Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, well worth the money
Great product, well made, high quality. Highly recommend this for use with LEE filters. I use this on my canon EFS 10-22mm with the wide angle ring and there is simply no vinyetting.
Published on 24 April 2011 by Ian Waller

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, would not buy again.
I was quite exited to receive the holder and filters (separate) due to so good reviews, but once opened and reviewed I can easily say: not as good as sounded to be.

Feels cheap, a bit, well, definitely not a something that is worth 100 quid. In fact, the adapter ring seemed to be much better quality than the holder, which is:

- "plastisch & feeling...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Brutal De Luxe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply awesome, well worth the money, 24 April 2011
By 
Ian Waller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Great product, well made, high quality. Highly recommend this for use with LEE filters. I use this on my canon EFS 10-22mm with the wide angle ring and there is simply no vinyetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential holder for high end filters, 10 Aug 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
The Lee Filter Holder is a three filter holder for the Lee system, and is foundational to using it. Lee make very high end photographic filters for professionals, and the boutique, premium filters which can be obtained from specialist manufacturers are generally designed to fit the Lee standard. In order to use this, you also need the relevant adaptor for your lens thread.

On the surface of it, this is one of the most unexciting pieces of kit you can add to your camera and you may baulk at the expense of adding something so plain. However, once you actually start using Lee equipment, the advantages over the Cokin Pro system immediately become visible. The filters are substantially better optical quality, are generally glass rather than plastic (though this means you have to take much more care of them), the range of additional accessories is better, including a true bellows hood, you can mount two of these foundation holders and therefore have filters at different angles, and, most importantly, the filters are much bigger.

I used Cokin Pro for about ten years. When I started using pro lenses, like the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens I immediately found that Cokin Pro was too small and caused vignetting, even on an Nikon 80-200Mm F2.8Ed Af Zoom Nikkor D, where you would expect there to be no problems. I thought long and hard before moving to Lee -- everything in the Lee series is much more expensive. However, in these days of Photoshop, you only need a handful of filters to do everything you need.

If you use pro lenses, then you need this foundation holder if you want to buy into the Lee system. If you are using smaller lenses, like the kit lenses that come with most cameras with a screw thread of around 55-60mm, then Cokin Pro will be just fine, and will be vastly cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of kit, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Well designed and well built piece of kit. The only note I'd make is that you have to open the brass lock, seen at 4pm in the picture, by pulling it out away from the ring, to get the holder onto the camera. Yet, to take the holder off the camera, you simlpy tug it off. Why have a lock to make it difficult to get on?
Nevertheless it's otherwise well designed and robust and my favourite piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lee Holder, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Brilliant holder. Lee makes quality kit and it shows with this holder. I have had Cokin holders in the past but this is a much better system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best choice for Filter Holders, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Had to make a choice between Lee and Hitech, Lee won on price and overall quality but will continue to use filters from Hitech
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foundation Lee kit, 20 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Supersede delivery and excellent product. This product does not leave vignetting on my eos 5 mark II on 24mm lens, excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, would not buy again., 9 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
I was quite exited to receive the holder and filters (separate) due to so good reviews, but once opened and reviewed I can easily say: not as good as sounded to be.

Feels cheap, a bit, well, definitely not a something that is worth 100 quid. In fact, the adapter ring seemed to be much better quality than the holder, which is:

- "plastisch & feeling cheap"; I had to get rid of some plastic "scuffs" using fingers, looked like not cleaned from factory outlet
- the holder, for this price, could be more "solid" and have definitely smoother finish, it looks much better on pictures than after unpackaing
- one side of plastic holder looks like having "melted in" some metallic dust (maybe its decoration)

In general: few grams of plastic, clumsy finished - not worth the money. If it was dur-aluminium based mount (like adaptor???) it would be different story.

Good news, it works, you can mount your filters (these are much better quality than holder) and use them nicely. The button "locking" on ring, isn't in fact locking anything, its metallic and looks sharp (so it will leave marks on adaptor quite quick, guaranteed - I hope that in future it wont take off any metal dust of the ring that can get into lens). The button isn't this shiny as on pictures - believe me, looks more like "unfinished coating", later I'll add some real pictures.

The thing I like about this kit is that you can manage amounts of "blades" (these are not blades in reality, just small pieces of plastic, if you have good hands you can do these yourself having some PCV).

Summary:

You may be better with cokin pro instead of this kit, If you have no super wide angle lens like Tokina 11-16 or any lens that get vinageting after adding extra filter YOU SHOULD NOT buy this, simply buy cokin P series, its 6 times cheaper and same plastic quality, and remember; cokin P series filters are 12 times (yes, dozen times!) cheaper! - Not even mentioning polarisers cost from LEE.

I give three stars as it is "fine" holder and good adapter, but overpriced - seriously overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, 17 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. S. M. Walker "Stuart Walker" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
I found the foundation holder kit to be of a very high quality. Delivery was prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Alex Breugelmans "Alex Breugelmans" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Since I've bought the Big Stopper, this kit is a first step to get it on my lenses ... It was dispatched very quickly, so I was able to take pictures after a few days already! Thanks for the service, nice mint flavour ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Kit, 21 July 2010
By 
R. Stevens (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit (Electronics)
Just got the Lee kit to replace my aging Cokin Kit and what a difference. Not cheap, but a precision photo acessory never is.

Only problem was getting a Lee ND 0.6 Soft Grad - not one in the country at the moment and 1000's on back order. Had to source one from Ireland at the huge cost of 90 euros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lee Filter Holder Foundation Kit
62.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews