this title, I rushed out and bought it on the release day. Having got it home I was left dissapointed. The graphics and cut scenes are impressive and the idea of the game being set in the 1920-30's is a great. But it has major problems. 1. The interaction between people and cars, cars and buildings, bullets and people, bullets and cars is shocking. There is always a delay from what you see happen to hearing the effect. 2. The whole freeroaming city, mission based game has been done before. i.e GTA. and a lot better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mafia (PS2), 17 Mar 2004
By 
S. Nicol "wwwscott27" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
This is quite an enjoyable game. Although the gameplay isn't quite up to the relatively unmatchable standards of GTA, it remains very fluid and realistic. I urge potential buyers not to be put off by those who lambast the shooting mode. Yes it can be a stumbling block to begin with, however, with practice you start to realise that it is quite straight forward. Simply by pushing L2 or R2 depending on the position of your enemy, the crosshairs aim for them automatically. And contrary to other reviews it doesn't use up a full clip on one enemy unless of course your using the weakest gun in the game. The biggest selling point for me (and any one else who is a fan of the gangster genre) is the story which runs parallel to the game. This is very realistic and well thought out, and the cut scene graphics are impressive as well. All in all i would give Mafia a respectable 4 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GTA/The Getaway/Mafia/True Crime, 4 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
All of the above games explore the same concept - play the part of a character in a realistic, open city, drive around, run around, shoot stuff. And great fun it is too.
This is a worthy addition to the genre and while not good enough for classic status it has loads to offer and a great atmosphere. The story is fairly linear in that you don't get to choose the next mission, it just get's given to you - so more 'The Getaway' than GTA. However, you can go on a free ride and explore the immense city if you want. The cars are authentic for the period (1932 - 1938) and initially a little slow - they get better towards the end but never reach really exciting levels. The story is great, the missions are well thought out and as varied as they can be for a game of this type.
A few glitches - the graphics are a mixed bag - the face animations are pretty good but they sit atop blocky, blurred torso's, and the draw rate as you drive around the city is well below par - it's like driving in a fog. Voice acting is good though. A problem I found is that, as a missions progresses it automatically saves your progress. If you end up out of ammo or low on health at the start of a particularly difficult section (and there's a few of them later on) it's hard luck - either play on with some miraculous, heroic gameplay - or back to the start of the whole mission, losing significant progress.
Overall though, very atmospheric and worth a crack if you've already played The Getaway. If not, then The Getaway is probably more playable and enjoyable (as it should be for us Brits).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great game, 20 May 2004
By 
Chris Evans "Enzuigiri" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
I am a bit of a sucker..yes, I believe advertising. A new game comes out, I see the shop blurb and buy it...my life it is littered with such failures (mortal kombat, socom, prince of persia...the list goes on)
However I may just have broken my trend, found my niche in strategy type games.
Probably my favourite two games in recent time were Splinter Cell and Hitman 2 (Hitman Contracts is even better .. wheee) and if you liked those you may well like Mafia
There are sceptics who say 'turn based...mission based..blah blah..' and if you dont like that sort of game then you are in the wrong place.
If however you want a mission based game in the mould of Grand Theft Auto 3 then this is for you. The thing that sets the game apart for me is the 'realistic' gangster cars, weapons, voices and even the incidental music has the right feel for the time.
It is rare that a production team spends so much time and effort on the little things and in this case they have producing a game that has real class.
My recommendation..buy it today, become a wise guy and gun down those fools who cross you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY BUY BUY!, 20 July 2003
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
I love this game more than the PC version!
The controls have been well adapted to console format, making movements easier ( using the arrow keys became quite tiresome).
This game is simialar to Grand Theft Auto 3, but Mafia is set in the 1930's in the city of Lost Heaven. You get dragged into the storyline from the beginning (where it's basically join the mob or die) all the way to the end, after the main character - Tommy, has made friendships and lost them too.
The storyline takes a giant twist towards the end, which makes this game worthy of being a film!
In this game, you can travel on foot, in cars and even on trains! There is a huge variety in the cars (more than GTA3),you go from the small, rattly engined Model T Ford all the way to the purring sound of the V16 Cadillac!
There is also a huge arsenal of weapons - from baseball bats to tommy guns. You can even pick weapons up from the ground or from your 'wasted' enemies.
You can either follow the game story in story mode, or just drive around in free roam mode. In one of the missions there is a racing element which is very good considering what type of game this was designed to be. Be honest, how many Adventure/First person shooter/Driving/Racing/Action games do you know about?
I would recommend this game to anyone, whatever type of games you are into.
This game is very good value for money, as the game has such a good lifespan.
So all I can say is - BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow starter but great once it gets going, 30 Jun 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia (PS2) (Video Game)
After playing the first few missions, I admit I was about to turn it off. There was no variety and it was all very slow. I stuck with it though due to the good reviews it's received as well as having an interest in the story. Really glad I did now.

Plot: This is where the game excelled. Every minute I got free, I wanted to progress some more on Mafia simply due to the plot. I felt a real bond with characters which for me is rare in a video game.

It's the 1930's and you play as Tommy Angelo who accidentally gets involved with gangsters while working as a taxi driver. You then end up rising for a common foot soldier to one of the top dogs within the Salieri family.

It sounds very much like a Grand Theft Auto game and due to a lot of people going in to this game thinking that, they come away disappointed. Mafia is its own game and it knows it. The game is a lot more linear and plot driven then GTA while lacking in the likes of the game play.

Graphics: A little dated now but doesn't take away from the enjoyment of the game.

Sound: One thing that stood out for me in this department is the way the sound altered due to where you stood. You stand by the sea and you'll hear seagulls but yet walk a few steps away and the sound quietens. I would expect it from this generation of consoles but seeing it in the last was a bit of a surprise.

Game play: It's a third person shooter with some driving thrown in too. The main beef of the game is the shooting parts but to get to a mission as well as a couple of missions in themselves, involves driving. When shooting, you're using the typical gangster weapons of the time and when driving, you're driving the vintage cars too. Not only do you get to sit within a vintage car but they've made it so it's like driving one too with everything that much more stiff.

Controls: I found these a little awkward to begin with as you have to use one analogue stick to move forwards and backwards and the other to turn around. It's what I would expect from a first person shooter but as a third, the character was fairly difficult to control. I got use to it but it took a while.

Lifespan: Mafia too me around 15 hours to complete. A couple of the harder missions I had to redo a couple of times so if you're a fairly good gamer then you could probably knock a couple of hours off of that time.

There isn't much replayability to Mafia. You can repeat any mission throughout the game that you enjoyed and there's an option of a free ride mode where you can pick a car and drive around to your hearts content but that's about it. Once the missions are done, the city isn't really engaging like GTAs for you to want to simply drive around in.

Overall: Although it may not quite be up there with the best from the generation, it's not too far off and with the price you can pick it up for nowadays, it's definitely worth a play through. I think it's got to be one of the few PS2 games where I could say that I would enjoy watching it as a film or a book the plot is that enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its got balls, 11 Mar 2007
By 
maccer (wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mafia (Xbox) (Video Game)
I recently bought this game on the cheap as the XBOX is coming to the end of its life and I can honestly say this is a pretty decent game despite a lot of criticisms from other reviewers. Yes, the game has flaws such as mediocre graphics (apart from the cutscenes)and an initially irritating shooting system, however the story is top notch and the missions offer a lot of variety (the racing level pissed me off though. You know from every gangster flick youve ever seen that its going to go tits up and you have to sell out your buddies to save your own skin but the story pulls you in depite the obvious ending. A very worthwhile purhase, especially if you see it for a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mafia Return, 21 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mafia (Xbox) (Video Game)
The best way to describe this game is Grand Theft Auto set in the 1930'sof America. You start off as being a Taxi driver and without going into tomuch detail become part of the mob. I have not yet completed this game sohow it ends I don't know. If you like Grand Theft Auto (GTA), True Crimesof LA or Driver, you might want to have a look at The Mafia.
My favourite part of the game are the cops. If you go through a red lightor are speeding the cops will chase you and at first issue you with aticket if you stop or get caught, after the ticket is being arrested andthen you become wanted. If you're speedying and a cop car is chasing youand their a far enough away, stop your car and get out. The cops knowwhere the car is, but they don't know you're the driver (unless you werewanted before you got into the car). So you can get out of the car hangaround and watch as the cops come and look around the car before gettingback into their's and driving off. There are lots of different style carsyou get to drive extra ones you can pickup (even more than GTA Vice City),your garage can hold a maximum of 7, like in GTA see a car you like mostoften you can pick the lock, get in and drive away. If you car jacksomeone becareful they aren't armed either with a bat or a gun. The handto hand combat is the best I've seen on a game of this type. Other modesof transport are the monorail and tram within certain parts of the citywhich you can get on and travel around.
The things I don't like. Youare limited to driving around the city, although it is on three islandsand rather large, you will notice from certain missions you get to go tothe race track, the airport and even on a highway. Sadly unless you are onone of these missions these are out of bounds. You may also notice thatcertain roads have been blocked off with crude looking barriers whichother times are not blocking off roads on other missions. These are justlittle things which shouldn't put you off this game.
Other reviewers have said it's rather short, all I can say to that is. Ibought it on a Saturday didn't put it down for almost 10 hours, play itfor most of Sunday for about 7.5 hours, 2 hours on a Monday, 3 hours on aTuesday and now on Wednesday still haven't finished it and that's on theeasy setting, I've got killed a couple of times but not millions of times.
Overall this is a extremely good game, with some very nice little touchs,lots of cars to both earn and steal, good selection of weapons, from asmall 6 shooter pistol to the famous Gangster Tommy Gun. The missions areinteresting they vary, you don't just get in a car drive some where shootsomeone and go back to base. The people who designed this game have donean excellent version and I hope they do a follow-up as I'll bepre-ordering it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mafia (Xbox)
Mafia (Xbox) by Gathering (Xbox)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews