Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most clever and elegant mix by the duo
brainfreeze. This collection of rare and classic rnb,soul,funk,and scratching is absolutely outstanding. Starting off sounding like "oh-no whats going on here" for the first few moments but then erupts into class you cant repeat. Their skill as producers and turntabilists is shown clearly here as the recording was recorded as a practice just before they went to play the...
Published on 20 May 2004 by john cairney

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
Probably one of the worst songs ever to grace our office - led to the downfall of self-confessed music snob Bobby T.
Published on 7 July 2011 by The GMan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most clever and elegant mix by the duo, 20 May 2004
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
brainfreeze. This collection of rare and classic rnb,soul,funk,and scratching is absolutely outstanding. Starting off sounding like "oh-no whats going on here" for the first few moments but then erupts into class you cant repeat. Their skill as producers and turntabilists is shown clearly here as the recording was recorded as a practice just before they went to play the set live at a night called "Future Primitive" in san francisco on feb 25th 99. the cd is the best of two takes you wont be disapointed even if you aint a great fan your foot will tap. I own it and wont part with it for less than a kidney. Even then it better be a damn fresh one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kakakakakqyuk""", 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
I'm not fanatical about either of these dudes, yet there's something that just works with Brainfreeze. It's completely creative without being at all self-indulgent. Old funk & soul samples are twisted & stuttered, & the whole experience gives the clear impression of two very talented individuals with a passion for their art. The added whispered vocals & horns make "Organ Donor" way more effective than the Endtroducing original, & the inclusion of Dance the Slurp is just the icing on the cake. Aimed as much for the clubs as it is for your headphones, Brainfreeze superbly displays every aspect of why I love hip hop so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm...., 31 Mar 2010
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
Okay, first off, prices for this cd seem a bit high for a bootleg - Amazon, are you supporting piracy? Check out DJ Shadow's comments on his website if you want to know more.
Secondly, nice mix, some lovely sounds on show, but I think the hype machine is at work - it's good, but there is better out there. I was expecting to be blown away, instead I found myself going hmmmmmm....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 3 April 2011
By 
bricktop (birmingham england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
i got product placement first,then found out about this classic,what an album the cutting and scratching is excellent,it wont be out of my player for any length of time,well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Amazing, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
6 or so years ago i was shopping in Brighton wandered into a random store and the music that was playing was this amazing mix of 60's & 70's funk with amazing turntabalism. I ask what they were playing, and was shown Brainfreeze. I did nothing short of RUN to the nearest music megastore and paid quite a lot of money for it. It was worth every penny and i havent stopped playing it since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shady chemistry, 15 Sep 2003
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
Zut Alore! Excellent, unfathomable, genius.
This is a beautiful collection of incredible songs, incredibly mixed. hats off to them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters at work..., 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
This is the second impeccable mix by DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist that cleverly fuses the finest soul, funk, and hip-hop - the scratching is also excellent. These guys have spent an unbelievable amount of time in record shops searching for 60s/70s tunes with that gem of a beat or loop, many of which you will not have heard. In this instance, they have combined these with some of their own tracks from 'Endtroducing', etc. The result is an thoroughly enjoyable musical experience. Although this is a fantastic CD, I personally prefer their first mix, 'Product Placement', that features all old 45s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic mix., 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
This is the second impeccable mix by DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist that cleverly fuses the finest soul, funk, and hip-hop - the scratching is also excellent. These guys have spent an unbelievable amount of time in record shops searching for 60s/70s tunes with that gem of a beat or loop, many of which you will not have heard. In this instance, they have combined these with some of their own tracks from 'Endtroducing', etc. The result is an thoroughly enjoyable musical experience for you r pleasure. Although this is a fantastic CD, I personally prefer their first mix, 'Product Placement', that features all old 45s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Brainfreeze (Audio CD)
Probably one of the worst songs ever to grace our office - led to the downfall of self-confessed music snob Bobby T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brainfreeze
Brainfreeze by Cut Chemist (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews