Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drool Factor 5,000,000,000,000
If you are a fan of The Evil Dead, horror, splatter movies, gore, black comedy or have a strong stomach and don't have this, get it now!
This presents the Evil Dead trilogy with oodles of extra goodies on 4 discs for a great price and the 4th disc also features an additional unformatted version of the original movie in 4:3 format (as it was originally released 20...
Published on 10 Aug 2003 by Hedgewitch King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars dead and buried
way back in the 80s this was one of the top films around asspecial effect where just starting to gget better,in the first film 4boys and 2 girls go to stay in a cabin deep in the hills and wwoodland only to find a tape chanting for evil sprits to come ,which they do,...a good film
in film 2 which up till now I did not know was made the last male is still in the...
Published 15 days ago by davidhattermann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drool Factor 5,000,000,000,000, 10 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of The Evil Dead, horror, splatter movies, gore, black comedy or have a strong stomach and don't have this, get it now!
This presents the Evil Dead trilogy with oodles of extra goodies on 4 discs for a great price and the 4th disc also features an additional unformatted version of the original movie in 4:3 format (as it was originally released 20 years ago).
Many of the features are interesting to see, but repeat early individual releases of the movies (particularly the Book of the Dead and Bootleg Director's Cut releases) but this is the Evil Dead Trilogy and it is limited edition! So getting it is still a must! The 4th disc contains loads of features, including tv shows and shorts on the movie series and a music video (which is hilarious) that was made as a homage to the trilogy.
A must have, get it now or regret it later, this is the ultimate Evil Dead release! 20 stars (shame they only allow for 5)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Good DVD Boxset!!, 3 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Ok first things first this is a must buy for any cult horror fan because this is a landmark in horror.
The Evil Dead - My favourite of course, because it is a brilliant low budget film, and to think Sam Raimi was just a student film maker is amazing, because the directing is superb, the effects are realistic for the time and even by todays standards, and it also has the black humour element and many things are over the top including the gore. This film may shock people because it is graphic but to a hardcore film buff it is a must. 10/10
Evil Dead 2:Dead By Dawn - Another classic, this is the first evil dead film i saw, and it blew me away.Taking a more comical feel to it, the film still mantains the horror,suspense and most apparently the gore! Bruce Campbell is brilliant as always and you can see his acting has been improved since the first film. The best parts of the film is when Ash is on his own, especially the infamous hand sequence. Another classic. 10/10
Army Of Darkness - Ok, i gotta admit, i think this one lets down the trilogy alot. It has its moments don't get me wrong, but i feel Evil Dead works better on a shoestring budget with little people in it. Also i feel the character Ash (played by Bruce Campbell again) has suddenly got really really cocky. And goes round with a stupidly big ego in the flick. Although it does produce some great one-liners i think that it gets annoying and doesn't match his behaviour before.Also, the gore factor has been turned down for laughs, and sometimes the jokes are too immature for my liking. But overall it is good, just not in the league of the others. 8/10
EXTRAS - Fantastic on all discs. The commentary is really intreseting and documentaries and other extras are there to keep you occupied.Also the extra disc includes The orginal unmatted version of The Evil Dead, and in this version the colour seems darker and the blood looks better in it. My opinion. :)
If you don't own this, get it now, for the price it is a god dam steal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come get some ..., 31 July 2003
By 
N. Clay "noel_robert_clay" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
They come out at night. Their appearance is hideous as they scream out "JOIN US! JOIN US!", and the only way to stop their unearthly howling is through the act of bodily dismemberment. Yes, that's right -- whatever you do, beware of Evil Dead fans.
But then, as the old saying goes, if you can't beat them you might as well join them. This boxset boasts on the front cover that it is the "Definitive" collection, and that claim is entirely accurate. Whether or not you've been a fan from the start, this DVD trilogy will clue you in on the world of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead.
From the low budget charm of the first Evil Dead, through the slapstick gore of Evil Dead 2 finally arriving at the action-fest that is Army of Darkness. The Evil Dead's ability to change style throughout the different films is what keeps it so interesting.
The first disc containing the original Evil Dead serves almost as a crash course in how to get your own film made, as well as star Bruce Campbell's hilarious "Fanalyses" documentary which will familiarise you with exactly how insane the fans of Evil Dead and other films and TV shows can be. The second disc contains information on the making of Evil Dead 2 while there is a disappointing amount of visual content regarding Army Of Darkness, and even the video quality on the DVD itself I noticed is a little sketchy at times. However, the bonus in this collection is the fourth disc which contains even more content and documentaries regarding the trilogy which seem to be made by the fans for the fans.
I would definitely recommend this collection to both Evil Dead fans and Evil Dead fans-to-be, for the simple reason that there are very few more entertaining ways to spend an evening in with friends then to sit down and watch the Evil Dead trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best horror trilogy...EVER!, 10 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Scary. Terrifying. Hilarious. Blood-Curdling. Shocking. Greusome. Gory. Need I say more?
Without a doubt the Evil Dead trilogy is one of the best in the horror genre. This box set brings together the highlights of all the seperate DVDs into one easy to swallow package.
The commentaries on all films are extremely interesting, as are the numerous outtakes, deleted scenes, photo galleries and more on the 1st and 3rd disc. However, one thing which is a bit on the down side is the features on the 2nd disc, with only a trailer and "Making-Of" feature, but the excellent commentary with the star, director and producer makes up for the lack of other things.
The 4th disc has some great documentaries, none of which have been seen before and are a really good watch.
BUY THIS DVD. If your a horror fan, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest trilogies, 30 July 2005
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched Evil Dead the Uncut version in the age of the Video Nasties in the 1980s - once I finished watching that movie I was exhausted emotionaly, its a great movie with lots of stop motion effects towards the climax (Very scary even though its now showing its age - but its a classic) - I was surprised then when my friend also pulled out Evil Dead 2 the uncut version and stuck it into the VHS and we started watching that - It was amazing watching the movies back to back especially since I hadnt seen them before. They are very powerful films - Evil Dead 2 literally had every kind of special effect created for its time - Sam Raimi pulled out all the stops with that one and its still probably his finest film in terms of mainstream action, thrills and comedy. It also has a brilliant twist at the end - dont let anyone spoil it for you - Eat your heart out M.Night Shyalaman! Army of Darkness even though some people say is dissapointing is worth a watch because it is a great movie and pays tribute to classics such as 'Jason and the Argonaughts' - All three movies are different in the sense that the 1st is pure horror with humour, the 2nd is an action thriller with comedy and the 3rd is a fantasy comic book adventure. The star Bruce Campbell is an under-rated genius, without him these movies would have been on the average pile but he lifts them to another level with what has to be the funniest and most heroic performances in horror movies I have ever seen - He will be making a big cinematic come back when Evil Dead 4 and Bubba Nosferatu hit the cinemas in a few years time. The trilogy is worth buying because the films are great but with added features this DVD set is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the King, Baby, 19 Sep 2004
By 
Rob Brice (Looe, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
EVIL DEAD 4.5/5
You can sense the low-budgetness of it all, but it still stuns with a whole lot of dark humour and gory violence. Crappy acting, not very good script, but it is filmed so ambitiously and energetically that it can't fail to entertain.
EVIL DEAD 2 5/5
Genius. Still has the crappy acting from the first one, but Ash has become a million times cooler than he was before. Did I mention he has a chainsaw for a hand? A CHAINSAW FOR GOD'S SAKES! FOR A HAND? I ask you, who, other than Sam Raimi could think up something so weird and downright cool as that? I'll say it again, Genius.
ARMY OF DARKNESS 4/5
OK, so it lacks the violence of the other two, but it is still good. A different kind of slapstick humour but still funny. Gets a bit frantic towards the end, but has a whole lot of stuff to make you laugh eg: The graveyard fight, THIS...is my BOOMSTICK!, the supermarket fight in the theatrical version and more. Just suspend your belief and you'll see a great movie underneath.
All in all, 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "First you wanna kill me, now you wanna kiss me..... Blow.", 9 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
What can be said about this series that hasn't been said already? Well, not much. Except that now you can buy all three "Evil Dead" movies in one great set. And make no mistake about it, it is great.
The Evil Dead -
A group of teenagers on vacation from college decide to head up to an abandoned cabin in the woods to relax. But one of the party, Ash, accidently awakens dark, supernatural forces that inhabit the surrounding forest, and one by one the unwitting teenagers are picked off as the "Evil Dead" fulfil their hunger for human souls.
Evil Dead 2: Dead By Dawn -
In a much more slapstick remake of the original, Ash and his girlfriend, Linda, head up to the cabin in the woods for a break where, once again, Ash resurrects the "Evil Dead". After taking Linda's life and his right hand, Ash realises he must take a stand against the dark forces that surround him before they take him too.
Army Of Darkness -
In the straight sequel to "Dead By Dawn", Ash finds himself transported to medeval England. Soon after his arrival, he is hailed as the saviour of the people, and once again finds himself in battle with the "Evil Dead", while trying to find the only thing that will help him return home, the Necronomicon; The Book Of The Dead.
The extras are what make this set so great. Included is the original 4x3 unmatted version of "The Evil Dead" (as well as the slightly cropped widescreen version), a Bruce Campbell hosted documentary which was previously only avaliable on the "Book Of The Dead" edition of "The Evil Dead", and a set of fantastic, humorous and interesting commentaries.
My only gripe with this set is the exclusion of the U.S. theatrical version of "Army Of Darkness", which had the legendary S-Mart ending, as opposed to the Director's Cut ending included in this set. But that's a small criticism and shouldn't stop you from making a great purchase.
"Hail to the King, baby!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evil packed pretty well, 4 Oct 2003
By 
jakabu74 (Munich, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is a must-have for real fans of the horror-genre, especially if you are into nasty black humor, weird situations and don't mind some messy scenes with obvious artificial blood. Sam Raimi, creator and director of the increasingly comical „Evil Dead"(ED)-series has a strong affection for „Three Stooges"-like slapstick, which became more and more an element of the ED-style, pitching in the probably best known third part „Army of Darkness". The three movies are not so much a coherent series, ignoring laws of continuity and adapting the script for every new part, so each can be viewed without knowledge from the previous one.
THE EVIL DEAD, standing first in the series, is the scariest one. Very cruel and most tense, it sends two couples and a single woman to a remote hut in a forest, where they accidently summon the evil, which begins to take them over one by one. Though there's already tiny bits of very black humor lurking underneath horrifying scenes, this movie was banned from free-trade for some years because of two scenes. The compilation's fourth DVD contains the full-screen unmatted (1.33:1) version, now also available on single disc.
EVIL DEAD II (Dead by Dawn), my personal favorite, featuring Ash's stand-alone struggle against the evil. This part is still quite messy and cruel, but slapstick humor drips off every horror-sequence, taking you out of almost any shock with a weird laugh. Without the intense, comical acting of Bruce Campbell, his stunt- and face-acrobatics, this movie could never have become what it is. Some of the effects are really good (mirror-sequence, „maniac laughter") and the story concentrates more on the Necronomicon's nature.
ARMY OF DARKNESS is viewed very critical among ED-fans. Though it is very funny and features a lot of good punch-lines from Ash aka Bruce Campbell, the element of horror slipped almost completely out of it. The „Bad Ash", like all evil in this movie, is much too comical and as such unable to offer even one single shock to the real fan. There is lots of action, but no thrills at all. However - if you don't expect to view a horror-movie, you're in for some good laughs, nice effects and a good setting.
It's not only the oppotunity to lay your hands on all movies (including that umatted version) on DVD in one go, but the many features, like audio commentary, deleted scenes, making of FX, etc., for each movie, that should infest your mind with the evil thought to get a grip on this collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dead and buried, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
way back in the 80s this was one of the top films around asspecial effect where just starting to gget better,in the first film 4boys and 2 girls go to stay in a cabin deep in the hills and wwoodland only to find a tape chanting for evil sprits to come ,which they do,...a good film
in film 2 which up till now I did not know was made the last male is still in the cabin going crazy till a man and two women aarrive and the carnage begins again,again only he lives bought as the scientistdaughter lays dying saying the chanted words to return the evil from whence it came he is sucked into a wormhole
in the third its the 13th century England and he and is car land in front of knights this film goes from terminator to Jason and the Argonauts to absolute stupidity.
as I said the first one I recommend ,,only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Video Nasty - and it's groovy..., 31 July 2003
By 
This review is from: The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
It seems hard to believe that we're only now able to finally see The Evil Dead in its full, uncut state. When blacklisted by the Video Recordings Act of 1984, Sam Raimi's splatterfest was lumped in with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Driller Killer, I Spit On Your Grave...come on now people, The Evil Dead is not a danger to society (nor are any films for that matter, but that's another story.) Evil Dead is a ghost train, a campfire story, with added splurge and fluids. Sure, it's nasty, and certainly not to all tastes, but there's an undeniable sense of joy and energy in the film making, and a peverse sense of humour seeping up. So long as we can excuse the somewhat questionable 'tree rape'...
Evil Dead 2 could almost have been made to demonstrate to those that condemned the first film that they were kidding all along. One can hardly call it a sequel; it's the exact same set-up, played explicitly for laughs this time. And it's here, of course, that the legend we call Bruce Campbell came into his own: far from the nondescript victim of the original, this is an iconic turn par excellance, not to mention the finest physical comedy performance of our time (Carrey, Sandler and Myers be damned!). Up there with Mad Max 2 and The Bride Of Frankenstein as one of the few sequels to surpass its predecessor.
As for Army Of Darkness...well, it's a let down. Too much money, too little gore; torn between being another Evil Dead movie and being a Ray Harryhausen tribute, and ends up unsatisfactory in both capacities. Worst of all, Campbell turns down the charm considerably; here, Ash is smug, mean, thoroughly unsympathetic.
Will they ever do a fourth? I for one hope they don't bother; they've achieved enough. Yes, Army Of Darkness is disappointing, but not enough to keep this from being an essential addition to the collection of any self respecting horror movie geek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD]
The Evil Dead Trilogy [DVD] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2003)
48.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews