Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 56 Zombie
Zombie

Distributor: Blue Underground (US)

It actually doesn't matter which title you know this movie by, Zombie Flesh Eaters, Zombie, Zombi 2, Island of the Living Dead, Woodoo, the list is probably endless. The film however is instantly recognisable as the greatest Italian zombie classic ever put to celluloid and is widely regarded by many fans as...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Blu Review Obscura

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shuffling Dead Paint Our Screens
Zombie Flesh Eaters (ZFE) was the first of Lucio Fulci's assault on the walking dead splatter genre. It gained notoriety from its visions of extreme gore (most notably the shard of wood through the eyeball sequence), but is actually the weakest of Fulci's dead trilogy (the others being City of the Living Dead and The Beyond - the subsequent House by the Cemetary is...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by A M Jones


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 56 Zombie, 6 Mar 2012
Zombie

Distributor: Blue Underground (US)

It actually doesn't matter which title you know this movie by, Zombie Flesh Eaters, Zombie, Zombi 2, Island of the Living Dead, Woodoo, the list is probably endless. The film however is instantly recognisable as the greatest Italian zombie classic ever put to celluloid and is widely regarded by many fans as Lucio Fulci's finest hour.

So, what exactly is it that makes this film stand out from countless other releases which all flooded the market when Italian zombie movies were cool?

Filmed on location in the late seventies and starring then popular British actor Ian McCulloch of Terry Nation's post apocalyptic series Survivors, the film has a great deal to like. Scripting is tight and suspenseful providing a genuinely disturbing atmospheric setting which is further enhanced by the now classic soundtrack. What really sets this film apart however are the make up and special effects which have yet to be bettered in the zombie genre over 30 years later. Whether it's the army of decaying zombies slowly rising from the ancient cemetery, or the numerous sequences of outrageous violence and gore, the special effects have ultimately helped to keep this film at the top of most zombie collectors wants lists for over 3 decades.

Presented region free by Blue Underground, this new Blu-ray release is advertised as having undergone extensive remastering from the original negatives in a brand new 2K HD scan and the end result is certain be pleasing to fans of the film. Presented in a 1080p 2.35:1 transfer, detail is sharp with strong colour representation. Background images are especially enhanced particularly towards the final act of the movie and undoubtedly the more familiar you are with the film, the more detail you will suddenly notice popping up on-screen like never before. With a decent amount of depth also present in black levels, it goes without saying that this movie has never looked as good as it does in its current presentation.

Audio is presented with English DTS-HD 7.1 and Italian DTS-HD 7.1 options. Dialogue appears fresh and clear and the now famous score powers through your speakers providing an enriched atmosphere which will really draw you into the movie. Whether it is the sound of the ever nearing voodoo drums or the final shoot-out in the run down hospital, the audio track here provides a level of depth previously unheard.

Extras begin with a recycled DVD commentary with star Ian McCulloch who actually has some interesting things to say about his experience in making the film, however it is a shame that Blue Underground didn't invest in a new commentary track as McCulloch has attended a number of film conventions since the original was recorded and would probably have much new information and anecdotes to offer. Following the commentary there are a number of different interview segments all running at between ten and twenty two minutes which feature many members of both cast and crew.
Some of the interviews are inter-cut with convention footage of the actors signing posters and artwork for the many waiting fans whilst attending a Q&A session and there are also interviews with the composer who discusses his now legendary score and Lucio Fulci's daughter Antonella. Rounding off the extras package are the usual trailers and TV spots and an extensive picture gallery featuring some classic bloody artwork from around the globe and a handful of rare behind the scenes stills.

All things considered the film is a must own title for zombie collectors everywhere and the improvements in transfer and audio alone instantly justifies a purchase of this Blu-ray release. The film itself has quite simply never looked or sounded better and for a movie which oozes atmosphere, this new presentation will put you right back into the advancing zombie infestation like never before.

This really is one horror classic that richly deserves to be seen in all it's outrageous bloodthirsty crumbling zombie nastiness... oh and if you think you seen the film before...

You ain't seen nothing yet!

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - reviewing the less mainstream Blu-ray releases - Find us on Facebook or at blureviewobscura.yolasite.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faulty disc-missing 6 secs-what to do-Act before 31 March 2013, 24 Mar 2013
In case you are not aware, Zombie Flesh Eaters on Blu-Ray has also fallen to a manufacturing error, just another of the many that have occurred in past 12 months (Harry Potter, David Lynch, Cabin In The Woods, House By The Cemetery). A seamless branching error caused 6 seconds of an establishing shot of a boat entering the harbour after the credits to be missing.
If you want a replacement disc, follow the instructions on Arrow's website below but you should act before 31 March 2013.

From Arrow's website:
[...]
Zombie Flesh Eaters Blu-ray Disc Only
Cat No: FCD704R

Overview: Zombie Flesh Eaters Blu-ray [Replacement Disc]

To obtain a replacement disc for Zombie Flesh Eaters please send your proof of purchase to arrowcustomerservice@gmail.com with details of your return address. The replacement disc will be sent to you as soon as possible. The disc replacement service will be available until 31st March 2013. By entering into this replacement programme it is understood that the customer enters into an agreement with the distributor, Arrow Films. As such, the customer shall not sell on the defective disc and said disc must be destroyed or kept for personal use. It is expressly forbidden that this disc be resold in any capacity.

FAQ

1. What proof of purchase should I supply?
Please scan or photograph a clear image of your receipt or alternatively please send the email confirmation from your retailer as an attachment.

2. I purchased my copy direct from the Arrow site. Do I still need to provide proof of purchase?
Yes, please provide your confirmation email quoting your order reference number.

3. I live outside the UK, am I still able to take part in the replacement programme?
Yes. Please include proof of purchase as described in item 1.

4. I wasn't aware there was a problem with the disc. What's wrong?
A seamless branching error caused 6 seconds of an establishing shot of a boat entering the harbour after the credits to be missing.

5. If I buy a copy of ZFE now will it have the corrected disc inside?
Unfortunately we cannot guarantee that stock purchased now will have the corrected disc, though all stock from the Arrow Store has the corrected disc and many discs have been replaced directly in our warehouse which supplies all other retailers.

6. I already sent you my disc, can I get a refund for the postage?
Unfortunately we will not be able to refund your postage but as a gesture of goodwill we will be sending you a free copy of the ArrowDrome DVD `The Man With the Severed Head'. There is no need to claim this free DVD it will be sent automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shuffling Dead Paint Our Screens, 4 Mar 2004
By 
A M Jones (West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Zombie Flesh Eaters (ZFE) was the first of Lucio Fulci's assault on the walking dead splatter genre. It gained notoriety from its visions of extreme gore (most notably the shard of wood through the eyeball sequence), but is actually the weakest of Fulci's dead trilogy (the others being City of the Living Dead and The Beyond - the subsequent House by the Cemetary is something slightly different again).
The film was made to cash in on the success of the Romero film Dawn of the Dead, although apart from the flesh eating Zombies it is a considerably different film. Whilst Dawn of the Dead takes place in the heart of a civilisation already at the mercy of the undead, ZFE starts off with a much more isolationist approach but concludes with sequences which could be seen to actually set up Romero's tale. And, unlike Romero, Fulci is interested in his tale only and not on any commentary on society.
For many, ZFE became known due to its run-ins with the UK censors (although the full uncut edition of Dawn of the Dead has some fairly graphic moments, these are never as convincing or quite as well staged as those in ZFE). Fulci certainly never lets himself be drawn away from the main theme and it is only for brief moments that the film drags. One sequence which always irritates me for "getting in the way" of the narrative is an underwater fight between a zombie and a shark. It is an original scene in conception and raises an interesting point (i.e. the movement of zombies underwater - they don't need manmade craft afterall - given that they have no need of air this is a not unreasonable idea), but I just find the sequence to be too drawn out to be of any great use - I just want to get to the mayhem on Matoole!
Views on the acting vary (I don't have a problem with it), but look beyond this and you will see good fx, good cinematography (the frame is always filled with good visuals, and can even be quite creative - just check out the sequences preceding the famous eyeball scene)and the soundtrack itself features a good score (suitably unnerving electronica, along with trade make Fulci jungle sounds - I could pick out a few good examples, but certainly one of the most effective is the sequence where Ian McCullogh and his team come accross scenes of dissembowlment and zombie feasting at the Doctor's home, the full horror of the close ups is accompanied by a wild funky tune that captures the charged and ridiculous nature of the situation).
One other reviewer mentioned that Zombie Holocaust fans would like ZFE; I saw the films the other way around and thought Zombie Holocaust was a very cheap and lame effort. However, it is worth noting that Zombie Holocaust came about as the producers were so pleased with Fulci's ZFE - Fulci did not direct Holocaust, but that didn't stop the use of some of the same locations, cast and fx crew; but if the truth were known I don't think anyone's heart was in this effort.
Anyway, back to ZFE - it is a film out of one of my favourity sub-genres, I find the idea of the undead rather frightening - whether they be slow and menacing, or running around (as I gather they do in the Dawn of the Dead remake) - and a film I would most definately recommend to gorehounds. This film does stand out with gore aplenty but also with a quality of interest not found in many other exploitation/splatter films. Just try to make sure you see it in as close to its original form as possible (and as a letterboxed edition, not pan and scanned). And then get ready to sit down and watch the other Fulci films mentioned ...
Three stars is perhaps a little generous to this movie, but if nothing else I know how many times I have watched and enjoyed it over the years, so that must mean its pretty good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did somebody say CUT!!!, 27 Jun 2004
By A Customer
I will make this short! This is a great zombie flick, Fulci's best if You ask me, but I have one HUGE problem whit this edition, the cuts! One of the things that made this movie famous is the eye scene, it's gone! so are other scenes from the original movie. If you are a zombie or horror fan, don't miss out on this one, it's a piece of horrorfilm history, a must-have for all film fans, but get the original movie instead, the title is ZOMBIE (ZOMBI in Italy) re-released by Blue Underground.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's trash, but still good fun, 20 Mar 2000
By 
D. Harding (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's no point in slagging it off for supposedly stealing from George Romero! Most films like this are bashed out quickly to cash in on the success of others: if you saw the opportunity, wouldn't you? Besides, it was Dawn of the Dead and all the dollars that one raked in, rather than the dated NOTLD, that caused this little zombie pic to be made.
The brain has to be left in neutral for this film. Do not expect wonderfully profound statements on the human condition, characters worthy of Shakespeare or Oscar-winning performances (the dubbing doesn't help with this one admittedly) from the likes of the bloke from the original version of The Haunting and Mia Farrow's sister. Watch it for the splattery gore effects, the nicely-photographed Caribbean locations and the astounding scene wherein a zombie and a shark square up to each other. This film also has a more-than-memorable theme tune you'll be humming as the credits roll. The last line of dialogue will have you in stitches, so listen out for it.
It should be pointed out that this is not the fully uncut version of the film: it's still 23 seconds short of the original version, but anything else is better than the neutered version the BBFC left us with before. Watch out for that splinter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would you expect with a title like that?, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The video nasty panic is a strange episode in recent British history.Almost forgotten by non-horror fans it looks more inexplicable with every passing year. Bizarre to think that people could be,and were, imprisoned for owning films that can now be ordered from major retailers in lovingly restored editions, loaded with extras and passed uncut by the BBFC. This is worth bearing in mind when the next media and politician driven moral rumpus occurs.
A fair few of the nasties are risibly bad films that would never have received much attention if they hadn't been banned. Zombie Flesh Eaters isn't one of these and remains an impressive achievement. Like many of the better nasties this is a film that provides no solace - no-one's getting out of this unscathed.Eerie locations, excellent makeup and effects, and a slowly building atmosphere of dread make for an unsettling and genuinely scary experience. Probably Fulci's best film and although lacking Dawn of the Dead's satirical bite it is superior to it as horror.
This edition shows real care and love with a restored print and lavish extras.Any serious horror fan should have this in their collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Actually pretty good..., 10 Oct 2004
By 
D. Moss "systemj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've been after renting this film for some time, as it's widely regarded as a classic Italian zombie film, but reports that it is trash and bad put me off buying it. However, I managed to find it for a decent price and bought it straight away. An initial word of warning: do not associate this with Zombie Flesh Eaters 2, which isn't part of the same series, and is easily the worst film I've ever seen.
Having watched it, the film seems very different to how people have described it. Rather than a gore-obsessed exploitation film, it's more like a straight-forward adventure/horror flick, with some nasty moments. The film doesn't actually feature the titular zombies for much of the film, as the plot and characters are set up. The acting is actually quite good, obviously not of a million dollar salary standard, but well up on the usual standard of this type of film. There are a couple of exceptions, notably the two police from the opening, and the doctor's wife, who is mercifully killed off before she has time to over-act for long.
There are obvious comparisons to be made with Romero's films (which are far superior), in particular Dawn of the Dead, as this film was made as an unofficial prequel to that film (despite it itself being a sequel to Night of the Living Dead). Lucio Fulci isn't as smart a director as George Romero, and there is none of the symbolism, social commentaries or dark humour Romero displays. However, Fulci is a better "horror" director, managing to create some tension and jumps, rather than Romero's air of constant disturbing feeling that never really rises. Fulci also manages some visual flair, particularly during the gore scenes, while Romero just let the camera linger on the scenes, Fulci plays them with tight editing to increase the effect.
Of course, a large percentage of the people reading this review aren't looking for shocks, but gore. The version of the film I have isn't the Vipco "extreme" one, but the version Amazon are now selling, which has no details of how cut it is, so it's quite possible my copy is edited by the BBFC. In either case, it really isn't as gory as has been hinted to by many sources. The famous scene here is the splinter/eyeball scene, and it isn't "gory", not in a blood splattering way. However, it is a supremely nasty sequence, and Fulci plays it out for maximum effect, making you cringe when it finally happens. The other gore moments vary- there are a fair few exploding heads, and a few zombie brains get punished by some blunt instruments. There is only one really gruesome scene in my copy, and you'll know which one when you see it. In terms of comparisons, the gore is roughly level with Romero's Dawn of the Dead, but nowhere near as frequent.
A couple of elements of this film really impressed me. The shark/zombie battle underwater is amazing, if only because you wonder how the hell they pulled it off. It's a real live shark, and a pretty big one too, and how the actor who played the zombie didn't drown is beyond me. The other aspect is the zombie SFX. They're quite simply incredible, far better than Romero's early zombies (some of the ones in Day of the Dead are on an equal level though). The zombies look very dead and decomposing, and extremely convincing. In particular, the zombie that wakes from the jungle grave is incredible, and genuinely scary.
On a closing note, this is quite a different film to the more famous zombie films. It's not the gore fest most people make it out to be, but a low budget action movie with a liberal dose of splatter. The zombies don't really get enough screen time, and you wish Fulci had followed on from the ending with a bigger budget. The music is extremely annoying 70s pre-MIDI synth nonsense, although the tribal drumming is quite atmospheric. If you can live with all this, then there's a good flick to be enjoyed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as Englands going to get, 14 Sep 2001
By 
pcleaton@aol.com (Wareham, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Bought this mainly on the 'Extreme Version' blurb on the front - should have known it would still be cut. Apparently the problem is that because it was successfully prosecuted as obscene back in the 80s the uncut film can never be released in the UK, at least until the Obscene Publications Act is removed from the law books (I dream). Having said that, this is still a pretty entertaining movie. It moves at a pretty good pace, the effects that have been left in are still quite gory enough to shock (...this is what these films are supposed to do, scare people) and the plot is just clever enough to keep you interested. If you are just starting to get into these sorts of films this is a good place to start, before moving on to the really classic Fulci movie, 'The Beyond'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The EXTREME version is still not THE version, 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Great film, this. Zombie bludgeoning, burning etc. etc. along with a completely eye-popping (literally) scene of, well, watch and find out. Despite loving this film because its Fulci, my only reason for giving it 3 rather than 4 stars (only 'The Beyond' gets 5) is the pathetic loss of around 15 seconds of footage despite this version being 'extreme'. Hardly justifiable on the grounds that it's TOO extreme - the rest of the film is pretty much in the same vein. Despite this pet hate, Zombie Flesh Eaters is a good zombie flick as long as you watch it for what it really is. A zombie flick. Nothing groundbreaking, nothing you ain't seen before, just good old gore, Fulci-style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decriers: give it another chance on Arrow Blu-Ray, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Stephen E. Andrews "Writer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can understand why any intelligent Horror fan might dislike 'Zombi 2' (the original title of what we've come to know as 'Zombie Flesh Eaters'. It has absurd dialogue, revels in sensationalistic gore and the acting/casting (particularly Tisa Farrow) leaves much to be desired.

However, I'd urge anyone who has in the past wanted to like this film (but been unable to) to try it again on Arrow bluray. While Arrow have been inconsistent performers with BD transfers, as of early 2014 they have upped their game and responded to criticism - the steelbook of 'Tenebrae' (Dec 2013), the DVD/BD pack of 'Phenomena', 'City of the Living Dead' and this version of 'Zombie Flesh Eaters' all look superb. In fact, 'Zombie Flesh Eaters' is the most improved.

Watch it in Italian, with the new improved subtitling - the titles have been rewritten/edited to be more intelligent, more literate and less sensationalistic - the stupidity is almost gone. Also, seeing the film in hi-def confirms that it is NOT a cheaply made, artless piece of crud, but a extremely well crafted horror exploitation movie, with excellent effects. There is some superb music, some great cinematography and superb use of locations, both in New York and on the tropical island.

Although I've long had a soft spot for this film, watching it on Arrow's blu ray is like seeing the movie for the first time, and like seeing a different film from the versions you've seen before. The overall quality of the film-making shines through and doesn't fail to impress.

While I've never liked 'The House by the Cemetary', found 'The Beyond' a little too loose, unstructured and irrational (though I am going to revisit it once Arrow get a BD back into print) and still think 'City of the Living Dead' too episodic and marred by silly dialogue, ugly actors (the kid, the medium and some of the victims of the zombies are almost disturbingly unattractive - though I guess that's the point!) and plotting that lacks suspense, 'Zombie Flesh Eaters' is now one of my favourite horror films due to this new BD version.

So if you've found the film frustrating in the past, get this version, select the Italian track and think again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie 2 [DVD] [1979] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews