Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS BIG BROTHER AT ITS BEST!!!
Hello,this was the first series of the American Big Brother ive seen and i quickly became addicted!i believe it is far more entertaining than the british version and there are huge differences between the us and uk series.Like in the us version; The public are not involved,the houseguests must play against each other and do whatever they can to remain in the house whether...
Published on 20 Sep 2005 by yaxha

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the TV version - but not by much
As a terminal Big brother addict I have to say BB4 was the worst of all. The series reached its peak with BB3, Alex Jade and Jonny made for almost compulsive viewing. There was genuine sexual chemistry, personality clashes and Jade..well, just being Jade.
However, where BB3 worked BB4 falls over. The DVD's best points are Cameron in Africa, and brief shots of drunken...
Published on 6 Nov 2003 by OISÍN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the TV version - but not by much, 6 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As a terminal Big brother addict I have to say BB4 was the worst of all. The series reached its peak with BB3, Alex Jade and Jonny made for almost compulsive viewing. There was genuine sexual chemistry, personality clashes and Jade..well, just being Jade.
However, where BB3 worked BB4 falls over. The DVD's best points are Cameron in Africa, and brief shots of drunken exploits with Steph going full frontal (is that a plus or a minus?)...and when BB brings Lisa in - hoping the usual formula of conflict/sex equals viewing figures - it failed because no one in the house or in the viewing public could relate to her rather disturbed persona.
If Anouska had remained in the house from the outset - and Steph had been voted out earlier, it could have been a far more entertaining show.
Unfortunately even the 'promised' clips of Anouska in Australia's are very brief indeed and not of much interest.
The rating of this DVD is 15, unlike all the other BB DVDs which were marketed as 'Uncensored 18 only' - this is possibly due to BB trying to maximise profits for its least successful offering yet, by selling to a broader more impressionable audience.
If you are a big fan - buy it, just for the novelty factor. If you want to see BB at its best, then buy BB2 and BB3 which are far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS BIG BROTHER AT ITS BEST!!!, 20 Sep 2005
Hello,this was the first series of the American Big Brother ive seen and i quickly became addicted!i believe it is far more entertaining than the british version and there are huge differences between the us and uk series.Like in the us version; The public are not involved,the houseguests must play against each other and do whatever they can to remain in the house whether it is manipulating bitching or backstabbing somebody.there is a jury of seven people who decide the winner. There is also more bad language and bitching in the us series.At the beginning of the series,host Julie Chen informed the houseguests that 5 of them will be joined by their ex-boyfriend or girlfriend.This was an amazing twist in my opinion and watching the houseguests' shocked reaction is hilarious.the 13 houseguests include; David Nathan Dana Jack Robert Jun Michelle Jee Scott Justin Jun Amanda Erika and my favorite,Alison.Alison[or Ali to some] was very manipulative but she made this game very interesting. There are 2 discs to this fabolous dvd,the entire game is included on disc 1 including commentry from various houseguests.on disc 2 there are interviews and hilarious uncensored conversations including the outragous "Girls Sex Talk" "Boys Talk" and "Drinking Game". if you,like i,find Big Brother UK boring and predictable and you'd like to watch a series from another country then i highly recommend you watch Big Brother 4 X Factor...they do not sit around and chat all day,they must compete in very challenging mental and physical competitions.The winner of each weekly competition is called the HOH[Head Of Household].The HOH enjoys their own bedroom for an entire week and has to nominate 2 people for eviction.The houseguests must cast their vote to evict a houseguest in the diary room.Also,there is a competition known as the "Veto Competition".The winner receives the Veto which means that person has the power to take themselves or another houseguest off the chopping block.They get to upset the nominations and no matter what the Veto holder cannot be put up for eviction by the HOH.For Example Dana wins the 3rd HOH competition.She betrays her own alliance [the elete 8] and joins the exes and knows taht Jun has her back.Dana nominated Jack and Alison for eviction.It was certain that Alison was going home however Alisons' closest alley in her alliance,Nathan won the Power Of Veto and decided to take Ali off the chopping block.This was really interesting to watch as it pissed off a lot of the houseguests particularly fiesty Dana . To sum this up,this series is full of great competitions,funny interesting and crazy people,and the different twists and turns of the game will have you on the edge of your seat.You will not regret buying this,i can't wait to get Big Brother 5 and 6 Usa.Thank You;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did I miss it?, 14 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Just watched this DVD and there is no - diary room chair breaking, 'Oh the hilarity' from Federico, inventions/Star Wars etc from Jon, laminate racing, Steph cleaning diary room, Gaetano walking into the camera; not even the full Fed/Ray and Ray/Scott exchanges.
There is a bit about how difficult nominations are, but none of the class nominations Jon always gave. If you didn't like Jon then you'll probably like this DVD as many of his quality moments are not on the DVD including talking to camera and being 'controversial'.
NO HOTEL CALIFORNIA!!!!
It's mainly TnA - Fed, Steph. If you've already watched/recorded BBLB then you already have the better clips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just like the other one, it's nostalgia only., 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having had the orginal video back in 2003 I lost it somewhere down the line. I wanted some nostalgic moments as they don't make these uncut DVD's of Big Brother anymore so brought all 4. Big Brother 4 was classed as the most boring Big Brother in history, however this DVD passes the snoozes and shows the uncut moments and now I have watched it again the nostalgia trip is over so I will put it in the loft probably and wait another 10 years and remember 20 years ago what a brilliant programme Big Brother was and what shight there is on telly these days.
The one weird thing about this DVD is it's extras. Back in the day when DVD's first came out, the remote controls come with angle buttons, well on the extras section of this DVD is about 4 scenes where you can change the angles. My new Blu-Ray player remote control doesn't have an angle button so I had to search through all the buttons to find the angle button which I think in my case was the blue button.
In conclusion buy this for nostalgic purposes only and buy 2nd hand. No point in buying new it really isn't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Brother 4, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have given this product 5 stars because I purchased this DVD for my BB collection and am really happy with what I received. I cannot comment on the content of the DVD because it is still in its wrapper. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it helps if youv no knowledge of BB 4, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
yes it was that dull still for even a dreadfull BB as this was,it can still seem moderatly intresting if youd never watched it when the seprated bb4 episodes draged by.what went wrong the only girl with any spark anoushka was evicted in the first week.as for lisa well she was in her 30s yes she was catty but at lest she stired things up the brief time she was their.other then those 2 females the rest were forgettable.now for the guys only fed and ray made an impact.what about jon well the nerd that was tickle was an irritating bore i couldnt stand him.as for cameron he won BB and was a 32 year old virgin thats says it all about the class of 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BB, 21 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
however sad or uncool it is to be a bb fan i am one. i love it and watching all the best bits on this dvd is just a reminder of how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Neither quality nor quantity, 30 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two DVD's both with poor sound quality and below par picture quality.The first CD consists of condensed episodes and annoying split screen commentary and summary by the contestants.I had already seen the complete series 4 on TV so I know what's missing - Giant chunks !!. Disc two consists of six items one of which is billed a tour of New York with one of the contestants.This turns out to be no such thing.Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars if you want all of BB4 do NOT buy this, 9 Aug 2006
By 
While I love BB, this is not the entire season 4. So please, if you want all of season 4 then you better talk to the producers because it doesn't exist on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD For BB Fans!, 13 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is perfect for a BB Fan, the DVD extras are great including all of the Interviews,Application Videos. The main part of the DVD lasts over 1 hour 47 mins, some how it pretty much covers everything which happened in the house which was funny and entertaing, you won't be dissapointed. The DVD shows nude scene, which wasn't shown on TV. It worth havin the DVD just for Jons App tape and his interview, so any Jon fans out there you will love it! If you enjoyed BB this year or want something to remember it by go out and buy the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003]
Big Brother 4 [DVD] [2003] by Simon Hepworth (DVD - 2003)
£10.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews