Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grater
The Microplane graters are all good but I have found that the ones with plastic surrounds do not last all that long, particularly if you put them in the dishwasher (they are supposed to be dishwasher-proof). This all stainless-steel version is by far the best available. I have had one for over two years now, using it several times a week, and it is as good as new.
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by P. Barrett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as sharp as I would have hoped
It is ok, but it is definitely not as sharp as I expected and you have to use pressure to zest limes and grate garlic. A bit disappointing.
Published on 6 Aug 2012 by Jackie O'Shaughnessy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grater, 3 Dec 2007
By 
P. Barrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
The Microplane graters are all good but I have found that the ones with plastic surrounds do not last all that long, particularly if you put them in the dishwasher (they are supposed to be dishwasher-proof). This all stainless-steel version is by far the best available. I have had one for over two years now, using it several times a week, and it is as good as new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it handy, 24 April 2008
By 
C. Hatfield (Leafy Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
This is one of those kitchen gadgets that you find using over and over. The superfine grating action is superb and the finish is of the highest quality.

Do you use a garlic press? I use this to grate garlic to produce a fine paste with no mess and no waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little diamond, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
I agree with the previous reviewer, I've has two plastic handled ones that have snapped. The metal one is much more resilient, but be extra careful with it, it is razor sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best lemon rind grater, 22 Jan 2009
By 
HJK (Gomersal UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this many years ago after it was recommended by my cousin.
It is worth every penny.
It is so easy to use and gets so much more grated rind from a lemon than anything else I have ever used.
This style is better than the ones with plastic handles.
I could not be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, 10 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
Works superbly, though note well that this is a fine version well suited to zest and fine shavings of hard cheese. Not suitable for any situation where you require coarser grating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent grater, 16 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
Bought for my wife who is an avid cook. She says it is excellent and does the job perfectly, good design your fingers are safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 20 Nov 2010
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
This grater has proven to be a very useful addition to my kitchen since I bought it a few years ago. It produces a really fine zest from citrus fruits, or a fine crumb from parmesan cheese - just right. It's all metal construction means it can withstand daily use and mine usually goes into the dishwasher for cleaning although it is easy to hand wash as well.

The nonslip band on the base really does help with stability when grating, reducing the time taken to complete each task. It is the best grater I have used for 'fine' results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choose carefully, 4 April 2011
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
This is a great grater and I am pleased with my purchase but I will now have to buy another one.

The reason is that I was unsure whether to get the coarse grater or this fine one and I opted for the fine one.

Now the fine grater is great for grating things finely such as Parmesan and the results are great and very fine but for a lot of other things it is too fine.

Think of your usage and buy accordingly or just buy both the coarse and the fine and you will be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microplane fine grater, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
I had been contemplating for long time to get one but didn't know which one to get. I had to do some research of my own as microplane website did not indicate which one to use for what.
So fine grater is great for: nutmeg, garlic (better than garlic press), ginger, hard cheese, citrus zest
Used by professionals for a reason. Practically in daily use now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grater, 19 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE (Kitchen & Home)
An excellent product, sturdy and strong. Each grate hole is about one eighth of an inch across and slightly less tall, which makes it fine for garlic, parmesan, nutmeg etc. It has a rubber bit on the bottom that curls round the grater which means that you can grate it horizontally straight into the pan, or if you want to grate vertically the rubber holds it still on the surface. It's really sharp and would recommend it to anyone. If you are looking for an ordinary cheese grater size, then it is the super coarse that I would recommend (see reviews on there.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microplane MICROPLANE S/STEEL FINE
£23.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews