Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the series fans
This is definately a film of the series, rather than the fourth highlander film. Its hard to explain with out spoiling the plot, but the film is set in the duncan universe of highlander, and is in definate contradiction to the original film.
There is a knowledge of the series required to really understand and appriciate this film, as people like joe dawson and...
Published on 2 Dec 2003 by david_marrott

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Effort but Flawed
There is a lot to like about this film but also a lot to get frustrated with, plus points like both Macleods together on the big screen are let down by a plot that doesn't make a huge amount of sense and a performance by Christopher Lambert who couldn't be less bothered.

This film is more a spin-off from the brilliant t.v series and contains cameos from Joe...
Published 13 months ago by Phantom Stranger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the series fans, 2 Dec 2003
This review is from: Highlander - Endgame [DVD] (DVD)
This is definately a film of the series, rather than the fourth highlander film. Its hard to explain with out spoiling the plot, but the film is set in the duncan universe of highlander, and is in definate contradiction to the original film.
There is a knowledge of the series required to really understand and appriciate this film, as people like joe dawson and methos are not really introduced, and if your not familiar with the series, then you won't know who the hell they are.
If you are a fan of the series as i am, then you will love this film, it's a must see. It has some great emotion, and great fight sequences, it will make you cry and cheer.
For non-series fans however, i would rate this film as two stars. If you havent seen the series, you probably wouldn't know whats going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film worthy of carrying on the Highlander saga, 3 Sep 2002
After having watched Highlander 2 and 3, I just wasn't sure how Endgame would turn out as a sequel. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Endgame follows (in sorts) from the first film and ties in some existing storylines.
The acting is superb with some great performances from Lambert, Paul and Donnie Yen. The camerawork is also very cleverly worked as are the special effects. It is obvious that a lot of time was spent on producing this film.
The reason for this film is to bring to an end Christopher Lambert's reign as the Highlander, and pave the way for Adrian Paul to carry the torch. As with the first film we see the timeline flicking from present day to previous chapters in the life of Connor and Duncan McLeod. The film shows us how Duncan was found by Connor, and also explains how people 'become' immortal. This useful as the film does explain one or two loose-ends from the original.
Unfortunately, I think that a lot of the romance of the first film has gone, with the current directors preferring instead to make the film more action based and a lot 'darker' than the original. The film, however, is still great and a definate must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Game, 18 May 2004
By 
J. Glen "Jeanette Glen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highlander - Endgame [DVD] (DVD)
Highlander:Endgame is a worthy successor to both Highlander: The Series, Highlander and Highlander 3. (Highlander 2 whilst being an entertaining romp is not really part of The Highlander canon).
Incidentally it is nice to see a proper title for this latest offering, numbering films is distinctly unimaginative and imagination is something that Endgame has plenty of, there is romance, pathos, danger and spectacle all served up with a cetain amount of panache and style. Much of the panache comes from both Adrian Paul and Christopher Lambert who make these characters believable. Christopher Lambert makes a fine fist of displaying the down side of immortality, the unending loss of friends and lovers, mortal and immortal, his decision on how best to defeat Kell is beautifully and convincingly portrayed. As is Adrian Paul's performance as a somewhat tortured Duncan, tormented by the memory of Kate/Faith and the mistake he made regarding her. The appearances of Peter Wingfield and Jim Byrnes as Methos and Dawson whilst integral to the plot were far too brief. (The writer's obvious assumtion that the viewer(s) would know who they were and why they would take such risks to help Duncan could and probably should backfire on them). Kell played by Bruce Payne, is a mesmerising and convincing villain and a worthy opponent of both Highlanders. Lisa Barbuscia as Kate/Faith is a good actress and a strong female presence who plays her role with gusto.
That all said there are problems with this film, some are ones of continuity with the series, it was clearly stated there, that A: Duncan never married and B: Immortals, even whilst living in their Pre-Immortal life cannot have children, these are silly mistakes and should have been avoided, many of those watching this fan will be Highlander fans and errors like these do cause annoyance. (No cries of get a life please, if a film is made of a popular series the writers should do their homework). The other problem is that there was very little lightness in the script, the series dealt with many different themes and some of these were quite dark and intense, but a large part of its charm was the humour shown both by the characters and the situations they occasionally found themselves in. There was very little humour in Endgame and a great deal of navel searching, this made the film a little ponderous in places, but I must admit that despite my criticisms I did enjoy the film and would like to see more, perhaps with more input from the man/actor who actually knows the character and what his reactions are likely to be in any given situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definetly a must for Highlander fans!, 7 Mar 2002
By 
M. Healy "mountain_boy" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To begin with i wasn't sure how this would be compared to the other films. Highlander 1 was amazing, Highlander 2 in my opinion did sort of ruin the whole plot a little but oppened it up to new possibilities. Highlander 3 was also excellent, Lambert and Van Peebles work well together. But this film has to be the best. Lambert and Paul do make an intresting duo and Payne, as always, is the sort of guy you love to hate - the ultimate villain. This film also answers a few questions but raises a few more, but essentially leaves the audience wanting more action and fights.
All-and-all i'd say the best film as it merges the original films to the series very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Effort but Flawed, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander: Endgame [DVD] (DVD)
There is a lot to like about this film but also a lot to get frustrated with, plus points like both Macleods together on the big screen are let down by a plot that doesn't make a huge amount of sense and a performance by Christopher Lambert who couldn't be less bothered.

This film is more a spin-off from the brilliant t.v series and contains cameos from Joe Dawson and Methos (although not enough Methos, Peter Wingfield is only in a couple of scenes) but with actors for the original Highlander turning up as well which is nice, the plot is about revenge against 2 acts one by Connor one by Duncan which have come back to bite them in a big way, Bruce Payne makes a good fist of the bad guy role, he does tend to do some odd things but he at least looks like he is having fun.

Overall there is some stuff to like good action, nods to highlander history, Methos, but it's let down by a plot that is a bit stupid, characters whose motivation is frankly odd and a completely phoned in performance by Lambert, still there's enough for fans to like here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There can be only one, er, and maybe a few sequels too., 5 April 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highlander - Endgame [DVD] (DVD)
The first Highlander film was absolutely fab, the second was dodgy, the third was better, and I enjoyed this one.

It contradicts established canon, and is predictably cheesy in parts. But overall I thought it was quite good.

This was obviously a devise to tie in the TV series with the film franchise, and it was done well.

Again we have more dodgy Scottish accents, and some fantastic sword fighting which looks pretty realistic. The film has a slow pace which suits the Highlander films and I found the Connor McLeod moment with his brother at the end of the film genuinely moving.

I was never a big fan of the TV series, but I'm sure if I was, that I'd have recognised this film as a great bridge between the two different media (film/TV). On that note - Duncan McLeod was brilliantly performed by Adrian Paul, I enjoyed the flashback scenes of Duncan and Connor larking about and laughing together through the ages. In other Highlander films Connor never seems to be particularly happy and therefore it was nice to see a character I am fond of experiencing happier times.

I thought the creation of Kate as an immortal seemed a bit poor - after all, any psycho-mortal could create more immortals until there were thousands of the blighters! But she did add a good element to the story and ultimately it was probably the right decision for this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Game, 27 July 2004
By 
J. Glen "Jeanette Glen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Highlander:Endgame is a worthy successor to Both Highlander:The Series and Highlander 3. (Highlander 2 whilst being an entertaining romp is not really part of The Highlander canon).
Incidentally it is nice to see a proper title for this latest film, numbering films is boring and unimaginative. Lack of imagination is not a problem here, there is romance, pathos, danger and spectacle in this film, all served with a certain amount of panache and style. Much of the latter two qualities comes from both Adrian Paul and Christopher Lambert, who make their characters totally believable.
Christopher Lambert does a fine job of portraying the down side of immortality, the unending loss of friends and lovers, mortal and immortal, his decision on how to best defeat Kell is convincingly and movingly portrayed. Adrian Paul is equally convincing as a somewhat tortured Duncan, tormented by thoughts of Kate/Faith and the mistake he made regarding her.
The appearances of Peter Wingfield and Jim Byrnes are far too brief and more could have been made of them. (Incidentally, the writer's assumption that all viewers will know why these two would take such risks to help Duncan, is flawed).
Kell played by Bruce Payne is a mesmerising and charismatic villain and a worthy opponent of both Highlanders. Lisa Barbuscia as Kate/Faith is a good actress and a strong female presence in an essentially male dominated film.
That all said there are problems with this film, 1. Continuity with the series, it is clearly stated there, that A: Duncan never married and B: Immortals even whilst living their Pre-immortal lives cannot have children, these are silly mistakes and should have been avoided. Writers of screenplays that follow popular series, should do their homework properly. The other problem is there was very little lightness in this script, the series dealt with many different themes and some of these were quite dark and intense, but a large part of its charm was the humour shown both by the characters and the situations they occasionally found themselves in. There was very little humour in Endgame and a great deal of navel searching, this made the film a little ponderous in places, but I must admit that despite these criticisms I did enjoy the film and would like to see more, perhaps the writer(s) next time around will ask for more input from the actor who actually knows the character best and what his reactions are likely to be in any given situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag... good movie .... so so HD picture, 29 Jan 2012
By 
S. R. Williams (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this at over the weekend, I have always rated this as the best of the sequels, they didn't try to explain why the immortals came about just get on with the story giving both leads their fair share of the action, I always liked the TV series so was excited when this came out.

I will not review this movie as such as it has been out there for many years... although I wish they had stuck with this as the final movie and not destroy the franchise with the last one.... a very expensive coaster at the moment.

I was very eager to see this movie in HD as I have the first two, plus an added 12 minutes who could ask for more............well a decent HD transfer would have helped, to be fair it isn't all terrible some scenes show the strengths of the format, strong colours, vivid picture lovely sharp detail... then you get a picture so grainy that all detail is lost and reminds you of the old days of pirated Videos, other times the colours are murky and detail lost and also some scenes have motion blur.. all of this can be a little off putting....plus next to no extra features....deleted scenes and historical FX feature are all that is on offer.

To be honest if I had known that the picture was such a mixed bag I would not have purchased this and would have kept with the region one DVD I have had for years and more than happy with.

My advice is rent this first, if you are happy with the picture wait for the price to drop before purchasing; I am disappointed as I was really looking forward to adding this to my Blu Ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There can be only one., 26 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Highlander - Endgame [DVD] (DVD)
The first Highlander film didn't really leave itself open to a sequal (Connor winning the game should have pretty much prevented any continuation) but they made a few anyway along with a TV series. This film combines both leads from the films and the series and works very well for what it is. Like everything that came after it it ignores the travesty that was the second film and plunges straight in as a continuation of the series and other films. This could be a problem for those who have never seen the series since Duncan will have been thrust upon them without any prior knowledge, but how can you hope to recap six series worth of tv for the unitiated in a single feature film and still have time left to tell a story? Anyway this is a very cool film and would get the full five stars if it wasn't for a few niggling inconsistancies with what has gone before (although I have no problem with the ignoring Highlander 2 completly, especially with what happens at the end). It also looses marks because if you don't have at least a passing knowledge of the tv series it may prove difficult to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander - Endgame [DVD] (DVD)
Great thank s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highlander - Endgame [DVD]
Highlander - Endgame [DVD] by Peter Wingfield (DVD - 2003)
6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews