Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class
Having seen a superb performance by Roachford at the Jazz cafe this album did not fail to dissapoint. superb live, and with one live track on the album, Roachford is a true talent; singer song writer and muscian. It is a pleasure to listen to R'n'B that is sung with such emotion and not churned out as popular music under the heading of 'urban'.
Roachford learnt his...
Published on 10 Feb 2004

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disappointment
Having read the other reviews it spurred me on to take a chance on this latest offering. I am a fan of the pop r'n'b music, but this album is just full of fillers. Sure he has a great voice, but moving over to this style of music has done him no big favours. It's average all the way through with no oustanding track(s), whilst other reviewers see this is as a positive...
Published on 12 Aug 2004 by R. A. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class, 10 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
Having seen a superb performance by Roachford at the Jazz cafe this album did not fail to dissapoint. superb live, and with one live track on the album, Roachford is a true talent; singer song writer and muscian. It is a pleasure to listen to R'n'B that is sung with such emotion and not churned out as popular music under the heading of 'urban'.
Roachford learnt his trade from his uncle, a jazz muscian, and undoubtedly his playing and touring of clubs has developed him into a fully rounded performer.
There are no 'fillers' in this album and from the moment you press play you know that you don't want the album to end. This is far more soulful than the prior release, and greatest hits album "The Roachford files". If Roachford was American or found via some talent show this album would be hailed as one of the greatest R'n'b albums of present time; but he wasn't and it is this quality of self development and raw, unmanufactured talent that clearly sets him apart.
If you like R'n'B and soul then buy this album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart of the Matter: You Gott Have It!, 22 Jan 2004
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
As a fan who has followed Roachford since his very earliest days in the music business, I never ceased to be amazed by his uncanny ability to take his musical genius to levels beyond my wildest dreams! Each time I think that he has reached his musical peak, Roachford turns around to prove me wrong once again. Heart of the Matter, being no exception, exemplifies Roachford's unique ability to transcend all musical genres and make them uniquely his own. Each track is a distinctive master piece in its own right, envoking a range of emotions in a way that only Roachford can. Regardless of your musical tastes, Heart of the Matter is a "must-have" CD in any self-respecting music collector's archives. You simply can't go wrong. Sit back, sip on a glass of merlot, and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a summers day, 18 Aug 2003
By 
H. L. Shaw "hshaw21" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
There isnt a track in this really good CD that doesnt"do It" no filler what so ever .Some albums require a few listens to get into them but this just hits you .Shades of Stevie wonder and Bill withers which is no bad thing . I just hope a tour comes along with this album as he is terrific live .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful voice, 9 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. A. Wall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
& thank you for a new album! I believe that Roachford is probably the most underated talent on the UK R&B scene. This CD is a lot less rocky than his past offerings, the type of music you can open a bottle of wine to and just chill!
Personal favourites for me include Was it Love, Walk on & the Excellent Heart of the Matter, the title track.
I have to also add that all of Roachfords CDs do have fillers (sorry) and this one is no exception. Ordinary Life has excellent lyrics but is really bland to listen to - shame, like i say the lyrics are really good! Also, Heaven Is (Live) is vocally all over the place, with times when you think WOW, what a voice, and others where you slightly cringe. I remember a friend referring affectionately to Mariah Carey as 'that squawking bitch' and this track is the only one (It was live, I know) that brings that comment about Mariah to mind for me.
So why 5 stars? Quite simply, because the tracks that are good FAR surpass anything else that the pop bands of today churn out. Roachfords sweet soul voice is an absolute pleasure to listen to. If this is volume 1, I very much look forward to volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disappointment, 12 Aug 2004
By 
R. A. Smith "raysmith" (Sydney, AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
Having read the other reviews it spurred me on to take a chance on this latest offering. I am a fan of the pop r'n'b music, but this album is just full of fillers. Sure he has a great voice, but moving over to this style of music has done him no big favours. It's average all the way through with no oustanding track(s), whilst other reviewers see this is as a positive jump, I have to say get back into the upbeat guitar driven pop and I'll meet you there........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't find talent like this on TV Saturday evening's.!, 21 Nov 2003
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
Pop Idol's come and go, it takes years of hard work to be this good....
As someone who was first switched on to Roachford as a result of the eternally catchy 'Cuddly Toy', which seems to have been a blessing and curse in some senses. He's returned with an album after what seems like an eternity without new material (3 years excluding a 'best of'album), It seems a shame that peoples one memory is "ain't that the bloke who did Cuddly toy ages ago?". He truly is a massive talent and possibly the biggest oversight in UK soul music, no doubt another curse of Cuddly Toy with its guitar-y rock feel, which would have obscured his exposure to the wider soul loving audience.
Andrew Roachford's latest offering 'Heart of the Matter', to me, is possibly his finest effort to date, and I for one had no idea that the extend of his vocal and musical talents would bring forth an album that evokes so many references, without the feel of plagiarism. The likes of Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, Bill Withers and more modern tones like Craig David, Omar and Maxwell are all present but with their own personal stamp.
Anyone who is bored by the constant vocal athletics of some of today's soul singers will love the purity and strength of Andrew's voice, brilliantly illustrated on the wonderful ballad 'Heaven is', which even more striking when you realise this is a live version.
Buy it because it demonstrates we have a true talent in Andrew Roachford that eclipses anything being pumped up the charts with massive marketing budgets. Buy it because you're looking for an album to sit with the one you love and relax on the sofa and hear lyrics and music that mirror your feelings. And buy it if you're a fan of Roachford, you owe it yourselves to have his best album to date, if he continues on this vain. We'll be talking about his work in terms of the greats he's echoed on this album in his own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars File under lost talent, 4 April 2007
By 
A. J. brown "andycara" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Changing from Roachford to Andrew Roachford doesn't seem to radical a change, however the music on this CD is a departure from the 'adult rock' that I so liked Roachford for. However there is alot to like on Andrew Roachford's first solo album which see's him take a more soulful groove as if he's been doing it all his life. (I suspect he has)

Fans of Lyden David Hall will find lots to like on this CD as Roachford hold his own against the best of what the US can offer think D'Angelo and Maxwell wih less sugar and stronger vocals.

It is sad that such a strong British talent is so over looked by this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars andrew roachford, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) (Audio CD)
didnt think it was one of his best.have got most of his but.looking forward to purchasing the new one now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1)
Heart Of The Matter (Vol. 1) by Andrew Roachford (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews