Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2007
A master craftsman at his brilliant best. Hard to believe that after all these years, Dion is still producing such superb work. For those fans who shy away from re-recordings, fear not! The reworking of his hits is a masterclass in how to make old songs sound brand new and the whole album has a vibrant "live" feel to it. I can't recommend it too highly. If you're a Dion fan, grab it while you can. If not, buy it anyway, and further your education in popular music.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
This now is a great offering from Dion, I assume re-recorded just so he can own the Masters, I don't know, but it shows just how great old songs can sound with modern recording. It starts out with a new song 'Behind Susan's Eyes' a song written about his long time partner, this is definitely worthy of airplay. Competent cover's, for me the best probably being 'Runaway' of the revisited tracks 'Drip Drop' really stands out, if you have the Sanctuary album you'll have heard acoustic versions of 'Ruby Baby' & Abraham, Martin & John' treated well here also, 'The Wanderer' is handled well but seems to lack something of the energy of the original. The last track 'Come Heal This Land' it's good but I'm not really taken with the content, it's an American thing, but others may of course rate it higher, overall a album worth buying.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2007
This man is the voice of rock ' roll. He still sings beautifully. The re-recordings of some of his classics have all the strength of the originals but with added maturity. If you like this go and buy Deja Nu which is also sensational. We just need to persuade him to tour the UK
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
Here is a guy who has reinvented himself more times than Kylie and is still producing outstanding music after 50 years in the business. I have been a fan since the early days of Dion and the Belmonts and one or two of the re-recorded songs on this album date from that era. With modern recording techniques and Dion's voice still in great shape (how does he manage that after all the years of abuse)these songs still sound new and vibrant. As do the songs from 'The Wanderer' era with dashes of rap and some sampling from other people's songs to bring them up to date. I have been trying to collect Dion's back catalogue over the years on CD - not an easy task when he recorded so much (people tend to forget the folk albums and then the gospel period)- but I have now accumulated a fair number. This album is a worthy addition to the list and in many respects is a master class in phrasing, always one of Dion's strong points. He manages with ease to put a new emphasis on some of the early songs - a must have addition to anyone's collection and essential listening for Dion fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
Re-makes aren't usually up to the originals, but don't pass these ones by. Dion is such a good singer. What you've got here are original songs, the original singer, a great band, with 21st Century production. Whether he's doing the classic doo-wops ('Teenager in love', 'I wonder why' - with the Belmonts' Carlo Mastrangelo on back-up vocals, Runaround Sue), the heavier rock ('The Wanderer'), the straight ballads (Rodgers and Hart's 'Where or When', the folk ('Abraham, Martin & John'), or the covers of classics like 'Blue suede shoes', he's just on marvellous form. This guy knows how it's done. I saw him at his only UK date in recent years (around 1989), around the time of the underrated Yo Frankie album Yo Frankie. His 1972 'Live at Madison Square Garden' doesn't seem to be available on CD anymore, but it's one of the best live albums by anyone anywhere. This one is one of the best studio albums.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 December 2010
Dion Dimucci's career spans over 50 years, but still his voice retains that hard, nasally quality probably attributable to his Bronx upbringing. If anything that 'harshness of tone' has intensified with age and gives a new take to the re-recordings of 'The New Masters' album issued in 2003.

A very professionally assembled and artistically executed collection with obvious long established favourites 'The Wanderer', 'Runaround Sue' and 'I Wonder Why'. Others worthy of special mention are 'Blue Monday' and 'Ruby Baby'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
I was never a big Dion fan. I knew his early hits and liked them but that was about it. And then, one day, my local greengrocer, Graham, lent me this album. It's fabulous. To my mind, Dion's voice is even better than on those early hits: it has something really very special about it. And I particularly love the spoken/rap-like section in the Wanderer. This album is really worth a listen. Thanks, Graham. As usual, your musical taste is impeccable. And your organic apples are great, too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
Up-dated classics - I've played and played. A must have. I like 'The Wanderer' version with spoken sort of rap. Get it! Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
another good one by Dion old ones done well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
Marking time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)