Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voice to be savoured like fine wine
I bought June Arbor's A Quiet Eye, enjoyed it and wanted more. I thought The Definitive Collection would provide a good representation of her output but was a little concerned by the rather negative review posted here. Nevertheless, having sampled the music for myself and read differing (and more informed) reviews on Amazon US, I ordered the CD. What can I say? If you're...
Published on 24 Feb 2010 by Lao Chuang

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collection
Some decent songs but none of my favourites, a few weaker songs than I expected. Really like her best with The Oyster Band.
Published 16 months ago by Frickleyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voice to be savoured like fine wine, 24 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I bought June Arbor's A Quiet Eye, enjoyed it and wanted more. I thought The Definitive Collection would provide a good representation of her output but was a little concerned by the rather negative review posted here. Nevertheless, having sampled the music for myself and read differing (and more informed) reviews on Amazon US, I ordered the CD. What can I say? If you're a fan of the female voice, then you must give this CD a chance. The sparse, unadorned musical accompaniment invites June Arbor's rich, sonorous voice to take centre stage. It's a voice to be savoured late at night with a glass of wine. At the incredibly low price listed here, this CD is a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tabor Folk, 8 Sep 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is a really good representation of the work of June Tabor. I admit that it could be better when you consider the title "the definitive" collection but how much can you put on one CD anyway?
Also this compilation is concerned with representing her recordings with the Topic Label and it has a good selection of tracks to do just that.
So here we have the unique voice of June. It maybe an aquired taste but it is easy to warm to it.
The recordings have a strong traditional feel as well as modern interpretation. There are eight pieces from traditional source, one comes from the Watersons and another from the great Peter Bellamy. The recordings also help to showcase album releases on the Topic label with another track from her joint venture with Maddy Prior as "Silly sisters" and another track from Ashley Hutchings album. And there is another track from June and Martin Simpson. Added to this of course are tracks from her own albums.
This compilation offers a rich collective sound that represents this important figure in folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional folk., 27 May 2014
By 
D. P. Ibison (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
June has a voice that carries you back in time and touches you're soul, raises you up when down, brings a tear when sad, but always leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
For any lover of contemporary folk music this music has the potential at times to bring you to tears ! Is that a recomendation well I think yes, this is deeply beautiful and very moving music; the only track that is too much for me "go from my window" ; otherwise all round great. Virtuoso folk with truely great lyrics; which in this day is heartening ! Often trad arrangements of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift but reports from the user suggests I could not have bought anything better than this album. She was delighted with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collection, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Some decent songs but none of my favourites, a few weaker songs than I expected. Really like her best with The Oyster Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet voice, 11 Feb 2013
By 
E. Carruthers "mature teenager" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I love June's voice. I particularly liked the later material. A good introduction to June Tabor. Would like to investigate her later stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars becoming a fan, 22 Mar 2010
By 
A. Cooney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
It great, bought it after seeing her at the Roundhouse and loved All Tommorrow's Parties which isn't on this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars folk on folk, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
The product arrived on time and was functional, packaging was good and protected the product, good value for money spent, I will use this supplier again. good listening and will keep eye open for others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars June Tabor DVD, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Paul O. Reilly "Diceyreilly" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Great dvd liked it nearly as much as a cut above which remains my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by June Tabor (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews