Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class!
Teachers series one is revolutionary comedy genius! It follows the trials and tribulations of a group of teachers from a fictional Bristol comprehensive school. The acting is great, script is superb and the soundtrack is fantastic. This DVD is a must buy just for the eight hours of pure class!
Also watch out for the quirky ways the days of the week appear in each...
Published on 19 Aug 2003 by sberkieta

versus
3 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, poor DVD
Both disks (4 episodes on each) have a big fault: the "Subtitles On/Off" main menu option does not work, so the subtitles are permanently on!
Since this is a comedy show, it spoils the comic timing when lines keep appearing before a character has uttered them! The subtitles are large and distracting. Very disappointing.
Published on 9 Aug 2003 by F. SHAILES


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class!, 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Teachers series one is revolutionary comedy genius! It follows the trials and tribulations of a group of teachers from a fictional Bristol comprehensive school. The acting is great, script is superb and the soundtrack is fantastic. This DVD is a must buy just for the eight hours of pure class!
Also watch out for the quirky ways the days of the week appear in each episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure excellence, 11 Oct 2003
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Having only seen the 3rd series on Tele (how the hell did i miss the other 2 - must give myself a slap!), I fell in love with the characters on first sight even down to the fat bald kid. It is pure class, a classic of all time and deserves a better audience than 10 O'Clock on a Wednesday night. Please, I beg of you to make sure you tell all your friends about this program and they to tell their friends. For the first time in my life I'm in Love... More pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez Mr writer. (Note to CH4 - sod the swearing, you have an all time classic on your hands, don't let it go. Stop showing endless hours of Friends reruns - put Teachers on from Episode 1, PRIMETIME!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Really loved both series.
The show is very clever. well written. fantastically cast and acted, and beautifully shot. hope they bring the third out on DVD.
Thought the DVD extras bit was really funny. Kurt and Brian are obviously as funny in reall ife as they are on the show. We also get to see them hitting each other in the dressing room and all the cast laughing on set. It was a fantastic addition, as good as the actual series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy man, 2 Feb 2004
By 
E. Porter-daniels "Irenicas" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
What can be said that hasn't already been said about this astonishing series full of insane and intelligent jokes, especially appealing to those who work or study in such an environment? There is no parallel to the surreal and unnerving quality of Simon's imaginings, and Kurt, Brian, Susan, and the rest are just excellent supporting characters. The acting is excellent, the editing skillful, the directing superb, the writing witty, and the characters well developed.
What more could you want? Put bluntly, Teachers, especially this first series, is simply the very comedy-drama series you will ever watch. Breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite British comedy, 29 Jan 2004
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
There are not many shows which I would consider to be in my "favourites" list but two weeks after viewing my first "Teachers" episode I have rapidly fallen in love with the show.
Set in a fictional high school the series follows Simon (Andrew Lincoln) and his fellow teachers during their every day chores and problems. What first brought my attention to the show was Andrew Lincoln, after seeing his performance as Mark in "Love actually" I had to see more and "Teachers" was heavily recommended to me by a work colleague and I wasn't dissappointed. The writing is sharp and though some consider this to be a drama, it is foremost a comedy. The situations Simon and co. get themselves into are hilarious and the unusual camera angles and clever editing all add to the fun.
After seeing the first couple of episodes from season 2 I would say that so far season 1 is better. Though I've praised Andrew Lincoln so far the remaining cast can't be forgotten, they are all A+. In particular Racquel Cassidy (Susan) who is the long suffering best friend to Simon, Kurt and Brian.
Must see show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy With The Arab Strap, 30 Sep 2009
A randomly appearing donkey, vicious bullies in the background of scenes, letters being stolen from the school name sign regularly and the day of the week appearing in a novel way or place at the start of an episode are just a few of the highlights of Teachers. With the original cast, this is the best of all 4 series - in no small part due to Andrew Lincoln. His portrayal of Simon Casey, a quixotic English teacher with a penchant for surreal daydreams, is brilliant, and compliments Kurt and Brian's immature banter perfectly. The pub scenes after the teachers have had a day at school are a definite highlight of the show. This series is highly recommended for people who like teachers, donkeys and people smoking in toilets.

Plus the theme tune, and entire soundtrack actually, rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant., 24 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I was a big fan of this when it was on the telly anyway, but being able to watch this 'comedy and dramatic genius' of a programme whenever I please, is a big plus.
Everything about it works to near-perfection; the script, the acting, the characters, the plots, the music is brilliant too. It combines drama and comedy so there's never a danger of it getting to melodramatic or too silly. And for a comedy drama, it is surprisingly more realistic and meaningful than a lot of the so-called 'dramas' on telly today.
The only extra feature is an all-to brief interview with some of the cast, but with 8 hours of quality programming as the main feature, you won't really mind.
If you're a fan of funny but slightly gritty British TV-buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, Great Characters, Great Show!, 12 Aug 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
In a world of increasing reality TV shows, good scripted shows are becoming thin on the ground. So, when a show like Teachers comes along you remember how good TV dramas can be. Because it's not only a drama, it's hilarious! The characters are likeable, the stories are realistic and it portrays teachers are real people with real lives and real problems.
I can't rave about the show enough. It's not a soap nor is it a sitcom. It's a brilliant, entertaining show that is worth every pound or dollar you spend on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teachers - Series 1, 13 Oct 2003
By 
Steve Nureldin (Lincoln, Lincolnshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Seriously wicked, well observed comedy. This series just highlights why British comedy is so much better than its American equivalent. The characters in this series are pretty extreme and almost caricature like in the case of the three amigos, Simon, Kurt and Brian but strangely it works. Coupled with the excellent soundtrack, this makes Teachers Series 1 a must have for any lover of top British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars teachers series 1, 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
this has to be one of the best british made programs on our telly for many a year, thank god my teachers were not like that,if you haven't seen this program, dont delay you will be hooked in under 5 mins by the anarcic goings on of simon, susan brian & kirk, follow them as they have to give up valuable time in the pub to try and teach their pupils, once seen forever loved enjoy!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001]
Teachers: Series 1 [DVD] [2001] by Peter Lydon (DVD - 2003)
£12.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews