Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the UK version it's unedited
I live in the USA but chose to purchase the UK version because of wrongfully editing of these classic cartoons.
When you see the staggering amount of offensive cartoons made today, one has to wonder why Disney would edit a cigarette from the mouth of a cowboy (Pecos Bill).
Thank goodness the UK version remains unedited (I grew up watching these as a kid...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Honest reviews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the COLLECTOR
This 'movie' together with Saludos Amigos and The Three Caballeros is a must have for a Disney collector. Though when your looking for a fun kids movie, these are no longer the movies you'd show the little ones.
There are much better movies for the kids, like Brave, Up!, The Little Mermaid or Aladdin.
Published 23 months ago by Jean-Paul Super


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the UK version it's unedited, 19 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
I live in the USA but chose to purchase the UK version because of wrongfully editing of these classic cartoons.
When you see the staggering amount of offensive cartoons made today, one has to wonder why Disney would edit a cigarette from the mouth of a cowboy (Pecos Bill).
Thank goodness the UK version remains unedited (I grew up watching these as a kid unedited, what would old Walt say today?)
Uk version includes the same 3 bonus cartoons, Donald applecore, Lambert the sheepish lion & Casey bats again (would have been nice if they would've included Casey at bat).
Me and my 4 year old nephew thoroughly enjoyed watching these cartoons (and no he wasn't asking for a cigarette afterwards Ha,ha :}
My hope is that if enough people complain about editing classic cartoons like these, that Disney will realize that the majority of people don't take offensive today just as they didn't back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make your voice heard and choose this unedited version!, 10 April 2012
By 
David Galvan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This is a lovely film and I'm happy it is available so I can show it to my young children as they grow up. I have fond memories of watching many of these shorts when I was a child, so having this DVD is a benefit both for my kids and for myself. The quality of music and animation that Walt Disney put into his feature films and shorts 60 years ago is very rarely seen in the animation of today. Pecos Bill and the Bumble Bee Boogie are personal favorites. It is nice to get Lambert the Sheepish Lion and Casey Bats Again as bonuses!

My only complaints are for the edited Region 1 U.S. version. The version shown on this page is the Region 2 U.K. version and is UNEDITED! THIS IS THE ONE TO BUY!

I encourage people to buy this, the Region 2 version of this film, instead of the Region 1 U.S. version. It will send a message to Disney that its customers prefer their classic animation unedited and uncensored.

Like others here, I live in the U.S. but I purchased this region 2 version of Melody Time because it was unedited. I don't understand what kind of warped logic the content managers at Disney were using when they decided it was unacceptable to show Pecos Bill with a cigarette in his mouth. I suppose it had something to do with not wanting young kids to want to smoke just like their hero Pecos Bill did, but then I wonder why they thought that was unacceptable for U.S. children, and yet acceptable for U.K. children?

Just editing out the cigarette digitally would have been an annoyance, but to completely remove an entire verse from the central song of that story (the scene where Bill lasso's a tornado and uses a lightning bolt to light a cigarette), is going too far. It makes that song 1/6 shorter! Not to mention that these individual Disney shorts, and the entire Melody Time film taken together, represent a piece of classic animation art that is over 60 years old. It's up to parents to decide what they show their kids and to explain that some beliefs and habits have changed over time. (Frankly I'm surprised that Disney censored the cigarette, yet left untouched a segment about Pecos Bill shooting up Native Americans.) But in my opinion the art itself should be made available in as close to its original form as possible. We buy these for the nostalgia and because we are interested enough in Disney art that we want to see it as it was when it released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Vintage and UNEXPURGATED Disney, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
There's a soft spot in my heart for these old Disney anthologies. They are loaded with vintage charm -- which is sometimes quite amusing because of the conventions of the time -- and the Disney quality is always there, even in quieter or less eventful sequences.

I live in the U.S. but I purchased the U.K. (Region 2) MELODY TIME because the purist in me insists upon enjoying Pecos Bill lighting and sucking on his cigarettes in high style. This was surgically and digitally altered on the U.S. release (as was a similar moment in SALUDOS AMIGOS).

It isn't always possible to acquire such "uncensored" Disney in a good commercial-quality release. For those of us so inclined, this is one to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic disney animation, 12 Dec 2003
By A Customer
this film from 1947 is not as well known as most other disney animated films. It was being produced as the second world war was coming to as close and because most of disney's profits were low due to audiences in europe being cut off and money being trapped in other countries disney didn't have the money to create the masterpieces such as Fantasia, Snow White or pinocchio which had gone before it. however the film is still enjoyable the seven segments are all set to popular music (well it was popular back in 1947) and features acts such as the andrews sitsters. The film shows that although disney didn't have a lot of money they could still entertain. Another reason why this dvd is so good is that it is completey unedited. In recent years many films from the 40's and 50's have been edited due to politically incorrect stereotypes or antisocial behaiviour. Now i know that these things are unacceptable in today's worls but back then it was common place and i do not believe classic pieces of history should be tampered with and thta is why i am so happy that this dvd is in full because the verion of melody time released in the united states has parts cut out. with fantastic animation this film deserves to be recognised along with all the other disney animated classics. some children may find it slightly uninteresting because of the fact the majority of the movie is aniamtion set to music (much like fanatasia) and get the most out of it an interest in animation is needed, but even if your not an animation expert it is still enjoyable and if you were a child or an adolescent during the late forties it is a perfwect trip down memory lane to hear some of the singers and bands from that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic animation, 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
this film from 1947 is not as well known as most other disney animated films. It was being produced as the second world war was coming to as close and because most of disney's profits were low due to audiences in europe being cut off and money being trapped in other countries disney didn't have the money to create the masterpieces such as Fantasia, Snow White or pinocchio which had gone before it. however the film is still enjoyable the seven segments are all set to popular music (well it was popular back in 1947) and features acts such as the andrews sitsters. The film shows that although disney didn't have a lot of money they could still entertain. Another reason why this dvd is so good is that it is completey unedited. In recent years many films from the 40's and 50's have been edited due to politically incorrect stereotypes or antisocial behaiviour. Now i know that these things are unacceptable in today's worls but back then it was common place and i do not believe classic pieces of history should be tampered with and thta is why i am so happy that this dvd is in full because the verion of melody time released in the united states has parts cut out. with fantastic animation this film deserves to be recognised along with all the other disney animated classics. some children may find it slightly uninteresting because of the fact the majority of the movie is aniamtion set to music (much like fanatasia) and get the most out of it an interest in animation is needed, but even if your not an animation expert it is still enjoyable and if you were a child or an adolescent during the late forties it is a perfwect trip down memory lane to hear some of the singers and bands from that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's good to have this film in its original version, 27 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
It's good to have this film in its original version, with no digitally censored cigarrettes. Disc label could be more interesting than a grey disc with the title and technical information on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
As a boy of eight and staying in New York in 1947 or maybe 1948 my first exposure to the movies included watching the selection of animated films now on this disc. I was enraptured then, and ordered the DVD for nostalgia reasons. Wonderful return to childhood and a great choice to sit and enjoy with your children or grand children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relief, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
It is the full movie; not hacked up to be political correct.(Region 1 version)
Well worth a multi-ireagon DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney classic, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This is one of the best of the Disney 40's releases and like the others comes with extra cartoon shorts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unedited version excellent, 26 Jan 2014
By 
S. Knape "gothic fan" (Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melody Time [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
It is a relief to see that the U.K. hasn't gone silly over constantly having to be politically correct like the crazy people in the U.S. who had to edit these pieces. I love being able to identify with the history behind the folklore. Brought back great memories of watching them with my family when I was a child in the late '60's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melody Time [DVD] [1951]
Melody Time [DVD] [1951] by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2003)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews