Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you remember!
After a string of classic progressive rock releases, stretching from “The Yes Album” to “Going for the One”, “Tormato” was seen at the time as highly disappointing. There were no long form epics here, just short tight rock songs and simple ballads, with Yes struggling to counter the on-going onslaught from Punk. The title of the album...
Published on 25 Mar 2004 by Dr. D. B. Sillars

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tracks but a far cry from "Close to the Edge" days
This album is without doubt worth the purchase but if you are expecting the sheer brilliance of some of the earlier work be disappointed.
In my opinion it is too musically simplistic for Yes, tracks like "Release Release" sounding like an attempt to be something that they are not (a rather dodgy rock act) and it was certainly a mistake to use Jon...
Published on 10 July 2000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you remember!, 25 Mar 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
After a string of classic progressive rock releases, stretching from “The Yes Album” to “Going for the One”, “Tormato” was seen at the time as highly disappointing. There were no long form epics here, just short tight rock songs and simple ballads, with Yes struggling to counter the on-going onslaught from Punk. The title of the album may be trite and the cover justified the pummelling by tomatoes reproduced therein. But on reflection musically there is much to enjoy here. The band are actually in good form, in particular Chris Squires “bug-bug” harmonised bass propels proceedings along at a cracking pace. This bass sound is used extensively and is particularly effective on the closing “On the Silent Wings of Freedom” which is classic Yes. Squire’s bass opens up the track, taking lead with Howe’s guitar and Wakeman’s synths shimmering in and out of the mix pushing things on till Andersons opening vocal. “Release Release” is another rousing, driving rock number in the style of the title track from “Going for the One”. The single “Don’t Kill the Whale” has a wonderful whale-song polymoog solo from Wakeman and “Arriving UFO” again has layers of Wakemans carnivalesque keyboards throughout, with Howe’s distorted guitar giving an edge to the song. It’s all good fun. Squire’s “Onward” is beautiful and even “Circus of Heaven” which I found so twee at the time is now quite charming.
This is another great remastered and expanded release from Rhino. The sound is clear and crisp, some good liner notes and the extra tracks are actually worth inclusion too. In particular, “Picasso”, the joyous “Some are Born”, the beautiful harmonies of Anderson and Squire on “You Can Be Saved” and Anderson’s unaccompanied “Days” are worth repeated listening. So all in all, “Tormato” is worth re-evaluating. After this album, things got very confusing indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best; not nadir either, 20 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Wilson "izz1e" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
For Rob Frampton to call Tormato "the nadir of their career" - ahead of Union or Open Your Eyes - is, frankly, nonsense. True it isn't their best work by any stretch of the imagination, but given the circumstances surrounding the recording that really isn't so surprising.
There is some good stuff on here: Future Times/Rejoice, Madrigal, On The Silent Wings and, yes, Don't Kill The Whale, which isn't "cringe-inducing" but carries an important message which is just as relevant today as it was in 1978.
I've given this an extra star due to the bonus material which is a Yes collector's dream. Well worth a purchase at under a tenner for the Yes-familiar, but if you're considering introducing yourself to this wonderful band, I would suggest starting with The Yes Album or Fragile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I must be the odd one out..., 27 Feb 2004
By 
Paul Ferguson "Gildermershina" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
Am I the only guy who actually enjoys this album? Sure the songs are shorter, and they don't all develop into anything, and there's lots of cheesyness... But hey, I love some of the experiments on show here. "Arriving UFO" took several dozen listens before I finally started to enjoy it, but tracks like "Future Times/Rejoice" and "On the Silent Wings of Freedom" are pretty much as good as anything Yes ever did from then onward. Speaking of which "Onward" is a lovely little number in the vein of "Wonderous Stories" from Going for the One, "Circus of Heaven" is pleasant (and one of the more interesting Anderson vocal pieces), "Madrigal" is a not bad Wakeman/Anderson duet...
One sting in the tail with this album seems to be best exemplified by Rick Wakeman's truly nails-on-blackboard solo on "Don't Kill the Whale": there are a lot of unneccesary cheesy hooks and knobs inserted for no real musical reason. Take "Release, Release" for another example; one of the most energetic Yes tracks (excluding examples from Drama)... Often when I listen to it, I seems to be nothing more than a cacophony with it's 1950s guitar loops and Anderson's unusually annoying and unrelenting vocals. Other times it's a refreshingly lighthearted version of Yes, something that you don't normally associate with the band.
Wow, I seem to be giving mixed messages... That's because that's exactly what this album gives to me.
If I'm in a bad mood, Tormato grates my brain into a mush. However, albeit in small doses, there is some first class material here. I would definetly recommend it to Yes fans, but not to anyone else really. So while some of the songs on Tormato are excellent, as a Yes album it's not quite a classic to rival their previous six releases.
Oh and come on... Open Your Eyes must surely be the Yes stinker by a long margin? Or as a fellow reviewer also suggested, Union? By comparison, Tormato is a masterpiece...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated album before late 70's fall-out., 14 Feb 2002
By 
tonysimms@btinternet.com (Richmond, N Yorkshire - many miles from Yes Tor) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
Always the poor relation to Going for the One, in most people's opinion, I always feel that this album gets a raw deal for the post-Relayer line-up.
Okay, some of the lyrics are a bit wishy-washy, but overall the tracks are powerful and snappy. The shorter tracks also give more variety to the album.
"Future Times/Rejoice" is a joy - try standing on Yes Tor and singing these. It can blow you away.
"Release, Release", "On the Silent Wings of Freedom" and "Don't Kill the Whale" all have an immediacy, but contain enough light and shade to warrant many listens.
"Madrigal" and "Onward" both shimmer - tingles up the old spine!
"Arriving UFO" and "Circus of Heaven" - different to say the least! My least favourite tracks on the album.
But if you just buy a compilation just to get DKTW, as suggested by one reviewer, you're missing out on some beautiful music.
A definite buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tracks but a far cry from "Close to the Edge" days, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
This album is without doubt worth the purchase but if you are expecting the sheer brilliance of some of the earlier work be disappointed.
In my opinion it is too musically simplistic for Yes, tracks like "Release Release" sounding like an attempt to be something that they are not (a rather dodgy rock act) and it was certainly a mistake to use Jon Anderson's son on "Circus Of Heaven".
However, there are gems that make this album worth the purchace. "Future Times" is a well thought out song and at a good length, "Don't Kill The Whale" has a Led Zepplin esq groove that will delight and entertain while "On The Wings Of Freedom" takes us back to the classic improvising Yes that we all love.
Then there is the under-3-minute ballardette "Madrigal", simple vocals over a spinning and beautiful part by Wakeman......simply the most beautiful Yes that I have heard.
Not too bad an album, the good tracks make this one worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden track no-one has mentioned, 12 Sep 2009
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
Most of the previous reviewers have summed up pretty well this album. I won't go into much detail myself other than to say I hated this on release in 1978. Subsequent appraisal shows it to be a varied and rewarding album in places with the usual high standard of musicianship that you'd expect from Yes.

The Rhino release actually conatins 18 not 17 tracks. The final track is a three minute instrumental version of 'Onward' with Chris's bass being accompanied by a lush orchestral sound. Very soothing and a nice way to end the album which clocks in at an excellent value for money 79 minutes - the maximum a cd can hold.

One curiosity I have is this ; given that Jon Anderson is involved and credited on the early demo version of 'Does it really happen?' which featured on the subsequent album 'Drama' (when he had left the band), why does his credit then disappear and get replaced by Geoff Downes and Trevor Horn ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When you've reached the top.., 3 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
...the only way is down.

I can't remember being so disappointed by an album as this one. Yes happen to be my favourite band after making brilliant albums like "Close to the edge", "Relayer" & "Going for the one" and many other enjoyable ones. So to see the band fall so far so quickly (releasing their previous masterpiece just a year before) is somewhat baffling.

I'm also baffled by the number of 5-star reviews - even the band members have somewhat distanced themselves from it - bad time in the studio and ultimately Wakeman and Anderson leaving the band. If people think this is a 5-star album, "Close to the edge" is likely to leave them requiring medical treatment.

This is not a bad album - I'm not sure if people this talented could do a bad album (though I suppose they tried hard with the very poor "Open your eyes"). Tormato sounds like a group of promising outtakes.

The sound quality on this remastered version is first class (Rhino did an excellent job with all the remasters) and there is some enjoyable stuff here - FutureTimes/Rejoice is a decent opener and the pretty ballad from Squire "Onward" is pleasant enough. But compared to so many of their previous songs "And you and I", "Awaken", Gates of Delirium & Roundabout etc etc - it just makes the material on Tormato seem very weak in comparison.

This is a hard review to write in some ways Yes being a favourite band of mine, but "Going for the one" was to be their final masterpiece to my ears. They did go on to occasionally produce some good songs most notably That, that is, Mind Drive, Homeworld and Machine Messiah, but for me Tormato started their sharp decline. However, no band can continue releasing such inspiring/ground-breaking work. When their great albums from 1971-1977 appear on my i-pod I simply hear classics - when I let Tormato have the occasional play it is more out of curiosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Sep 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Uckfield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
When I first got this album on vinyl the sound was rather wooly. But the CD release has really brought it to life. There are one or two duff tracks, most notably "Circus of Heaven", and Wakeman's keyboards at times stray into the comical and sound like a stylophone, but "On the Silent Wings of Freedom" ranks up there with the best things they've done. But what really makes this expanded issue worth buying are the tracks from the album they started recording in Paris in 1979 and which was never finished due to Jon Anderson's departure; in particular, "Some are Born" is quite superb and a million times better than the version that appears on Anderson's solo album "Song of Seven"; but some of the other tracks are great too. It's a shame the album wasn't finished because I think it would have been pretty good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A magician splattered with tomatoes by a hill?, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
This album always seems to disappoint Yes Fans, and well, if you're just a prog fan I'd recommend you try another Yes album instead.
As a Yes fan however, I'd have to say that this album isn't half as bad as its made out to be. It seems to me that if they had have just cut some songs off it would've been as loved as the other Yes albums. Most Yes albums have 3-7 tracks, all of which are brilliant. Tormato has four brilliant tracks, one average tracks and three boring tracks. If they had have just made it Five songs long, like `Going For The One,' its much loved predecessor then this album would be perfect. As it stands, this is almost a great album but with a few filler tracks (The only song I actively skip is `Circus of Heaven,')
The only sad thing is that on a prog album, the two best songs on here are actually the two rockers. `Don't Kill The Whale,' and `Release Release ,' which are awesome while the longest song on the album `On The Silent Wings Of Freedom,' isn't exactly as great as say `Awaken,' or `And You and I.'
Overall though, there's a lot to like about this album and if you have a `skip,' button then there's little to complain about either. Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Way Better Than Its Reputation, 25 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tormato (Audio CD)
»Tormato« is 'the Yes album which falls outside of the other Yes albums'. A lot of Yes fans consider it the worst Yes album ever. That's a shame. 'Cause »Tormato« is in fact a(nother) great Yes album, although a little unusual.
It is more joyful than most Yes stuff, and the lyrics are more comprehensible/easily-accessible - even in a 'serious' song like »Don't Kill The Whale«. The album starts out in a great way with the twin tracks »Future Times«/»Rejoice«. Jon Anderson's voice comes through very clearly and very happily, and so does the keyboards. In general, the keyboards with its unmistakable late-1970s synth sound are in the foreground on »Tormato«.
Among the more boring tracks are »Circus Of Heaven« and »Arriving UFO«. A lot of people have given the latter the title 'worst Yes song ever' - but it really is not that bad!
A masterpiece on this underrated album is »On The Silent Wings Of Freedom«.
So - drop your prejudice, stop throwing tomatoes, and go for »Tormato«!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tormato
Tormato by Yes (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews