Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shell Shocker...
Call of Duty might just be the most authentic and engaging WW2 game you've ever played. Featuring 24 mission, split into 3 campaigns, players take on the roles of a GI paratrooper, a British commando and a russian conscript, taking the first-person fight to the Germans with a variety of weapons. So far, so Medal of Honor. Where this title raises the bar is in its full...
Published on 30 Oct. 2003 by AntVector

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars glitch ridden
takes a long time to load,as it makes you load in the safe mode,which has to be done several times before it works.The game often gets stuck and will not go on to the next level,so the same level has to be done over and over again,until it decides to procede to the next level.It finally got permanently stuck at a point where I had to use binoculars,and refused to go to...
Published on 9 Jan. 2012 by rony


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shell Shocker..., 30 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
Call of Duty might just be the most authentic and engaging WW2 game you've ever played. Featuring 24 mission, split into 3 campaigns, players take on the roles of a GI paratrooper, a British commando and a russian conscript, taking the first-person fight to the Germans with a variety of weapons. So far, so Medal of Honor. Where this title raises the bar is in its full realisation of squad based combat, hinted at in other games but never before explored to this degree. Players fight alongside computer controlled squad mates, usually between 6-8 in number.
The AI that governs your fellow soldiers is one of the most practical, robust and flexible I've ever seen in a first-person shooter. Your buddies will lay down supressing fire that actually WORKS (a very pleasant change), cover each other's movements, use grenades without blowing up the whole unit, and generally behave as realistically as you could hope for computer players.
Thankfully the AI for the baddies is just as convincing. No longer do enemy soldiers bluster towards your rifles, hurling grenades with pin-point accuracy. In Call of Duty, they will advance in sqauds from cover, laying down their own supressing fire, lay traps and ambushes and even fall back to cover when overwhelmed. If a machine gunner gets hit, his buddy might choose to take over, or make a run for it. It gives a very rounded impression that you are flanked by real people, and facing an adaptive and versatile enemy.
The real beauty of the title is that you are part of the team, without being the star of the show. Sure, there's times when its up to you to take the initiative, and maybe even save the day, but if your squad fails, you fail. When playing, I actually felt like covering my squad rather than dashing on ahead, protecting them rather than trying to ignore them. Likewise, I felt confident in their abilities to watch my back, without cringing in case a friendly grenade lands at my feet.
Graphically, Call Of Duty is gritty, realistic and smooth, even at high resolutions. Explosions look great, with tanks going up in flames, while grenades produce a convincing burst of dust and fragmentation. Tracers wizz overhead, puffs of dust ricochet off walls, and wood splinters apart under machine gun fire. The scenery isn't fully deformable, but their is enough scripted demolition to keep things realistic. There's also some great additional touches that really round and polish the experience, such as the blurry 'shell-shock' that warps the screen when a explosion goers off right by your head, or the restrained mixture of blood and dust that marks bullet hits on your target.
I found there was some loss of framerate when my squad found themselves in very close combat with lots of enemy soldiers, but the haze and confusion of the situation was such that I didn't really mind.
The real star of the effects show is the sound, where the game really drags you kicking and screaming into its world. The weapon effects are sufficiently hefty and the bass from an MG42 will definately stop you in your tracks before its bullets do. Best of all, dialogue between soldiers is both contextual and practical - shouted warnings to seek cover really do make a difference, your officer's military jargon is clear enough to give you a good idea how to act in the middle of a firefight..."Shift base of fire right, FIRE!" barks my captain as a platoon of German Paratroopers bursts from cover, and I find myself hurling myself prone and rattling off rounds from my Thompson Carbine.
Call Of Duty brings to the table the intensity of Medal of Honor and the epic scale of Battlefield 1942 with unsurpassed grace and conviction. A must for any WW2 gamer, and a splendid heart-thumper for any action game fan. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but far too short, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
kyoseki (A wretched hive of scum and villainy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
Ok, well firstly the good stuff, this is the game we all hoped it would be when we played the demos, from the first mission to the last, there are no duds, each one is enjoyable and beautifully put together. The basic format of the missions remains largely similar to Medal of Honour, but the execution is much better,the graphics are quite frankly jaw-dropping (I was killed several times because I was too busy admiring the scenery),the game is wonderfully atmospheric and just kind of draws you in (to the point where I actually found myself humming "Ride of the Valkyries" during one of the tank missions) and even mission types I found particularly irritating in MOH (the on-rails machine gun missions for example) are pulled off so slickly that they leave you grinning like an idiot. Another nice point is that you play as soldiers from the American, British and Russian armies, rather than the purely US-centric approach of MOHAA.
They've also learnt from the mistakes of MOH and have worked to remove the really irritating aspects that spoilt that game, there are for example, no annoyingly bulletproof Germans, no having to reload a gun before you can hit someone with it and no idiotic squadmates determined to get themselves killed (despite it being your job to protect them), the level of difficulty is pretty much spot on and you never feel hard done by when you lose.
The gameplay is superb, it's spot on, the only reason I'm not giving it full marks is that it really is just far too short, yes, there are 24 missions, all of which have obviously had a great deal of work put into them, but each one rarely lasts more than about 10 minutes and even with mistakes you could easily finish the game in less than say 8 hours of play time.
Roll on the first expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent WW2 shooter - lives up to *all* the hype., 6 Feb. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
I put off buying this for a while as there are so many good FPS games due out in the next few months. Finally I couldn't resist the rave reviews any longer and bit the bullet.
I have to say this is the best games purchase I have made in a very long time. This game is packed with authenticity, attention to detail and outrageously brilliant gameplay. I just lapped this up - it's like being in a good war movie.
The graphics are excellent, with a cracking game engine and it runs stable as a rock on my (2 year old) PC. Sound effects are fantastic, voice dialogue is quite well-acted and the variation in characters and NPCs is refreshing. I thought the high points of the single-player campaign were the Brecourt Manor assault (straight out of Band of Brothers) in the US campaign; the Pegasus Bridge assault and defence in the British campaign; and the highlight of all is the Stalingrad defence from the Russian campaign. The action is multi-layered, frenetic, and truly adrenaline-pumping. The only downside is that weapon sounds are so brilliantly rendered that if you have invested in a 5.1 setup, you will crank it up and let the room shake around you, resulting in partial deafness! (Sorry neighbours!)
The greatest plus from the single-player point of view is that COD finally has cracked the problem which plagues previous squad-based games, namely the incomprehensible and erratic team AI (Battlefield 1942 the obvious culprit!!). In COD, your teammates take initiative, pick their targets and generally manage to stay out of each others' way and avoid blending with the scenery. Lead, and they follow, providing proper covering fire; alternatively, you can lag back a bit and they will clear a way ahead and provide holding positions for you to exploit. It is by far a superior game to MOH or BF 1942.
I haven't tested multiplayer sufficiently to draw an educated judgement, but at this stage I feel that MOH Spearhead or RtCW (Enemy Territory) just about edges it in gameplay, although COD obviously looks and sounds better.
This is a fantastic game that you will keep playing long after you've forgotten Medal of Honor. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive war game, 29 Nov. 2003
By 
B. BERWICK "Sothis" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
I've played quite a few first-person shooters in my time. Doom, Wolfenstein (the original), Elite Force, Medal of Honor, Jedi Knight 2... but Call of Duty is so far the best of the bunch.
Why? Well, for one, it *feels* more real than previous games. MOHAA was great, but the atmosphere, the sheer scale of the combat, the effects (such as when a bomb goes off near you, the screen will shake and and blur, and you fall to the ground), the idea of using sights for all guns... Ok, the single player mode is fairly easy, and you can get through that in a weekend, but it's still fun.
Where the game really shines for me is online. The ability to crawl and to lean around corners grants a whole new level of danger to snipers, and it's just plain fun to be in a wild charge at the enemy.
In short, I give this game full marks, for attention to detail, for playability, for graphics, and sound effects. It's a game you'll keep coming back to, and with the multi-player, you're garunteed a new experience each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victory or death, Comrades!, 6 Jan. 2004
By 
S Pawson (Dartford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
Call of Duty brings us realism and intensity of warfare never seen before in a computer game. Whereas in Medal of Honor you may have been in a squad of three or four men this game puts you in squads of up to ten or fifteen. Even this number is surpassed in the initial Russian missions where there may have been over a hundred men running up the river banks into the German defences.
Admittedly, there is little interaction with scenery, but this is necessary to focus the player on the mission objectives. How many soldiers in the battlefield wandered off to explore cupboards in houses or smashed chairs during a battle? In more open ended games like Deus Ex this is fine, but Call of Duty is not about tinkering in levels. Here we are asked to be part of a fighting unit in World War II and I believe that being able to roam a level would detract from the realism.
Think Band of Brothers, Saving Private Ryan and Enemy at the Gates. Gritty, brutal and lots of ignominious deaths.
If you want exploring and 'lone warrior' games look to No One Lives Forever 2 or Deus Ex 2 when it is released in a few weeks.
For single player squad based action I totally recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game ever made., 30 Dec. 2003
By 
Gareth Connor "gazinhio" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
As I was playing this game, shooting at German positions during the Battle of Stalingrad I found myself so completely exhilarated, so involved in the action, in awe of the completeness of the scenarios that I uttered the words aloud "This is the best game ever made". I have not played every game ever made so I should rephrase it as the best game I have ever played. If you've got £26 burning a hole in your bank account get this game, no ifs, no buts it is simply awesome. The only thing I can say against it is it is too short in the single player mode although the sheer work and effort that has gone into the battles and scenarios that there are I find it difficult to really hold this against them. Perhaps the difference in the difficulty levels could be greater as I played on every level and completed the game quite easily once I'd sussed it out on the Greenhorn level. But these are minor gripes and should be rectified when (please!) they release some add-ons. By far the best part of the game are the Russian levels which truly reflect the greater intensity of fighting and German resistance than on the Western Front - as an Eastern Front enthusiast I am a little biased but they are excellent. The game takes more than a little influence from the Enemy At The Gates movie about Stalingrad and also quite a bit from the Band Of Brothers mini-series about American airbourne troops. This is not a criticism as both were excellent and largely accurate portrayals of actual events. It would perhaps have also been brilliant in the single player game to be able to be the Germans and would certainly have added another dimension to, as already stated, quite a short game. However COD is an absolutely thrilling, adrenaline pumping gaming experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medal of Honor 2 (And then some!), 10 Nov. 2003
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
Having devoured the demo of this game, I was eagerly anticipating the full game, and for once wasn't disappointed. Indeed the game itself exceeds just about all possible expectations. Developed by many of the orginal MoH team, this is a quantum leap forward from its illustrious predecessor. This is the game MoH Allied Assault always promised to be.
Stunning graphics, incredibly dense, immersive sound, flawless weapons modelling, intuitive, responsive gameplay - even the scripted dialogue is pretty authentic, and often funny. Playing through American, British, and Russian roles, you experience a variety of combat situations, all peerlessly executed. The Russian probably takes the ultimate prize, with gripping running street-battles through the blasted ruins of Stalingrad and Berlin. Indeed the landing scene at Stalingard is this game's Omaha Beach, but it blows away that once great MoH mission. The Russian tank mission is even fun and well-modelled (unlike the appalling tanks in MoH)
Not completely faultless - the game is probably too short (about 12 hours on the easiest setting, all told), and some of the action is perhaps overly-scripted and linear (like MoH), which may hamper repeated replay value. But the AI is perfectly modelled, with able comrades, and enemies who are challenge, but not invincible and infallible (like the snipers in MoH). The inventiveness of each mission never flags throughout, unlike MoHAA which ran out of steam after Omaha Beach, with the later battles poorly thought out and nigh on impossible. Unlike MoHAA, I managed to complete 'Call of Duty' on the easiest setting without resorting to cheats.
I haven't tried to the Multiplayer game yet, but as a single-player game this is pure pleasure from beginning to end (indeed the end credits are fun in their own right, featuring a running battle between American paratroopers and German defenders, and the credits concluding with 'No cows were harmed in the making of this game'), this is the new benchmark for FPS, WW2 or otherwise. MoH Pacific Assault will struggle to match this (when it eventually arrives). Of to repeat play right now.
'Call of Duty' - great gaming, genius. A work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game, 24 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
I knew this was going to be something special from the moment I first played the Burnville demo put out by its creators. This is a fantastic game from start to finish. Although it is short, and you will complete it in no time, it completely immerses you in its game world for the time you spend with it. The sound is probably the best I have ever heard in a game whatever the genre and really adds to the atmosphere of such a cinematic title.
The 24 or so missions contain no filler, so you won't be wishing for the next level. I personally loved the Russian levels as they were the most intense. From the off you have to pick your way through the battlefield whilst German Stukka's and MG-42's shoot at you constantly, all the while with no weapon and just a clip of 5 rifle rounds. This is more than reminiscent of the film Enemy at the Gates. Also, it is sniper city later on in the Russian campaign, which adds to the fun!
Whilst the American campaign can seem a little too easy, the difficulty curve is perfectly balanced and does help less experienced players to get to grips with it.
I have now completed it three times, twice on regular and once on hardened. Now I shall try on the veteran setting *fingers crossed* The multiplayer is a bit disappointing after playing the magnificent Enemy Territory, and I was hoping it would be similar with the class-based and experience point gathering objectives of that multiplayer only title, but it is polished enough to play and further support has been promised in the form of mods, both official and made by users.
I can't wait for any expansion packs that may be in the works. And Call of Duty 2 will definitely be on my shopping list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and realistic too....., 13 Dec. 2003
By 
M. D. Hart "Boz Phiz @ DVD" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
The latest war role-playing game to hit our shelves is good competition for the most outstanding war game produced (namely Mdeal Of Honour and its expansion packs). The graphics are exellent, and there is great character interaction in the game. Taking on the roles of American, British and Russian soldiers you are challenged with some of the greatest mission tasks that occured during World War Two.....you have to re-take Red Square from the Nazis, infiltrate Stalingrad from the beaches, locate and rescue captured friendly soldiers, pose as Germans and infiltrate their warships during the night, and many many more exciting and difficult missions.
This game has four difficulty levels so that if you are a beginner you can take it easy to start with, and if you are a real hard-core role playing gamer, you can go straight for the top. The game offers initial training in weaponry and character maneouvering so that you can get used to the quick and tricky movements. As you move up the difficulty levels, you are given more objectives to complete during the missions.
One of the best things about this game is that there are so many things to do......its not a straight forward 'walk and shoot' game.....there are superb car and truck chases, you get to power a Russian Tank for an entire mission, and take charge of many many different and authentic weapons, ranging from different mines and grenades, to huge Anti-Tank missiles, Large explosives and Guns from all factions and manufacturers of the world.
I think that the game loses one star because although it is realistic, there are certain things that are out of place. For example, if you shoot a member of your own squad, he doesn't get hit......perhaps they do in the higher difficulty levels, but starting low you could sit back and let your team kill everyone and just walk through..... :):) it is great fun, requires some gaming skill and will keep you entertained with many hours of gameplay.
Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star All The Way, 13 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: Call of Duty (PC CD) (Video Game)
After recently buying Halo, which I found ran like a 3 legged donkey, Call of Duty was a very welcomed change. My PC spec: P4 2.67GHz, 1Gb RAM, FX5600 graphics card and Audigy sound card. The graphics and sound are outstanding, leagues ahead of Medal of Honour (previously my favorite FPS) yet some how Call of Duty is able to run much more smoothly. I play it with all of the graphics and sound options set to maximum without any jerky frame rate problems, fantastic!
The single player game play is great, the graphical disply combined with the outstanding suround sound makes the game totally immersive and very difficult to put down. I've just completed it on the Vetran difficulty setting and found it to be very challenging (I'm no pro-gamer) yet still achivable and not at all frustrating. No annoying snipers with 100% acurate head shots and lightning reactions; don't get me wrong they're good, but not perfect.
The multi player game is every bit as worthy of praise and comes with a nice selection of maps, which are all very playable. The game runs great online, I have 512K broadband and hosted a game which 10/11 people joined (incl several 56Kers) and it was totaly lag free! Miles better than any of my other games where 4/5 people is the max before everyone starts moaning about the dreaded lag.
In summary this is the best FPS I own and can see myself playing this for months to come, if not longer. Well worth every penny of the very reasonable £25 price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty (PC CD)
Call of Duty (PC CD) by Activision (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews