Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating tale only partly told
It wasn't until I read the credits carefully that I realised the source of my "I've seen him before" reaction to the man playing Itard. Francois Truffaut! He also wrote and directed this version of (part) of the story of a teacher of the deaf who takes on the training of a 12 year old boy without language found running wild in the French forest shortly after the French...
Published on 20 Sep 2005 by a reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wild Child
Promising start to this film, the storyline was inviting but the plot eventually let it down badly. The story is of a young boy reared by the apes and rescued by a Frenchman with the hope of re introducing to a normal life. The film is actually not bad as we follow the sometimes amusing task ahead of the Frenchman, the boy then runs back to the jungle, returns and the...
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating tale only partly told, 20 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
It wasn't until I read the credits carefully that I realised the source of my "I've seen him before" reaction to the man playing Itard. Francois Truffaut! He also wrote and directed this version of (part) of the story of a teacher of the deaf who takes on the training of a 12 year old boy without language found running wild in the French forest shortly after the French revolution.
In many ways this is a masterful and detailed account, based on Itard's own account, of his attempts to "civilise" 'Victor', at a time when debate raged, as it does still, about 'nature v nurture'. But it stops well before Victor's life played out to the age of 40, as a long-term inmate of an institution (he was almost certainly severely autistic - probably the reason he was abandoned - and thus his potential was always going to be limited), still devotedly cared for by Mme Guerin, who had been employed by Itard as housekeeper.
Itard gave up his quest to prove that the right (and it was extraordinarily well-thought-out, using many techniques still used today) education could do anything, after six years with Victor yielded only patchy results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autism, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Black and white depiction undertaken with some brutal honesty of the discovery of a feral boy found in a French forest and the subsequent desire to "tame" him and show him how to operate socially. The brutal methods are excruciating in their psychological ferocity and were undertaken in this behaviourist attack upon individual integrity until very recently.

The boy who would be classified as being somewhere on the autistic spectrum is played with a vivid reality by the young actor. Captured in the woods as a wild animal he is paraded as a freak before French Society until the uniqueness wears off and then he is just left to the bullies to be beaten. Bewildered and shattered he adapts to his milieu. A Doctor and his housekeeper Mme Guerin are tasked to look after him. The Dcctor is asked to make him human and he conducts a number of behaviourist attributes to bring him into the present. However it is Mme Guerin who shows him kindness which has the biggest impact.

The film is about the boys "progression" which is never in the linear sense as it says as much about the world we have constructed as his deficit. representing the mode of the untamed man he is brought into the world of manners and socialised into its etiquette. The film says as much about how these manners have formed and what type of people we have become in the process. But then you would need to step outside of the autism induced within the civilised world to comprehend what he was entering, the world before the Revolution, was not an ideal.

As far as psychology goes, this is one eye opening film, as it details that many of modern preoccupations around "wellness" were being thought about and acted upon in the late 1700's and the forms of interaction have been carried forward today and the same issues abound. Therefore for anyone involved in "special needs" teaching this film will be a revelation. As for the modern discussion of autism being "genetic," I would pay very careful attention to what is being said within this film and be prepared to have the modern script torn up into pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WILD THING, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
The DVD is fantastic, great film, great entertainment, worth staying in for. would certainly recommend to those people out there. compulsive viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Wild Child, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Promising start to this film, the storyline was inviting but the plot eventually let it down badly. The story is of a young boy reared by the apes and rescued by a Frenchman with the hope of re introducing to a normal life. The film is actually not bad as we follow the sometimes amusing task ahead of the Frenchman, the boy then runs back to the jungle, returns and the film just ends. I wouldn't bother spending any money on this film, its just not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L'Enfant Sauvage, 19 Oct 2005
By 
Roger Hall (Betchworth, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Skill of Truffaut is to persuade you that artifice is documentary. As much as one admire's the film-making intelligence, one is moved by the story. Movie storytelling at its most skillful and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast Of Humanity, 8 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
The film is excellent. There is no point in my repeating what other reviewers have said. This film is a triumph of cinema because it tell of the triumph of the Enlightenment.

The acting, with the exception of Truffaut is excellent. But even then Truffaut's woodeness is convincing.

I don't think that this story could be told with the same measure of humanity, today. in today's climate the only ending would be to send Victor back to the wilds.

What is amazing about Truffaut is how he got the best out of his cast, but also how he did that with children (5000= Blows, for example). But In L'enfant savauge, Jean Pierre Gargol is incredible.

This film should be shown to all the doom-mongers and misanthropes, whose voices hold sway these days. This film show what it is to be human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Interesting story, but the ending is not clear. What happened with the boy? Could he be adopted to the contemporary life of the 18th century? DVD needs to be supported with some supportive documentary material (e.g. pictures, more info about the doctor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wild child dvd, 26 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I was rather disappointed with this as I was expecting a complete story.
It mostly Dragged on over the same thing trying to educate and civilise the boy.
I assume over a 2-6 year period in his life?
The End!
No explanation of whatever happened to him?
Not unless there is a second part to the story?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wild Child [DVD] [1970]
The Wild Child [DVD] [1970] by François Truffaut (DVD - 2003)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews