Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears before bedtime
My wife got this for her Christmas present and tonight decided this was the film to watch. As a guy I am a wreck!! I cry at even the slightest poignant moment in a film (I would have cried at the cinema in Gremlins during the story of Phoebe Cates dad up the chimney as Santa Claus, had not someone else in the cinema screamed with laughter at the payoff line!!) My wife is...
Published on 14 Jan. 2009 by Phil Smith

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forever Friends.
Two young girls meet whilst on holiday in Atlantic city. Tho both of them are from vastly different backgrounds they strike up a friendship that will literally last a lifetime.

Directed by Gary Marshall, Beaches is adapted by Mary Agnes Donoghue from Iris Rainer Dart's novel, and stars Bette Midler & Barbara Hershey as the two female protagonists taking on the...
Published on 12 Mar. 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears before bedtime, 14 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
My wife got this for her Christmas present and tonight decided this was the film to watch. As a guy I am a wreck!! I cry at even the slightest poignant moment in a film (I would have cried at the cinema in Gremlins during the story of Phoebe Cates dad up the chimney as Santa Claus, had not someone else in the cinema screamed with laughter at the payoff line!!) My wife is made of sterner stuff and doesn't show her emotions like me, although I know she does feel them! However this classic film made her actually cry and this to me means that it just must be such a great movie and truly deserving of five stars, and all the accolades it has had heaped upon it since it's release.

Friendships have never been portrayed as simply but clearly in any other film I have seen and it proves that true friends are there for you no matter how things have been in the past between you. Bette Midler is a tour de force in this and is fantastic throughout. Barbara Hershey is much more subdued in her role (but who could be so in your face against Bette?) but has the conviction the part needs. The story jumps in time, which was a little confusing as there was no marker to say so, but I got the gist of the jumps and the story didn't suffer because of them.

If you ever need to sit down and curl up with a film all but guaranteed to make you cry then get this and I promise you won't be disappointed. Happy, sad, joy, pain, laughter and tears they are all here and will take your breath away. It is a shame they don't seem to make movies like this anymore, something the 80's definitely gave us as a legacy worth keeping alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Wrenching, 15 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Its said that a successful film is one which makes the audience care about the characters. By heck Beaches does it with room to spare.
I first saw this film when i was about 8 years old, 12 years ago, now there's a thought! With maturity and greater understanding i now appreciate Beaches more. As can be taken from the other reviews the film centers around two childhood friends who grow up together as penpals and when they need each other in adult life not even continents could keep them apart. The relationship between the two is so well developed and this is what makes the ending so unbearably sad and tear jerking. And what review would be complete without the fantastic song Wind Beneath my Wings getting a mention, perfectly placed within the film and by itself a good enough reason to buy the Beaches soundtrack.
Its a tale of a friendship that many should aspire to achieve and its message of being there for one another from good times and bad, is one that can appeal to everyone.
Thoroughly enjoyable and recommended to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie......ever........, 30 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Beaches [VHS] [1989] (VHS Tape)
What can i say? its the best! my all time favourite! i first watched this film when i was about 7 and have loved it ever since! i'm now 14! ive watched it about 30 times, and now obviously i have my own copy that i will treasurre forever!
this is how it goes...2 young girls met on a beach, C.C. Bloom adn Hillary Whitney. you have C.C; a loud mouthed and brassy girl and Hillary; quite quiet and classy. From totally different backgrounds, they stood by each other through thick and thin, although they did have their moments, but kissed and made up 5 minutes later! they faced their toughest challenge yet as best friends for 30 years, watch the film yourself to see what that challenge is, the songs are the best and superb, the acting is exquisite! bravo!! the story is unique in it's own special way! its weepy at times and funny in others! this is one friendship you'll never forget and let C.C and Hillary be an example to others; they always stood by each other even if they thought the other one was doing wrong. they had a friendship that lasted 30 years reality...eternity in their hearts. this deserves 5 thumbs up and five gold stars *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cant beat it, 26 Sept. 2004
By 
Louis "Tank" (MANCHESTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This film will break your heart an make you a babbling mess on the floor. This will make you cry, its just so good. You totally believe it all, the acting is superb and its just a great film. Its tells the story of two girls from different backgrounds, and there struggle to grow up and make something of themselves. With a tearful twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forever Friends., 12 Mar. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Two young girls meet whilst on holiday in Atlantic city. Tho both of them are from vastly different backgrounds they strike up a friendship that will literally last a lifetime.

Directed by Gary Marshall, Beaches is adapted by Mary Agnes Donoghue from Iris Rainer Dart's novel, and stars Bette Midler & Barbara Hershey as the two female protagonists taking on the trials and tribulations of life and friendship. Unashamedly a hankie dampener first and foremost, Beaches is ever watchable in spite of its over sentimental structure and reliance on clichés at every turn. Tho it at times feels like an excuse for Midler to flex her lungs, her character thankfully calls for her to show some range. Which she duly delivers thru a number of emotional crises' and a battle against her own innate selfishness. Hershey is perfect foil, a touch classy, fashionable and truly heartfelt as the finale draws in like some dark party pooper. The guys in the girls loves come an go, and by and large they are stereotypically drawn. Each one serving only to bring the girls closer together. While the ending itself, backed up by the wonderful Midler rendition of "Wind Beneath My Wings," is nicely handled and has an air of dignity about it.

It's another film in the long line of film's made to tug the heartstrings. Specifically in this case, those belonging to the ladies. So with that, as a guy myself, I felt a touch alienated by the movies approach work. But be that as it may, there's no denying the impact the piece can have if one is prepared to commit emotionally to it. At times funny, and even breezy for a large portion of its running time, Beaches lives or dies by its final quarter. With that, it's a winner that ultimately has achieved all it set out to do. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the glory of "Beaches", 8 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Beaches [VHS] [1989] (VHS Tape)
Beaches is an emotional ride through the lives of two bestfriends--brassy CC Bloom and uptight Hilary Whitney. The film looks back over 30 years of friendship through the 60s, 70s and 80s. It's the ideal film for a girlies' night in with its tears, laughter and songs--what more could you ask for? If you're a fan of Bette and enjoy weeping uncontrollably, "For the Boys" is another drama spanning decades, which has all the same successful ingredients as "Beaches".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tear jerker with a lovely message, 11 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This is a beautiful film. About friendship and loss.Bette Midler is superb. The music is beautiful and you are guaranteed a good cry.Its a tale of two young girls from different backgrounds meeting and becoming friends. How the course of their friendship runs as they find husbands lead different lives and loose touch. But their love for each other never ends. The end will make you cry.Its funny and entertaining and sad all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beaches - the ultimate weepie!, 29 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beaches [1998] [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is film is based around the friendship of 2 girls; rich girl Hilary Witney and wannabe singer CC Bloom. They meet by chance on a boardwalk one day and from then onwards, they remain friends throughout their lives as they make their both very different life choices. This film has a simple story but the dramatic ending will have you reaching for the tissues! 5 out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic girly film!, 25 April 2007
By 
S. Dodd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Boys don't get this film, it's definitely a chick flick! Most girls can relate to this best friend relationship portrayed in the film, that's why it is so watchable.

This is a great film to watch with a bunch of your friends ... however be prepared to cry, I've watched this film a million times and still get weepy at the end.

A definite must have for your DVD collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a true,one of that rare classics!!!, 18 April 2008
This review is from: Beaches [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Cheesy for some.Others even narrowed this film that only women of all ages
love this and the "so-called" film critics said that this film is too sappy,weak,yada yak yak.
I am the most cynical ever when it comes to films but this is definitely one of the best ever film and for me, it belong in its own place as the film really has this flashbacks....ahhh,who cares? Those who haven't watch
this yet...get this fast!!! I am a boy when I saw this and now I'm a man but I still love this film. *sigh* Don't you wish you had a friendship as
close and as powerful as this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beaches [DVD] [1989]
Beaches [DVD] [1989] by Garry Marshall (DVD - 2003)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews